HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

87.1% Overall Rating

462 out of 497 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Josee Matte thinks…

"The location is great, the staff were helpful, and each bed had its own individual locker, reading light, and electrical socket. The elevator and rooms are key-card access only and there were lots of…"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.13 USD

Hostel 88.7% 407 reviews
George Fredric Handel
90.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
18.38 USD

Hostel 80.9% 993 reviews
Bridge House
27.90 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
29.87 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.32 USD

Hostel 80.3% 536 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.13 USD

Hostel 67.5% 148 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
18.38 USD

Hostel 88.6% 265 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

462 out of 497 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 363 of 483 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern design and clean.Private socket and light at bed.

Disliked: Cannot access WiFi at room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no place to hang a wet towel or clothes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such lovely rooms and well decorated hostel. Very impressive bar and common area.

Disliked: Little bit out of the way, but still easy to access by tram and via walking.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lin Wei

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013

Liked: The decoration and the building are awesome. The bar is also nice but few parties or events promoted when I was there. Although there were a private bathroom in the rooms, there were also a shared bathroom, more clean and spacious. The wifi worked fine, even in my room (20, ground floor, close to reception) and there was individual power outlets and light (plus+++). A curtain could do just fine ;) Generally kitchen staff very friendly (the french guy inh the breakfest, and also the one that is the chef I guess, that made me and my friend a huge burger and fries for dinner).

Disliked: I arrived before check in time, so I was sure I could leave my luggage (it's said on the website), but the recepcionist (Naomi) said they were already full although I could see plenty of space behind her, along with other luggages. So I insisted, she made a really unhappy face and let me put my luggage there, saying it was an exception (what???). Generally reception staff with very unfriendly faces, when I said I had forget my towel in the room after check in. Kitchen for this size hostel had no microwaves (!!), just one working stove (the other one was out of service), no oven, few appliances and silverware, cups, plates....just a small refrigerator and one small freezer, and absolutely no food control or rules. This was really disappointing. The private bathroom is only cleaned if you ask for it, making the clealiness of it less woth it than using the shared one. It should be cleaned every other day!!! Also, the hostel seemed most like a hotel with people spreaded, just browsing their computers, not talking to each other. I guess because the place was big, so nobody was interacting. You could improve on that matter. The location was ok, but next time I would choose one more close to the city center.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Duff

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant and modern look of the hostel was outstanding. The standard of room was great aswell.

Disliked: The staff at the desk at the time were not very helpful. We didnt get any information without literally having to ask in detail for it. Such as ''Where is my room?, Local sites to see, Good places to visit etc''. The only other thing was when we came down for brekfast on the second day we wanted the cereal. We found out then you had to book it a day in advance for cereal and oj. Felt that would have been good to know beforehand and truthfully a bit silly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 May 2013

Liked: Storage room size. Nice looking common area.

Disliked: This hostelhas great potential BUT they fall short on too many areas. The kitchen is the worst - only opens at 5pm, no soap for days to wash dishes and no utensils at all to cook with! They have there own restaurant so maybe they want you to eat there. Breakfast is too expensive and is very small. Sad. Music played in common area is always too loud. Pity because decor is very nice for a hostel. Bathrooms can be very far from rooms. "Air freshener" constantly sprayed in halls is disgusting.TooBad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness of the environment, I also like the facilities, services and safety.

Disliked: I cannot think of any

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Entertainment room unavailable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some Staff where a bit cold to deal with

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Franco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place. It seems like a hotel. Very organized and it has a nice price.

Disliked: They don`t clean the bathrooms very often... And the breakfast is a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Godfrey

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 May 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and central to town. Clean and friendly. Great food. Terrific entertainment.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest, most modern hostels I have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean and spacious, with comfy beds and plugs and reading lights on each. The bar space is really cool, and there was live Irish music on some nights too. Not right in the centre of town, but still close enough to walk, and a nice area.

Disliked: The kitchen could be a little better equipped - some knives and a bigger fridge would be helpful, and most of the time there was no cups or glasses unless you went and asked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Maisonhaute

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Devon Greves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013

Liked: The facilities are nice but it the atmosphere is more like a hotel than a hostel. The kitchen is only open from 5 to 10 and has limited equipment (only 2 small fridges, no oven, few pots, no good knives). The bar is open but you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol. There are no organized tours or events. Basically if you want a nice facility but don't want a true backpackers feel then this place is good.

Disliked: Poor kitchen, no breakfast, wouldn't let us take a day off the end of our stay even though we gave more than 48 hrs notice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs bar/breakfast/longe areas were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bar had good beers on tap and friendly bartenders while my dorm was very clean and new looking with large lock boxes under the bunks, two windows, a sink, and a full length mirror.

Disliked: The staff memeber who checked me in was friendly enough but didnt really volunteer any information about the place, rather I had to pose specific questions about what services were available and where things were. I had to learn how to use the elevator (swipe card), find the bathrooms (none on my floor), and discover there was a kitchen all on my own. Also, I hadn't brought a hairdryer because the website had listed them as included in the facilities but there was only one tired old dryer that blew a cool little breeze and was pretty much useless.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would absolutely recommend. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the communal areas, always clean and tidy and a great energy! Really nice decor as well!

Disliked: Would have liked access to the balcony in the room, as well as wifi access in the bedrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel felt more like a hotel and it was very modern and new and clean and the staff were very friendly! It also felt very secure. The rooms were very spacious so even when you were with a bunch of strangers it didn't feel cramped.

Disliked: It was a bit far from Temple Bar and O'Connell Street but close to the tram so if you don't mind walking its fine. They did not clean our bathroom for a couple of days but the place was still very clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The chill out area is very nice with nice couches, cool design and good music.

Disliked: The bathroom was not cleaned when i arrived and never was after that. The double room unfo. didnt have any table to put things on and no coat hangers. Also it would have been nice to be able to open the windows but i guess they have closed them to other guests misbehaving.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Chan

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 April 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Very nice building. Shared women's bathroom was so clean and those showers were very nice. I took an 8am shower and there was no one else around. No queuing. I was pretty pleased.

Disliked: The shower in my shared room was dribbley and luke warm at best. Had an bad first shower. The duvet was pretty thin and the room was cold until about 12 midnight when the heating finally kicks in. You get a warm sleep but if you're in the room before then, it's chilly. Also my matress sagged in the middle so I'd fall asleep on my side and wake up flat on my back in the middle of the bed, aching.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Neubauer

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest and most modern hostel I have ever been too. It was even better than some Hotels I have stayed at. Very clean and friendly with a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cynthia Ungson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: A bar and cafe makes things convenient.

Disliked: Cynthia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the rooms were great, and the location is great. Can't really go wrong, and it's also connected to the Old Jameson Distillery!

Disliked: Nothing to fault.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was super clean. Checking in and out was really easy. They had a bar and offered hot food at very affordable prices. At night there was a DJ playing which was awesome.

Disliked: The only slightly negative thing is that it takes about a 20 minute walk to get to the main Temple Bar area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, ensuit rooms

Disliked: No lock on boxes


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels