HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Dublin International (YHA) Dublin Hostel

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 70%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Children's Play Area"
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Cots available
  • Currency Exchange
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival. After this date, charges will be applied by the property up to the first nights cost of the reservation, unless otherwise stated in the property’s conditions. Deposits paid are non-refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 70%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating


21 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The hostel was clean and well maintained.

Disliked: There was no atomosphere at the hostel whatsoever. No activities to encourage the people staying there to socialize. The staff were friendly but the only interaction with them is check in, more like a hotel front desk.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: connection with tour and guides

Disliked: card is not working well, I got checked out even if I was still staying there. so some other guy was using my bed and I had to move to the other bed. also the heater was always on when outside was like 26 degrees even if people tried to turn off. it was really bad experience for me

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating


01 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was also a bonus

Disliked: There were not enough charging/power points in the rooms. Individual bed lights would also have been a bonus. Being unable to access wifi in the rooms was also a bit of a hastle. Power points in the bathrooms for hairdryers and straighteners would also help, as it was difficult to dry/ style your hair without a mirror

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The room was very spacious and the breakfast facilities were top notch!

Disliked: The room did not have enough wall sockets.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We are working on additional power sockets for the bedroom for the future. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that should you return we can look after you again.

Thank you for supporting us by staying with us.
Kindest regards, safe and happy travels to you
Misty
Dublin International Youth Hostel

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: 6 bed rooms were perfect.

Disliked: Location can be hard to find.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at hope that should you return to Dublin that perhaps it wont be so hard to find the next time.

Kindest regards and safe travels
Misty
Dublin International Youth Hostel

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Great showers and toilets . Spacious and great breakfast.

Disliked: Maintenance issues with lockers not closing properly 3 out of 8 in my room could be easily opened with padlock on.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment,

We hope that you enjoyed your time here in Dublin over all, we are glad that you thought that the new toilets and showers.

We will get the maintenance person to take a look at the lockers.

Kindest regards
Misty

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Coffee machine could be better.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay although the coffee from the vending machine could be a bit better.

Take care
Kindest regards
Misty

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The price and the staff. No matter at what time, help was always given, and also in good quality.

Disliked: There are now power outlets in the bathrooms, if you need to blow-dry your hair, best place to do this is the hallway. As far as I could tell, there was only one power outlet available for a room of 8.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The building is over 150years old and we don't have a lot of power sockets in the hostel and in the bedrooms. Due to Irish Building Laws, we are not allowed to have electrical sockets inside the bathrooms. Water and Electricity do not go very well with each other.

We hope that should you return that we can look after you again and that it will be as good value.

Kindest regards and safe travels
Misty
Dublin International Youth Hostel

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Affordable and central for a one night layover in Dublin

Disliked: Stairs were a bit difficult to maneuver with suitcases

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the stairs didn't detract too much from your time here.

Safe travel
Misty
Dublin International Youth Hostel

Check Availability