HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin

Hostel | 80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin

55.2% Overall Rating

35 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Michael Devaney thinks…

"a guy charged up and looked at my details when I was halfway up to the desk. I hadn't a chance to say anything. He was saying they were overbooked and that the place was too cheap. He was fairly…"

Read all Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
21.74 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 50.9% 211 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
18.45 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1388 reviews
Durban Residence
32.62 USD

Hostel 75.9% 40 reviews
Jacobs Inn
18.45 USD

Hostel 83.4% 907 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
38.88 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
The Glen Guest House
42.83 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abraham House
11.86 USD

Hostel 82.1% 1076 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.2%

Overall Rating

35 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin'

Atmosphere
48.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
38.4%
Staff
64.8%
Value
56.8%
Safety
55.2%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 79 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: 24hr reception and had a locked luggage room.

Disliked: We booked this place, but were sent down the street to the Chelsea on arrival. Apparently several of these hostels are owned together so even though we specifically wanted to stay at the better location, we were sent to a worse one. They don't actually have records of online bookings (we overheard someone else having issues with reception the next day), so we were put in a 10person dorm instead of what we booked. The bathrooms don't have soap or toilet paper and the showers have no lights so you shower in the dark unless it's sunny outside (Dublin, so never). The hostel we were sent to looked like a very, old, dilapidated house. There are holes in some of the walls that let light in from outside. It’s also right next to the DART (commuter rail) tracks, so it’s kind of noisy in the morning. I’ve lived in Dublin before and realize it’s a great city, so this hostel makes me sad that this is the only view some people get of Dublin and possibly Ireland.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012

Liked: Beds are clean and quite comfortable

Disliked: Shit on the floor in the toilets, very dirty showers and toilets

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Cawley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: It was central and cheap

Disliked: The bathroom / shower facilities for the dorm need to be improved - re-grouting etc

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

William Taylor

With a large group / tour

Romantic getaway

26 March 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The guy on reception is a really nice guy but a bit of a fuitcake. He traded his entire Mr Men collection with me in exchange for tickets to see Jedward at the O2

Disliked: I asked Olga on reception out on a date but she said she didnt like my eyebrows, apparently they dont match my hair colour :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city,beside everything

Disliked: No dislikes,you get what you pay for just needed a bed for the night,prefect place

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

brendan kelly

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 brendan would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: cold bathrooms and noise coming from the street

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noisy, dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness, strange people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + information-brochures

Disliked: - voices of the neighbours (noisy) - window was hard to close - no WLAN - no bin at our room, outside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard is very nice, other travelers are nice, staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Kitchen maintenance left a bit to be desired, as did kitchen hours. The toilets/showers are quite rundown and lacking for quantity of guests.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location near main bus terminal and north side of city

Disliked: internet kept dropping out but would atleast start again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great athmosphere, in the middle of the city centre, and great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011

Liked: not too much

Disliked: They were pretty confused. They moved us to another hotel, which was really bad. That hostel, the chelsea, on the same street, was extremely dirty. i just didn't dare to take a shower. we didn't receive clean sheets. the room was full of dust. the kitchen was simply horrible. For the same price I got another room at Abraham's (also on the same street), which is definitely worth.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It seams that there are hostels under different names that are actually run together We booked for D1 but had to enter another hostel called Chelsea then we were sent down the road ti another one with 2 different names - dodgy Anyway, the hostel we did stay in was dirty. I would recommend finding another place to stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emmanuel Alabi

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2011 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Toilets are old and need immediate repairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011

Liked: en-suite bathroom

Disliked: The kitchen was extremely dirty and so was the bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and other guests were nice.

Disliked: when i arrived they had no record of the booking, then they charged me the wrong price. then they had no change. the room was cold and someone kept the window open all the time and instead of closing the curtain it was tied in a ball. there's only one toilets near the ground floor even though there's three floors

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010

Liked: Nothing specially

Disliked: The building

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joelle Ambrose

30 April 2010

Liked: Ok for the price, had hot showers ... good for just a night or 2

Disliked: Joelle left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

18 April 2010

Liked: The staff was extremly nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a decent room and seemed secure. The staff was lovely and very helpful. The location wasn't too far from the city centre and was easy to get to. Staying in a private room with a double bed for the price we paid was great and the room and bathroom were pretty clean. It was a good stay. I would recommend this

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 March 2010

Liked: Poor security in the room, Toillets and shower were dirty

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 March 2010

Liked: Poor security in the room, Toillets and shower were dirty

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels