HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

83.9% Overall Rating

443 out of 476 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Vanessa Kirby thinks…

"Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 87.9% 401 reviews
George Fredric Handel
72.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.50 USD

Hostel 84.6% 982 reviews
Bridge House
28.61 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
28.61 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.89 USD

Hostel 75.3% 527 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
16.16 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 88.2% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

443 out of 476 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Diggins

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The Generator bar was great, staff was friendly, and there are many different amenities.

Disliked: It is one of the further hostels from the Temple Bar area but everything is still walkable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like staying at a hotel, but without all the unnecessary extras.

Disliked: It would have been nice if there were a few more free services - like 1 hour worth of internet, places to fill up drink bottles etc. It's these things that make the hostel a little impersonal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Sopp

Alone

Events / festivals

20 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfy beds, great lockers underneath beds. Great to have sink and mirror in room. Bar is great and nice lounge area.

Disliked: Its one of those mega hostels so can feel a little impersonal. The girls bathrooms are on 1st floor and boys on 2nd floor so it's a pain if you're not on the corresponding floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

inigo diego fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 inigo would recommend this property

Liked: Its atmosphere, you can meet many people because it is big and has a bar!

Disliked: I dont dislike anything about it, maybe the down side is that it is not in the very center of dublin, maybe a 10 min walk! But its a great hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, spacious, well decorated room. Free wi-fi

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly clean, tons of room, great location (easy walk to everything). Friendly staff. More like a hotel than a hostel. Best hostel experience.

Disliked: It was great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elena woiciechowska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The beds and also how clean it was.

Disliked: The staff were not really helpful. I got placed in a room with a bed that was not the same as everyone else's, it was a small cot. When I asked to switch my bed to another one they told me every single one was taken. That bed stayed empty for two nights. I don't think it was fair to pay the same amount and the staff refused to help.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

giovanni sabatino

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2012 giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: salvo qualche piccolo inconveniente legato alla pulizia è un'ottimo ostello, di ostelli così se ne vedono pochi, posizione centrale e una struttura eccezionale per essere un semplice ostello...ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo

Disliked: giovanni left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds Lockers Lounge Bar Area Friendly Staff

Disliked: Shower was clogged, but they fixed it within the hour

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giovanna Fong

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Giovanna would recommend this property

Liked: Charming! A wonderful venue of historical jameson breweries ' origin site. Cosy lobby/bar/meeting point with Wi-fi, computer hubs, irish brew beer, TV showing Skynews, Big projector correspond to disco music. I do not really need to go out to temple bar for drinks. Also, they have sandwiches, snack machine downstair. I will definitely come back some time.. Lovly place! Perhaps when the monthly horse trading right outside the square.

Disliked: I have to go out for breakfast 2nd day as it is missing omlett / boiled eggs! They have a good scandinavia machine. But coffee is just not right! The machine is not hot when they made coffee????

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Toland

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: for the cheap prices i expected some run down back ally hostel. I was so pleasantly surprised...it's clean and modern with a boho alternative twist. computer room, lobby, bar and pool tables all in an open and friendly space...really great. The drinks were cheap and the clientelle was all nationalities and all ages.i will definatly return there.

Disliked: the strength of the internet wasnt great but that is all i can say bad about it. really enjoyed my stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and quietly. i've slept as weel as far time

Disliked: it's not very close to the city center, and yo have to walk 1 or 2km for all, except the supermarket if you don't want pay the luas (more than 2€)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safety boxes and lockers were great. Enjoyable atmosphere. Fun to stay in the hostel and to explore the city. Nice bar.

Disliked: The breakfast was not worth paying for. Should be either complementary or more to offer and charged.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean modern rooms, great bathrooms/showers, great bar downstairs, good breakfast, location very convenient and staff very helpful.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and I felt safe. They had a bar and snack bar. Great environment and easy access to other parts of town both by bus and walking.

Disliked: Brianna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Irfan

As a family with children

City break

26 February 2012 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, unexpectedly brilliant location, rooms sitting area and value for money pretty cheap. I wish to have couple of days stay in there but i got leave early. Thanks

Disliked: Bit loud music late niight.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jing zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 jing would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet. Standard apartments.

Disliked: wifi not free. Force me to change rooms when I re-checked in for a few more days when the old dorm room is not booked. Staff not so helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Clean. Brilliant security on the door. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and decent sized room. Cannot fault this place!

Disliked: Dislike that you cannot take food up to your room even though it is advertised as a hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious, friendly

Disliked: Location is somewhat far from the activities of Dublin

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Harless

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: You can't say it's a bad location, because all of Dublin city center can be accessed within 10min on foot. As others have mentioned, it's big and not a cozy little hostel, but great for a few days stay on a budget. The rest are all things you'd expect to find at a hostel. I loved the luggage room to store my stuff even after checkout so I could still walk around all day before my flight in the evening. Everyone I dealt with were friendly.

Disliked: This may be a "Hostel", but the breakfast was definitely lacking. Bread, sliced ham, cheese, 2 cereal choices and the worst coffee i've ever had (including nescafe and folgers). All this for 4Euros. I wish they had other options even a menu where you could order something else. It would be convenient to eat there and not have to go out so early, which i did the second day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kotryna Meilute

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Kotryna would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent price for the quality of this hostel. It was really clean and tidy, beds were very comfortable to sleep in after a long trip. It was good I could leave a luggage after I checked out. I am really happy choosing Generator Hostels (one of the best hostels I stayed in).

Disliked: Location could be closer to main street; no self-catering facilities was a bit disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean. Nice stuff and good atmosphere. It is not in the center of the city but you can easily walk to temple bar and it takes less than 10 minutes. It really worth it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Fenton

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2012 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe, needed cards to get into the building and then again to access the accommodation area. Staff we available to help on reception 24/7. Really modern and large bar/social area which gave it a friendly atmosphere and cheap drinks (hard to find in Dublin). Really pleasant rooms with comfy beds and duvet!!! Not too loud. The free walking tour was promoted at the hostel and i would seriously recommend anyone doing it. is is really fun and informative about the city. i wish we had done it on our first day so we could have explored further the places we liked. It takes you around everywhere! Our tour guide was called Dave and he was really good!

Disliked: nothing. only thing i can think of is it would be handy to have a kitchen, but many hostels don't have this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient, close to City, comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi. Good breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma De-La-Hunty

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome property, easy location, really safe, amazingly helpful staff. Highly recommended

Disliked: I had to leave


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels