HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

83.7% Overall Rating

444 out of 477 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Vanessa Kirby thinks…

"Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 87.9% 401 reviews
George Fredric Handel
72.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.46 USD

Hostel 84.3% 983 reviews
Bridge House
28.54 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
23.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.83 USD

Hostel 75.3% 527 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.43 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
8.06 USD

Hostel 88.2% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

444 out of 477 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012

Liked: Its nothing special, if your a traveller i wouldnt reccomend it. good for a weekend away.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities which as a traveller was just ridiculous as i couldnt even cook my own toast for breakfast im on a budget i cant afford to be eating out every meal. I actually ended up in hospital and when i rang the hostel the man i spoke to was quite harsh and simply told me he'd have the staff pack my things up and put them in a luggage room. to be fair when i rang the next day to tell them id be released a lovely girl answered who assured me to take my time and that she,d simply have the cleaners go back in later in the day and that no one would touch my stuff honestly she brightned my day. its really niot somewhere for backpackers only good if your on a weekend away and not restricted by budgets etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Jessen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice new hostel

Disliked: Even though the atmosphere is better than for example the Generator Hostel in Berlin it is still suffering from how big it is. With that price breakfast should be expected to be better. Only one-sex washingrooms/toilets on each floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 February 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, better than many hotels. Wonderful staff, great atmosphere. Modern, great facilities. Very clean, spacious. Excellent conditions and rooms.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Since it was off-peak season, I was able to stay here for half the price - which was great! I've been travelling quite a bit and it has been one of the best hostels I have stayed at so far. It also feels like this place is a hotel - it is that nice. It is modern, very clean and greatly decorated with an awesome atmosphere. The bar and hang out spots are great. The rooms are nice and there is plenty of space in each room. It has a good location as well, it was within reasonable walking distance of the city centre and the Luas (tram) stop was not even an one minute walk away. The showers are great. There is a space to put your things and change in, without your clothes getting wet. Moreover, there is free wi-fi (with a good connection) throughout the hostel!

Disliked: I at first confused the public male toilets for being mixed shared toilets. They should be clearly labelled "male" to avoid confusion as other girls were using those toilets as well. Male toilets are on the second floor, female toilets are on the first floor. There is a kitchen there but it is closed, along with the entertainment room (cinema). I think the kitchen should at least be open. The first two nights I was there, people had checked out of my room but their beds had not been made. I asked reception to clean the room the next day however, they never did. One of my new roommates came into the room and got one of the unclean beds. We had to ask reception again to clean the room. There is housekeeping so, there shouldn't have been a need for us to ask at all. Overall, that was the only minor issue though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Muirne O'Connor

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

29 January 2012 Muirne would recommend this property

Liked: great place good beds, nice people and really really close to the luas, the rooms are well layed out the whole place has loads of cosy corners!

Disliked: Muirne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is very good. Cheap, clean, organized, with a bar inside and very safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gilles Civario

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 January 2012

Liked: The rooms are clean, the beds are good with individual power plugs, and the hostel is very quiet.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't propose any self catering facility! It never occurred to me that this was indeed optional for an hostel... This hostel is actually just a huge conventional hotel, where individual rooms have been transformed in 6 beds dorms. If you only plan to spend the night, this is OK. If you are a hostel addict, avoid this one by all means.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012

Liked: Good prices for accommodation, a bit pricey for extras like food and drinks though.

Disliked: Staff weren't especially friendly and didn't seem to want to be there. Not much of a social atmosphere either.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: wifi was a bit slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Sigel

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice place to stay, friendly staff, great bar and very clean

Disliked: little far of a walk to downtown but the walk helps you sober up a bit on the way back!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher butler

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 January 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff in reception Audrey was a great edition to the staff there.

Disliked: christopher left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james ibbotson

Alone

City break

23 January 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: excelllent, modern facilites........unhappy by the theft of a present in my room, which was my friends birthday present in my case. ;(

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lillian Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, apparently used to be a hotel? Really great common area, really cosy and big with a cafe and bar as well. Rooms really big and comfortable and clean, beds really good with powerpoints and a light for each. Really safe with card swipe to enter the hostel, lift and room. Good location, about 10-15 minute walk into town.

Disliked: Only free wifi, had to pay to use internet on their computers. Breakfast for 4 euro isn't really worth it, better to go into town!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to stay. Not in the center of the city but near. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast is kind of expensive for what is offered ( 4 euros).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sevgi Mustafa

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2012 Sevgi would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and very modern

Disliked: it was freezinggggggggggg cold during the day, the heater did not go on until 6 pm although it was january and i thought i would freeze to death, i am not exagerating, it was really really cold, even colder than outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandria Farris

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Very spacious and clean. It's an unbelievable deal for the price. The staff are very nice and helpful. There is a bar and snack bar in the lobby that is reasonably priced. Not too much of a walk from the river and Temple Bar area.

Disliked: Alexandria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Lamb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic facilities, all pretty much brand new. Helpful staff, great location

Disliked: Lacking some meal options. Maybe some party nights at the bar, as the London Generator does most nights

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i've stayed in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value, brand new.

Disliked: I'm of the opinion that a hostel should be no more than 100 beds. This hostel is GIGANTIC - the biggest I've never seen. For that reason, it lacks the atmosphere that many other hostels have. You feel strange talking to people here because everyone is off in their own little space.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome facilities and value for money. Staff were also very helpful. Walking tour left from here too which was handy.

Disliked: Everything was pretty good. It's not right in the center but pretty close and doesn't take long to walk anywhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, the beds where the comfiest i've ever been in, really good location easy walk of everything!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Donaghey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful! The hostel is in a great location in a great city, it is right next too the Jameson distillery and a 5 min walk from O'Connell street and Temple Bar. The breakfast is good value, the rooms are clean and spacious and the bar is very good.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ross Honour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: just a great atmosphere!

Disliked: breakfast not included unlike their Berlin counterpart.. mens toilets had no indication of where they were and ended up being on a different floor to where we were located

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly modern and nice facilities - more like a hotel than a hostel. Good location, clean rooms and bathrooms, enjoyed the lounge area with all the comfy chairs and books.

Disliked: Showers could have been a tad cleaner, but that's really just nitpicking. Also you have to pay for towels, locks, adapters.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels