We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin

Hostel | 80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin

55.2% Overall Rating

45 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

"The location was good! Only a 5 minute walk from the bus station, O'Connell St., and Connolly station. Plus, the bus stop right in front of the hostel goes to the airport, so it is a convenient place to stay before…"

Read all Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
18.25 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 56.7% 232 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
15.49 USD

Hostel 89.1% 1399 reviews
Durban Residence
16.59 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
Jacobs Inn
15.49 USD

Hostel 88.9% 927 reviews
The Glen Guest House
51.26 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 50 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
13.28 USD

Hostel 79.9% 1116 reviews
Maple Hotel
34.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.2%

Overall Rating

45 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin'

Atmosphere
46.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
36.8%
Cleanliness
32.0%
Staff
68.8%
Value
53.6%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Unable to pay by card

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in the near city center, transport to airport just outside the hostel

Disliked: The hostel was poorly cleened and a bit noisy from the other rooms. It is however in line with the price paid.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2015

Liked: Friendly staff and travellers

Disliked: Limited bathrooms, eveything mouldy and old

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Not as described and not in satisfactory condition.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Javier Sánchez-Infante Álvarez

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015

Liked: the location.

Disliked: the room wasn´t equipedd properly. All its wall socket were broken but the worse was not that , the worse was the bad way of the staff for resolving the problem. They told us that was posible change the room and we packed all our staff and we had to come later to put our bags in the new room but there wasn´t any other room and that we can go to the living room to sleep ( there is a bed in the living room, but any way that room is no for sleep) ; so we had to come to the same room. it was nothing serious and nothing professional.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good! Only a 5 minute walk from the bus station, O'Connell St., and Connolly station. Plus, the bus stop right in front of the hostel goes to the airport, so it is a convenient place to stay before taking off.

Disliked: The walls are REALLY thin. We could hear the people next to us talking all night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joe Baker

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2015 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, location and room sizes.

Disliked: Shower in room 40 was a dribble.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015

Liked: Good location!!

Disliked: More cleaning needed and buy some kitchen stuff pleas

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2015

Liked: Not much. The location is not too bad and they have a good selection of brochures in the reception area, but that's about it.

Disliked: 1. The place was dirty. You could see piles of sand and dirt downstairs by the receptions and there was dust all over my room 2. My room reeked of paint that hurt my nostrils. 3. The shower in my room was so bad that it was barely dripping and there was no hot water. 4. the TV-cable was hanging from the wall and part of it was on my bed when I got there. I couldn't put it back so I slept with a TV-cable on top or underneath me all night(I asked the reception about it but they couldn't do anything). 5. My window wouldn't close properly so it was freezing when I woke up in the morning. 6. I had a double bed to myself which was a surprise, but the mattress was maybe an inch thick so it felt like I was sleeping on wooden boards. 7. They say on the website that the check out time is 12pm, but they wanted me out at 10am(11am at the latest). 8. The entire building is poorly isolated and you can hear everything your neighbors are doing(even from below).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2014

Liked: very little

Disliked: i was put in a room with no heating when it was -6 outside. They didn't want to move me cos they said that the other beds were for people arriving later. This was 10pm. The toilet was broken, no toilet paper, wet floor, no heat in bathroom. Concrete blocks on floors. Quilt stained and faded. Floorcovering ripped. Disgraceful!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: The day I left. I did not have a shower because of the disgusting bathrooms. I am not the only one who think this way, but most of the customers who I was talking to in my bedroom. To resume, I did not like anything about this hostel. I just wanted to go to visit the city and talk to the friendly local people.

Disliked: Backpackes, I am very sorry but I have to tell you that this is the dirtiest hostel I have never ever been in my life. Just go and ask them to show you the toilets. The man who leads the place is very unfriendly. However, the bedroom was not so dirty, probably because there was not enough light to see the whole bedroom. Not kidding. Visit Ireland, nice people, nice places, wonderful people, but no go to this hostel please; choose another one.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014

Liked: Beds are ok Luggage room Backyard

Disliked: For the whole Hostel (at least 60 people) two toilets and three showers. The sinks of the showers didn't work properly so you have to stand in the waste water of the guy who took a shower before you. Very dirty, really disgusting smell, a toilet was defect, no toilet paper.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Darren Reidy

Alone

Business / conference

26 August 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: It had four walls. Bed was comfortable.

Disliked: The fact I didn't actually stay there, what with being offloaded to another hostel. Lack of earplugs: had to sort out a guy snoring like a chainsaw myself (though that was kind of fun I'll admit). One bathroom stall smelled like the quintessential pub toilet after a group of blind guys played a game of "Who can hit the bowl from 15 feet, while the other would remind you of the toilet in Trainspotting.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mustafa erman Karaman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Mustafa erman would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location very close to centre

Disliked: Not so secure and no place to fit your staff inside the room

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2014

Liked: a mistake

Disliked: bad wc; loud

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap.

Disliked: Bathrooms were pretty grotty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Annmarie Cooling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Annmarie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good location

Disliked: Very basic for price you can get a hotel for the same

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaroslav Novotny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Location - good for center, good for airport

Disliked: 0

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: The staff was really nice and it was pretty close to O'Connell St.

Disliked: It was not very clean and the plugs did not work in the room so forget about charging your phone. There is a complete lack of security, no lockers in the room and there are no room keys just a simple code to get in (with one of those passwords that everyone says is the number 1 password dumb people use)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alessandro Rapisarda

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

21 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: the room wasn't as described, no towels, room dirty full of hairs, the shower didn't work, it wasn't possible to close the window so anyone could have access to the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Devaney

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: a guy charged up and looked at my details when I was halfway up to the desk. I hadn't a chance to say anything. He was saying they were overbooked and that the place was too cheap. He was fairly loaded- more drugs than drink. He then was talking to some american girls and started to dance a jig- cause he was drunk- they stood and watched him quizzically- they are into the idea of bland robotic service in the US and are insistent that everyone abase themselves for tips. I thought it was funny- it was real at least. hostel was grand- for 15 euro a roof would have been a bonus- the yanks were put out cause even though they paid a pittance they would want it to be the four Seasons.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2014

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Place is filthy and the amenities are terrible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and people I meet

Disliked: there was no locking space where only the owner could have accessibility

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

26 September 2013

Liked: Bed sheets were clean. The rest was not.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels