HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin

Hostel | 80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin

61.0% Overall Rating

26 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Michael Devaney thinks…

"a guy charged up and looked at my details when I was halfway up to the desk. I hadn't a chance to say anything. He was saying they were overbooked and that the place was too cheap. He was fairly…"

Read all Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.81 USD

Hostel 75.8% 327 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 57.5% 196 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 83.8% 1378 reviews
Durban Residence
27.30 USD

Hostel 75.4% 38 reviews
Jacobs Inn
13.82 USD

Hostel 84.2% 903 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
40.77 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
The Glen Guest House
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 48 reviews
Abraham House
12.44 USD

Hostel 86.4% 976 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.0%

Overall Rating

26 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
54.4%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 59 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Devaney

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: a guy charged up and looked at my details when I was halfway up to the desk. I hadn't a chance to say anything. He was saying they were overbooked and that the place was too cheap. He was fairly loaded- more drugs than drink. He then was talking to some american girls and started to dance a jig- cause he was drunk- they stood and watched him quizzically- they are into the idea of bland robotic service in the US and are insistent that everyone abase themselves for tips. I thought it was funny- it was real at least. hostel was grand- for 15 euro a roof would have been a bonus- the yanks were put out cause even though they paid a pittance they would want it to be the four Seasons.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2014

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Place is filthy and the amenities are terrible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and people I meet

Disliked: there was no locking space where only the owner could have accessibility

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

26 September 2013

Liked: Bed sheets were clean. The rest was not.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff and really good location.

Disliked: The Dart is very close to the hostel and it is noisy. The cleanliness wasn't as good as we expected. You can't prepare your lunch due to the kitchen is closed from 12 to 5pm, I think it is a really big break only for cleaning it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement est idéal

Disliked: Un peu salle (surtout la salle de bain) et pas de cassiers pour poser les valises

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mateo Pannelli

Alone

City break

18 June 2013 Mateo would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly of the staff

Disliked: The guests don't have a private security safe to put his staff

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013

Liked: Nothing. It was located near the start of my tour location.

Disliked: Everything. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The premises were filthy, and extremely run down, it was either covered in dirt or mildew. The windows didn't lock correctly and there was a balcony someone could easily enter your room through the window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Madeleine Webster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: We were upgraded from a 10 person mixed-dorm to a private double, all the problems that we had read about online were not an issue at all for us.. we always had hot showers, we were easily able to access the wifi. Our stay at D1 was just great! No problems at all!

Disliked: The floor had not been vaccumed and there isn't a common room to mix with other travellers

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location & price.

Disliked: The noise level in the hostel. Unpleasant kitchen with restricted timing for usage.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: Sometimes obnoxious staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Maureen Byrne

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus station, cheap. Staff are friendly and respond to requests. Roomy dorms and key code door openings. Main floor of building is actually quite attractive. Nice big kitchen that promotes socializing.

Disliked: Needs more attention to bathrooms and some dishtowels and cloths in the kitchen so guests can clean up after themselves. Also kitchen doesn't need to be closed from noon to five as there is limited lounge seating. Two hours for cleaning should be adequate.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

derek johnson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the hostel i felt it was great valur for money cant see how anyone could complain im 57 yrs old been everywere lived in back of van in my type of work so the hostel was no bother to me and if i wanted 5 star i know i would have to pay 5 star prices so anyone who complain should go 5 star the yound people around me where great so top marks for that

Disliked: nothing as im rough and ready cant knock the hostel could be more clean but then you would need 2 cleaners going around 24/7 so as i say dont expect 5 star unless you are paying 5 star you get what you pay for in life end of

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 May 2013

Liked: Location, big rooms, well equipped kitchen

Disliked: if u book for d1 you will probably be moved to cities hostel. The hostel wasn't clean but I've seen worse. The bathrooms are perhaps the worst I've ever seen, dirty, not enough, falling apart and the showers didn't really work.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms were disgusting! Bed linen smelled horrible!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: n/a

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: 24hr reception and had a locked luggage room.

Disliked: We booked this place, but were sent down the street to the Chelsea on arrival. Apparently several of these hostels are owned together so even though we specifically wanted to stay at the better location, we were sent to a worse one. They don't actually have records of online bookings (we overheard someone else having issues with reception the next day), so we were put in a 10person dorm instead of what we booked. The bathrooms don't have soap or toilet paper and the showers have no lights so you shower in the dark unless it's sunny outside (Dublin, so never). The hostel we were sent to looked like a very, old, dilapidated house. There are holes in some of the walls that let light in from outside. It’s also right next to the DART (commuter rail) tracks, so it’s kind of noisy in the morning. I’ve lived in Dublin before and realize it’s a great city, so this hostel makes me sad that this is the only view some people get of Dublin and possibly Ireland.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012

Liked: Beds are clean and quite comfortable

Disliked: Shit on the floor in the toilets, very dirty showers and toilets

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Cawley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: It was central and cheap

Disliked: The bathroom / shower facilities for the dorm need to be improved - re-grouting etc

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

William Taylor

With a large group / tour

Romantic getaway

26 March 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The guy on reception is a really nice guy but a bit of a fuitcake. He traded his entire Mr Men collection with me in exchange for tickets to see Jedward at the O2

Disliked: I asked Olga on reception out on a date but she said she didnt like my eyebrows, apparently they dont match my hair colour :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city,beside everything

Disliked: No dislikes,you get what you pay for just needed a bed for the night,prefect place

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

brendan kelly

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 brendan would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: cold bathrooms and noise coming from the street

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noisy, dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness, strange people


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels