HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

82.7% Overall Rating

442 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Lucia Capano thinks…

"The tours which left from Generator every day, billiard tables, great bar, and movie screenings made the stay extremely comfortable."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.50 USD

Hostel 87.9% 401 reviews
George Fredric Handel
93.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.55 USD

Hostel 84.6% 982 reviews
Bridge House
28.68 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
25.15 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.95 USD

Hostel 75.3% 527 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
16.20 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
18.90 USD

Hostel 88.1% 257 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

442 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 462 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luka Katic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

11 August 2013 Luka would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel lobby is probably the best one I ever saw. The atmosphere is great, music is loud and people are happy. :)

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Mateja Guštin

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Mateja would recommend this property

Liked: exelent designed interior

Disliked: Mass in the kitchen - very poor with cutlery, dishes,... The only hostel I saw wer guests did not clean their dishes, food,...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mandy attwell

Alone

Events / festivals

08 August 2013 mandy would recommend this property

Liked: It was a perfect location for what I wanted. The largeness of the property made me feel ok coming and going as I pleased. It was very clean and had everything I needed. Nice ambience.

Disliked: Only slight irritation was the bedrooms were too hot. Also it was pretty roudy outside the hostel when you were trying to sleep. Not bad enough to stop me staying again though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Claudia Hantsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable stay

Disliked: disgusting smelling common bathroom, extremly large and difficult to meet people if you're travelling alone

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Heike Herr

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2013 Heike would recommend this property

Liked: Has a greT entrance, a very cool bar.

Disliked: The bathroom cojld have been cleaner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr freundliches und kompetentes Personal!

Disliked: Mir fällt kein Mangel ein!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is more like a hotel than a hostel. It is huge and very modern and clean. They have security personnel watching the doors making sure no one but hostel residents get in. They have a big bar and club. It really is the nicest hostel I have stayed in ever.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, there is a bar, free wifi, good food, good rooms

Disliked: a little bit of a walk to temple bar, but it's also by the jameson distillery so that's awesome

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adonis Palino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Adonis would recommend this property

Liked: safe and sound

Disliked: some noise look like drinking all night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The modern decor at this hostel is really really nice and it was extremely clean when we stayed both in the rooms and around the rest of the hostel. It is really great having your own personal adaptor on your bunk and also a little night light. The staff were also quite helpful.

Disliked: The atmosphere was a tiny bit impersonal because it so big but we didnt stay for long so maybe that was the reason...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amber Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is huge and because of that, has a lot to offer. We listened to live traditional music in the common area for a few hours and enjoyed the atmosphere. The staff offer city advice and are very friendly. Each bed has outlets, a personal light, and a little ledge for a nightstand to keep your phone, alarm, glasses, etc.

Disliked: I stayed in a shared room and the other guests had no concept of being quiet in the middle of the night, hence the worst night of sleep ever. But that's not a property dislike. I only wish there was hand soap and a mop in the bathroom to help keep things clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern design and clean.Private socket and light at bed.

Disliked: Cannot access WiFi at room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no place to hang a wet towel or clothes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such lovely rooms and well decorated hostel. Very impressive bar and common area.

Disliked: Little bit out of the way, but still easy to access by tram and via walking.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lin Wei

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013

Liked: The decoration and the building are awesome. The bar is also nice but few parties or events promoted when I was there. Although there were a private bathroom in the rooms, there were also a shared bathroom, more clean and spacious. The wifi worked fine, even in my room (20, ground floor, close to reception) and there was individual power outlets and light (plus+++). A curtain could do just fine ;) Generally kitchen staff very friendly (the french guy inh the breakfest, and also the one that is the chef I guess, that made me and my friend a huge burger and fries for dinner).

Disliked: I arrived before check in time, so I was sure I could leave my luggage (it's said on the website), but the recepcionist (Naomi) said they were already full although I could see plenty of space behind her, along with other luggages. So I insisted, she made a really unhappy face and let me put my luggage there, saying it was an exception (what???). Generally reception staff with very unfriendly faces, when I said I had forget my towel in the room after check in. Kitchen for this size hostel had no microwaves (!!), just one working stove (the other one was out of service), no oven, few appliances and silverware, cups, plates....just a small refrigerator and one small freezer, and absolutely no food control or rules. This was really disappointing. The private bathroom is only cleaned if you ask for it, making the clealiness of it less woth it than using the shared one. It should be cleaned every other day!!! Also, the hostel seemed most like a hotel with people spreaded, just browsing their computers, not talking to each other. I guess because the place was big, so nobody was interacting. You could improve on that matter. The location was ok, but next time I would choose one more close to the city center.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Duff

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant and modern look of the hostel was outstanding. The standard of room was great aswell.

Disliked: The staff at the desk at the time were not very helpful. We didnt get any information without literally having to ask in detail for it. Such as ''Where is my room?, Local sites to see, Good places to visit etc''. The only other thing was when we came down for brekfast on the second day we wanted the cereal. We found out then you had to book it a day in advance for cereal and oj. Felt that would have been good to know beforehand and truthfully a bit silly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 May 2013

Liked: Storage room size. Nice looking common area.

Disliked: This hostelhas great potential BUT they fall short on too many areas. The kitchen is the worst - only opens at 5pm, no soap for days to wash dishes and no utensils at all to cook with! They have there own restaurant so maybe they want you to eat there. Breakfast is too expensive and is very small. Sad. Music played in common area is always too loud. Pity because decor is very nice for a hostel. Bathrooms can be very far from rooms. "Air freshener" constantly sprayed in halls is disgusting.TooBad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness of the environment, I also like the facilities, services and safety.

Disliked: I cannot think of any

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Entertainment room unavailable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some Staff where a bit cold to deal with

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Franco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place. It seems like a hotel. Very organized and it has a nice price.

Disliked: They don`t clean the bathrooms very often... And the breakfast is a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Godfrey

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 May 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and central to town. Clean and friendly. Great food. Terrific entertainment.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest, most modern hostels I have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean and spacious, with comfy beds and plugs and reading lights on each. The bar space is really cool, and there was live Irish music on some nights too. Not right in the centre of town, but still close enough to walk, and a nice area.

Disliked: The kitchen could be a little better equipped - some knives and a bigger fridge would be helpful, and most of the time there was no cups or glasses unless you went and asked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Maisonhaute

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Devon Greves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013

Liked: The facilities are nice but it the atmosphere is more like a hotel than a hostel. The kitchen is only open from 5 to 10 and has limited equipment (only 2 small fridges, no oven, few pots, no good knives). The bar is open but you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol. There are no organized tours or events. Basically if you want a nice facility but don't want a true backpackers feel then this place is good.

Disliked: Poor kitchen, no breakfast, wouldn't let us take a day off the end of our stay even though we gave more than 48 hrs notice.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels