HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

80.8% Overall Rating

592 out of 630 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
34.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
39.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
21.01 USD

Hostel 84.2% 876 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
17.07 USD

Hostel 86.5% 429 reviews
Abigails Hostel
15.76 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1387 reviews
Sky Apartments
72.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
14.43 USD

Hostel 78.5% 97 reviews
Sky Backpackers
21.01 USD

Hostel 88.0% 134 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

592 out of 630 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 430 of 599 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gina perkins

Alone

City break

25 August 2014 gina would recommend this property

Liked: ensuite bathrooms in the dorm rooms and generally friendly staff

Disliked: gina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dejan Martincevic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, refrigerator in kitchen

Disliked: WiFi is unavailable when many people are connecting at the same time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernie Abbott

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 July 2014 Bernie would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and safe, Great spot and fantastic way too meet new people and make new friends.

Disliked: Bernie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Walter

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location - right in the centre. Perfectly adequate, simple rooms

Disliked: No water in the morning, but they were digging up the road in the area so probably not the Hostel's fault

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sierra Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: It was right downtown. The beds were moderately comfortable. The free breakfast had yogurt and peaches (and juice!), as well as the usual toast/cereal, so that was nice. I also liked how there were USB chargers and a light attached to every bed (very convenient).

Disliked: The cleanliness was not great. The shared bathroom in the 18 bed dorm always smelt like pee, and one of the 3 showers didn't work. The showers were kind of dirty as well. The dorm room also constantly smelt of bad foot odour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pratheek Badrinath

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Pratheek would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the facilities were great and very clean, the location was excellent, right in the centre of Dublin. No complaints at all!

Disliked: Pratheek left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location; Breakfast

Disliked: stairs; one bathroom for 18 people

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is pretty cool, good internet connection also in the rooms.

Disliked: Not very clean, did not feel very safe either. in our room there was a misplaced fire escape door which potentially allowed easy access to our room. in the night it was very loud, due to some kind of club/bar right next to the hostel. the lockers get to pe paid by hour which is simply bold, if you are claiming to be a traveler-friendly and student-friendly hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Room, to dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, friendly staff, amazing location, nice atmosphere

Disliked: it was a bit cold in the room even when the heating was on, because of the windows... and could be a little more kinds of fruits for breakfast :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good, near the main street and is easy to find.

Disliked: the common kitchen is a little bit dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ann luthi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 ann would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and central location.

Disliked: Not properly signposted.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marina Kaplan

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 October 2013 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Dublin!!

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable and great location. They offer free breakfast as well.

Disliked: Good place. Very standard.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The girl who checked us in didn't tell us we needed to show our passes every time we came in. She also didn't tell us we had to leave our key at the desk whenever we went out, which sort of got us in trouble with the guy working later. They really need to emphasize to the guests in the big dorm that they need to take the bed assigned to them. People were takig any beds they hose and it created a mess with people having to switch beds later.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Teresa Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Ashfield hostel is very good located. The staff is really friendly, helpfull and funny. The breakfast is very good as well. I don't have nothing but positive things to say about my stay in this hostel.

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliet Charman

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2013 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and willing to help. Every thing was well organised.

Disliked: The cleanliness was a bit poor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, good location with easy access to centre and buses

Disliked: people were arriving very late and had to make up there own beds which was disturbeing when you were asleep on the bottom bunk and they were on the top

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chelsea Finklea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! I was walking distance from just about everything! It is a great place to meet other travelers!

Disliked: I was in a 4 bed dorm that was occupied by only me. I closed the window before i left one morning to return that afternoon to it open and cigarette ashes all over the window seal. I should have been the only person besides staff to have access to that room. I am not pointing fingers as to who was in my room and why they were smoking but whether it was staff or another guest there was wrong doing somewhere on Ashfield House's side. I didn't feel as safe as I had other places and I am a very trusting person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location was easy to find from the airport. The breakfast was fine. Good walking distance from bars on Grafton St. after drinks.

Disliked: Slow lift with luggage. The room was noisy next to a busy street. I enjoyed my stay.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels