HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers D1Hostel Dublin

Hostel

80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 41%

Cleanliness 33%

Facilities 32%

Location 84%

Safety 48%

Staff 58%

Value 45%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.36USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 41%

Cleanliness 33%

Facilities 32%

Location 84%

Safety 48%

Staff 58%

Value 45%

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Hostel bookers said that there is parking available, but when we arrived it was almost full and an additional 20euro per night, which we thought was extortionate!! The WiFi was painfully slow, barely worked, the receptionist was rude, and they did not even provide towels! Room was very basic, noisy at night and with the absolute minimum pillow height! It may be one of the cheapest hostels in the area, but certainly does not represent good value. I'd recommend booking elsewhere.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Not at all clean, the building was falling apart, we had to haggle the price with the reception worker, it seemed he was trying to overcharge us, the dorm bathroom was unusable and unsafe.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nothing, when I left!

Disliked: Everything you name it, hair all over the floor!

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1, The Hostel is dirty, the floor in the doorm wasn't cleaned for month. There was no regulary cleaning in the room, we stayed there for 3 Nights, and the litterbox cleaned during our whole stay.The "bathroom" was the dirtiest bathroom I have ever seen in my whole life. In the shower there were no lights, but I don't know if this was so bad, because so we didn't see the dirt allover.2, Security: The doorm has a door which is locked with a code, but there is antoher door to the doorm 3 meters next to the first one, which is not able to lock.After we talk to the reception to this problem they siad that is no problem, no one without permission ist allowed to enter the hostel.When we come back in the night, another person was at the recpetion, and there was totaly no control, everbody could have enter this hostel.3, Wifi: It wasn't available the most time.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Pay what you get! It's very basic and bit grotty but it's so cheap

Disliked: Communal toilets are disgusting but if you get a private room THEYRE ok!!! We stayed in room a

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Where to begin. If you enjoy walking around rougher areas of cities at night by all means choose this hostel. The hostel was a dump. Upon arrival you are led downstairs to the rooms which can only be described as shockingly bad. No lock on the door to the room, and no lockers meant you had no other choice than to carry around your belonging all day. The room was dark and unclean, my friend slept next to a wall covered in mould and on the other side was cigarette butts scattered across the floor. The whole room was damp and the bed was unclean and damp as a result. If this was not bad enough the toilet and shower facilities were quite simply an abomination to the senses! Stagnant water was everywhere and the 1 shower was unclean (smelt like fish). Not only did the shower smell, it was also in near darkness which made showering a little more complicated than usual. Overall I would not recommend this hostel to the worse of enemies as you'd feel cleaner sleeping on top of a rubbish heap. Having stayed in hostels across the world, for similar prices this was definitely the worst any of us had ever stayed in! DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOSTEL.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price and location.

Disliked: Cramped bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: mold in my room, dirty toilets and washink room, no soap on wahsing room. reception didnt open on time. i got a code for my room, but ober another door i coul get in without a code, so the room was not locked at all

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Unable to pay by card

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location in the near city center, transport to airport just outside the hostel

Disliked: The hostel was poorly cleened and a bit noisy from the other rooms. It is however in line with the price paid.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability