We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

86.2% Overall Rating

615 out of 653 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

Kim Glick thinks…

"Great location right near bus tours and Trinity College. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Good value for money. Great breakfast."

Read all Ashfield Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more. Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation. During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded. Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms. You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay). Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
29.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
93.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
15.14 USD

Hostel 84.7% 964 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1422 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
13.46 USD

Hostel 82.6% 438 reviews
Sky Apartments
112.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
16.82 USD

Hostel 82.9% 116 reviews
Sky Backpackers
16.83 USD

Hostel 87.9% 143 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

615 out of 653 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 444 of 622 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kim Glick

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right near bus tours and Trinity College. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Good value for money. Great breakfast.

Disliked: It's an older building so it doesn't look as clean as some other places and you must make your own bed but for the price, that is not a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here. They have an awesome breakfast (boiled eggs, toast, jam, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate) and the staff were wonderful. Our room (6 bed female dorm) was great and the en-suite bathroom was nice as well. It was a wonderful stay with a great location, we would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Our only complaint, which can be easily remedied, would be that the door hinges to our room were in dire need or a good oiling. They were sooooo noisy it was impossible to quietly enter or exit the room!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is central and even though it is in the party district Ashfield is not a party hostel. Security is good and we two girls felt quite safe. It was also a relief to find the hostel has an arrangement with a convenient car park for discounted parking. Also a relief was the lift if you were carrying heavy luggage.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fabian Willmanns

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2015 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to temple district, all main sights are in a easy to walk to range

Disliked: Old charme and good rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Passman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 William would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right on the city centre, the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathroom were clean and tidy, and the breakfast was amazing

Disliked: It would be a good idea to have a bit of furniture in the rooms, at least some shelfs for the upper beds, for those like me that use glasses.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Thirlwell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff we amazingly friendly and helpful. Hee was a really friendly atmosphere amongst the travellers too.

Disliked: I stayed in room 25 and there was mould on the bathroom wall. The shower itself was always warm and powerful but the mould let the hostel down a bit

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast. The open area downstairs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, buffet-style continental breakfast in the morning, good location - not too loud but still in the heart of Dublin

Disliked: Facilities in the Ashfield Room could have been a little cleaner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: x

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location to the City and the breakfast.

Disliked: It needed to be redecrated

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andreas Volker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, great location

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

BULENT OGUZ

Alone

City break

02 September 2014 BULENT would recommend this property

Liked: Location ,breakfast ,value for money

Disliked: Cleanliness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gina perkins

Alone

City break

25 August 2014 gina would recommend this property

Liked: ensuite bathrooms in the dorm rooms and generally friendly staff

Disliked: gina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dejan Martincevic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, refrigerator in kitchen

Disliked: WiFi is unavailable when many people are connecting at the same time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernie Abbott

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 July 2014 Bernie would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and safe, Great spot and fantastic way too meet new people and make new friends.

Disliked: Bernie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Walter

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location - right in the centre. Perfectly adequate, simple rooms

Disliked: No water in the morning, but they were digging up the road in the area so probably not the Hostel's fault

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sierra Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: It was right downtown. The beds were moderately comfortable. The free breakfast had yogurt and peaches (and juice!), as well as the usual toast/cereal, so that was nice. I also liked how there were USB chargers and a light attached to every bed (very convenient).

Disliked: The cleanliness was not great. The shared bathroom in the 18 bed dorm always smelt like pee, and one of the 3 showers didn't work. The showers were kind of dirty as well. The dorm room also constantly smelt of bad foot odour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pratheek Badrinath

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Pratheek would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the facilities were great and very clean, the location was excellent, right in the centre of Dublin. No complaints at all!

Disliked: Pratheek left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location; Breakfast

Disliked: stairs; one bathroom for 18 people

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is pretty cool, good internet connection also in the rooms.

Disliked: Not very clean, did not feel very safe either. in our room there was a misplaced fire escape door which potentially allowed easy access to our room. in the night it was very loud, due to some kind of club/bar right next to the hostel. the lockers get to pe paid by hour which is simply bold, if you are claiming to be a traveler-friendly and student-friendly hostel.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels