HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 82%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 82%

Value 86%

Showing 31-40 of 96 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really big, clean and central

Disliked: It's an hotel which tries to be an hostel, basically an hotel with common rooms. You pay for everything and the the personal is not really easy going, 4-6€ to let your lugguage, 3-4 € for the breakfast (i didn't know it and they wait I put a toast in my mouth to say it to me as I had to pay; I don't use to put food in a dish and then let it there so if they had wanted to be correct they would have to inform me earlier), there is no common kitchen and no fridges or places to put food but only an hostel-kitchen which cooks pizzas and sandwiches

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We do not offer a kitchen because we offer a wide range of food from our cafe and bar bites menu daily. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dubin. Kind Regards

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great style and decor. It looks impressive and modern.There is a great bar with pool table plus lots of tables and seating spread around the lobby.Clean rooms including bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Friendly, approachable staff - checking in was easy and they were very accommodating.

Disliked: Noise was excessive - from about 16.30 the music volume level in the main lobby was very loud - I had ordered a drink and was working on my laptop but I had to leave and return to my room due to the noise being so distracting. I looked around and saw at least 4 or 5 other people with a similar look of frustration (note - you can't bring food or drink into your rooms so it seems like there is no option for a quiet, relaxing social space after mid afternoon).Similarly, at night, I could hear the music from the bar up in my room. It was not excessively loud or distracting and didn't stop me from sleeping but if I could hear it up on the 4th floor, I can imagine how it must sound on the lower floors.I'm not saying they should change the volume levels - it seems like most of their vistors were in their early 20's but if you don't want that "party" atmosphere, then better look elsewhere.Windows in my room were filthy, both on inside and outside.Bathroom door was damaged, looked like it was going to fall off after a few more uses (probably due to the door springs being too tight - you really need to pull on the door to open it).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor during your stay. I have passed on your info in regards to the loud music to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its a great location near to the city center and in the same building than the Jameson destillery. Its a nice bar downstairs which is quite good to meet new people!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: This is a GOOD hostel. The layout of the bar / cafe downstairs is great, dark and cosy, a bit hipster but not too loud or expensive.The rooms are small but not poky - my 6 bed female dorm had its own bathroom with a great shower, lockable drawers under each bed and all the modern trappings such as two plugs behind each pillow and a personal light.I arrived at 9 am and was politely told that check in as at 2pm, however they checked to see if my room had been cleaned and told me to wait in the bar - within half an hour the lovely women at reception had come to find me and give me my key! The location is great - about 8 minutes walk to Henry Street, maybe 12 minutes to O'Connel Street.

Disliked: It is a shame that they can't offer a kitchen for guests but then if you want one make sure you search for a hostel that has one! I saw people eating their own food (Coco Pops etc) in the hostel's bar and nobody complained.It's true that they charge extra for a lock for your under-bed storage, and also charge to store luggage after you have checked out, but you can bring your own lock.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for youre recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We do not allow guest to bring in food as we serve a wide range of food thru our cafe and bar bites menu daily. Guest can however bring small items as fruit and snacks, and soft drinks. just not Alcohol. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regard

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and reveiw of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the common areas very much and the atmosphere I experienced there.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that breakfast was not included in the price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and the common areas. Hope to welcome you back to the hostel in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Probably the position is not really central, but however is reachable on foot and positioned in a new, quiet and safe area of the city

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you liked our hostel and the room you stayed in. we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards Jeremy Beaumont-Duty Manager

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff and comfy beds

Disliked: Location is a further away from Temple Bar than expected, quite noisey at night when we had a night in

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kay,

Thanks for posting your review of the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you found the staff helpful and the hostel was clean. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It is very modern and clean and well mantained

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your nice comments. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub.The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned.

Disliked: The showers are a bit too far from the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Stefano,
Thanks for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the atmosphere. Hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Check Availability