We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin

Hostel | 80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin

53.8% Overall Rating

42 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

"The location was good! Only a 5 minute walk from the bus station, O'Connell St., and Connolly station. Plus, the bus stop right in front of the hostel goes to the airport, so it is a convenient place to stay before…"

Read all Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
17.77 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
16.15 USD

Hostel 52.6% 219 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
15.07 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1397 reviews
Durban Residence
16.15 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
Jacobs Inn
15.07 USD

Hostel 87.7% 924 reviews
The Glen Guest House
24.77 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 50 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
10.77 USD

Hostel 81.5% 1112 reviews
Maple Hotel
26.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.8%

Overall Rating

42 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin'

Atmosphere
46.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
32.0%
Staff
60.0%
Value
56.0%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 96 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013

Liked: Nothing. It was located near the start of my tour location.

Disliked: Everything. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The premises were filthy, and extremely run down, it was either covered in dirt or mildew. The windows didn't lock correctly and there was a balcony someone could easily enter your room through the window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Madeleine Webster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: We were upgraded from a 10 person mixed-dorm to a private double, all the problems that we had read about online were not an issue at all for us.. we always had hot showers, we were easily able to access the wifi. Our stay at D1 was just great! No problems at all!

Disliked: The floor had not been vaccumed and there isn't a common room to mix with other travellers

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location & price.

Disliked: The noise level in the hostel. Unpleasant kitchen with restricted timing for usage.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: Sometimes obnoxious staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Maureen Byrne

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus station, cheap. Staff are friendly and respond to requests. Roomy dorms and key code door openings. Main floor of building is actually quite attractive. Nice big kitchen that promotes socializing.

Disliked: Needs more attention to bathrooms and some dishtowels and cloths in the kitchen so guests can clean up after themselves. Also kitchen doesn't need to be closed from noon to five as there is limited lounge seating. Two hours for cleaning should be adequate.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

derek johnson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the hostel i felt it was great valur for money cant see how anyone could complain im 57 yrs old been everywere lived in back of van in my type of work so the hostel was no bother to me and if i wanted 5 star i know i would have to pay 5 star prices so anyone who complain should go 5 star the yound people around me where great so top marks for that

Disliked: nothing as im rough and ready cant knock the hostel could be more clean but then you would need 2 cleaners going around 24/7 so as i say dont expect 5 star unless you are paying 5 star you get what you pay for in life end of

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 May 2013

Liked: Location, big rooms, well equipped kitchen

Disliked: if u book for d1 you will probably be moved to cities hostel. The hostel wasn't clean but I've seen worse. The bathrooms are perhaps the worst I've ever seen, dirty, not enough, falling apart and the showers didn't really work.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms were disgusting! Bed linen smelled horrible!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: n/a

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: 24hr reception and had a locked luggage room.

Disliked: We booked this place, but were sent down the street to the Chelsea on arrival. Apparently several of these hostels are owned together so even though we specifically wanted to stay at the better location, we were sent to a worse one. They don't actually have records of online bookings (we overheard someone else having issues with reception the next day), so we were put in a 10person dorm instead of what we booked. The bathrooms don't have soap or toilet paper and the showers have no lights so you shower in the dark unless it's sunny outside (Dublin, so never). The hostel we were sent to looked like a very, old, dilapidated house. There are holes in some of the walls that let light in from outside. It’s also right next to the DART (commuter rail) tracks, so it’s kind of noisy in the morning. I’ve lived in Dublin before and realize it’s a great city, so this hostel makes me sad that this is the only view some people get of Dublin and possibly Ireland.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012

Liked: Beds are clean and quite comfortable

Disliked: Shit on the floor in the toilets, very dirty showers and toilets

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Cawley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: It was central and cheap

Disliked: The bathroom / shower facilities for the dorm need to be improved - re-grouting etc

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

William Taylor

With a large group / tour

Romantic getaway

26 March 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The guy on reception is a really nice guy but a bit of a fuitcake. He traded his entire Mr Men collection with me in exchange for tickets to see Jedward at the O2

Disliked: I asked Olga on reception out on a date but she said she didnt like my eyebrows, apparently they dont match my hair colour :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city,beside everything

Disliked: No dislikes,you get what you pay for just needed a bed for the night,prefect place

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

brendan kelly

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 brendan would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: cold bathrooms and noise coming from the street

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noisy, dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness, strange people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + information-brochures

Disliked: - voices of the neighbours (noisy) - window was hard to close - no WLAN - no bin at our room, outside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard is very nice, other travelers are nice, staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Kitchen maintenance left a bit to be desired, as did kitchen hours. The toilets/showers are quite rundown and lacking for quantity of guests.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location near main bus terminal and north side of city

Disliked: internet kept dropping out but would atleast start again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great athmosphere, in the middle of the city centre, and great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011

Liked: not too much

Disliked: They were pretty confused. They moved us to another hotel, which was really bad. That hostel, the chelsea, on the same street, was extremely dirty. i just didn't dare to take a shower. we didn't receive clean sheets. the room was full of dust. the kitchen was simply horrible. For the same price I got another room at Abraham's (also on the same street), which is definitely worth.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It seams that there are hostels under different names that are actually run together We booked for D1 but had to enter another hostel called Chelsea then we were sent down the road ti another one with 2 different names - dodgy Anyway, the hostel we did stay in was dirty. I would recommend finding another place to stay


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels