HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Times Hostel - College Street Dublin Hostel

8, College Street, Dublin, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 89%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.59USD
  • Towel 2.39USD

Important Information

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are noe non-refundable. In the case of a no show or cancellation without 48 hours notice, guests will be charged for the first 2 nights of their booking.

This for the Important Information section:

- Valid passport/photo ID required from each guest upon check-in.

- Please note: Guests under 18 must be booked into private family rooms - they will not be permitted in shared accommodation. Minors must be accompanied by at least one adult over 18.

- When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot always guarantee that guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want to be separated.

- Groups are subject to our hostel group policy.

- Breakfast offered for a small extra charge (3€).

- Earliest check-in: 14:00
- Latest check-out: 10:30

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 89%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Extremely noisy and inconsiderate other guests = sleepless nights. And also non-guests sneaking in making a nuisance of themselves and lots of noise. Security and standards should be raised by management / staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff was very helpful and accommodating! They were ready to help, whether if it was booking issues, taxis, or even just recommending places to eat!

Disliked: Nothing really! Breakfast for €3 was a little steep, considering the spread. But it was cheaper than anything else I would get anywhere else.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Center

Disliked: No lift

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Being a single female traveller I booked this accommodation purely because of the location, being across the road from the bus transfer I was booked on at 5am the next morning. I was disgusted when I went to check in that I had been told I was move to a new location, 15 minutes away. I had explains the situation many times that the sole reason I booked this hostel was for location and safety at that time of day. I currently live in Ireland, so making the trip up the day before my flight was for the convienience of having the bus transfer so close. Anyway, the two girls behind the desk were pretty useless when I explained the situation. You would think being travellers themselves yet could understand the situation. Their eyes nearly buldged out of their heads when I asked to speak to the manager, to which one of the girls pretended to make a phone call, however I was told the manage was in a meeting. Anyway, the next hostel isn't 15 minutes away, it's 20-25! The staff tried to rectify the situation with a free breakfast, which I had already explained I was not around for as I was leaving at 5am. Anyway, the situation happened, however it was made all the more worse by the way the staff handled it. They were shocking, lazy and useless. I've stayed in a lot of hostels all over the world and never come across such careless staff. Enjoy!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Big kitchen, well located!

Disliked: Lot of humidity

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location. All the staffs are very friendly, nice and helpful. Breakfast are value for money. Rooms and the toilet are clean.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Handy for bus station

Disliked: Noise was completely impossible. Virtually no sleep. Bar downstairs v lively until c3:30am. Also traffic. If you go there, take a sleeping bag and lie down in the laundry room. That was quiet.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff as always! Nice kitchen with basically everything you need, even free milk, while it lasts! ;)

Disliked: We had a room where the emergency exit light was very bright all night. I realize the purpose of these signs but it is very hard to sleep with a greenish light shining in your face all night! Also, the hostel is located above a pub, so if you are easily irritated by people having fun outside your window while you are trying to sleep, you should maybe choose a different hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Good beds, quiet atmosphere when needing to wake early the next day

Disliked: Traffic noise, but that's nothing to do with the hostel itself, rather the traffic outside.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: close to the town,very easy to find.

Disliked: the property just next to the busy road .

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability