We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin

Hostel | 80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin

52.6% Overall Rating

38 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

"Not much. The location is not too bad and they have a good selection of brochures in the reception area, but that's about it."

Read all Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
18.37 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
16.70 USD

Hostel 49.7% 216 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
15.59 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1396 reviews
Durban Residence
16.70 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
Jacobs Inn
15.59 USD

Hostel 87.9% 923 reviews
The Glen Guest House
25.06 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 50 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
10.02 USD

Hostel 80.7% 1105 reviews
Maple Hotel
25.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.6%

Overall Rating

38 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
38.4%
Cleanliness
29.6%
Staff
60.0%
Value
56.0%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015

Liked: Good location!!

Disliked: More cleaning needed and buy some kitchen stuff pleas

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2015

Liked: Not much. The location is not too bad and they have a good selection of brochures in the reception area, but that's about it.

Disliked: 1. The place was dirty. You could see piles of sand and dirt downstairs by the receptions and there was dust all over my room 2. My room reeked of paint that hurt my nostrils. 3. The shower in my room was so bad that it was barely dripping and there was no hot water. 4. the TV-cable was hanging from the wall and part of it was on my bed when I got there. I couldn't put it back so I slept with a TV-cable on top or underneath me all night(I asked the reception about it but they couldn't do anything). 5. My window wouldn't close properly so it was freezing when I woke up in the morning. 6. I had a double bed to myself which was a surprise, but the mattress was maybe an inch thick so it felt like I was sleeping on wooden boards. 7. They say on the website that the check out time is 12pm, but they wanted me out at 10am(11am at the latest). 8. The entire building is poorly isolated and you can hear everything your neighbors are doing(even from below).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2014

Liked: very little

Disliked: i was put in a room with no heating when it was -6 outside. They didn't want to move me cos they said that the other beds were for people arriving later. This was 10pm. The toilet was broken, no toilet paper, wet floor, no heat in bathroom. Concrete blocks on floors. Quilt stained and faded. Floorcovering ripped. Disgraceful!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: The day I left. I did not have a shower because of the disgusting bathrooms. I am not the only one who think this way, but most of the customers who I was talking to in my bedroom. To resume, I did not like anything about this hostel. I just wanted to go to visit the city and talk to the friendly local people.

Disliked: Backpackes, I am very sorry but I have to tell you that this is the dirtiest hostel I have never ever been in my life. Just go and ask them to show you the toilets. The man who leads the place is very unfriendly. However, the bedroom was not so dirty, probably because there was not enough light to see the whole bedroom. Not kidding. Visit Ireland, nice people, nice places, wonderful people, but no go to this hostel please; choose another one.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014

Liked: Beds are ok Luggage room Backyard

Disliked: For the whole Hostel (at least 60 people) two toilets and three showers. The sinks of the showers didn't work properly so you have to stand in the waste water of the guy who took a shower before you. Very dirty, really disgusting smell, a toilet was defect, no toilet paper.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Darren Reidy

Alone

Business / conference

26 August 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: It had four walls. Bed was comfortable.

Disliked: The fact I didn't actually stay there, what with being offloaded to another hostel. Lack of earplugs: had to sort out a guy snoring like a chainsaw myself (though that was kind of fun I'll admit). One bathroom stall smelled like the quintessential pub toilet after a group of blind guys played a game of "Who can hit the bowl from 15 feet, while the other would remind you of the toilet in Trainspotting.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mustafa erman Karaman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Mustafa erman would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location very close to centre

Disliked: Not so secure and no place to fit your staff inside the room

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2014

Liked: a mistake

Disliked: bad wc; loud

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap.

Disliked: Bathrooms were pretty grotty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Annmarie Cooling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Annmarie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good location

Disliked: Very basic for price you can get a hotel for the same

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaroslav Novotny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Location - good for center, good for airport

Disliked: 0

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: The staff was really nice and it was pretty close to O'Connell St.

Disliked: It was not very clean and the plugs did not work in the room so forget about charging your phone. There is a complete lack of security, no lockers in the room and there are no room keys just a simple code to get in (with one of those passwords that everyone says is the number 1 password dumb people use)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alessandro Rapisarda

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

21 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: the room wasn't as described, no towels, room dirty full of hairs, the shower didn't work, it wasn't possible to close the window so anyone could have access to the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Devaney

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: a guy charged up and looked at my details when I was halfway up to the desk. I hadn't a chance to say anything. He was saying they were overbooked and that the place was too cheap. He was fairly loaded- more drugs than drink. He then was talking to some american girls and started to dance a jig- cause he was drunk- they stood and watched him quizzically- they are into the idea of bland robotic service in the US and are insistent that everyone abase themselves for tips. I thought it was funny- it was real at least. hostel was grand- for 15 euro a roof would have been a bonus- the yanks were put out cause even though they paid a pittance they would want it to be the four Seasons.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2014

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Place is filthy and the amenities are terrible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and people I meet

Disliked: there was no locking space where only the owner could have accessibility

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

26 September 2013

Liked: Bed sheets were clean. The rest was not.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff and really good location.

Disliked: The Dart is very close to the hostel and it is noisy. The cleanliness wasn't as good as we expected. You can't prepare your lunch due to the kitchen is closed from 12 to 5pm, I think it is a really big break only for cleaning it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement est idéal

Disliked: Un peu salle (surtout la salle de bain) et pas de cassiers pour poser les valises

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mateo Pannelli

Alone

City break

18 June 2013 Mateo would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly of the staff

Disliked: The guests don't have a private security safe to put his staff

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013

Liked: Nothing. It was located near the start of my tour location.

Disliked: Everything. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The premises were filthy, and extremely run down, it was either covered in dirt or mildew. The windows didn't lock correctly and there was a balcony someone could easily enter your room through the window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Madeleine Webster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: We were upgraded from a 10 person mixed-dorm to a private double, all the problems that we had read about online were not an issue at all for us.. we always had hot showers, we were easily able to access the wifi. Our stay at D1 was just great! No problems at all!

Disliked: The floor had not been vaccumed and there isn't a common room to mix with other travellers

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location & price.

Disliked: The noise level in the hostel. Unpleasant kitchen with restricted timing for usage.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: Sometimes obnoxious staff


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels