HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

83.9% Overall Rating

443 out of 476 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Vanessa Kirby thinks…

"Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 87.9% 401 reviews
George Fredric Handel
79.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.50 USD

Hostel 84.6% 982 reviews
Bridge House
28.61 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
28.11 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.89 USD

Hostel 75.3% 527 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
16.16 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 88.2% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

443 out of 476 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Keith Buchanan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014

Liked: Nice, secure

Disliked: Food offered at the hostel lacks variety, no self catering facilities makes it very hard on the wallet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrica stevens

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

10 March 2014 patrica would recommend this property

Liked: The bar food was really nice . Clean and good atmosphere

Disliked: 6 dorm was a bit small room 26.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eunnuri Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Eunnuri would recommend this property

Liked: super clean, great facilities

Disliked: the location found out to be the most dangerous area in dublin

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

arline jacobson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: reception staff friendly and helpful. good beds...

Disliked: only ONE toilet per floor, with about 30 rooms. all the toilets and showers are on one floor - so if you wake up at 3 a.m. and have to puke or piss, you better hope no one is using that one toilet because you might have to travel several floors to get to an available toilet. the showers are nice but there is no shelf or bench and only ONE hook, so you have to put your things on the (wet) floor. that security guard is unfriendly and seems almost menacing, the way he just stands around watching everybody. and as I said earlier, how can you have a hostel that restricts food to its restaurants?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A communal kitchen would be nice

Disliked: Lack of kitchen, seeing the staff drunk seemed unprofessional

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trevor Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Food and Drink at the bar/cafe.

Disliked: There was a lot of people- the hostel environment wasn't present, or intimate enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Connor Christensen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: Great setup with the bar and dance floor and everything. Always something to do, and always someone to talk to. If you didn't enjoy your stay its your own fault.

Disliked: Doesn't feel as much like home as other hostels. The Generator is more commercialized and less personal as far as staff are concerned. That would pretty much be my only complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: All Generator hostels seem to go above and beyond in staff, amenities, and overall cleanliness. I would always choosr Generator and Dublins is no different.

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: colours

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Carr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: generator was more like a quality low cost hotel rather than a hostel. Can't recommend it highly enough

Disliked: Wifi needs improving

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Verdu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, good rooms

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and really cool atmosphere, ideal for youth and not only

Disliked: everythin ok, he showers are a bit tricky

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent cafe and bar Free WiFi

Disliked: Unruley guests ruined my stay -- drunk guests in my room kept me awake all night Breakfast wasn't great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was amazing - well situated in a quiet but central location, 5-10 minutes walk from the massive Jervis Shopping Centre, Connelly Street, and various sights and shops just over the Liffey. The inside was well designed if a little maze-like, paint looked new and welcoming. Carpets and bedding were clean and presented nicely. The room I stayed in was not overcrowded with either beds or people, and there was plenty of secure storage space. Bathrooms were kept cleaner than most public toilets, which takes some doing, considering the number of people that must be using them each day.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't care for so much was the abrupt manner of the staff. They were helpful when I had questions, but minimally. They don't seem like they enjoy their jobs very much.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014

Liked: Staff was helpful

Disliked: Loud and messy roommates, very slow internet, and rooms weren't thoroughly cleaned

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anayza Stewart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Anayza would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really great atmosphere

Disliked: I wish they had locks for free and better wifi.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014

Liked: The beds were comfortable (if a bit wobbly for a bunk bed), and the staff was nice. They had many fliers and coupons around for local attractions. There location is nice, being so close to the Distillery, it is easy to find on maps and on landmark signs around town. The food sold at the hostel was alright.

Disliked: It is at minimum a ten minute walk to get anywhere but the distillery or the supermarket across the street. There are many questionable stains allover the carpets, and the floors of the rooms were very dirty. The bathrooms were moderately clean. The staff was often uninformed, and I would get four different answers to questions from four different people (for example, I asked what the credit card minimum purchase amount was, and answers ranged from there is no minimum, to 20 euros). The lockers in the rooms do not come with locks, nor are the locks encoded into your keycards, like many hostels are starting to do.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic, very friendly atmosphere and welcoming atmosphere, youthful clientele, brilliant facilities, comfortable beds!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peiman Kazemi

Alone

City break

27 December 2013 Peiman would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in different Hostels in Dublin, but I havent seen such a clean and modern Hostel in Dublin before. The location is a bit far from the city center but I think it had the value for the price I paid.

Disliked: Internet was VERY slow and I had to be in the ground floor to have access for the Internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Very wide common space. and bed was comfortable.

Disliked: Wi-fi connection was very poor. and restricted to use kitchen.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GUO REN HAO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

24 December 2013 GUO would recommend this property

Liked: Bed and restroom is clean and tidy

Disliked: Wi fi in the room is sucks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Marcheski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: VERY safe. Security outside, super friendly staff, very clean and safe rooms, very comfortable beds, very cool lounge area, I wish I was there longer to enjoy the hostel more.

Disliked: the walk from our bus stop to the hostel ( which was made at 11pm) was a littttleeee scary. and the cops we asked on the way werent very helpful, but thanksfully a man we stopped to ask for directions was super friendly and helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tony Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 December 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, great atmosphere & venue

Disliked: No soap in bathroom, taps not working in men's basement toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, modern, clean

Disliked: Some loud disco music at breakfast time- I appreciated the help from staff coming to check why there was somebody in the bed supposed to be mine, only it would be better to do so more quietly as i was embarrassed to wake all the girls up! also, in my room there was a bathroom but was unclear which switch should be used (there are 3 of them in a row by the bathroom door), so i ended up trying them all in the middle of the night and of course turning the big lights on again! maybe a sign could be a good idea

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2013

Liked: It was a fine location. Secure, etc.

Disliked: No WIFI the both days I was there. It was clearly a problem on their end as the WIFI was "connected" but no one could actually access any sites outside of brief moments of awful connectivity every 20 minutes or so. Clearly, the infrastructure has not been built to handle close to the traffic of the hostel. Even early in the morning, at 5am, the WIFI did not work. Additionally, my room was terribly cold. Just know that I never write negative reviews, but the staff was so nonchalant about the problems that I couldn't help but to alert others to the problem. I will tell all Irish friends (and others traveling through Ireland) to avoid this hostel!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels