HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers Citi Hostel

Hostel | 61/62 Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

57.5% Overall Rating

97 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2014)

"The staff was nice and helpful when we had problems with the room. The location is good for walking around Dublin."

Read all Backpackers Citi Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Durban Residence
27.26 USD

Hostel 75.4% 38 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
13.80 USD

Hostel 61.0% 63 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.78 USD

Hostel 75.8% 327 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
17.95 USD

Hostel 83.8% 1378 reviews
The Glen Guest House
40.94 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 48 reviews
Abraham House
12.42 USD

Hostel 85.9% 977 reviews
Maple Hotel
31.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
33.82 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.5%

Overall Rating

97 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Citi Hostel'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
62.4%
Value
61.6%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sinead flannery

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2014

Liked: Had staffed reception open 24 hours Location good ans easy to find

Disliked: Bathroom floor aways wet Rooms cleanish but not bathrooms. Not great atmosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful when we had problems with the room. The location is good for walking around Dublin.

Disliked: We were put in one room the first night we were there and that night the light wouldn't work so they had to move us. In the next room we were moved to the toilet didn't flush and the shower would not turn off. We tried to tell the receptionist when we left in the morning that the shower wouldn't turn off but she didn't understand our English and when we came back 14 hours later the shower was still running. I'm still shocked that our room didn't flood. There was a community bathroom downstairs but it was not very nice.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Every single thing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like cleanliness. Easy door Locks. Most of staff is OK.

Disliked: The man receptionist's attitude was rule, sly and bit of Raciest. The female receptionists are OK. But they all keep close eye on every every movement of tenant which is annoying. Tenant don't feel freedom. Besides these some negative sides there are majority of positive thins in this hostel, Like: value for money, Cleanliness, Near to coach Station and Shops and many many more. In short, the hostel is good besides no co-operative and rude/insulting attitude of male staff. I'll do recommend this hostel to friends and i'll use it again because of good things above,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: Competitive pricing.

Disliked: The shower was all aluminium, almost like something from a slaughterhouse or surgery room. Very little hot water

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013

Liked: good location, very central

Disliked: very old, very noisy, there was a bad smell, some parts of the hostel really require some attention renovation wise

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013

Liked: Not to far from the city centre.

Disliked: We complained about the shower several times, but there was no action to our complaints.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013

Liked: - 24 h reception = no problems with late check-in or early check-out

Disliked: - very, very loud, even when considering this is a hostel, and not a hotel - showers in our (private, double) room could either be set to very very very hot and then there was enough water pressure to shower, or to normal temperature without water pressure... we gave up on the shower in our room and showered at a friend's house. - very uncomfortable bed (I'm not picky, and I don't have back problems, but the bed was really very uncomfortable) - one rather unfriendly member of the staff practiced (and not very well I might add) the saxophone around 9 pm, even when I asked him very nicely if he could maybe continue tomorrow, because we had to get up a 4 am, he said that we weren't going to go to bed now anyway and that he would stop in around 40 minutes. Only after someone else knocked on his door and asked him to stop, did he stop playing. If it had been another guest, I might have understood, but I think it is very inconsiderate of the staff to bahve that way.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness state of bed, rooms, bathrooms...horrible!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Dixon-Phillip

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: nice common room

Disliked: noisy with the other-head trains in the morning

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big shared room with digit code - accessible 24/7.

Disliked: old fashion and sad looking.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

colin dooley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 May 2013 colin would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE

Disliked: THE ROOM SMELLED VERY STRONGLY OF CLEANING PRODUCTS AND BLEECH

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 February 2013

Liked: The hostel reminds of Dante's hell. They should hang PRISON sign on the front. Pictures are photoshopped, the place is old, never cleaned, cold, dirty, moldy, smelly. Rooms are locked with outdated circa 70'ies code locks that take forewer to unlock. It is operated by smug owners/staff. They think that they are doing you a fawor by letting you to stay there. Staff is quick to point out to the sign on a reception wall- "NO REFUNDS!" We take full pride in scaming you. It is a cesspool for catching cold, perhaps tuberculossis and other lung diseases. I would not recommend this place to my enemy. Sorry, I just cannot find any good points.

Disliked: Everything. First- even good hotels in Dublin offer some kind of refunds/cancellation. Kitchen is really dirty. You can see years worth layer of dust, trash, crumbs, liquid everywhere. Bathrooms are dirty, cold, it feels as if you a showering/using a toilet outside. Place further from reception desk smells moldy, dusty, moist. I started having difficulty to breathe and got a headache from being there for a 15 minutes. I doubt that they change linen in rooms or clean them for that matter. It is REALLY cold in rooms. Luaggage room is also unheated, smelly. I think owners save on cleaning staff, heating and everything else that they can. The place overall is so cold, that the guy at the reception was wearing the coat. I felt really sorry for the italian girl that works there.She should find another job that is worth her. I left the place without staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Plamen Mitkov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

26 January 2013 Plamen would recommend this property

Liked: prices

Disliked: bath

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013

Liked: The beds were fine and the comforters were warm.

Disliked: The staff were rude. you had to go ask for toilet paper because there was never any in there and if they had already given some out they would complain about it. the bathrooms are DISGUSTING. the showers were only scolding hot water. the bathroom smelt AWFUL. I honestly thought I would get a disease from being in there. The kitchen was always filthy. They give you a code for your room so others cant enter.. you didnt even need this code, it opened automatically, not secure at all. I told the reception and they said they have cameras so no one would get in... yeah. I dont recommend it to anyone. It is definitely the amount you pay.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Abbie Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: The room we had was filthy and felt like it hasn't been cleaned it used in a long time. The bathroom was atrocious (we had a private room) with a toilet that didn't really flush and a shower that was either freezing cold or boiling hot (there was also no way of controlling the temp - you just got whatever it felt like. I actually burnt my scalp when it suddenly changed). The floor was so dirty the soles of my feet were black after one day. Three of the four windows didn't open and they were stuffed closed with tissues. One of the nights I was awoken by a man violently vomiting outside my window which lasted for over an hour. The wifi although listed as free was very intermittent and was clearly not adequate for the size of the property. All and all this hostel was a terrible experience for the price we paid and I will strongly advise friends to never stay here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: every one gets along & cooks & has a drink together & theres a real community spirit in the hostel that is the best thing about the hostel i have stayed in many, many hostels all over europe with much better facilities but none have had the togertherness & harmony which i experienced in citi hostel everone has a laugh & plays cards & music & if your a solo traveller this is the best hostel in europe because you will meet many friends. Also this is the cheapest hostel i have ever stayed in at only 5.60 pounds (about 7 euro ) you will not find anywhere cheaper.the only downside is the showers they are too hot & are not cleaned often enough but for the price & the spirit it cannot be beaten

Disliked: the showers are two hot theres no pressure gauge to cool them down & the bathrooms are really cold.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: poor cleaning standards

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 October 2012

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: The internet fails a lot, the shower room is cold, the shower cabins have no light inside, the room was cold, there are only 3 toilets and only 2 functional, no lockers in the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012

Liked: free wi-fi own shower and toilet in private room

Disliked: very dirty kitchen, hard to find spoon and knife, molded food in shelves staff was overworked when we arreved and we did not feel treated well, but turned out to be all right after all.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 September 2012

Liked: Hot water! I was at least able to take a shower.

Disliked: The mould, the dirt on the sheets and the lack hospitality!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

darwara kular

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

09 July 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: our suff was stolen

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Georgia Catoni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 June 2012

Liked: Nothing. We got out of there as quickly as we could.

Disliked: this hostel is probably the worst I've stayed in. As a young girl I didn't not feel safe. There is no reason for 21 year old girls to be in a room with 50 year old men. The check in was a shambles! If I didn't have my confirmation email they would have let us walk away.. The bathrooms were discussing, piss all over the floor. Security may as well not exsist, my boyfriend arrived at midnight after work. Te security guard meerly asked where he was going, when he said bed he was allowed to enter. No room confirmation or anything. Our room overlooked the beergarden which was allowed to kick on until after 6.30am. Glasses and pot plants smashing. People running Though the hotel at 6am trying to break down te bedroom door. The police were never called, and when we went to see the manager in the mornin he was no where to be seen. Just a large NO REFUNDS sign hanging at reception. We only stayed here as abigails was booked out for a concert, we were straight back here in the morning! Do not stay!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Vanessa Lehmann

Alone

Partying / nightlife

17 June 2012

Liked: The location is okay

Disliked: The staff doesn't speak good English, it is REALLY dirty, the doors did not close properly and people could easily find out the code to the dorms, no breakfast, the showers and toilets were just DISGUSTING, the beds weren't close enough to the wall so you could fall in the gap, the bed sheets were dirty, they didn't have a computer for check in and all that, the windows did not close properly so it was always cold

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2012

Liked: A kitchen was available for travellers to use. Also it was a good location.

Disliked: The bathrooms and showers provided were extremely dirty. No toliet paper was provided and the showers were constantly overflowing, meaning if you decided to shower, you had to stand in ankle-deep cold water.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels