We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.7% Overall Rating

465 out of 501 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2014)

"It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews
Bridge House
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
23.25 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 8 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 81.0% 542 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 90.1% 269 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
27.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

465 out of 501 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 367 of 487 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The design of the building was interesting. In my bunk bed I had two chargers and a light built into the bed itself which was sooo handy ! There is a huge lounge area also.

Disliked: I was staying on the 1st floor and I had to go to the 2nd floor to use the bathroom. The doors in the rooms cannot be closed quietly even when you try to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hubbard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need under one roof. Cafe, bar, entertainment and clean rooms

Disliked: Pillows are a bit flat. Bar prices are a bit expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was great and range of fodd on offer was good.

Disliked: I thought it was a little bit more expensive than other hostels I've stayed in but I know Dublin is quite expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paul mooney

Alone

City break

19 May 2014

Liked: It's like a factory

Disliked: Didn't feel like home

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: price paid did not take account of the deposits already paid via hostelbookers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

gina perkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014

Liked: For a place to go and hang out, totally! The bar area is very cool and there's plenty to eat/drink on offer. It's near a LUAS stop, though apparently in a sketchy part of town, or so we were told. there's a supermarket right across the street and the Cinnamon café nearby served the best soup I've ever had. Also, it was like 75% guys staying there, which I didn't mind at all. :)

Disliked: not as close to the city center as we had thought. We got put on a floor with no women's bathroom, so that was incredibly annoying. Because they have the bar/restaurant, you aren't allowed to bring outside food/drinks in unless you're sneaky about it. The staff, while not unfriendly, were not especially helpful and none of the typical map circling/advice giving happened here like it generally does at other places. I wouldn't personally stay here again, but I'm told it's the best place in town, so who knows...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Ingledew

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Real cosmopolitan feel about the place - loved the funky furniutre in lobby.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Izzy Pulido

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Izzy would recommend this property

Liked: Generator Dublin is definitely the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. It really functions as a central location with a great bar and cafe and you have internet and a great location at your disposal. Smithfield Square is only a 15 minute walk away from the Temple Bar area, 20 minutes from Grafton Street and right next to the river. The hostel is literally right next door to the Jameson Distillery and 15 minutes from the Guinness Storehouse. I felt like I didn't have to go out into the city if I was too tired because the place was so lively.

Disliked: The only thing I have to comment on about the place is a lack of space. Staying in a completely booked 8-person bedroom made me feel claustrophobic. And there was a lack of luggage space, alloting people's personal belongings to be stored in a caged box no bigger than a small coffee table. Two of the guests in our rooms couldn't even fit their luggage in the box! Also this is not the place to meet new friends as it is so big so you lose the community feeling that most hostels offer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Kassel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were helpful. I liked the extra security, such as the keycards and extra staff. The lunch was excellent.

Disliked: I wish lunch was served on weekends too. Also, the laundry machine was pretty ridiculous. We had to pay 14 euro total because one dryer coin wouldn't dry our clothes. When we complained about this, the front desk still charged us for the extra coins.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: unkind and impatiant reception desk mass processing party guests

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, safe, clean

Disliked: No kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Chudley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedrooms, frielndly staff, great location, fantastic food!

Disliked: Shower had 1 setting - scalding hot. Only negative about the hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design of bar and café, wifi, amount of bathroom facilities, lockers, clean and new beds that allow privacy (I especially liked the lamp and the plug), sink in room

Disliked: Location for included breakfast downstairs felt "third class" and uncomfortable compared to cafe upatairs, room without window or airing possibility (and with 8 people in it, it starts to get really hot and smelly at some point), toilets not cleaned enough, possibility to eat own food/kitchen with fridges (Its still a hostel, students don't have the money to buy overpriced meals every time they feel hungry)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014

Liked: Clean, central, pretty quiet, and all the facilities are in very good repair. A well organised and well maintained hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

myles stack

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 myles would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful staff .very clean

Disliked: hard to find anything to complain about

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Muscroft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, good location, great beds with personal lights and outlets, secure locker for each person

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Keith Buchanan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014

Liked: Nice, secure

Disliked: Food offered at the hostel lacks variety, no self catering facilities makes it very hard on the wallet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrica stevens

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

10 March 2014 patrica would recommend this property

Liked: The bar food was really nice . Clean and good atmosphere

Disliked: 6 dorm was a bit small room 26.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eunnuri Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Eunnuri would recommend this property

Liked: super clean, great facilities

Disliked: the location found out to be the most dangerous area in dublin

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

arline jacobson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: reception staff friendly and helpful. good beds...

Disliked: only ONE toilet per floor, with about 30 rooms. all the toilets and showers are on one floor - so if you wake up at 3 a.m. and have to puke or piss, you better hope no one is using that one toilet because you might have to travel several floors to get to an available toilet. the showers are nice but there is no shelf or bench and only ONE hook, so you have to put your things on the (wet) floor. that security guard is unfriendly and seems almost menacing, the way he just stands around watching everybody. and as I said earlier, how can you have a hostel that restricts food to its restaurants?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A communal kitchen would be nice

Disliked: Lack of kitchen, seeing the staff drunk seemed unprofessional

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trevor Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Food and Drink at the bar/cafe.

Disliked: There was a lot of people- the hostel environment wasn't present, or intimate enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Connor Christensen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: Great setup with the bar and dance floor and everything. Always something to do, and always someone to talk to. If you didn't enjoy your stay its your own fault.

Disliked: Doesn't feel as much like home as other hostels. The Generator is more commercialized and less personal as far as staff are concerned. That would pretty much be my only complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: All Generator hostels seem to go above and beyond in staff, amenities, and overall cleanliness. I would always choosr Generator and Dublins is no different.

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels