HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar

Hostel | 29 Eustace Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

58.4% Overall Rating

70 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2014)

"Not nearly as bad as it's rating. Not the cleanest place, but it's not like there are bugs crawling around. Really good location."

Read all The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.46
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Customers are required to pay 10 Euros security deposit at check in. This is refundable at check out once keys are retrieved.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
36.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
40.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
20.06 USD

Hostel 86.5% 236 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
41.50 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Brooks Hotel
207.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Bridge House
26.28 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 30 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.60 USD

Hostel 84.5% 97 reviews
Abigails Hostel
16.60 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.4%

Overall Rating

70 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
60.0%
Value
59.2%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not nearly as bad as it's rating. Not the cleanest place, but it's not like there are bugs crawling around. Really good location.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and central.

Disliked: No plug sockets in our room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great , in the city center.

Disliked: For the price that you pay , It was ok! Cleanliness not really up to standard in the bathroom , but you shared it with other travellers so It was not the owners fault.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2014

Liked: location, but there are lots of hostels in the city centre so choose any other because it's difficult to find a worse hostel than Apache!!

Disliked: the rooms and the toilets are very dirty, they don't clean the rooms every day. The reception and the rooms smell very bad. I have been in lots of cheap hostels but it was the worst without any doubt.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

graham johnson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 February 2014 graham would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and the beds were comfy enough rooms con sited of bunk beds for the twin and 6 bed rooms, the double bed rooms were a good size, rooms are basic with a plug socket and somewhere to put your clothes. Its in a good location, the only noise you get is from it being close to temple bar but this happens with any other place so close to this area.

Disliked: its basic and you do get what you pay for so if your looking for 5* hotel you need to look elsewhere

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tracey Newman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 January 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 December 2013

Liked: proximity of the city center

Disliked: May be it is close to the city center but it was dirty as I never thought. I know for 15 euros it won't be an amazing room but the bathroom was dirty (toilets doesnt work, floor of the shower really dirty you don't want put your feet in...). Stinkie with the weird fast food below and noisy as if you're sleeping close to the highway. Good for 1 drinkin night but thats all!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: Great Location! 50% off in apache pizza downstairs

Disliked: Staff are not very helpful... They are rarely at reception. Had to wait about 15 minutes for someone to come to reception to check us in. The rooms are small and the toilets are dirty and smelly. There is one socket between 4 in our room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niamh Kelly O'Neill

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 October 2013 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and great value for money!

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner but it was still cheap and cheerful!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: テンプルバーに近く観光しやすかった。

Disliked: シャワーが汚く、部屋がせまい。

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Carolin Voelker

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2013

Liked: I liked the location which was very central, though very noisy at night.

Disliked: I'm a budget traveler and I don't except any luxuries. BUT I expect clean bathrooms, a sink so big you can wash your face, clean sheets and some kind of storage possibility (lockers, cupboards etc). None of the above was given, so it wasn't a great stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: The hostel was very clean, and they gave you a discount to the attached pizza joint next door. There is free wifi, and I think it works in the rooms, but I can't remember for sure. The staff was also very nice. It's also located in downtown, so you're right in the center of everything and therefore within easy walking distance.

Disliked: DON'T GET A PRIVATE ROOM!! The room is seriously the size of a closet. The length of the bunk bed is the same width as the room (they must have assembled the bed IN the room, because there is no way they could get it in otherwise). After the bunk bed there is about 2 feet of space times the length of the bed to walk around in. There was a little niche by the window, but that was taken up by a desk and a chair... I was able to peek into a shared room, and there is much more space. There is one shower that is shared between 3 rooms (2 private, 1 group room) so you'll have to plan your time around other people showering. Thankfully, there is a toilet separate from the shower so you don't have to wait for someone to finish showering if you have to go to the bathroom.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: This hostel was very conveniently located, right along the main avenue in the Temple Bar neighborhood. You also get a 50% discount card at the attached Apache Pizza joint (although I wasn't visiting Ireland to eat greasy pizza and deep fried food).

Disliked: No breakfast available, not even toast and coffee. The location also means LOTS of noise, so light sleepers like myself will spend most of the night wishing they'd brought ear plugs. It gets crazy loud at odd hours due to the large number of partiers stumbling home. Also, they were remodeling the cement apron in front of the main door right below our window starting at 4am for some hellish reason, so sleep was not on the table. Rooms are very tiny, but the bathrooms did have soap and toilet paper (you have to pay for a towel if you want it). The people at the front desk were fairly unknowledgeable regarding the bus system and weren't particularly welcoming compared to other hostels I've stayed at. The wifi is free, but terrible.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: Its good location is the only thing going for the Apache Hostel. But there are plenty of other hostels in the area.

Disliked: When I checked in and out, there was no one at the front desk even though there apparently was supposed to be. I had to catch my flight so I couldn't even get my key deposit back. I've stayed in some of the rougher hostels, but I've never seen bathrooms this dirty!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Temple Bar, 24 hour check-in, no curfew, big private rooms, good value for what you pay.

Disliked: Shower isn't very clean, can be loud at night if your window faces the street

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 May 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: everything else

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe O'Mahoney-James

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and prime location!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit temperamental

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013

Liked: Location- That's all.

Disliked: It was not clean, the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all in the few days I was here. The front door was hardly ever locked so people could just walk in and nobody checked if they were staying here it not. The staff were anything but helpful and polite (they messed up my room and changed me twice. Then on my last night there 3 staff members individually came into our room unannounced, turning the lights on at 2am because they had messed up someone else booking) The street noise is really bad. Especially on the weekends. It really isn't value for money. There is no kitchen, no lockers, bad wifi. There are plenty of other place that offer the same or lesser price for so much better. The only reason I stayed was because there was nothing else available at the time. Save yourself the hassle and avoid!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accommodation. We only water a bed to sleep in and that's what we got. Very cheap for temple bar

Disliked: Bathroom very dirty but I suppose that's people staying there's faults really

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Almost everything but location, yet I wouldn't have minded walking longer to get to Temple Bar area and having better accommodation. This place was a huge disappointment.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Jocelyn Burke

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2013 Jocelyn would recommend this property

Liked: 50% off pizza

Disliked: it was old and dingy and dirty. Room was ridiculously small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location. I liked how they had a pizza shop that gave discounts to those staying at the hostel. The staff were friendly and you can't beat the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gihan Tandirige

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2013 Gihan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, direct on Temple Bar, so everything can be done on walking! Price, cheaper does not exist. For the price, I paid (14€ / night), it was really ok. Bed are clean and the staff is really nice and helpful

Disliked: The location ca be noisy, because all the bars are in Temple bar. No heating You have sometimes to find the staff your self. There is not enough staff sometimes.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels