HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 81%

Safety 95%

Staff 83%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 81%

Safety 95%

Staff 83%

Value 88%

Showing 61-70 of 405 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I made the mistake of reading the reviews and nearly booked another hostel I took a chance on this it paid off I was so happy staying here

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Brendan, Glad to hear you booked Generator and you enjoyed it - check out one of our other European Generators - you won't be disappointed! Kind regards Maureen Meegan, Operations Manager!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: atmoshphere, could have had a really good night with out even leaving the hostel. If was staying for longer then defienly would have done this. Also the beds were really comfy and the showers hot and powerful.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a little loud in communal areas, so when tired after a day sight seeing there was not quiet sofa to sit on and eat and be able to chat to a friend with out shouting.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The design of the building was interesting. In my bunk bed I had two chargers and a light built into the bed itself which was sooo handy ! There is a huge lounge area also.

Disliked: I was staying on the 1st floor and I had to go to the 2nd floor to use the bathroom. The doors in the rooms cannot be closed quietly even when you try to.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Has everything you need under one roof. Cafe, bar, entertainment and clean rooms

Disliked: Pillows are a bit flat. Bar prices are a bit expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice building, clean, free computers with internet, bar inside

Disliked: The ventilation of rooms is not that good.Breakfast needs to be purchased and is kind of expensive. If you buy food from outside there is no place to eat it. They tell you if you wanna eat on those tables you need to buy food inside (there is a guy cheking that). There is no common kitchen either. It's not very well located.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Gabriel,

Thanks for all your comments. We are delighted to hear you found the building clean and nice. Generator provides food and beverage all day which is why we dont allow external food. Breakfast can be pre-purchased when making the reservation for €4 otherwise our cafe provides a selection of homemade Irish produce from €3.50 onwards.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bar area was great and range of fodd on offer was good.

Disliked: I thought it was a little bit more expensive than other hostels I've stayed in but I know Dublin is quite expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's like a factory

Disliked: Didn't feel like home

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: price paid did not take account of the deposits already paid via hostelbookers

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For a place to go and hang out, totally! The bar area is very cool and there's plenty to eat/drink on offer. It's near a LUAS stop, though apparently in a sketchy part of town, or so we were told. there's a supermarket right across the street and the Cinnamon café nearby served the best soup I've ever had. Also, it was like 75% guys staying there, which I didn't mind at all. :)

Disliked: not as close to the city center as we had thought. We got put on a floor with no women's bathroom, so that was incredibly annoying. Because they have the bar/restaurant, you aren't allowed to bring outside food/drinks in unless you're sneaky about it. The staff, while not unfriendly, were not especially helpful and none of the typical map circling/advice giving happened here like it generally does at other places. I wouldn't personally stay here again, but I'm told it's the best place in town, so who knows...


The property's response is

Dear Gina,

Thank you for all your feeback both positive and negative, we welcome both. I am surprised that you felt the reception staff were not particulary helpful as the general feedback from guests is normally great. I do apologise that you were placed a floor above the bathrooms, we do try and allocate to each floor but if the house is full its impossible.
If you wish to come back again, please contact me directly at maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com. Kind regards Maureen Meegan.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability