HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 114 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great open plan layout for the main area, with great bar area. Really well designed, funky modern interior which was great to relax and chill with a pint. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfy and linen is provided. No issues with noise at all apart from my dorm mates snoring! Loved the huge under-bed lockable storage boxes - very secure once locked with your own padlock.

Disliked: The location is a little bit out of the way in a complex that has been regenerated with bars and restaurants and of course the Jameson Museum. Getting into town is about a 10-15 walk or you can hop on the Luas tram straight to the centre. If you're walking back after dark I'd keep to the main streets, the back street are often deserted and leave the lone traveller vulnerable!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Best hostel in Dublin, can't find a fault

Disliked: Can't fault it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, bustling with activity in the lounge instead of the rooms!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great location during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I have stayed quite a few times and every time the staff treat you as one of thier best customers so friendly and very helpfull

Disliked: NOTHING

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the staff during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was so impressed by this hostel - definitely one of the best I've stayed in. Gorgeous bar/lounge and cafe area. Rooms were really well equipped with two plugs and a light per bed as well as a huge lockable (if you have a padlock) storage box under the beds. Everywhere kept very clean.

Disliked: We were on the first floor on the entrance side of the hostel so it could be a little noisy when people went out to smoke as they would hang out directly under our window. Window's did well to block out sound but not entirely - couldn't sleep with windows open due to this.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location, and the few staff who were kind. The design was interesting. They tried to keep things secure. Try is the operative word.

Disliked: The manager needs sensitivity training. He was angry and abrupt very time I spoke with him, and was hard others, as well. A mentally ill woman who needed help was dragged off screaming on my first night, and the situation could have been so much better if he had just spoken calmly. Instead, he yelled at her and scared her, escalating the situation. Some might say that she "deserved" it, but thank God the police in Canada have what we call "non-violent crisis intervention" and "mental health first aid". It was barbaric, the way she was treated. Several people I met were so uncomfortable about the atmosphere that they left early. I read that certain travels era felt like the atmosphere was prison-like. Well, for one, they watch everything you do on the security cameras, and discuss it the next day. It's abominable. The staff are angry, tired and stressed out, with little room to move with these ridiculous business practices. I am currently in a beautiful rooming house with kitchen, laundry, washing and a private room in a safe neighbourhood, all for LESS than the generator. The minute I got to the new place, I was finally able to sleep. It might not be party central, but it is so much better, and run by a sweet woman who attends to every need. I own my own business, so I know bad practice when I see it. If you want to sleep, feel safe, and save your money, are over 30 and really aren't that interested in loud music and parties, if you like cooking in shared kitchens and meeting new people over food, if you are a woman traveling alone, don't go here. If you don't care about these things, by all means, stay at the Generator. P.s. I had accidentally left food and a bottle of unopened Jameson's at this hostel in my rush to get out, and not even 24 hours later they had taken my things. They refunded me the Jameson, and the staff who helped me looked a little sad, for me, but it speaks to a climate of very, very unhappy people. Just look at Costco- the owner treats his employees like gold and helps them out, and his business is booming. It doesn't take a lot to respect your clients, and I saw very, very little of this in the Generator. I feel they should be completely honest about their policies, or change them, so travellers can prepare accordingly.


The property's response is

We thank you for the feedback and regret that your experience was as you describe. We enjoy delivering excellent service and went to great lengths, sadly in vain, to assist with external issues that arose during your stay. We dispute the veracity of your description of the incident involving another guest. A guest was ill during her stay, necessitating a compassionate intervention by the authorities. Despite disagreeing with the entirety of your comments, we sincerely wish you safe onward trip

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel. It's location is in a very open, modern and clean area of Dublin right across of Lighthouse Cinema and nearby the Coca-Cola bike share rental stations. The front-desk staff were friendly, the design of the place was cool, and the amenities were well-kept. There were social events almost every night too.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bar and big lounge make it really comfortable . Supermarket across the street with a cafe , perfect for budget travellers .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the big lounge and bar during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful - before arrival and during my stay. I was able to book a great day trip to the Cliffs of Moher through the front desk. The lockers in the rooms held all my stuff easily and were secure.

Disliked: The breakfast didn't open early enough for me, so I went to Cinnamon Cafe across the street.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the extremely helpful staff during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: A short walk to all the main attractions, good atmosphere to chill at night in the bar area (where the drinks are a lot cheaper than a lot of the bars in the Temple Bar region!) We stayed in 418 and it was clean and comfortable, quite basic but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: The building isn't very signposted, it took us a while to realise that it was the hostel from the outside!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the main attractions we close to where you were staying. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

Check Availability