HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

87.2% Overall Rating

464 out of 500 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews
Bridge House
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 37 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
18.51 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 8 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 81.0% 541 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
33.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

464 out of 500 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 366 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giovanna Fong

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Giovanna would recommend this property

Liked: Charming! A wonderful venue of historical jameson breweries ' origin site. Cosy lobby/bar/meeting point with Wi-fi, computer hubs, irish brew beer, TV showing Skynews, Big projector correspond to disco music. I do not really need to go out to temple bar for drinks. Also, they have sandwiches, snack machine downstair. I will definitely come back some time.. Lovly place! Perhaps when the monthly horse trading right outside the square.

Disliked: I have to go out for breakfast 2nd day as it is missing omlett / boiled eggs! They have a good scandinavia machine. But coffee is just not right! The machine is not hot when they made coffee????

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Toland

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: for the cheap prices i expected some run down back ally hostel. I was so pleasantly surprised...it's clean and modern with a boho alternative twist. computer room, lobby, bar and pool tables all in an open and friendly space...really great. The drinks were cheap and the clientelle was all nationalities and all ages.i will definatly return there.

Disliked: the strength of the internet wasnt great but that is all i can say bad about it. really enjoyed my stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and quietly. i've slept as weel as far time

Disliked: it's not very close to the city center, and yo have to walk 1 or 2km for all, except the supermarket if you don't want pay the luas (more than 2€)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safety boxes and lockers were great. Enjoyable atmosphere. Fun to stay in the hostel and to explore the city. Nice bar.

Disliked: The breakfast was not worth paying for. Should be either complementary or more to offer and charged.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean modern rooms, great bathrooms/showers, great bar downstairs, good breakfast, location very convenient and staff very helpful.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and I felt safe. They had a bar and snack bar. Great environment and easy access to other parts of town both by bus and walking.

Disliked: Brianna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Irfan

As a family with children

City break

26 February 2012 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, unexpectedly brilliant location, rooms sitting area and value for money pretty cheap. I wish to have couple of days stay in there but i got leave early. Thanks

Disliked: Bit loud music late niight.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jing zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 jing would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet. Standard apartments.

Disliked: wifi not free. Force me to change rooms when I re-checked in for a few more days when the old dorm room is not booked. Staff not so helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Clean. Brilliant security on the door. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and decent sized room. Cannot fault this place!

Disliked: Dislike that you cannot take food up to your room even though it is advertised as a hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious, friendly

Disliked: Location is somewhat far from the activities of Dublin

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Harless

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: You can't say it's a bad location, because all of Dublin city center can be accessed within 10min on foot. As others have mentioned, it's big and not a cozy little hostel, but great for a few days stay on a budget. The rest are all things you'd expect to find at a hostel. I loved the luggage room to store my stuff even after checkout so I could still walk around all day before my flight in the evening. Everyone I dealt with were friendly.

Disliked: This may be a "Hostel", but the breakfast was definitely lacking. Bread, sliced ham, cheese, 2 cereal choices and the worst coffee i've ever had (including nescafe and folgers). All this for 4Euros. I wish they had other options even a menu where you could order something else. It would be convenient to eat there and not have to go out so early, which i did the second day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kotryna Meilute

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Kotryna would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent price for the quality of this hostel. It was really clean and tidy, beds were very comfortable to sleep in after a long trip. It was good I could leave a luggage after I checked out. I am really happy choosing Generator Hostels (one of the best hostels I stayed in).

Disliked: Location could be closer to main street; no self-catering facilities was a bit disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean. Nice stuff and good atmosphere. It is not in the center of the city but you can easily walk to temple bar and it takes less than 10 minutes. It really worth it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Fenton

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2012 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe, needed cards to get into the building and then again to access the accommodation area. Staff we available to help on reception 24/7. Really modern and large bar/social area which gave it a friendly atmosphere and cheap drinks (hard to find in Dublin). Really pleasant rooms with comfy beds and duvet!!! Not too loud. The free walking tour was promoted at the hostel and i would seriously recommend anyone doing it. is is really fun and informative about the city. i wish we had done it on our first day so we could have explored further the places we liked. It takes you around everywhere! Our tour guide was called Dave and he was really good!

Disliked: nothing. only thing i can think of is it would be handy to have a kitchen, but many hostels don't have this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient, close to City, comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi. Good breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma De-La-Hunty

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome property, easy location, really safe, amazingly helpful staff. Highly recommended

Disliked: I had to leave

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012

Liked: Its nothing special, if your a traveller i wouldnt reccomend it. good for a weekend away.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities which as a traveller was just ridiculous as i couldnt even cook my own toast for breakfast im on a budget i cant afford to be eating out every meal. I actually ended up in hospital and when i rang the hostel the man i spoke to was quite harsh and simply told me he'd have the staff pack my things up and put them in a luggage room. to be fair when i rang the next day to tell them id be released a lovely girl answered who assured me to take my time and that she,d simply have the cleaners go back in later in the day and that no one would touch my stuff honestly she brightned my day. its really niot somewhere for backpackers only good if your on a weekend away and not restricted by budgets etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Jessen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice new hostel

Disliked: Even though the atmosphere is better than for example the Generator Hostel in Berlin it is still suffering from how big it is. With that price breakfast should be expected to be better. Only one-sex washingrooms/toilets on each floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 February 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, better than many hotels. Wonderful staff, great atmosphere. Modern, great facilities. Very clean, spacious. Excellent conditions and rooms.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Since it was off-peak season, I was able to stay here for half the price - which was great! I've been travelling quite a bit and it has been one of the best hostels I have stayed at so far. It also feels like this place is a hotel - it is that nice. It is modern, very clean and greatly decorated with an awesome atmosphere. The bar and hang out spots are great. The rooms are nice and there is plenty of space in each room. It has a good location as well, it was within reasonable walking distance of the city centre and the Luas (tram) stop was not even an one minute walk away. The showers are great. There is a space to put your things and change in, without your clothes getting wet. Moreover, there is free wi-fi (with a good connection) throughout the hostel!

Disliked: I at first confused the public male toilets for being mixed shared toilets. They should be clearly labelled "male" to avoid confusion as other girls were using those toilets as well. Male toilets are on the second floor, female toilets are on the first floor. There is a kitchen there but it is closed, along with the entertainment room (cinema). I think the kitchen should at least be open. The first two nights I was there, people had checked out of my room but their beds had not been made. I asked reception to clean the room the next day however, they never did. One of my new roommates came into the room and got one of the unclean beds. We had to ask reception again to clean the room. There is housekeeping so, there shouldn't have been a need for us to ask at all. Overall, that was the only minor issue though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Muirne O'Connor

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

29 January 2012 Muirne would recommend this property

Liked: great place good beds, nice people and really really close to the luas, the rooms are well layed out the whole place has loads of cosy corners!

Disliked: Muirne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is very good. Cheap, clean, organized, with a bar inside and very safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gilles Civario

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 January 2012

Liked: The rooms are clean, the beds are good with individual power plugs, and the hostel is very quiet.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't propose any self catering facility! It never occurred to me that this was indeed optional for an hostel... This hostel is actually just a huge conventional hotel, where individual rooms have been transformed in 6 beds dorms. If you only plan to spend the night, this is OK. If you are a hostel addict, avoid this one by all means.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012

Liked: Good prices for accommodation, a bit pricey for extras like food and drinks though.

Disliked: Staff weren't especially friendly and didn't seem to want to be there. Not much of a social atmosphere either.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: wifi was a bit slow.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels