HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers Citihostel Dublin

Hostel

61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 43%

Location 85%

Safety 59%

Staff 59%

Value 53%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 15.54CNY

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 43%

Location 85%

Safety 59%

Staff 59%

Value 53%

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway

Liked: nothing, i had booked a double room en-suite ended up in a different hostel altogether had to walk in the rain about 20 minutes, horrible experience. got a double room but no en-suite and no apologie

Disliked: dirty, would even use the toilet or shower it was scummy. bed sheets were clean thank god

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's good if you just wanna used for night stay.

Disliked: Some quality of cleaning is not perfect

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The showers had great water pressure and were very hot, and the beds were pretty comfortable

Disliked: The staff were very rude and seemed inconvenienced by everything, when I checked in they didn't have change so they told me I would have to go to the shop and buy something so I could pay in exact amount, and then scribbled down a receipt on a scrap piece of paper. The facilities were in dire condition the showers had a bunch of empty beer cans in them which looked like they had been there for a long time. When I crawled into my bunk I looked over and saw a decrepit old fire place and what appeared to be mild on the walls. The heater in the room didn't work and the room was absolutely freezing at night. All in all I'd say this was the worst hostel with the rudest staff I've ever stayed in. I know that booking a hostel in Dublin can be difficult, but avoid this one at all costs

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good alternative for hotels

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very central to Dublin city centre, polite and friendly staff, comfortable beds and colourful walls with nice artwork in two-person room. Entry is granted around the clock.

Disliked: Not enough crockery or cutlery in the kitchen, no hand towels or potholders, bad plumbing and not enough storage space in refrigerator. Walls are paper thin, as are the windows, so the rooms are very cold and noisy at night.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is great. right next to shopping, the center, bus to the airport,..

Disliked: very basic, no place to put things in the bathroom, not even a hook for a towel , not even a doorhandle at the door inside...

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Assolutamente improponibile.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Assolutamente improponibile.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cheap and close to temple bar

Disliked: Wifi wouldn't work

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nothing stood out

Disliked: Not clean and lock dodgy on foor

Check Availability