HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers Citi Hostel

Hostel | 61/62 Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

50.7% Overall Rating

100 out of 208 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

Miranda Nielsen thinks…

"It is attractive from the outside an the location is good. There is also free wifi in the common areas"

Read all Backpackers Citi Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Durban Residence
33.14 USD

Hostel 76.1% 39 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
16.07 USD

Hostel 57.6% 73 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.09 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
18.75 USD

Hostel 86.2% 1386 reviews
The Glen Guest House
46.20 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abraham House
13.39 USD

Hostel 81.1% 1058 reviews
Maple Hotel
42.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
52.89 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.7%

Overall Rating

100 out of 208 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Citi Hostel'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
38.4%
Cleanliness
36.0%
Staff
52.8%
Value
52.0%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 197 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: Beds seemed clean. Actual rooms weren't terrible.

Disliked: THE BATHROOMS WERE SO GROSS. So gross. No soap. Often no toilet paper. Smelled so bad. Groooosssssssss. Also, it seemed generally unprofessional. Like, it was a place to sleep, there didn't seem to be anything nasty about beds or rooms and it was close to Grafton Street (though also near a loud train track), but me and my sister very much avoided going to the bathroom there.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Miranda Nielsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014

Liked: It is attractive from the outside an the location is good. There is also free wifi in the common areas

Disliked: Everything else. The hostel is filthy, the staff are very rude, and there isn't a safe place to store belongings. There is an old man that works here that is racist and would go around yelling at customers and then calling them names and talking about them behind their backs. The kitchen is closed from 12 noon to 5pm and if you even try to go in there during those hours you will be yelled at. Overall this is a really unpleasant hostel. I would strongly recommend finding somewhere else.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Room condition and cleanliness

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ronan Tansey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2014

Liked: Good value for money, close to Busáras and Connolly Station. TV in private room.

Disliked: I stayed in a private room which was very poorly maintained/cleaned. Toilet wasn't flushed upon arrival and the light was extremely dim in the private shower (which on balance looks much better than the shared facilities).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

merryn mcinerney

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014

Liked: Nothing, I and another backpacker had to walk to the train station just to use the toilet

Disliked: Showers, toilet and beds..oh no heating..Because of how dirty it was, I didn't want to use the toilets or showers..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The patio area, many toilets and showers, location.

Disliked: "Lockers" for them means a room for everybody to stick your luggage in, not safe at all. Actually the number of people who have access to the "lockers" is higher than the one who actually has access in the dorm. Receptionists were three French girls with difficulties speaking in English, they were not able to answer very basic question about the hostel and they didn't have change for my cash payment.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2014

Liked: Good location and 24h hours reception.

Disliked: The bathrooms are not clean at all. Poor facilities!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just for the one might, happy days!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martin Malpassi

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 May 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great. They have a great backyard. Its and old irish house.

Disliked: Cleaning. Kitchen timetable is not so good ( closing at 12 00 WTF!?)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sinead flannery

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2014

Liked: Had staffed reception open 24 hours Location good ans easy to find

Disliked: Bathroom floor aways wet Rooms cleanish but not bathrooms. Not great atmosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful when we had problems with the room. The location is good for walking around Dublin.

Disliked: We were put in one room the first night we were there and that night the light wouldn't work so they had to move us. In the next room we were moved to the toilet didn't flush and the shower would not turn off. We tried to tell the receptionist when we left in the morning that the shower wouldn't turn off but she didn't understand our English and when we came back 14 hours later the shower was still running. I'm still shocked that our room didn't flood. There was a community bathroom downstairs but it was not very nice.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Every single thing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like cleanliness. Easy door Locks. Most of staff is OK.

Disliked: The man receptionist's attitude was rule, sly and bit of Raciest. The female receptionists are OK. But they all keep close eye on every every movement of tenant which is annoying. Tenant don't feel freedom. Besides these some negative sides there are majority of positive thins in this hostel, Like: value for money, Cleanliness, Near to coach Station and Shops and many many more. In short, the hostel is good besides no co-operative and rude/insulting attitude of male staff. I'll do recommend this hostel to friends and i'll use it again because of good things above,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: Competitive pricing.

Disliked: The shower was all aluminium, almost like something from a slaughterhouse or surgery room. Very little hot water

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013

Liked: good location, very central

Disliked: very old, very noisy, there was a bad smell, some parts of the hostel really require some attention renovation wise

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013

Liked: Not to far from the city centre.

Disliked: We complained about the shower several times, but there was no action to our complaints.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013

Liked: - 24 h reception = no problems with late check-in or early check-out

Disliked: - very, very loud, even when considering this is a hostel, and not a hotel - showers in our (private, double) room could either be set to very very very hot and then there was enough water pressure to shower, or to normal temperature without water pressure... we gave up on the shower in our room and showered at a friend's house. - very uncomfortable bed (I'm not picky, and I don't have back problems, but the bed was really very uncomfortable) - one rather unfriendly member of the staff practiced (and not very well I might add) the saxophone around 9 pm, even when I asked him very nicely if he could maybe continue tomorrow, because we had to get up a 4 am, he said that we weren't going to go to bed now anyway and that he would stop in around 40 minutes. Only after someone else knocked on his door and asked him to stop, did he stop playing. If it had been another guest, I might have understood, but I think it is very inconsiderate of the staff to bahve that way.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness state of bed, rooms, bathrooms...horrible!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Dixon-Phillip

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: nice common room

Disliked: noisy with the other-head trains in the morning

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big shared room with digit code - accessible 24/7.

Disliked: old fashion and sad looking.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

colin dooley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 May 2013 colin would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE

Disliked: THE ROOM SMELLED VERY STRONGLY OF CLEANING PRODUCTS AND BLEECH

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 February 2013

Liked: The hostel reminds of Dante's hell. They should hang PRISON sign on the front. Pictures are photoshopped, the place is old, never cleaned, cold, dirty, moldy, smelly. Rooms are locked with outdated circa 70'ies code locks that take forewer to unlock. It is operated by smug owners/staff. They think that they are doing you a fawor by letting you to stay there. Staff is quick to point out to the sign on a reception wall- "NO REFUNDS!" We take full pride in scaming you. It is a cesspool for catching cold, perhaps tuberculossis and other lung diseases. I would not recommend this place to my enemy. Sorry, I just cannot find any good points.

Disliked: Everything. First- even good hotels in Dublin offer some kind of refunds/cancellation. Kitchen is really dirty. You can see years worth layer of dust, trash, crumbs, liquid everywhere. Bathrooms are dirty, cold, it feels as if you a showering/using a toilet outside. Place further from reception desk smells moldy, dusty, moist. I started having difficulty to breathe and got a headache from being there for a 15 minutes. I doubt that they change linen in rooms or clean them for that matter. It is REALLY cold in rooms. Luaggage room is also unheated, smelly. I think owners save on cleaning staff, heating and everything else that they can. The place overall is so cold, that the guy at the reception was wearing the coat. I felt really sorry for the italian girl that works there.She should find another job that is worth her. I left the place without staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Plamen Mitkov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

26 January 2013 Plamen would recommend this property

Liked: prices

Disliked: bath

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013

Liked: The beds were fine and the comforters were warm.

Disliked: The staff were rude. you had to go ask for toilet paper because there was never any in there and if they had already given some out they would complain about it. the bathrooms are DISGUSTING. the showers were only scolding hot water. the bathroom smelt AWFUL. I honestly thought I would get a disease from being in there. The kitchen was always filthy. They give you a code for your room so others cant enter.. you didnt even need this code, it opened automatically, not secure at all. I told the reception and they said they have cameras so no one would get in... yeah. I dont recommend it to anyone. It is definitely the amount you pay.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Abbie Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: The room we had was filthy and felt like it hasn't been cleaned it used in a long time. The bathroom was atrocious (we had a private room) with a toilet that didn't really flush and a shower that was either freezing cold or boiling hot (there was also no way of controlling the temp - you just got whatever it felt like. I actually burnt my scalp when it suddenly changed). The floor was so dirty the soles of my feet were black after one day. Three of the four windows didn't open and they were stuffed closed with tissues. One of the nights I was awoken by a man violently vomiting outside my window which lasted for over an hour. The wifi although listed as free was very intermittent and was clearly not adequate for the size of the property. All and all this hostel was a terrible experience for the price we paid and I will strongly advise friends to never stay here.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels