HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Marina House Dublin Hostel

7 Old Dun Leary Rd, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 80%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 22:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 80%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 83%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing. Stay away at all costs. I'm used to bad hostels, this takes the trophy.

Disliked: Staff lied to me, they went out of business and never thought to tell me ahead of time to find a new place to stay. Mildew and mould on the walls, no windows for fresh air. Few bathrooms, so if one person is taking a shower, everyone else has to wait an hour before brushing their teeth.


The property's response is

Hi there, I was quite surprise with your review, we have never been out of the business for the last 20 years as well as your reservation has been updated to a brand new room with new mattresses and new bed we have placed you and your sister in a 3 beds dorm much smaller and comfortable that the one previously booked by you two (10 beds) we have accepted your sister 5 days before her original reservation the day that she supposed to check in and even dough we could not make you happy...

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Friendly staff, they were ready to help as we didnt have a clue where we where going!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very safe, clean, quiet, and no strange people walking around at all hours. Easy to get to from Dublin City Center by DART or I took the bus. 15 Euro for a three-day pass and a lovely ride.

Disliked: I disliked nothing. I slept very well, felt very safe, and my things were safe as well.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Its cute and the staff is really friendly.

Disliked: Its a little far away from the center.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was my first time stay at hostel and I was quite hesitate. But the Marina hostel surprised me with the cleanliness and comfortable environment. It's made me think that I shouldn't spend so much money for accommodation after this.

Disliked: The locker is small.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Quiet,

Disliked: No blinds on velux windows, made it difficult to sleep, €1.00 for hot water, expensive compared to better hostels


The property's response is

Hi Christopher !
Thanks for your review! We loved to receive them, Always! :)
Has just one thing that we from Marina House Hostel Crew would like to say

The Hot water has never been charged in our Hostel perhaps you miss understood the Coffee Machine in the Kitchen
About the Blinds they already have been replaced! as we said we love reviews that make we understand more about the needs of every single guest.

We hope to see you soon :) !
Marina Hostel Crew!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Lots of character, compact, helpfull staff, relaxing/quite out of the way of the hubub of dublin centre. I stayed here 3 days and then 3 days in central dublin. for me this was a good balance. any longer in the marina house hostel and i would have got bored but it was great to get away from it all.

Disliked: a bit cold in the room. no key for the lockers as they had all been lost/taken. very difficult to find on first night.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice place out of bustle of Dublin city

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing location. I personally liked it better than center Dublin. Especially the piers. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Very thin pillows.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability