HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar

Hostel | 29 Eustace Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

66.1% Overall Rating

80 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

"Location is great. Right in the hearof things and walking distance to almost everything."

Read all The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.35
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Customers are required to pay 10 Euros security deposit at check in. This is refundable at check out once keys are retrieved.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
57.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
86.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
10.71 USD

Hostel 88.9% 260 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
46.87 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Brooks Hotel
99.76 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Bridge House
32.14 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.07 USD

Hostel 84.3% 99 reviews
Abigails Hostel
18.75 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1371 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

80 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
67.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 137 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not too many rules, good value & location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Right in the hearof things and walking distance to almost everything.

Disliked: Very little common areas and NO KITCHEN!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, and the room had a high ceiling and large window.

Disliked: It was dirty. Everything seemed sticky. Bring flip-flops. Toilets didn't flush. The guy at the desk made a misogynist comment that irked me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Discount on apache pizza was great value for money.the staff were very helpful and I found it great that you could leave your baggage there before check in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the centre, close to everything. They have a food downstairs and it was 50% off the price for us.

Disliked: You can't sleep, because all aroun was pubs and night clubs. We missed some sope in the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not nearly as bad as it's rating. Not the cleanest place, but it's not like there are bugs crawling around. Really good location.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and central.

Disliked: No plug sockets in our room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great , in the city center.

Disliked: For the price that you pay , It was ok! Cleanliness not really up to standard in the bathroom , but you shared it with other travellers so It was not the owners fault.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2014

Liked: location, but there are lots of hostels in the city centre so choose any other because it's difficult to find a worse hostel than Apache!!

Disliked: the rooms and the toilets are very dirty, they don't clean the rooms every day. The reception and the rooms smell very bad. I have been in lots of cheap hostels but it was the worst without any doubt.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

graham johnson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 February 2014 graham would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and the beds were comfy enough rooms con sited of bunk beds for the twin and 6 bed rooms, the double bed rooms were a good size, rooms are basic with a plug socket and somewhere to put your clothes. Its in a good location, the only noise you get is from it being close to temple bar but this happens with any other place so close to this area.

Disliked: its basic and you do get what you pay for so if your looking for 5* hotel you need to look elsewhere

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tracey Newman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 January 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 December 2013

Liked: proximity of the city center

Disliked: May be it is close to the city center but it was dirty as I never thought. I know for 15 euros it won't be an amazing room but the bathroom was dirty (toilets doesnt work, floor of the shower really dirty you don't want put your feet in...). Stinkie with the weird fast food below and noisy as if you're sleeping close to the highway. Good for 1 drinkin night but thats all!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: Great Location! 50% off in apache pizza downstairs

Disliked: Staff are not very helpful... They are rarely at reception. Had to wait about 15 minutes for someone to come to reception to check us in. The rooms are small and the toilets are dirty and smelly. There is one socket between 4 in our room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niamh Kelly O'Neill

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 October 2013 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and great value for money!

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner but it was still cheap and cheerful!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: テンプルバーに近く観光しやすかった。

Disliked: シャワーが汚く、部屋がせまい。

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Carolin Voelker

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2013

Liked: I liked the location which was very central, though very noisy at night.

Disliked: I'm a budget traveler and I don't except any luxuries. BUT I expect clean bathrooms, a sink so big you can wash your face, clean sheets and some kind of storage possibility (lockers, cupboards etc). None of the above was given, so it wasn't a great stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: The hostel was very clean, and they gave you a discount to the attached pizza joint next door. There is free wifi, and I think it works in the rooms, but I can't remember for sure. The staff was also very nice. It's also located in downtown, so you're right in the center of everything and therefore within easy walking distance.

Disliked: DON'T GET A PRIVATE ROOM!! The room is seriously the size of a closet. The length of the bunk bed is the same width as the room (they must have assembled the bed IN the room, because there is no way they could get it in otherwise). After the bunk bed there is about 2 feet of space times the length of the bed to walk around in. There was a little niche by the window, but that was taken up by a desk and a chair... I was able to peek into a shared room, and there is much more space. There is one shower that is shared between 3 rooms (2 private, 1 group room) so you'll have to plan your time around other people showering. Thankfully, there is a toilet separate from the shower so you don't have to wait for someone to finish showering if you have to go to the bathroom.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: This hostel was very conveniently located, right along the main avenue in the Temple Bar neighborhood. You also get a 50% discount card at the attached Apache Pizza joint (although I wasn't visiting Ireland to eat greasy pizza and deep fried food).

Disliked: No breakfast available, not even toast and coffee. The location also means LOTS of noise, so light sleepers like myself will spend most of the night wishing they'd brought ear plugs. It gets crazy loud at odd hours due to the large number of partiers stumbling home. Also, they were remodeling the cement apron in front of the main door right below our window starting at 4am for some hellish reason, so sleep was not on the table. Rooms are very tiny, but the bathrooms did have soap and toilet paper (you have to pay for a towel if you want it). The people at the front desk were fairly unknowledgeable regarding the bus system and weren't particularly welcoming compared to other hostels I've stayed at. The wifi is free, but terrible.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: Its good location is the only thing going for the Apache Hostel. But there are plenty of other hostels in the area.

Disliked: When I checked in and out, there was no one at the front desk even though there apparently was supposed to be. I had to catch my flight so I couldn't even get my key deposit back. I've stayed in some of the rougher hostels, but I've never seen bathrooms this dirty!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Temple Bar, 24 hour check-in, no curfew, big private rooms, good value for what you pay.

Disliked: Shower isn't very clean, can be loud at night if your window faces the street

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 May 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: everything else

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe O'Mahoney-James

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and prime location!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit temperamental


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels