HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

85.1% Overall Rating

430 out of 459 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 87.7% 393 reviews
George Fredric Handel
60.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.94 USD

Hostel 78.3% 945 reviews
Bridge House
26.22 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 30 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
23.01 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 5 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
20.70 USD

Hostel 72.2% 520 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.80 USD

Hostel 58.4% 129 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
16.56 USD

Hostel 86.4% 239 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

430 out of 459 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 446 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014

Liked: Staff was helpful

Disliked: Loud and messy roommates, very slow internet, and rooms weren't thoroughly cleaned

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anayza Stewart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Anayza would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really great atmosphere

Disliked: I wish they had locks for free and better wifi.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014

Liked: The beds were comfortable (if a bit wobbly for a bunk bed), and the staff was nice. They had many fliers and coupons around for local attractions. There location is nice, being so close to the Distillery, it is easy to find on maps and on landmark signs around town. The food sold at the hostel was alright.

Disliked: It is at minimum a ten minute walk to get anywhere but the distillery or the supermarket across the street. There are many questionable stains allover the carpets, and the floors of the rooms were very dirty. The bathrooms were moderately clean. The staff was often uninformed, and I would get four different answers to questions from four different people (for example, I asked what the credit card minimum purchase amount was, and answers ranged from there is no minimum, to 20 euros). The lockers in the rooms do not come with locks, nor are the locks encoded into your keycards, like many hostels are starting to do.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic, very friendly atmosphere and welcoming atmosphere, youthful clientele, brilliant facilities, comfortable beds!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peiman Kazemi

Alone

City break

27 December 2013 Peiman would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in different Hostels in Dublin, but I havent seen such a clean and modern Hostel in Dublin before. The location is a bit far from the city center but I think it had the value for the price I paid.

Disliked: Internet was VERY slow and I had to be in the ground floor to have access for the Internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Very wide common space. and bed was comfortable.

Disliked: Wi-fi connection was very poor. and restricted to use kitchen.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GUO REN HAO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

24 December 2013 GUO would recommend this property

Liked: Bed and restroom is clean and tidy

Disliked: Wi fi in the room is sucks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Marcheski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: VERY safe. Security outside, super friendly staff, very clean and safe rooms, very comfortable beds, very cool lounge area, I wish I was there longer to enjoy the hostel more.

Disliked: the walk from our bus stop to the hostel ( which was made at 11pm) was a littttleeee scary. and the cops we asked on the way werent very helpful, but thanksfully a man we stopped to ask for directions was super friendly and helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tony Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 December 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, great atmosphere & venue

Disliked: No soap in bathroom, taps not working in men's basement toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, modern, clean

Disliked: Some loud disco music at breakfast time- I appreciated the help from staff coming to check why there was somebody in the bed supposed to be mine, only it would be better to do so more quietly as i was embarrassed to wake all the girls up! also, in my room there was a bathroom but was unclear which switch should be used (there are 3 of them in a row by the bathroom door), so i ended up trying them all in the middle of the night and of course turning the big lights on again! maybe a sign could be a good idea

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2013

Liked: It was a fine location. Secure, etc.

Disliked: No WIFI the both days I was there. It was clearly a problem on their end as the WIFI was "connected" but no one could actually access any sites outside of brief moments of awful connectivity every 20 minutes or so. Clearly, the infrastructure has not been built to handle close to the traffic of the hostel. Even early in the morning, at 5am, the WIFI did not work. Additionally, my room was terribly cold. Just know that I never write negative reviews, but the staff was so nonchalant about the problems that I couldn't help but to alert others to the problem. I will tell all Irish friends (and others traveling through Ireland) to avoid this hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay - if you like it more towards a hotel...

Disliked: it seems so big, that there is no real "hostel" athmosphere. when i go to a hostel i want to meet new people -which is hard in this place...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Gladwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and the location

Disliked: The internet was extremely bad. Infact never worked at all for me.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerry clark

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 kerry would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and social. Lots going on, even on week nights.

Disliked: Free wifi was awful- ended up using my own internet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room isn't the best, but the main bathroom/shower room is very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

János Paál

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 János would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really cool, it embodies what hostels should be about everywhere, as much a gathering place of people as accommodation. The premises are well-designed and well-maintained.

Disliked: Wi-fi was terrible, I understand you have many guests using it at one time, but still, there is room for improvement there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy rooms. Friendly staff. No hassles

Disliked: It is a little far out from the city centre

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good facilities, nice atmosphere, good to have the bar downstairs always with music and entretainment.

Disliked: Not that close to the city centre but you can easily walk there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Lewis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very stylish communal areas and bar. Good, quite reasonably priced food. Ample facilities and clean, simple rooms. Very good value.

Disliked: No coathooks in rooms! Restricted access to kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel! Very clean, beds comfortable and food available all the time, some shops and ATM across the way! Bar is great and the pints are good. Stayed for two nights and to be honest you could stay in the bar all night good atmosphere! I would stay at this hostel every time I'm planning on staying in Dublin!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever; you sell yourselves short in the description !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Natasha Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was modern and had all the facilities you would need inside it

Disliked: Our bathroom ensuite never got cleaned and ran out of toilet paper... I don't think they actually cleaned the rooms ever, just switched the bedding

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi was good and the bar and dining area were modern and a good place to catch up and make friends! Staff were helpful suggested things and tours to do and they were amazing, beds were comfy and our room was a good size however our friends room was half of he side with the same number of beds

Disliked: We were placed in a room with people who were staying for weeks not days so there things manopalised the room with clothes every where, it wasn't cleaned in the 4 nights we were there the bin was over flowing and a smell was making the room unpleasant also on Friday sat night didn't get any music due two noise from the live band at the bar, rock music to 2am isn't ideal for sleeping

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Lopes

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel have a great atmosphere, perfect for youngs but it's good for families too. There is one pub in the hostel, full kitchen, tvs, lifts and everything that you'll need.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels