HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of The Times Hostel - College Street

Hostel | 8 College street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2,

87.0% Overall Rating

391 out of 416 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Ashley Leroy thinks…

"I really loved this hostel! It was very cost efficient! It was clean and the staff did anything and everything in their ability to help you if they needed to! Also, they were just cool people and…"

Read all The Times Hostel - College Street reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Buswells Hotel
207.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Ashfield House City Centre
12.43 USD

Hostel 83.5% 607 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
45.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Court Hotel
35.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Abbey Court
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.3% 833 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.79 USD

Hostel 75.8% 327 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
13.81 USD

Hostel 61.0% 63 reviews
Abigails Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

391 out of 416 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Times Hostel - College Street'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 400 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sebastien charette

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location just short distance of temple bar and other Sightseeing spot Nice large room

Disliked: sebastien left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy to walk to all the best parts of Dublin. Great spot near the airport transfer bus stops.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Juan Pablo Muttoni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect.

Disliked: Juan Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hye-sun Chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Hye-sun would recommend this property

Liked: All are perfect. Above all, very clean bed, bathroom, and dining room. The quality of breakfast is best of all hostel and b and b I have experienced so far. The time when the breakfast is available is longer than other hostel-3hours^^. And the location is also very good. It is very close to Trinity college, Crafton street, and O'conelle street-famous attractions. As well as staffs are very kind and friendly.

Disliked: Because all are perfect, there is nothing to be disliked.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tyler Quick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! And the staff is super helpful for helping you find cool dinner spots. Etc.

Disliked: It's next to a nightclub so it's loud. And when a girl came in late one night they just put her in our room and didn't give her much guidance on what to do so she woke us up. There were empty singles so I feel like it would have only been responsible to put her there for a night. Also the wifi sucks.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Johnston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013

Liked: This hostel was right next to Trinity college and a lot of the tourist attractions in Dublin. The staff was helpful, but the atmosphere was poor. Most people at this hostel were unfriendly compared to other hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: There were no lockers underneath the beds to store luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Speranda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Although I only stayed for one night, I can say that I was pleasantly surprised by not only the great location but also price, cleanliness and correctness of the staff. Would most definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, but quite noise... Very clean, good beds, big kitchen, but don't have elevator, so if you are going with big luggage think twice. The breakfast was great, also the free dinner!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRANCISCO MORENO GARRE

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 FRANCISCO would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff, Cleanliness, I felt safe all the time, very well organise, when I had a question the staff was always happy to help, the breakfast is amazing, covers all your needs, the time serving breakfast is great also because covers all the frame in time for breakfast, and I have to say that if you miss is because you don't want to have it, getting at any time into the hostel is also brilliant, I had a great time in Dublin and one of the reasons has been so good is because the home feeling I had at the hostel. Thanks

Disliked: Well I am sure things to improve they are but is really great value and fair the service with the price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Avie.

Disliked: Not much fun around the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Candy Heller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Candy would recommend this property

Liked: ample kitchen, comfortable beds for what you pay, and excellent location.

Disliked: I wish this hostel had a common room, like a place where people can lounge around. The kitchen is large, and has plenty of tables and seats, but no place to really lounge about and converse unless you happen to be sitting in front of someone at a table and strike up a conversation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere. It's quite a large hostel with a fair amount of turnover so there are a lot of people to meet and go out with. The location is also fantastic, right in the middle of everything. Second time I've stayed here and will the next time I make it out to Dublin as well.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Green

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2013 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Miranda left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Olsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! Everything was within walking distance! The pub crawl was the best thing ever and there were so many different things planned that you could do!

Disliked: The kitchen could've been a little cleaner!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Greene

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The free left luggage service was fantastic, the staff was incredibly friendly, and it was barely a 5 minute walk from O'Connell Street. I had a great time at this hostel.

Disliked: There really wasn't much that I was displeased about. I think at most, I would nitpick about the curtains not sitting very well (and letting lots of light in) or a little bit of noise from the road below the window, but nothing was bad enough that I would have complained.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean hostel, solid breakfast, lots of information on the city (especially with info for cheap places to go). The location is also very great, especially for the price of the hostel. A great value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Tsiatoura

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: very central and clean

Disliked: the chairs in the kitchen need changing, uncomfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grear location in the very city centre. Nice breakfasts. Clean bathroom.

Disliked: Noise from the pub downstairs at the weekend, not enough tea bags and milk during the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay great location great for familys i took a 11 years old and she loved it if great place to stay if doing dublin marathon walkable to start and finish from the hostel

Disliked: not a thing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the price was cheap. Also, I liked the free pancakes for breakfast. The shower was also very hot and had great pressure. The staff are very friendly

Disliked: I was the last person to arrive in the 8 bed dorm that i stayed in. The bed I was stuck with had a broken locker ( so my stuff could not be locked away) and I discovered chewing gum on my bedpost. Also, the toilet in our room did not flush completely.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Emergency exit light could be a bit dimmer so that peoplenearby can have a better sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, no bad surprises about what was and wasn't included.

Disliked: The cleanliness and appearance of the place left to be desired.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Cotching

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, very friendly and helpful staff, extremely clean with great kitchen facilities and a huge comfortable common room where it is easy to meet people or just relax watching tv or movies. One of the best hostels I have stayed in across Europe, Asia and Central/ South America. Could not recommend highly enough!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels