HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of The Times Hostel - College Street

Hostel | 8 College street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2,

86.6% Overall Rating

392 out of 417 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Ashley Leroy thinks…

"I really loved this hostel! It was very cost efficient! It was clean and the staff did anything and everything in their ability to help you if they needed to! Also, they were just cool people and…"

Read all The Times Hostel - College Street reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Buswells Hotel
207.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Ashfield House City Centre
12.44 USD

Hostel 83.2% 608 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
40.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Court Hotel
35.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Abbey Court
16.58 USD

Hostel 84.7% 834 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.80 USD

Hostel 75.8% 327 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
13.82 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 93.7% 1338 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

392 out of 417 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Times Hostel - College Street'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sadie Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Sadie would recommend this property

Liked: It is very spacious and clean, the lobby has hundreds of discounted things for you to do, and a homemade book of free things to do as well, and everynight they have a free hostel event such as "cheese and wine night" or "icecream and biscuits". The kitchen was always bustling with friendly people cooking dinner, and there was plenty of space for everywhere with couches and tvs. The showers have the best water pressure I've ever seen in a hostel, and even the bathroom has tons of room.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom for 10 people, but it honestly didn't bother me much at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Goodrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff and clean amenities. And there was something different on every night.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caitlin Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It is next to Trinity College so easy to find, just head for any Trinity College signs. Probably best to book the tours that leave from hostel because at least you know they will be on time unlike the one I booked with another company (because I did not want to see the farm on the one offered at the Times) and this company had incorrect times on their website. Next time would book the tour with that picks up at the Times.

Disliked: Slow internet, though that seemed to be the case at most Hostels in the UK. So frustrating!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really great time at this hostel and met some cool people. It was a little crowded being in a 12 person room but for the price it was definitely worth it! The staff was great and the location was as good as it gets!

Disliked: There was only one bathroom for 12 people in our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annika Ritari

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: I love it. The best hostel I have ever been in. Location was fantastic :)

Disliked: Behaviour of the other guests.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though i had trouble finding it (guess i am bit blind) it is a very good location with walking distances from attractions.

Disliked: I had a short stay and have no complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpfull and the location is perfect to see everything in Dublin.

Disliked: Two many beds in one room and therefore just one bathroom and no extra toilett.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was awesome! It was very clean, the staff were superb and the people I met there were great! The location is amazing your walking distance from everything that is good..when I go back to Dublin I am DEFINITELY coming back to this hostel!

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Colla

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 2 nights in a double private room. We were checked in by Brig who was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was basic but a fair size and clean. Breakfast was basic (cereal, toast & juice) but good enough to start the day. The hostel offers free events each day such as a free dinner on Wednesdays which we were there for and the food was great. We did the free walking tour they advertised and it was also excellent. Very happy with the accommodation and would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central location, very clean and tidy and excellent value for money.

Disliked: It was a little noisy and could be more mirrors in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Johnstone

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for city center, very friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit of street noise during the night, windows were open as in the dorm it would have been to hot allowing the traffic noise to be a bit loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location superb. Double private in fair size and with en-suite bathroom.

Disliked: Bed a bit squeaky.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything

Disliked: A lounge seperate to the kitchen would be good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Nowak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean, nice kitchen, helpful staff, free dinner

Disliked: Street noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PHU-HENH LAM

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 PHU-HENH would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities, also really friendly staff and other people staying there.

Disliked: n/a.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff - mostly foreign students - which proposed lots of activities and tours, but also miscellaneous night visits of Dublin such as having drinks in pubs / the private bathrooms in each rooms...

Disliked: no lock nor safe place to place valuable properties in the rooms or the hostels

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very informative, staff is helpful, room is clean, new. everything is new. breakfast and free dinner are quite good. I will stay there again.

Disliked: not really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Woken at 4am by other residents. Staff took an hour to "evict" them. Not hostels fault but took the edge off our stay

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen space and facilities

Disliked: A general meeting area/ common space downstairs would have been more sociable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: the street is very noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was convenient for me as I was travelling to and from the airport. The aircoach line was only a block away...

Disliked: Only one bathroom per room made it difficult...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Choon Yeng (Selina) Lai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Choon Yeng (Selina) would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, free breakfast and activities offered by hostel (walking tours, pub crawl etc)

Disliked: No lockers in room, pay for internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Nestor

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Unreal location, good big room, the ensuite was huge, the shower was so lovely and powerful!, everything was so clean and the staff were super helpful...had booked a private room for 2 people for 2 nights, ended up having a third person join us the second night and they worked it so we wouldnt have to switch rooms or anything.... It's really safe, staff came and watched as we put bags into the store room and went to get them out again, nothing worse than hostels that seem to just pass the key to anyone who asks!

Disliked: the blinds were broken in the room and in the ensuite, and the ensuite window wasnt even frosted so we had a nice view from the loo :-/ we were just on the first floor so if anyone looked in...especially from double decker buses....you wouldnt want to be too insecure!!! also a full lenght mirror wouldnt have gone unused! but it was still brill, definitely going to be my regular place to stay!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiina Vigelius

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2011 Tiina would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location at the centre of the city. Quiet and cosy rooms. Clean beds and very clean shower also! The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We are definitely coming again! - Tiina & Anu from Finland -

Disliked: I guess we have nothing bad to say :)


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels