HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers D1Hostel Dublin

Hostel

80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 41%

Cleanliness 33%

Facilities 32%

Location 84%

Safety 48%

Staff 58%

Value 45%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.39USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 41%

Cleanliness 33%

Facilities 32%

Location 84%

Safety 48%

Staff 58%

Value 45%

Showing 11-20 of 44 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff and travellers

Disliked: Limited bathrooms, eveything mouldy and old

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Not as described and not in satisfactory condition.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: the location.

Disliked: the room wasn´t equipedd properly. All its wall socket were broken but the worse was not that , the worse was the bad way of the staff for resolving the problem. They told us that was posible change the room and we packed all our staff and we had to come later to put our bags in the new room but there wasn´t any other room and that we can go to the living room to sleep ( there is a bed in the living room, but any way that room is no for sleep) ; so we had to come to the same room. it was nothing serious and nothing professional.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good! Only a 5 minute walk from the bus station, O'Connell St., and Connolly station. Plus, the bus stop right in front of the hostel goes to the airport, so it is a convenient place to stay before taking off.

Disliked: The walls are REALLY thin. We could hear the people next to us talking all night.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good price, location and room sizes.

Disliked: Shower in room 40 was a dribble.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location!!

Disliked: More cleaning needed and buy some kitchen stuff pleas

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not much. The location is not too bad and they have a good selection of brochures in the reception area, but that's about it.

Disliked: 1. The place was dirty. You could see piles of sand and dirt downstairs by the receptions and there was dust all over my room 2. My room reeked of paint that hurt my nostrils. 3. The shower in my room was so bad that it was barely dripping and there was no hot water. 4. the TV-cable was hanging from the wall and part of it was on my bed when I got there. I couldn't put it back so I slept with a TV-cable on top or underneath me all night(I asked the reception about it but they couldn't do anything). 5. My window wouldn't close properly so it was freezing when I woke up in the morning. 6. I had a double bed to myself which was a surprise, but the mattress was maybe an inch thick so it felt like I was sleeping on wooden boards. 7. They say on the website that the check out time is 12pm, but they wanted me out at 10am(11am at the latest). 8. The entire building is poorly isolated and you can hear everything your neighbors are doing(even from below).

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very little

Disliked: i was put in a room with no heating when it was -6 outside. They didn't want to move me cos they said that the other beds were for people arriving later. This was 10pm. The toilet was broken, no toilet paper, wet floor, no heat in bathroom. Concrete blocks on floors. Quilt stained and faded. Floorcovering ripped. Disgraceful!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It had four walls. Bed was comfortable.

Disliked: The fact I didn't actually stay there, what with being offloaded to another hostel. Lack of earplugs: had to sort out a guy snoring like a chainsaw myself (though that was kind of fun I'll admit).One bathroom stall smelled like the quintessential pub toilet after a group of blind guys played a game of "Who can hit the bowl from 15 feet, while the other would remind you of the toilet in Trainspotting.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The day I left. I did not have a shower because of the disgusting bathrooms. I am not the only one who think this way, but most of the customers who I was talking to in my bedroom. To resume, I did not like anything about this hostel. I just wanted to go to visit the city and talk to the friendly local people.

Disliked: Backpackes, I am very sorry but I have to tell you that this is the dirtiest hostel I have never ever been in my life. Just go and ask them to show you the toilets. The man who leads the place is very unfriendly. However, the bedroom was not so dirty, probably because there was not enough light to see the whole bedroom. Not kidding. Visit Ireland, nice people, nice places, wonderful people, but no go to this hostel please; choose another one.

Check Availability