We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.7% Overall Rating

465 out of 501 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2014)

"It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews
Bridge House
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
23.25 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 8 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 81.0% 542 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 90.1% 269 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
27.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

465 out of 501 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 367 of 487 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tobias Ostermaier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

02 January 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, friendly staff, cool bar

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juliana Pavan Dornelles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice. Good location, nice decoration and nice pub.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked is that in my room, the private bathroom haven't been cleaned, it was awful! On the other hand, the shared bathroom is very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and secure, good in-room underbed storage, large common spaces

Disliked: Definitely a large hostel aimed at groups rather than single travelers. Location wasn't great - 20 or 25 minutes to Temple Bar

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The really nice bar and lobby looked like an hotel more than a hostel.

Disliked: The long walk to the bathrooms. Especially when in bed if having to go to use the bathroom. The noisy guests in the room, who have no consideration for other people trying to sleep. Turning on the lights when others are sleeping. Making phone calls and speaking in Spanish at 5am in the room. No manners basically or thought for others.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lance Alden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2012 Lance would recommend this property

Liked: It was a super cool place. Rooms were great. Each bed had its own outlet and reading light, my room had its own bathroom as well. All the common areas were really cool to hang out in.

Disliked: It was a little far from Temple Bar, but still "stumbling distance". I wish this Generator had more of a party atmosphere, but unfortunately most people go to temple bar to party. This place has great potential .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price: 10€ ! The cleanliness (rooms, bathrooms, ...) , the building architecture, nice staff, Breakfast available + dinner to go for very reasonnable price Seriously the best hostel I've ever stayed in !

Disliked: Nothing !!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haley Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well decorated and for the most part very clean. It had a good atmosphere, and felt nice enough to be a hotel rather than your typical hostel. Beds were incredibly comfortable and great for after a long day of walking. The free wifi was much appreciated. I never felt unsafe nor did I fear for my property being stolen. The locker bins and the luggage room were great. Great value for price.

Disliked: The hostel was slightly farther away from main attractions of the city, such as the National Gallery, than I had expected, but if you have good walking shoes it's not a problem. There aren't many places to eat nearby, which for a solo traveler at night can be intimidating. Showers slightly moldy and difficult to figure out how to turn on, but was a very minor issue. It seemed like the hostel was more geared towards groups of travelers as opposed to solo travelers. I had hoped it would be easier to meet people, but everyone seemed to either cluster in their very large friend groups or else only went to the common space to check their email in peace.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Carruth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern with lots of facilities, security and a price that couldn't be beat.

Disliked: A little out of the way from the social center, but that just means about a 15minute walk. No big deal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROBERT MORAN

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 December 2012 ROBERT would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everthing

Disliked: Showers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location- reasonably quiet at night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Vincent

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC!!!!

Disliked: NOTHING.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hamish Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Its more like a hotel than a hostel! Which is awesome. Huge communal areas. Very fancy bar etc. GOOD WIFI!!! Woooohooo. Well done you guys.

Disliked: Our bathroom in our room was not cleaned at all during our stay and did not look like it had been in a while. Communal bathrooms very clean though

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Carrillo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Bar, Snack Bar, Pool tables, large rooms, large bathrooms, clean, just amazing! Best hostel I've been to so far!

Disliked: Really, my only complaints is that it is a bit of a walk from O' Connell Street and the area around it was a little bit shady. Not too much, just a little. I'm having to be nit-picky here because it really was the best hostel I've stayed at so far.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, the rooms are clean, there is free wifi and luggage storage. Staff was nice and helpful.

Disliked: The room was very empty, no furniture at all (no wardrobe, no locker, no bed lights). There was only a table with a stool, the environment was cold and a bit sad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The clean and new facilities were wonderful. I never had to wait for a shower, the water was warm, toilets weren't falling apart. Very safe and secure building.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was no kitchen to use or fridge to store our own food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and big

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Valeria Negritto

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: the other guests...didn't look like a halfway house like other hostels can!

Disliked: no kitchen...and no signs indicating that the kitchen is only for big groups!! bought a bunch of food to cook and had to throw it out because kitchen was closed and not for use by regular guests. very disappointing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, clean

Disliked: breakfast not much choice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lily Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing. The lobby feels like a swanky hotel and was a great place to hang out. There were a lot of comfortable areas to sit and socialize and play pool, watch TV, get food. The hostel itself was kept spotless. The beds were comfortable and well equipped with a light and plugs. Overall great experience, and definitely affordable!

Disliked: The rooms got a bit stuffy sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to all the main things to do in Dublin and the hostel was the nicest I have been in so far

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the room was very large and clean, I felt safe at all times while staying there, and the customer service was great!

Disliked: The only slight negative was the location but even then it wasn't more than 15 min walk to the main parts of town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Mewes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar. Really a lot of showers and toilets. Everyone has his / her own reading ligh at the bed.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennie Rabone

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing hostel I have ever stayed in! Wonderful huge spacious rooms, your own electrical socket, great friendly service, massive bathroom with a spa bath!! I will only stay here when I come to Dublin!

Disliked: That check in was supposed to be 2pm and I had to wait until 4pm.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels