HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 82%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 82%

Value 86%

Showing 61-70 of 96 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bar area was great and range of fodd on offer was good.

Disliked: I thought it was a little bit more expensive than other hostels I've stayed in but I know Dublin is quite expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's like a factory

Disliked: Didn't feel like home

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: price paid did not take account of the deposits already paid via hostelbookers

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For a place to go and hang out, totally! The bar area is very cool and there's plenty to eat/drink on offer. It's near a LUAS stop, though apparently in a sketchy part of town, or so we were told. there's a supermarket right across the street and the Cinnamon café nearby served the best soup I've ever had. Also, it was like 75% guys staying there, which I didn't mind at all. :)

Disliked: not as close to the city center as we had thought. We got put on a floor with no women's bathroom, so that was incredibly annoying. Because they have the bar/restaurant, you aren't allowed to bring outside food/drinks in unless you're sneaky about it. The staff, while not unfriendly, were not especially helpful and none of the typical map circling/advice giving happened here like it generally does at other places. I wouldn't personally stay here again, but I'm told it's the best place in town, so who knows...


The property's response is

Dear Gina,

Thank you for all your feeback both positive and negative, we welcome both. I am surprised that you felt the reception staff were not particulary helpful as the general feedback from guests is normally great. I do apologise that you were placed a floor above the bathrooms, we do try and allocate to each floor but if the house is full its impossible.
If you wish to come back again, please contact me directly at maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com. Kind regards Maureen Meegan.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Real cosmopolitan feel about the place - loved the funky furniutre in lobby.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Generator Dublin is definitely the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. It really functions as a central location with a great bar and cafe and you have internet and a great location at your disposal. Smithfield Square is only a 15 minute walk away from the Temple Bar area, 20 minutes from Grafton Street and right next to the river. The hostel is literally right next door to the Jameson Distillery and 15 minutes from the Guinness Storehouse. I felt like I didn't have to go out into the city if I was too tired because the place was so lively.

Disliked: The only thing I have to comment on about the place is a lack of space. Staying in a completely booked 8-person bedroom made me feel claustrophobic. And there was a lack of luggage space, alloting people's personal belongings to be stored in a caged box no bigger than a small coffee table. Two of the guests in our rooms couldn't even fit their luggage in the box! Also this is not the place to meet new friends as it is so big so you lose the community feeling that most hostels offer.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people at the front desk were helpful. I liked the extra security, such as the keycards and extra staff. The lunch was excellent.

Disliked: I wish lunch was served on weekends too. Also, the laundry machine was pretty ridiculous. We had to pay 14 euro total because one dryer coin wouldn't dry our clothes. When we complained about this, the front desk still charged us for the extra coins.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Emily,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Safety is one of our main concerns so happy to hear you appreciated the extra effort we put into extra security measures. As we run a brunch on weekends we found it unnecessary to provide lunch as well but we will re-visit the issue. I do apologise that you ended up paying more for the dryer as we usally give the second token for free if it doesnt work,next time washing is on me!

Hope to see you soon.

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean bedrooms, frielndly staff, great location, fantastic food!

Disliked: Shower had 1 setting - scalding hot. Only negative about the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: unkind and impatiant reception deskmass processing party guests

Check Availability