HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.3% Overall Rating

456 out of 491 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Stefano Gabrieli thinks…

"It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub. The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.38 USD

Hostel 88.6% 404 reviews
George Fredric Handel
65.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
18.73 USD

Hostel 84.8% 988 reviews
Bridge House
32.12 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
33.96 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.75 USD

Hostel 78.9% 531 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.38 USD

Hostel 67.8% 146 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
21.41 USD

Hostel 88.8% 262 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

456 out of 491 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 478 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haley Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well decorated and for the most part very clean. It had a good atmosphere, and felt nice enough to be a hotel rather than your typical hostel. Beds were incredibly comfortable and great for after a long day of walking. The free wifi was much appreciated. I never felt unsafe nor did I fear for my property being stolen. The locker bins and the luggage room were great. Great value for price.

Disliked: The hostel was slightly farther away from main attractions of the city, such as the National Gallery, than I had expected, but if you have good walking shoes it's not a problem. There aren't many places to eat nearby, which for a solo traveler at night can be intimidating. Showers slightly moldy and difficult to figure out how to turn on, but was a very minor issue. It seemed like the hostel was more geared towards groups of travelers as opposed to solo travelers. I had hoped it would be easier to meet people, but everyone seemed to either cluster in their very large friend groups or else only went to the common space to check their email in peace.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Carruth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern with lots of facilities, security and a price that couldn't be beat.

Disliked: A little out of the way from the social center, but that just means about a 15minute walk. No big deal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROBERT MORAN

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 December 2012 ROBERT would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everthing

Disliked: Showers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location- reasonably quiet at night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Vincent

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC!!!!

Disliked: NOTHING.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hamish Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Its more like a hotel than a hostel! Which is awesome. Huge communal areas. Very fancy bar etc. GOOD WIFI!!! Woooohooo. Well done you guys.

Disliked: Our bathroom in our room was not cleaned at all during our stay and did not look like it had been in a while. Communal bathrooms very clean though

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Carrillo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Bar, Snack Bar, Pool tables, large rooms, large bathrooms, clean, just amazing! Best hostel I've been to so far!

Disliked: Really, my only complaints is that it is a bit of a walk from O' Connell Street and the area around it was a little bit shady. Not too much, just a little. I'm having to be nit-picky here because it really was the best hostel I've stayed at so far.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, the rooms are clean, there is free wifi and luggage storage. Staff was nice and helpful.

Disliked: The room was very empty, no furniture at all (no wardrobe, no locker, no bed lights). There was only a table with a stool, the environment was cold and a bit sad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The clean and new facilities were wonderful. I never had to wait for a shower, the water was warm, toilets weren't falling apart. Very safe and secure building.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was no kitchen to use or fridge to store our own food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and big

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Valeria Negritto

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: the other guests...didn't look like a halfway house like other hostels can!

Disliked: no kitchen...and no signs indicating that the kitchen is only for big groups!! bought a bunch of food to cook and had to throw it out because kitchen was closed and not for use by regular guests. very disappointing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, clean

Disliked: breakfast not much choice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lily Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing. The lobby feels like a swanky hotel and was a great place to hang out. There were a lot of comfortable areas to sit and socialize and play pool, watch TV, get food. The hostel itself was kept spotless. The beds were comfortable and well equipped with a light and plugs. Overall great experience, and definitely affordable!

Disliked: The rooms got a bit stuffy sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to all the main things to do in Dublin and the hostel was the nicest I have been in so far

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the room was very large and clean, I felt safe at all times while staying there, and the customer service was great!

Disliked: The only slight negative was the location but even then it wasn't more than 15 min walk to the main parts of town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Mewes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar. Really a lot of showers and toilets. Everyone has his / her own reading ligh at the bed.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennie Rabone

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing hostel I have ever stayed in! Wonderful huge spacious rooms, your own electrical socket, great friendly service, massive bathroom with a spa bath!! I will only stay here when I come to Dublin!

Disliked: That check in was supposed to be 2pm and I had to wait until 4pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zuzana Gdovinova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the city centre. Located in very nice, modern, clean area, close the shops and cafes nearby, just at be back side from Old Jameson Destilery. Perfect bar in Hostel, realy great range of drinks and good prices.

Disliked: Especially in the evening stinking smell of frying food in entry area and bar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: War alles okay - hatte nette Leute in meinem Zimmer

Disliked: Zu viele Schulklassen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: best value for money, looks impecably cleen even when busy. Great common room, friendly staff

Disliked: hostel is setup as a party hostel, however the atmosphere was quite subdued. Many older travelevs staying here and I think the hostel should enforce the "youth hostel' aspect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very warm, lots of services available, 24 hour check in, very safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually the best hostel i have ever stayed in, ive stayed in about 15 on my trip. Everything is perfect, solid internet, great beds with privacy, awesome downstairs common area.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: vicinity and cleanleness

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lana Duncan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was a great market across the street and it was very close to public transportation. There is also a great little coffee shop and a local Irish pub close by. The property was very comfortable. I shared a mixed dorm with 5 other people ..... We all became friends.....we were all traveling by ourself. There is everything you need here. We made dinner two nights in the kitchen. I was able to do my laundry.

Disliked: You have to be a bit careful around the hotel...... It used to be in a bad neighborhood. I wish the kitchen was open in the morning to cook.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels