HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

83.7% Overall Rating

585 out of 621 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
34.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
46.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
21.42 USD

Hostel 81.7% 866 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
20.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 429 reviews
Abigails Hostel
18.75 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1371 reviews
Sky Apartments
66.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.41 USD

Hostel 81.0% 87 reviews
Sky Backpackers
24.10 USD

Hostel 86.2% 132 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

585 out of 621 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 427 of 591 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the central location, the breakfast was incredibly good, and unlimited tea and coffee was great!

Disliked: Nothing really, it was pretty noisy in my room in the early hours of the morning but I guess that was to be expected in a large dorm room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, perfect location.

Disliked: The room was not ready to use when I arrived at 12 pm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of the hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: None.everything was perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CHEOK NGA LEI

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 CHEOK NGA would recommend this property

Liked: this is an international point of Dublin. meet a lot of people come from all over the world.

Disliked: the wall is destroyed and some of the facilities were broken. a little bit old; it is good if they can renew it gradually

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: Had a relaxed atmosphere. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean (a bit on the small side). Easy to find.

Disliked: Staff were never rude. They were happy to answer any questions But I felt they could have been a bit more energentic, and forth coming with information on Dublin (except for the guy from Morocco and the guy with the glasses and bold head seem to have a lot of energy).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

rosemarie weimann

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 rosemarie would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: there was a certain noise during the night from outside

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -very close to everything -pretty clean

Disliked: -not very secure... i came in asked for the key one night & they didn't even check my receipt to see if I was indeed staying in that room or hostel.. however they do have a padlock & key for 1 eur / night. -the guys at reception are friendly overall... however there is 1 that is rather annoying & wouldn't stop talking, also making some rather condescending comments -sketchy elevator - makes a jump everytime you come on.. but you get used to it

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything.

Disliked: It looks pretty dodgy, small rooms. But, overall good value for money if you aren't expecting too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

flavia.perfeito@hotmail.com flavia.perfeito@hotmail.com

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 flavia.perfeito@hotmail.com would recommend this property

Liked: location staff breakfast

Disliked: i liked everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff .. nothing was too much even at 6.30 am Great location without being right in heart of city ... great value ! self catering is essential with Dublin eating out prices !!

Disliked: maybe wee side lights in bedrooms ... i undressed & dressed in dark cos i didnt want to wake sleepers!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

john carolan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: its location and its value for money price

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were always hot, there was a bathroom in the room, it was close to everything and super easy to find! i also felt really safe and welcomed all the time. The staff was always helpful and ready to answer my questions.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and amazing location...

Disliked: Toilets and bathrooms should be cleaner...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome, very friendly staff, and good location

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jordan Ratcliffe

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and the property was clean and tidy.

Disliked: That there was no lockers around to put your belongings in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Keay

Alone

Events / festivals

10 February 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff Good breakfast

Disliked: cleaning up stairs not as thorough as it might be

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry seow wee phong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Terry seow would recommend this property

Liked: I stay in the 4 dorm and it's clean and good ensuite.Hot shower and have lift access. Breakfast is great.

Disliked: Leaving the Hostel....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very sympathic. Very well located. Good rooms.

Disliked: All was allright

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is superb

Disliked: nothing much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Really good value for money and there was a gentkeman with shaven head that was very welcoming, funny and always helpful. Definatey the place to stay in Dublin.

Disliked: There was one employee who worked the night shift. He seemed friendly at first, but the next day we saw him at reception rather intoxicated. As I waas wearing a olive green jacket with a German Flag stitched on it he felt the need to call me a Nazi. I have travelled all over the world and in my experience whenever people hear I am from Germany, sooner or later I will get similar comments. As these comments are purely ignorant they do not bother me. I would suggest to avoid calling paying customers from Germany Nazis though. I am sure there are Germans out there who will be offended.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, excellent location, good rooms. Really good breakfast. Cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt and eggs.

Disliked: Not much bad to say. The buzzer at the front was a bit of a pain and hard to find at first.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: Very centrally located, had good breakfast and toilet and shower in my room. Fairly quiet as well.

Disliked: It never felt super clean and anyone could have walked in because they never asked for your pass to get your key from front desk so I wondered about security.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vanessa Madey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly desk staff, location

Disliked: -


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels