HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin

Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 31-40 of 161 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and reveiw of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the common areas very much and the atmosphere I experienced there.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that breakfast was not included in the price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and the common areas. Hope to welcome you back to the hostel in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Probably the position is not really central, but however is reachable on foot and positioned in a new, quiet and safe area of the city

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you liked our hostel and the room you stayed in. we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards Jeremy Beaumont-Duty Manager

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff and comfy beds

Disliked: Location is a further away from Temple Bar than expected, quite noisey at night when we had a night in

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kay,

Thanks for posting your review of the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you found the staff helpful and the hostel was clean. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It is very modern and clean and well mantained

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your nice comments. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub.The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned.

Disliked: The showers are a bit too far from the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Stefano,
Thanks for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the atmosphere. Hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great, the staff were helpful, and each bed had its own individual locker, reading light, and electrical socket. The elevator and rooms are key-card access only and there were lots of shower and toilet stalls, which means no waiting! The hostel had a very energetic and fun atmosphere and seemed to attract young travelers. If you're looking to party then Generator is a great fit for you.

Disliked: The showers were not very clean and did not drain properly. Additionally, each shower stall only had one door hook, which means towels or clothes had to be left on the floor and get wet. A simple basket or stool would help greatly. There was no male bathroom on the 2nd floor, which meant that guys had to go to the third floor. It's not a huge issue, just an inconvenience, especially in the middle of the night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest thank you for your recent stay and review of the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Generator. Thank you for all your nice comments about Generator and its staff. We do clean the showers 3 times daily, I have passes this info onto the housekeeping manager. I appologise if you were not informed at check in but the mens public shower and toilets are on the second floor. Kind Regards Jeremy Beaumont

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I liked the freshness of the sheets.

Disliked: The beer flies take up much of the ground floor. They are a regular interruption to the stay.


The property's response is

Dear David,

Thanks for your recent review on the Dublin Generator. Glad to hear you liked the sheets however I do apologise re: the beer flies, it is all under control now. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that there was so much going on. It was a cool place to just hang out. The live music was great.

Disliked: You had to pay for lockers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the entertainment. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The events were great and brought a good atmosphere. The rooms are very tidy and good value for money

Disliked: No air conditioning, some of my friends were feeling ill from the heat. Not a wide choice on breakfast menu

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Robyn,

Thank you for your comments, glad to hear you found the staff helpful and it was good value for money. I do apologise that you felt too warm, we are looking into measures to combat this issue.

Kind regards

Maurneen Meegan
Operations Manager

Check Availability