HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 81%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 81%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 41-50 of 133 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was in close proximity to the centre city. It had comfortable beds and showers and toilets that were cleaned several times daily. good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kim,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities clean.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bar and front reception area were very nice

Disliked: Rooms were far too hot

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bar and reception area during you stay. i appologise that your room was to hot. We now offer fans for guest that are too hot during there stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was excellent, the fact that there was a bar was easy.

Disliked: Because of the warm weather our windows had tot stay open, so we had soms noise from other rooms where the windows were also open. Also, seagulls woke us up at 5 a.m because of their constant yelling.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review. Glad you liked the bar and the location. I do apologise that you heard noise from both other rooms and the local seagulls (they can be quite noisy). Hope to see you back after our recent heatwave.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice new hostel, clean room

Disliked: window opens only 10cm, no kitchen, no breakfast

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay and review of Dublin Generator. we are delighted that you enjoyed the decor and the common areas during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind regards

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: None

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities, not even a fridge to store things you had purchased. Also breakfast was not included so it meant you had to buy every meal which becomes expensive. We stayed one more night and our 8 bed dorm was very stuffy & only a very small window with 8 people made it very very hot. Also the washing machine & dryer was extremely hot and shunk all our clothes.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on the Generator Dublin. We provide extensive food and beverage offerings therefore we do not allow external food or drinks in the hostel. Breakfast can be purchased at booking time for a bed and breakfast rate otherwise it is not included. I do apologise that your clothes shrunk but there is temperature settings that you can pre -set yourself, I hope it didn't cause you too much inconvience.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Ops Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a well run modern hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were very hot but this is only minor compared to how good the hostel is in other ways.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the well run modern hostel during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The tours which left from Generator every day, billiard tables, great bar, and movie screenings made the stay extremely comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms were clean

Disliked: Very loud in reception areaToilets often unclean

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Lock boxes

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability