We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abbey Court

Hostel | 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin, Ireland D1

88.5% Overall Rating

804 out of 904 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2015)

Luisa Juhnke thinks…

"- the staff was great on arrival - wide variety of rooms - good security (after 11 you have to be buzzed in, then use your keycard to get past the 2nd door, plus there's a passcode to enter your…"

Read all Abbey Court reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.71
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Sky Apartments
59.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
16.33 USD

Hostel 90.3% 138 reviews
Abigails Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1406 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
61.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ashfield Hostel
13.06 USD

Hostel 84.2% 642 reviews
Clifton Court Hotel
28.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Lynams Hotel
54.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
13.06 USD

Hostel 81.7% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

804 out of 904 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abbey Court'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 615 of 712 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha paine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and the breakfast was really good considering it's free.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luisa Juhnke

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2015 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: - the staff was great on arrival - wide variety of rooms - good security (after 11 you have to be buzzed in, then use your keycard to get past the 2nd door, plus there's a passcode to enter your room) - clean

Disliked: - showers weren't always hot and had barely any pressure - the hallways were a maze (but there are signs to help you to your room) - hostebookers only gave us the option of booking a room with 48 beds, which we did. it was too many people in one room, there was always someone being noisy so it was difficult to sleep

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ylva Larsson

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 March 2015 Ylva would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty straightforward, easy instructions, when I did as signposted and told a passing member of staff about showers that did not work, they were functioning again in the evening. Good, firm matresses in dorm. Lots of staff looking after things, keeping the place clean and efficient.

Disliked: Not enough electric plugs. As I changed into a room for the last night to get more work done and be able to recharge more properly, the plugs were halfways up the wall! I don't have the British type of plugging, and since converters to computers and likewise gadgets are a bit heavy, I need to prop them up. At the communal area's little wallside tables it is possible with an Ikea mug, but in the room completely impossible. I had expected plugs to be along the floor, so that extra expense was pure waste for me, unfortunately.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 March 2015

Liked: - location

Disliked: - cleanliness - 2 toilets for one floor?

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Marschall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 March 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I was completely satisfied with this hostel!!!The stuff is amazingliy friendly and helpful, the hostel is located perfectly in the city centre of dublin, close to everything! Hostel is clean and for this price i have really nothing to complain! I can recommend the hostel to everyone!!!! :)

Disliked: Everything was fine!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, lots to do within the hostel and very helpful female staff!

Disliked: Some of the male staff members were a little too forward.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff,vibe, location, great place all round. Highly recommend it!!

Disliked: Shower temperature was a bit unpredictable but there was different showers to choose from and atleast one was hot at the one time, sometimes more. Still an awesome hostel!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of facilities and good location.

Disliked: people seemed to be full time residents, and kind of had a sense of more entitlement than other guest. The rooms also had a strong smell of sweat, probably because of people living there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soohyun Seo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Soohyun would recommend this property

Liked: 전체적인 분위기도 괜찮았고 충분한 시설이 구비되어있어서 불편한점이 없었습니다. 또한, 사람들이 모두 친절했고 쉽게 다가왔기에 혼자 여행 왔음에도 불구하고 심심하지않게 지낼 수 있었습니다.

Disliked: 건물이 생각보다 커서 처음 체크인을 했을때 방을 찾는데 시간이 조금 걸렸습니다. 처음 오는 투숙객에겐 방에대한 안내를 조금 더 자세히 해주면 훨씬 좋을 것이라 생각됩니다.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Nichola Millman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2014

Liked: This hostel was full of other young travellers, and the atmosphere was very personable, so it was easy to meet people

Disliked: The building is very convoluted, so it is hard to find your way around. Also, the showers were not very clean

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing space with beautiful graffiti-style artwork, staff was always insanely helpful and friendly (while standing by the front desk the staff randomly offered me a chocolate digestive), people are friendly, WiFi is great, beds are comfy, nice computer room, wonderful BYOB bar in the basement, just a very wonderful hostel in general.

Disliked: God the 42-bedroom smells of sweat and body odor, though then again, it is a 42-roomer. Shower was a game of hot potato/cold potato.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gold place to stay, in the centre, with a hammock room!

Disliked: Too much beds in one room!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ANUPAM KUMAR

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2014

Liked: I don't like it at all except their helpful staff.

Disliked: They have charged a lot for single bed. I need to walk long way to reach the room. I simply hate it. Internet is not good. Overall it's okay.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Lincoln

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Abbey Court is a cute little hostel, in walking distance to everything you would want to see in Dublin, Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey. I felt safe and not stressed about leaving my belongings in my room. The staff were charming and helpful. Go on the pub crawl if you have the chance! PS there's a freakin hammock room. Perfect after walking around Dublin all day.

Disliked: The hallways can be confusing. Almost like a maze but in the bigger picture this is a minor problem. It was a really pleasant stay altogether.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff behind counter were very friendly, surprised about other guests not being very accommodating but depends on Time of stay I guest, enjoyed it though & had lots of recommendation by reception staff, did not think much of staff at breakfast, I felt I was putting them out just asking for a drop of milk!!!

Disliked: Although they describe breakfast as amazing, it was average.... Only toast and jam and general cereal and staff were very strict about timing, 8-09:30, I even had to ask for a tea bag & milk at 09:33, although I would stay here again as it was very clean & most staff were very friendly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014

Liked: Bunk beds are very comfy & don't squeek too much! Good amount of space so you don't hit your head when you're sitting on the bottom bunk

Disliked: It's actually so big this hostel that it's unfriendly and sterile. Nobody wants to bother making friends with you. It's something I've never experienced in a hostel before so I won't stay here again because it's just not personal :( sorry!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: General helpfullness of staff, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Not all members of the staff give correct information. Though explicitely asking for a local bus to the airport, I was told that there is none and I had to take the more expensive airlink bus. In fact there is the bus no. 16 for Euro 3.05. The hairdryer that I borrowed from the property does not work in the bathrooms (wrong plug - razors only).

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2014

Liked: nothing, when I arrived I already expected the departure day

Disliked: it was really cold everywhere in the hostel.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

paul chindea

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

25 August 2014 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robyn Clark

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Good breakfast system. location brilliant.

Disliked: kitchen a bit small and thin for the number of people using it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enda Fallon

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Enda would recommend this property

Liked: Very Central, very warming staff. Ideal for an over night stay in Dublin.

Disliked: A bit of a mix up where as I returned to find someone in my allocated bed, had to wake him and go to fix the problem in reception, we both were allocated the same bed, problem resolved very quickly and staff were helpful.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hammock room and computer room were great spaces outside of your room where you could relax.

Disliked: Not all the rooms had key cards.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Bassett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, really good breakfast incl. fruit, which you don't find at most hostels offering a free breakfast. Hammock and computer room is a really cool idea. Good showers though normally have to wait a few mins for the toilet.

Disliked: A bit difficult to meet other people as a single traveller as it's so big. Normally don't mind staying in big rooms (I was in 16 bed), but the problem here is that people live in the rooms for months at a time because they offer excellent rates for stays of a week or so. Therefore it's great if you want to stay for a week in central Dublin, but not so great if you're by yourself and want to meet other people for just a few days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is PRIME! It is in the perfect location. Close to everything!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels