HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

83.2% Overall Rating

574 out of 608 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2013)

Karen Ryan thinks…

"Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Dublin!!"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
35.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Abbey Court
16.58 USD

Hostel 84.7% 834 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
17.97 USD

Hostel 86.6% 417 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 93.7% 1338 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 83.1% 77 reviews
Sky Backpackers
22.11 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
The Pillar Guesthouse
30.40 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

574 out of 608 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 421 of 577 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: Had a relaxed atmosphere. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean (a bit on the small side). Easy to find.

Disliked: Staff were never rude. They were happy to answer any questions But I felt they could have been a bit more energentic, and forth coming with information on Dublin (except for the guy from Morocco and the guy with the glasses and bold head seem to have a lot of energy).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

rosemarie weimann

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 rosemarie would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: there was a certain noise during the night from outside

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -very close to everything -pretty clean

Disliked: -not very secure... i came in asked for the key one night & they didn't even check my receipt to see if I was indeed staying in that room or hostel.. however they do have a padlock & key for 1 eur / night. -the guys at reception are friendly overall... however there is 1 that is rather annoying & wouldn't stop talking, also making some rather condescending comments -sketchy elevator - makes a jump everytime you come on.. but you get used to it

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything.

Disliked: It looks pretty dodgy, small rooms. But, overall good value for money if you aren't expecting too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

flavia.perfeito@hotmail.com flavia.perfeito@hotmail.com

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 flavia.perfeito@hotmail.com would recommend this property

Liked: location staff breakfast

Disliked: i liked everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff .. nothing was too much even at 6.30 am Great location without being right in heart of city ... great value ! self catering is essential with Dublin eating out prices !!

Disliked: maybe wee side lights in bedrooms ... i undressed & dressed in dark cos i didnt want to wake sleepers!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

john carolan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: its location and its value for money price

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were always hot, there was a bathroom in the room, it was close to everything and super easy to find! i also felt really safe and welcomed all the time. The staff was always helpful and ready to answer my questions.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and amazing location...

Disliked: Toilets and bathrooms should be cleaner...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome, very friendly staff, and good location

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jordan Ratcliffe

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and the property was clean and tidy.

Disliked: That there was no lockers around to put your belongings in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Keay

Alone

Events / festivals

10 February 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff Good breakfast

Disliked: cleaning up stairs not as thorough as it might be

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry seow wee phong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Terry seow would recommend this property

Liked: I stay in the 4 dorm and it's clean and good ensuite.Hot shower and have lift access. Breakfast is great.

Disliked: Leaving the Hostel....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very sympathic. Very well located. Good rooms.

Disliked: All was allright

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is superb

Disliked: nothing much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Really good value for money and there was a gentkeman with shaven head that was very welcoming, funny and always helpful. Definatey the place to stay in Dublin.

Disliked: There was one employee who worked the night shift. He seemed friendly at first, but the next day we saw him at reception rather intoxicated. As I waas wearing a olive green jacket with a German Flag stitched on it he felt the need to call me a Nazi. I have travelled all over the world and in my experience whenever people hear I am from Germany, sooner or later I will get similar comments. As these comments are purely ignorant they do not bother me. I would suggest to avoid calling paying customers from Germany Nazis though. I am sure there are Germans out there who will be offended.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, excellent location, good rooms. Really good breakfast. Cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt and eggs.

Disliked: Not much bad to say. The buzzer at the front was a bit of a pain and hard to find at first.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: Very centrally located, had good breakfast and toilet and shower in my room. Fairly quiet as well.

Disliked: It never felt super clean and anyone could have walked in because they never asked for your pass to get your key from front desk so I wondered about security.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vanessa Madey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly desk staff, location

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PRIMOŽ REŠKOVAC

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 PRIMOŽ would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed amosphere and location. and orange juice in the morning :)

Disliked: /

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The room was not ready when we checked in. The staff did not explain anything about the hostel such as breakfast times, check out times, use of facilities etc. Maybe they have explained it so many times to so many other people that they cant be bothered anymore? But every customer that checks in is different and we dont know about the hostel ins and outs, if not we will be working there. There is no hot water in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel at a brilliant price. Six of us shared a room and though it was a little small it was all that we needed, the facilities were great. Staff were brilliant, very helpful and a great laugh. Location-wise, you couldn't be closer to Dublin's nightlife. 5 minutes from Temple Bar means you won't have far to stumble home. Cooking facilities that can be used and a great atmosphere made our weekend away a brilliant one.

Disliked: Very little!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, rooms were very clean and staff were great!

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: They were out of locks for security boxes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and warm.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't the cleanest but had good showers.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels