HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abbey Court

Hostel | 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin, Ireland D1

84.2% Overall Rating

781 out of 876 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

"The hammock room and computer room were great spaces outside of your room where you could relax."

Read all Abbey Court reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Gym
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Sky Apartments
72.22 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
21.01 USD

Hostel 88.0% 134 reviews
Abigails Hostel
14.44 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1387 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
39.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ashfield House City Centre
11.82 USD

Hostel 80.8% 630 reviews
Clifton Court Hotel
34.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Lynams Hotel
65.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.76 USD

Hostel 84.3% 99 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

781 out of 876 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abbey Court'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 599 of 684 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: General helpfullness of staff, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Not all members of the staff give correct information. Though explicitely asking for a local bus to the airport, I was told that there is none and I had to take the more expensive airlink bus. In fact there is the bus no. 16 for Euro 3.05. The hairdryer that I borrowed from the property does not work in the bathrooms (wrong plug - razors only).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2014

Liked: nothing, when I arrived I already expected the departure day

Disliked: it was really cold everywhere in the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

paul chindea

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

25 August 2014 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robyn Clark

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Good breakfast system. location brilliant.

Disliked: kitchen a bit small and thin for the number of people using it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enda Fallon

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Enda would recommend this property

Liked: Very Central, very warming staff. Ideal for an over night stay in Dublin.

Disliked: A bit of a mix up where as I returned to find someone in my allocated bed, had to wake him and go to fix the problem in reception, we both were allocated the same bed, problem resolved very quickly and staff were helpful.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hammock room and computer room were great spaces outside of your room where you could relax.

Disliked: Not all the rooms had key cards.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Bassett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, really good breakfast incl. fruit, which you don't find at most hostels offering a free breakfast. Hammock and computer room is a really cool idea. Good showers though normally have to wait a few mins for the toilet.

Disliked: A bit difficult to meet other people as a single traveller as it's so big. Normally don't mind staying in big rooms (I was in 16 bed), but the problem here is that people live in the rooms for months at a time because they offer excellent rates for stays of a week or so. Therefore it's great if you want to stay for a week in central Dublin, but not so great if you're by yourself and want to meet other people for just a few days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is PRIME! It is in the perfect location. Close to everything!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a really good location, directly on the main street of Dublin, which is great for bars etc. Hostel offers a free 3hr walking tour everyday and staff are really helpful and accomodating. Staff will also help print out boarding passes as well as organise day trips etc. Stayed in a private double room which was fairly quiet and had fresh towels every day.

Disliked: There were quite a lot of eastern european people staying at the hostel long term whilst looking for work but the majority of them made no effort to interact with other people staying at the hostel, unlike other hostels I've stayed at where everyone makes an effort to talk to everyone else. They displayed quite intimidating behaviour such as shouting in communal areas, staring at you when you sat near them or walked past them. It made me feel that because they had been at the hostel for several months, they felt that it was their right to sit nearest the television or use the ovens and dining equipment over other people.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Lima

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great. Excellent location! A few meters away from Temple Bar and a few minutes from the bus station. The staff was extremely helpful and aided me any everytime I asked for it very promptly. I loved the facilities. It gives a cheerful atmosphere to the place. I had a real good time there.

Disliked: One day there were a few people in the common room who weren't guests at the hostel. That was a little weird.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie McKee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 June 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, brilliant facilities 👍

Disliked: Not a thing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Morgan Bankert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was FANTASTIC.

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest, but it worked.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Moreton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: Location was excellent for getting to the Temple Bar area and such. The staff members we interacted with were very helpful and professional, and the walking tour they are partnered with was awesome. Overall, this hostel is fairly average on cleanliness. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: There were quite a few "regulars" and people who lived at the hostel who were a bit off-putting. It seems like this hostel caters more to the 18-25 crowd, but ends up with the 25-30 crowd anyway. As I said, the staff was great, but there was always a line at the front desk the entire weekend I was there. Wifi was spotty at best.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the assistance of the staff, they were very helpful in advising us on where is the best places to go.

Disliked: the wifi kept dropping out and we couldn't get it in our room. not having a laundry to do our own washing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ENRIQUE JIMENEZ

Alone

City break

09 June 2014 ENRIQUE would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you don't mind a bit of a crowd, this place is pretty decent. It is a bit of a labyrinth depending on your room location. Has an atmosphere similar to a university dorm. So fun for young people, but maybe not a good place to bring your family.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 June 2014

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Disgusting bathrooms that are in terrible condition. Felt so dirty staying there. It was extremely loud and I was kept up for hours due to the loudness.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap Budget accomodation in the heart of Dublin with extremely friendly stuff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Joanna Skotnicka

Alone

City break

16 May 2014 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. But they should pay more attention to cleanliness. Anyway is good value for such price.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Would be nice if the hot showers worked....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniele Ribeiro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for two nights with a friend in the 24 bed dorm, since this was the only option available for a last minute booking, and for what it seems, weekends are really busy. After that I stayed by myself an extra night in the 8 bed female dorm. For the 24 bed dorm experience: - lots of toilets and shower areas all around, so no queuing, and they are kept clean throughout the day too For the 8 bed female dorm: - there was only me and 2 other girls. Lots of silence to have a good night sleep and the window faced the hostel "inner open area", so it can be kept open during the night without street noise. Private bathroom was a plus, also clean.

Disliked: The few things that bothered me: 24 bed dorm: - quite a few people that seemed to be living there (long stay?) didn't like to share the sockets or the "extensions", and considering that not every bed has a socket of their own I didn't feel safe leaving my phone charging during the night in a socket from which the cable couldn't reach my bed - in the first night there were some late night talks (2am!) and some alarms going off - if you're on the top of the bunk bed, light can be a problem Overall: - wi-fi doesn't work everywhere

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing. It was right between two of the major bridge crossings in Dublin, but far enough from the bars that there weren't a lot of people coming into the room at 4am.

Disliked: The lockers were not very safe.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & knowledgeable staff, useful facilities (e.g. padlock/towel/ hairdryer hire available), good location, secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff. The bathrooms and kitchen were clean. And the dorm room was as clean as one expects, it's always hard to clean a dorm that size, especially with cages under the beds.

Disliked: I didn't like that they used keypads for the larger dorms instead keycards. While it didn't make me worry about my belongings since I put anything really important in the cage under the bed. But I still don't like it, I also heard that they do occasionally have problems with thieves going into those rooms.

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels