We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

88.9% Overall Rating

489 out of 526 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Michael burton thinks…

"I have stayed quite a few times and every time the staff treat you as one of thier best customers so friendly and very helpfull"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

White Sands Hotel
28.10 USD

Hotel 88.1% 11 reviews
Kingston Hotel
55.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 10 reviews
Brookville Guest House
78.69 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
50.02 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 8 reviews
Glenmore House
26.98 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 42 reviews
Glenshandan Lodge
28.10 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 17 reviews
Lucyswell B&B
37.10 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 14 reviews
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
50.58 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

489 out of 526 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 384 of 512 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

David Eakins

Alone

Business / conference

11 August 2014

Liked: I liked the freshness of the sheets.

Disliked: The beer flies take up much of the ground floor. They are a regular interruption to the stay.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was so much going on. It was a cool place to just hang out. The live music was great.

Disliked: You had to pay for lockers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bailee Grob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Bailee would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great; clean, good location, friendly staff, nice facilities, grocery store across the street.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the wifi barely worked. Very frustrating at times!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, the fact that there was a bar was easy.

Disliked: Because of the warm weather our windows had tot stay open, so we had soms noise from other rooms where the windows were also open. Also, seagulls woke us up at 5 a.m because of their constant yelling.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in close proximity to the centre city. It had comfortable beds and showers and toilets that were cleaned several times daily. good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The events were great and brought a good atmosphere. The rooms are very tidy and good value for money

Disliked: No air conditioning, some of my friends were feeling ill from the heat. Not a wide choice on breakfast menu

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice new hostel, clean room

Disliked: window opens only 10cm, no kitchen, no breakfast

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and front reception area were very nice

Disliked: Rooms were far too hot

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a well run modern hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were very hot but this is only minor compared to how good the hostel is in other ways.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Kirby

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 July 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Capano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: The tours which left from Generator every day, billiard tables, great bar, and movie screenings made the stay extremely comfortable.

Disliked: Lucia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Louise Frost

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the coolest Generator Hostels I've stayed in, the bar atmosphere was awesome, and the girl's dorm was awesome!

Disliked: One of the girls in our dorm complained that her luggage was stolen in the luggage room earlier. Also, some guys were shouting out really loudly outside the hostel at 4AM in the morning, which was annoying.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean

Disliked: Very loud in reception area Toilets often unclean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lock boxes

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lotty Hall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2014 Lotty would recommend this property

Liked: atmoshphere, could have had a really good night with out even leaving the hostel. If was staying for longer then defienly would have done this. Also the beds were really comfy and the showers hot and powerful.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a little loud in communal areas, so when tired after a day sight seeing there was not quiet sofa to sit on and eat and be able to chat to a friend with out shouting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Ilori

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 July 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: I made the mistake of reading the reviews and nearly booked another hostel I took a chance on this it paid off I was so happy staying here

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, clean, free computers with internet, bar inside

Disliked: The ventilation of rooms is not that good. Breakfast needs to be purchased and is kind of expensive. If you buy food from outside there is no place to eat it. They tell you if you wanna eat on those tables you need to buy food inside (there is a guy cheking that). There is no common kitchen either. It's not very well located.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The design of the building was interesting. In my bunk bed I had two chargers and a light built into the bed itself which was sooo handy ! There is a huge lounge area also.

Disliked: I was staying on the 1st floor and I had to go to the 2nd floor to use the bathroom. The doors in the rooms cannot be closed quietly even when you try to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hubbard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need under one roof. Cafe, bar, entertainment and clean rooms

Disliked: Pillows are a bit flat. Bar prices are a bit expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was great and range of fodd on offer was good.

Disliked: I thought it was a little bit more expensive than other hostels I've stayed in but I know Dublin is quite expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paul mooney

Alone

City break

19 May 2014

Liked: It's like a factory

Disliked: Didn't feel like home

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: price paid did not take account of the deposits already paid via hostelbookers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

gina perkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014

Liked: For a place to go and hang out, totally! The bar area is very cool and there's plenty to eat/drink on offer. It's near a LUAS stop, though apparently in a sketchy part of town, or so we were told. there's a supermarket right across the street and the Cinnamon café nearby served the best soup I've ever had. Also, it was like 75% guys staying there, which I didn't mind at all. :)

Disliked: not as close to the city center as we had thought. We got put on a floor with no women's bathroom, so that was incredibly annoying. Because they have the bar/restaurant, you aren't allowed to bring outside food/drinks in unless you're sneaky about it. The staff, while not unfriendly, were not especially helpful and none of the typical map circling/advice giving happened here like it generally does at other places. I wouldn't personally stay here again, but I'm told it's the best place in town, so who knows...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Ingledew

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Real cosmopolitan feel about the place - loved the funky furniutre in lobby.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels