We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abbey Court

Hostel | 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin, Ireland D1

85.6% Overall Rating

835 out of 935 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2015)

"The staff here is amazing and the location is perfect walking distance to everything in dublin. The place itself is a little old and some of the rooms were very musty and stuffy. There are loads of showers and bathrooms…"

Read all Abbey Court reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.81
  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Sky Apartments
60.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
16.51 USD

Hostel 89.6% 139 reviews
Abigails Hostel
15.41 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1410 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
85.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ashfield Hostel
15.41 USD

Hostel 84.8% 646 reviews
Clifton Court Hotel
28.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Lynams Hotel
66.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.6% 14 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
13.21 USD

Hostel 83.0% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

835 out of 935 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abbey Court'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 636 of 743 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and hangout spaces! Also perfect location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alen buzic

Alone

City break

23 May 2015 alen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: alen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is amazing and the location is perfect walking distance to everything in dublin. The place itself is a little old and some of the rooms were very musty and stuffy. There are loads of showers and bathrooms so finding a free one wasn't really a problem. The breakfast is good and gives you a chance to meet cool people. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Very stuffy rooms, largess dorms need more ventilation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Irie Bockus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2015 Irie would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, enjoyed the fact that the walls are painted in bright characters rather than dull colors. Also good breakfast/common area. You can sit alone or at a long table and instantly be meeting new people. Also very close to the center and right across the bridge from Temple Bar, which is a Highly overrated tourist spot but has it's own class and is worth a walk around at night. Serving fruit with breakfast is also pretty fantastic. In fact, I arrived early in the morning because of a bus and it was too early for check in but they allowed me to store my bag for free and also invited me to have a free breakfast that day. The man who runs this place is simply delightful.

Disliked: The baskets under the female dorm beds are very very loud, though they have a lot of space so it's kind of a trade off. Also the bathrooms are kind of out of the way from some rooms. It's a very large hostel so if you are picky about that kind of thing, this might not be the place for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Schwarz

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 May 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really nice and helpful staff!

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, awesome morning breakfast:)

Disliked: Showers were cold then scalding, hard to find one that worked properly

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and lounge area was a great open place to meet people, charge your phone, and prepare your meals. The free breakfast was fantastic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was well located, very center, with free breakfast. the wifi was very good, runs throughout the whole building. there is a very nice free walking tour that picked us up at the hostel. the city link bus that took us to galway was right across the street. the staff was helpful and help us printed our bus tickets for free!!!

Disliked: it was VERY DIRTY!!! the sheets were extremely dirty, i didn't even want to sleep in it. the bed sank a little from being slept in too much. The cage under the bed was very screechy, i was afraid to pull out my cage for fear of waking up other people. Our room was deep inside the hostel, very hard to find, i got lost in the hostel all the time. There were graffiti all over the hostel giving it a very dirty look. There was no heater in the room. The hot water in the bathroom was very hard to control, it was either too hot or too cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paraskevi Ioannou-Bakousi

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 May 2015 Paraskevi would recommend this property

Liked: I originally booked this hostel because of its location (which is fantastic anyway) but I was blown away by the character and facilities I found on this place! The staff is amazing, friendly and so helpful, 24/7 there to help you, the property itself is a character with millions places to spend your time and relax and the kitchen area was really beautiful. Not to forget the free breakfast every morning!!! Great hostel guys! I would come back anytime!!!

Disliked: Paraskevi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large hostel, sort of an alternative feeling with graffiti on the walls. Group bathrooms for the larger rooms and also private showers are nice. Really good location, near OConnell Bridge and Temple bar area.

Disliked: Some of the staff were less friendly, the linens weren't the best but not the worst.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Keelin Pringnitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2015 Keelin would recommend this property

Liked: The desk staff were incredibly helpful

Disliked: There was a disruption in my room from 330am-7am. The people harassing everyone should have been kicked out.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really well located.

Disliked: It was kind of dirty. The blankets were old and not very clean.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right on the river and close to both the Temple Bar area and other sites. The hostel was okay, the free breakfast was actually good (fresh fruit, toast) for what you normally get at hostels. I stayed in a 16 bed all-female dorm, and everything went well there. There were a lot of bathrooms, but even they seemed to fill up quite quickly in the mornings (that's pretty normal though).

Disliked: The baskets under the bed for storage/safety were horrible. They squeaked so loudly when you opened them, it was ear-splitting. I felt so bad when I opened mine in the mornings because it must have woken some girls up. They were also really hard to lock and you could easily stick your hand in and pull stuff out if you wanted to. Luckily everyone in my dorm respected people's space and it wasn't an issue.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Party hostel. Can be loud and noisey.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cornel marian neagu

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 April 2015 cornel marian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok the staff was friendly the place is clean and safe and is has a good price

Disliked: Is nothing to dislike

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Juhani Väihkönen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Juhani would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful

Disliked: safety lockers, showers, keycards

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free wifi throughout the building, free breakfast.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very in the centre of the city.

Disliked: No ensuite toilets and no lights into beds.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed was alright, it was clean there, people were nice, the staff printed out my boarding pass for the plane for free

Disliked: this was not my first stay there and before this time I was in a smaller room that was cheaper so this time I was in a bigger and more expensive room, although it was even the same time of the week and only one week apart.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean beds, super friendly staff, central location, cool people stay there, big kitchen for everyone, the free walking tour was awesome

Disliked: breakfast times are a bit tough but okay, breakfast was really busy, I could not leave my luggage supervised because the room was full so I had to leave it accessible for every guest, when there are people coming out of the hostel you could just walk in even if you're not a guest

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christina Chia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2015 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: Smoking smell along corridors

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha paine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and the breakfast was really good considering it's free.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luisa Juhnke

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2015 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: - the staff was great on arrival - wide variety of rooms - good security (after 11 you have to be buzzed in, then use your keycard to get past the 2nd door, plus there's a passcode to enter your room) - clean

Disliked: - showers weren't always hot and had barely any pressure - the hallways were a maze (but there are signs to help you to your room) - hostebookers only gave us the option of booking a room with 48 beds, which we did. it was too many people in one room, there was always someone being noisy so it was difficult to sleep

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ylva Larsson

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 March 2015 Ylva would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty straightforward, easy instructions, when I did as signposted and told a passing member of staff about showers that did not work, they were functioning again in the evening. Good, firm matresses in dorm. Lots of staff looking after things, keeping the place clean and efficient.

Disliked: Not enough electric plugs. As I changed into a room for the last night to get more work done and be able to recharge more properly, the plugs were halfways up the wall! I don't have the British type of plugging, and since converters to computers and likewise gadgets are a bit heavy, I need to prop them up. At the communal area's little wallside tables it is possible with an Ikea mug, but in the room completely impossible. I had expected plugs to be along the floor, so that extra expense was pure waste for me, unfortunately.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 March 2015

Liked: - location

Disliked: - cleanliness - 2 toilets for one floor?

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels