We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

89.4% Overall Rating

484 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2015)

Katie Warnock thinks…

"A short walk to all the main attractions, good atmosphere to chill at night in the bar area (where the drinks are a lot cheaper than a lot of the bars in the Temple Bar region!) We stayed in 418 and…"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

White Sands Hotel
27.44 USD

Hotel 88.1% 11 reviews
Kingston Hotel
54.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 9 reviews
Brookville Guest House
76.82 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
48.84 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 8 reviews
Glenmore House
27.44 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 37 reviews
Glenshandan Lodge
27.44 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 17 reviews
Lucyswell B&B
43.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 14 reviews
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
76.27 USD

Hotel 4 star 89.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

484 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 378 of 506 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tony Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 December 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, great atmosphere & venue

Disliked: No soap in bathroom, taps not working in men's basement toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, modern, clean

Disliked: Some loud disco music at breakfast time- I appreciated the help from staff coming to check why there was somebody in the bed supposed to be mine, only it would be better to do so more quietly as i was embarrassed to wake all the girls up! also, in my room there was a bathroom but was unclear which switch should be used (there are 3 of them in a row by the bathroom door), so i ended up trying them all in the middle of the night and of course turning the big lights on again! maybe a sign could be a good idea

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2013

Liked: It was a fine location. Secure, etc.

Disliked: No WIFI the both days I was there. It was clearly a problem on their end as the WIFI was "connected" but no one could actually access any sites outside of brief moments of awful connectivity every 20 minutes or so. Clearly, the infrastructure has not been built to handle close to the traffic of the hostel. Even early in the morning, at 5am, the WIFI did not work. Additionally, my room was terribly cold. Just know that I never write negative reviews, but the staff was so nonchalant about the problems that I couldn't help but to alert others to the problem. I will tell all Irish friends (and others traveling through Ireland) to avoid this hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay - if you like it more towards a hotel...

Disliked: it seems so big, that there is no real "hostel" athmosphere. when i go to a hostel i want to meet new people -which is hard in this place...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Gladwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and the location

Disliked: The internet was extremely bad. Infact never worked at all for me.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerry clark

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 kerry would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and social. Lots going on, even on week nights.

Disliked: Free wifi was awful- ended up using my own internet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room isn't the best, but the main bathroom/shower room is very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

János Paál

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 János would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really cool, it embodies what hostels should be about everywhere, as much a gathering place of people as accommodation. The premises are well-designed and well-maintained.

Disliked: Wi-fi was terrible, I understand you have many guests using it at one time, but still, there is room for improvement there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy rooms. Friendly staff. No hassles

Disliked: It is a little far out from the city centre

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good facilities, nice atmosphere, good to have the bar downstairs always with music and entretainment.

Disliked: Not that close to the city centre but you can easily walk there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Lewis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very stylish communal areas and bar. Good, quite reasonably priced food. Ample facilities and clean, simple rooms. Very good value.

Disliked: No coathooks in rooms! Restricted access to kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel! Very clean, beds comfortable and food available all the time, some shops and ATM across the way! Bar is great and the pints are good. Stayed for two nights and to be honest you could stay in the bar all night good atmosphere! I would stay at this hostel every time I'm planning on staying in Dublin!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever; you sell yourselves short in the description !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Natasha Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was modern and had all the facilities you would need inside it

Disliked: Our bathroom ensuite never got cleaned and ran out of toilet paper... I don't think they actually cleaned the rooms ever, just switched the bedding

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi was good and the bar and dining area were modern and a good place to catch up and make friends! Staff were helpful suggested things and tours to do and they were amazing, beds were comfy and our room was a good size however our friends room was half of he side with the same number of beds

Disliked: We were placed in a room with people who were staying for weeks not days so there things manopalised the room with clothes every where, it wasn't cleaned in the 4 nights we were there the bin was over flowing and a smell was making the room unpleasant also on Friday sat night didn't get any music due two noise from the live band at the bar, rock music to 2am isn't ideal for sleeping

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Lopes

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel have a great atmosphere, perfect for youngs but it's good for families too. There is one pub in the hostel, full kitchen, tvs, lifts and everything that you'll need.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Casey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and breakfast. clean rooms with clean sheets. key card access

Disliked: cant check in until 2pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie lowe

Alone

City break

30 September 2013 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and staff exceptionally nice and helpful

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, a bit away from the city centre, but close enough to walk to the city centre.

Disliked: It was too big. As a result, it was just impossible to meet new people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere. The café and bar are especially great. The staff were very helpful and approachable. The rooms are laid out really well. The shower rooms! (I love not having to share an ensuite!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, good food

Disliked: 9 beds in an 8 bed dorm, this is clearly not what i booked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feeling

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Donnelly

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly...everything. As soon as you walk in the door you can tell it's no ordinary hostel. It looks more like a hotel. The people are friendly, the rooms are clean, the facilities are top class. Loved it and will definitely be back. Can't rate it high enough!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Moody

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: The burgers they make are freaking delicious. Also really liked the lockers under the beds.

Disliked: I honestly liked everything.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels