We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Backpackers Citi Hostel

Hostel | 61/62 Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

56.7% Overall Rating

111 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2015)

"The hostel is easy to find and located very near the main part of Dublin (Right next to the bus station and a two minute walk from the O'Connell St). The size of the room was more than enough, very spacious."

Read all Backpackers Citi Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Durban Residence
16.46 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
16.46 USD

Hostel 55.2% 111 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
18.11 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
15.36 USD

Hostel 89.1% 1399 reviews
The Glen Guest House
50.85 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 50 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
13.17 USD

Hostel 79.9% 1116 reviews
Maple Hotel
42.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
93.28 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.7%

Overall Rating

111 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Citi Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
61.6%
Value
49.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 218 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michael Stevenson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 July 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: ensuite facilities were poor. I had to sit sideways on the toilet because of the sink location and the shower pressure was poor. My daughter found dead insects in her towel before use

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

08 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is easy to find and located very near the main part of Dublin (Right next to the bus station and a two minute walk from the O'Connell St). The size of the room was more than enough, very spacious.

Disliked: When we arrived the staff were very pushy to give a tip, nearly refusing to hand over my change. On our floor there was only one bathroom, consisting of two showers and one toilet.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Terry O Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 July 2015

Liked: absolutely nothing

Disliked: everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tracy Carruthers

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: The central location is Amazing. Basic But clean,comfy bed, due to its central location can be noisy daytime due to traffic. All in all good value City Centre accomodation.

Disliked: It is very basic But clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephen Hanlon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 May 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It is located close to transport hubs and night life.

Disliked: It is close to the train station and can get noisy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Chiu Hao-Chun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2015

Liked: friendly

Disliked: there is no rail besides my upbed. it's so dangerous for me~~ l drop my quilt to floor in the midnight.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than expected. Very small but functional private bathroom in the twin room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in the centre. It is easy to reach almost every destination from that location. The price was ok. Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Even the sheets were perfectly clean and with a fresh smell, it would be bmnice to have a new duvet soon as it looked very "used" when removing the sheets. the toilet flush was not working and the the water stayed in the shower for a while. But there was another bathroom we could use, which was clean and working

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Hood

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2015

Liked: The linen on the beds seemed clean and the mattresses were comfortable.

Disliked: Everything was dirty (apart from the linen). The bathrooms had a stench and the walls in there were covered in mildew and mold. There was no soap in any of the bathrooms which is disgusting. The girl who checked us in was extremely unhelpful with every query we had. The night-shift guy was more helpful and much nicer. There was almost no security - we weren't asked our names or anything when we walked in at night even though we hadn't met the person at the desk - anyone who didn't act drunk would've been let in whether or not they were actually a guest. Considering it's not the nicest area in town, this was a bit unsettling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

muhammad waqas chaudhry

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 September 2014 muhammad waqas would recommend this property

Liked: Good accommodation in city cheapest hostel

Disliked: No tea coffee or snakes at late night

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: Beds seemed clean. Actual rooms weren't terrible.

Disliked: THE BATHROOMS WERE SO GROSS. So gross. No soap. Often no toilet paper. Smelled so bad. Groooosssssssss. Also, it seemed generally unprofessional. Like, it was a place to sleep, there didn't seem to be anything nasty about beds or rooms and it was close to Grafton Street (though also near a loud train track), but me and my sister very much avoided going to the bathroom there.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Miranda Nielsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014

Liked: It is attractive from the outside an the location is good. There is also free wifi in the common areas

Disliked: Everything else. The hostel is filthy, the staff are very rude, and there isn't a safe place to store belongings. There is an old man that works here that is racist and would go around yelling at customers and then calling them names and talking about them behind their backs. The kitchen is closed from 12 noon to 5pm and if you even try to go in there during those hours you will be yelled at. Overall this is a really unpleasant hostel. I would strongly recommend finding somewhere else.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Room condition and cleanliness

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ronan Tansey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2014

Liked: Good value for money, close to Busáras and Connolly Station. TV in private room.

Disliked: I stayed in a private room which was very poorly maintained/cleaned. Toilet wasn't flushed upon arrival and the light was extremely dim in the private shower (which on balance looks much better than the shared facilities).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

merryn mcinerney

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014

Liked: Nothing, I and another backpacker had to walk to the train station just to use the toilet

Disliked: Showers, toilet and beds..oh no heating..Because of how dirty it was, I didn't want to use the toilets or showers..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The patio area, many toilets and showers, location.

Disliked: "Lockers" for them means a room for everybody to stick your luggage in, not safe at all. Actually the number of people who have access to the "lockers" is higher than the one who actually has access in the dorm. Receptionists were three French girls with difficulties speaking in English, they were not able to answer very basic question about the hostel and they didn't have change for my cash payment.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2014

Liked: Good location and 24h hours reception.

Disliked: The bathrooms are not clean at all. Poor facilities!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just for the one might, happy days!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martin Malpassi

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 May 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great. They have a great backyard. Its and old irish house.

Disliked: Cleaning. Kitchen timetable is not so good ( closing at 12 00 WTF!?)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sinead flannery

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2014

Liked: Had staffed reception open 24 hours Location good ans easy to find

Disliked: Bathroom floor aways wet Rooms cleanish but not bathrooms. Not great atmosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful when we had problems with the room. The location is good for walking around Dublin.

Disliked: We were put in one room the first night we were there and that night the light wouldn't work so they had to move us. In the next room we were moved to the toilet didn't flush and the shower would not turn off. We tried to tell the receptionist when we left in the morning that the shower wouldn't turn off but she didn't understand our English and when we came back 14 hours later the shower was still running. I'm still shocked that our room didn't flood. There was a community bathroom downstairs but it was not very nice.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Every single thing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like cleanliness. Easy door Locks. Most of staff is OK.

Disliked: The man receptionist's attitude was rule, sly and bit of Raciest. The female receptionists are OK. But they all keep close eye on every every movement of tenant which is annoying. Tenant don't feel freedom. Besides these some negative sides there are majority of positive thins in this hostel, Like: value for money, Cleanliness, Near to coach Station and Shops and many many more. In short, the hostel is good besides no co-operative and rude/insulting attitude of male staff. I'll do recommend this hostel to friends and i'll use it again because of good things above,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: Competitive pricing.

Disliked: The shower was all aluminium, almost like something from a slaughterhouse or surgery room. Very little hot water

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013

Liked: good location, very central

Disliked: very old, very noisy, there was a bad smell, some parts of the hostel really require some attention renovation wise


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels