HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of The Times Hostel - College Street

Hostel | 8 College street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2,

86.5% Overall Rating

402 out of 429 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

"Great atmosphere, friendly staff and well-kept facilities. One of the nicest hostels I've ever been to."

Read all The Times Hostel - College Street reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.02
  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Buswells Hotel
93.14 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Ashfield House City Centre
14.74 USD

Hostel 83.0% 622 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
133.34 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Court Hotel
34.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
46.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
21.44 USD

Hostel 81.7% 866 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.11 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
16.08 USD

Hostel 57.6% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

402 out of 429 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Times Hostel - College Street'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, nice and clean. good security (lockers in the rooms!).

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location and the rooms are decent value for money.

Disliked: Too large... takes 5 minutes to get to your room! Could also do with a bit more cleaning...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ensuite room, loads to eat for breakfast, quiet at night, and a good free dinner! good location too.

Disliked: nothing I can think of

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerry Blakeslee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, room, shower facilities, kitchen/lounge opened 24/7, decent breakfast included.

Disliked: Wifi not available in rooms as advertised.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite central

Disliked: Hostel rooms and bathrooms were very clean - however, external features like windows and doors could be cleaned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great! The location could not be better, the rooms were clean and the staff was super friendly. If you are going to Dublin - stay here.

Disliked: I mean, the breakfast is not much, but it's also not much too complain about either seeing as it is free.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elaine Ingram

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff and good facilities in the kitchen. Great location close to bus station and tourist attractions.

Disliked: Bathroom was not cleaned everyday but didnt get too dirty. Also no lockers in rooms but hostel felt safe so not a big problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staffs were helpful and firendly!! I love them!

Disliked: the aisles are narrow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Anderton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: /

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: A bit old and smelly - but that's what you get in central Dublin!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super-friendly staff, very clean. I'd love to see real juice at breakfast rather than the artificially sweet fake stuff, but that is my only complaint.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: beds are not too comfortable, but I guess no one expects this at a hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ruben herrera

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 ruben would recommend this property

Liked: I only satyed one night but it was perfect, a lot of fun, excellent location I really like it!!

Disliked: the check in its very late....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfy.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gerat place, excellent staff.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miruna Niculescu

Alone

Events / festivals

28 March 2011 Miruna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the location is amazing, just across the Trinity College, the kitchen is well stocked, they serve pancakes at the weekend, great atmosphere, I recommend it :D

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The blonde Irish lady at reception was lovely!! So chatty, friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming! Two of my friends were vegetarian and she accommodated their needs when it was free dinner on Weds. The dinner was filling and pretty good as it was free. Hostel kitchen was brilliantly well stocked with kitchen utensils, fast heating hobs although there was no oven. We stayed in the 8 bed dorm room and it was very clean, quite comfy mattresses. Ensuite was a bonus with an excellent hot powerful shower head.

Disliked: There wasn't much of an atmosphere to be honest. We were a group of five girls and only staying 2 nights mid-week so this wasn't much of an issue. Probably different at the weekend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was absolutely fantastic just in the centre of city!!! also the staff were very friendly and always smiling!!! so nice.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: no lockers in the bedroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlo Belardi

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 March 2011 Carlo would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, excellent location, good breakfast served every morning, free walking tours, sufficient cleanliness

Disliked: It doesn't have lockers in every room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lachlan parker

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 March 2011 lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here fot st pats day. awesome location, staff were really friendly and helpful, and met a bunch of great travellers. we booked early so it was really cheap compared to what others paid.. i would highly recommend the times hostel

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just came home from an 8 day vacation in Ireland where I spend the last 3 days in Dublin over the St. Patrick's Day festivities. The Times hostel was first rate in location. Once I figured out where the hostel was from the Trinity College Aircoach bus stop as Dublin is not so good with street signs it was super easy to locate (right next to Westin Hotel). The staff was super nice and helpful, and the room as comfortable. After staying in some not so nice paces earlier in week I have to say that the shower I had (I was in ensuite room) was very nice with pressure, space, and hot water). also a great plus for this place is that had activities almost daily set up, a nice common room and even had some hot food on a few of the days in addition to regular continental breakfast. (That might have been because of St. Pat’s day) The wifi internet works great all over the hostel, Anyway, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend.

Disliked: They charge to use computers in lobby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Rosenberg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 March 2011 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and clean

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2011

Liked: good location, great kitchen

Disliked: the beds are for people under 6ft as i was over i didnt fit in it! also i couldnt sit up as the bunks are so close together making reading in bed rather difficult. no real common room just a kitchen with seating making meting people unless you happen to share a table with them whilst eating very difficult! the manager is erm intresting in her approach.. although the rest of the staff were very helpfull!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Freebairn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 March 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and it was clean and tidy! We got upgraded from a 10 person dorm to a 4 person dorm which was fantastic!!

Disliked: Not many people hanging out in the common areas but possibly because we were there on the quiet nights.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels