HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mec Hostel Dublin Hostel

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 86%

Safety 79%

Staff 89%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 86%

Safety 79%

Staff 89%

Value 85%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Staff and breakfast, room size.

Disliked: Bathroom too far from room and very crowded in the morning. No lift to carry luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Quiet street

Disliked: Stairs

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
41+

Liked: i love this hostel as staff are very friendly and helpful. Hygiene has improved 100% since i was a regular there some years back. Kitchen is open to a good time to faciliate people getting back later. Kitchen is kept to a very high standard too. Well done to all of you there keep up the good work, Il be back soon

Disliked: A lot of stairs to climb pulling bags

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was close to the city center. Staff was friendly. Very good pricethe kitchen was very well equipped and the wifi was pretty good

Disliked: The staff was nice but not very helpful for information on how to get around or where to go or the city in general.I had to change my key everyday not just like a fluke but it is literally their policy every guest everyday has to get a new key your key automatically turns off at 10am daily it was so inconvenient if you wanted to sleep in and then get up and take a shower you had to go all the way downstairs and get a new key then go all the way back upThe hostel was freezing cold when i was there and the staff were nice but they said there was nothing they could do about it - the rooms were big but there were six beds and only 4 sockets. The building was old and falling apart -the lockers were weird and we tried 3 different type of padlocks on them but it didn't workbut since the price was so cheap you do get what you pay for

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break

Liked: yes

Disliked: I like everything

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I absolutely loved the MEC Hostel. The georgian property was really nice and it was very quiet. The apartment number 2 I stayed in was really spacious and comfortable. I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends who come to Dublin to visit.The lady at reception was super friendly and really helpful. She delivered an exceptional level of customer service.

Disliked: The wasnt anything for me to criticise which is always a good thing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful and the place was quite central wihin the city an convenient to get to local attractions.

Disliked: I think I would have liked it better if someone changed the sheets more often just for cleanliness like how some of the other hostels I stayed at before did.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap, in a great location, with big rooms and comfortable enough beds.

Disliked: Nothing, it is what I expected from a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great staff and facilities available

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice & friendly atmoshere, helpful staff, fine place to stay with your friends, also meet new people. Kitchen available for cooking. Good breakfast served for reasonable price.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability