HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers Citihostel Dublin Hostel

61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 45%

Cleanliness 37%

Facilities 38%

Location 76%

Safety 53%

Staff 54%

Value 50%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.27USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 45%

Cleanliness 37%

Facilities 38%

Location 76%

Safety 53%

Staff 54%

Value 50%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The hostel was a building site No lights or curtains.dirty floors electric plugs hanging off.rubbish everywhere outside rooms Only one night Shambles The man in reception was rude when we got there.

Disliked: As above

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location and Justynas, the night manager.

Disliked: Super bare bones. Bathroom facilities are very basic, dirty, and cramped. Plus very few of them. Absence of lockers is a major issue. The pillows are pancake thin.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location is liberally a few minutes walk from the buses to the airport, and about 20 to the Temple Bar area. I also only paid €14 for the night

Disliked: I was in an external building with just myself and one other in the room. The room was cold, Windows in the room were shaking everytime a train went by, the mattresses were thin making the sleep uncomfortable and pillows also thin. Overall possibly the worst hostel I have ever stayed in, however, I have recommended to stay purely because you are paying next to nothing with a good location, what you get is definitely reflected by the price you pay.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: dodgey small place with lacklustre facilities but very cheapp especially for dublin on a weekend

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: There was one receptionist who was working on our arrival who was lovely and caring. She also worked the next morning. The only friendly membe of staff. I wish I new her name.

Disliked: Disgusting facilities - dirty showers and toilets. I had to ask for toilet paper 4 times. Hardly anything in the kitchen to use and the gas jobs hardly worked for cooking. Kitchen closed during the day time so was unable to even go in and make a coffee Majority of staff were rude and unhelpful

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway

Liked: nothing, i had booked a double room en-suite ended up in a different hostel altogether had to walk in the rain about 20 minutes, horrible experience. got a double room but no en-suite and no apologie

Disliked: dirty, would even use the toilet or shower it was scummy. bed sheets were clean thank god

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's good if you just wanna used for night stay.

Disliked: Some quality of cleaning is not perfect

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The showers had great water pressure and were very hot, and the beds were pretty comfortable

Disliked: The staff were very rude and seemed inconvenienced by everything, when I checked in they didn't have change so they told me I would have to go to the shop and buy something so I could pay in exact amount, and then scribbled down a receipt on a scrap piece of paper. The facilities were in dire condition the showers had a bunch of empty beer cans in them which looked like they had been there for a long time. When I crawled into my bunk I looked over and saw a decrepit old fire place and what appeared to be mild on the walls. The heater in the room didn't work and the room was absolutely freezing at night. All in all I'd say this was the worst hostel with the rudest staff I've ever stayed in. I know that booking a hostel in Dublin can be difficult, but avoid this one at all costs

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good alternative for hotels

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability