HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 79%

Safety 95%

Staff 83%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 79%

Safety 95%

Staff 83%

Value 89%

Showing 91-100 of 403 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a really great atmosphere

Disliked: I wish they had locks for free and better wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was fantastic, very friendly atmosphere and welcoming atmosphere, youthful clientele, brilliant facilities, comfortable beds!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I have stayed in different Hostels in Dublin, but I havent seen such a clean and modern Hostel in Dublin before. The location is a bit far from the city center but I think it had the value for the price I paid.

Disliked: Internet was VERY slow and I had to be in the ground floor to have access for the Internet.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very wide common space. and bed was comfortable.

Disliked: Wi-fi connection was very poor. and restricted to use kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was helpful

Disliked: Loud and messy roommates, very slow internet, and rooms weren't thoroughly cleaned

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Bed and restroom is clean and tidy

Disliked: Wi fi in the room is sucks

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff were amazing, great atmosphere & venue

Disliked: No soap in bathroom, taps not working in men's basement toilets

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were comfortable (if a bit wobbly for a bunk bed), and the staff was nice. They had many fliers and coupons around for local attractions. There location is nice, being so close to the Distillery, it is easy to find on maps and on landmark signs around town. The food sold at the hostel was alright.

Disliked: It is at minimum a ten minute walk to get anywhere but the distillery or the supermarket across the street. There are many questionable stains allover the carpets, and the floors of the rooms were very dirty. The bathrooms were moderately clean. The staff was often uninformed, and I would get four different answers to questions from four different people (for example, I asked what the credit card minimum purchase amount was, and answers ranged from there is no minimum, to 20 euros). The lockers in the rooms do not come with locks, nor are the locks encoded into your keycards, like many hostels are starting to do.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: good value for money, modern, clean

Disliked: Some loud disco music at breakfast time-I appreciated the help from staff coming to check why there was somebody in the bed supposed to be mine, only it would be better to do so more quietly as i was embarrassed to wake all the girls up!also, in my room there was a bathroom but was unclear which switch should be used (there are 3 of them in a row by the bathroom door), so i ended up trying them all in the middle of the night and of course turning the big lights on again! maybe a sign could be a good idea

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was a fine location. Secure, etc.

Disliked: No WIFI the both days I was there. It was clearly a problem on their end as the WIFI was "connected" but no one could actually access any sites outside of brief moments of awful connectivity every 20 minutes or so. Clearly, the infrastructure has not been built to handle close to the traffic of the hostel. Even early in the morning, at 5am, the WIFI did not work. Additionally, my room was terribly cold. Just know that I never write negative reviews, but the staff was so nonchalant about the problems that I couldn't help but to alert others to the problem. I will tell all Irish friends (and others traveling through Ireland) to avoid this hostel!

Check Availability