HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin

Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 61-70 of 161 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Real cosmopolitan feel about the place - loved the funky furniutre in lobby.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Generator Dublin is definitely the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. It really functions as a central location with a great bar and cafe and you have internet and a great location at your disposal. Smithfield Square is only a 15 minute walk away from the Temple Bar area, 20 minutes from Grafton Street and right next to the river. The hostel is literally right next door to the Jameson Distillery and 15 minutes from the Guinness Storehouse. I felt like I didn't have to go out into the city if I was too tired because the place was so lively.

Disliked: The only thing I have to comment on about the place is a lack of space. Staying in a completely booked 8-person bedroom made me feel claustrophobic. And there was a lack of luggage space, alloting people's personal belongings to be stored in a caged box no bigger than a small coffee table. Two of the guests in our rooms couldn't even fit their luggage in the box! Also this is not the place to meet new friends as it is so big so you lose the community feeling that most hostels offer.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people at the front desk were helpful. I liked the extra security, such as the keycards and extra staff. The lunch was excellent.

Disliked: I wish lunch was served on weekends too. Also, the laundry machine was pretty ridiculous. We had to pay 14 euro total because one dryer coin wouldn't dry our clothes. When we complained about this, the front desk still charged us for the extra coins.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Emily,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Safety is one of our main concerns so happy to hear you appreciated the extra effort we put into extra security measures. As we run a brunch on weekends we found it unnecessary to provide lunch as well but we will re-visit the issue. I do apologise that you ended up paying more for the dryer as we usally give the second token for free if it doesnt work,next time washing is on me!

Hope to see you soon.

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean bedrooms, frielndly staff, great location, fantastic food!

Disliked: Shower had 1 setting - scalding hot. Only negative about the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: unkind and impatiant reception deskmass processing party guests

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good atmosphere, safe, clean

Disliked: No kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Design of bar and café, wifi, amount of bathroom facilities, lockers, clean and new beds that allow privacy (I especially liked the lamp and the plug), sink in room

Disliked: Location for included breakfast downstairs felt "third class" and uncomfortable compared to cafe upatairs, room without window or airing possibility (and with 8 people in it, it starts to get really hot and smelly at some point), toilets not cleaned enough, possibility to eat own food/kitchen with fridges (Its still a hostel, students don't have the money to buy overpriced meals every time they feel hungry)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Julie,

Thank you for all your feedback. I am disappointed that you felt "third class" and uncomfortable downstairs at breakfast. We need to keep both cafes separate and as we have large numbers for inclusive breakfast the space upstairs is inadequate. Housekeeping has a notice in each bathroom to contact reception if you need your bathroom cleaned again, perhaps on your next visit you can check this and breakfast out. Kind regards Maureen Meegan

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Clean, central, pretty quiet, and all the facilities are in very good repair. A well organised and well maintained hostel.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thanks for a great review, very motivating! I have shared your thoughts with all the staff and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: friendly helpful staff .very clean

Disliked: hard to find anything to complain about

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability