HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel Dublin

Hostel

19-20 DOlier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 85%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more.

Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation.

During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded.

Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms.

You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay).

Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 85%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 81-54 of 54 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was a great hostel. It's an excellent location, very close to everything. The people were very friendly. The breakfast was amazing. For most of the time we stayed there we didn't have any roommates which helped a small room feel less cramped. It was a fun place to stay and I would definitely do so again.

Disliked: At times the toliet didn't work very well.We stayed on the top floor and there wasn't an elevator. Dragging our bags up wasn't fun but for the most part I didn't mind the stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The free Breakfast was great, and perfect for keeping a budjet in check. The location was perfect, and the free ear plugs really helped to make a peaceful stay. Hostels are almost always noisey - well the ones worth going to

Disliked: Nothing, I got what I paid for, and had an awesome time

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Professionally run with a secure and friendly atmosphere - staff were helpful and even allowed us to store our packs past checkout time before we moved on ... VERY impressive and an invaluable extra service - very happy :D

Disliked: Room nott ready til an hour after check in - must have been extra busy!

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location is ok. Their directions are misleading though. Not that they'll bother to change it after I informed the girls on the desk and they just shrugged.

Disliked: Irish and French girl working when we arrived in the morning clearly couldn't be bothered to help when we asked about our email query from the night before about whether any beds were available for early check in. As it turns out there were and they just didn't want to move us there.They just sat at their computers all morning and looked removed from all hospitality. Definitely not suitable for their roles.No power sockets in room 107.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: L'établissement met à disposition de nombreux guides afin de visiter la ville, le personnel aussi n'hésite pas à vous aider lorsque vous cherchez quelque chose à faire. La cuisine est pratique, les espaces communs parfaitement adaptés. Nous sommes partis à 13 (jeunes de 18 à 20 ans) et nous avons pu rencontrer de nombreuses personnes plus intéressantes les unes que les autres dans ces espaces communs. A 3 minutes à pieds du temple bar, à 10 seconde du premier supermarché. Ambiance géniale. Nous recommandons cette auberge à tous

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Personalet var hjelpsomme og hyggelige. Beliggenheten er super.

Disliked: Nytt håndkle fikk vi første dag, men ikke senere i oppholdet. Var forferdelig varmt inne på rommet.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was located in the city centre

Disliked: The lady cleaning the kitchen was rude and she would brush her dirty cloth against me when I was pouring juice into my glass. She would not even wait until I had finished pouring my drink before wiping the counter. The one morning I had to go on an early morning tour and had requested that breakfast be arranged by 6h45. The staff member who was at the desk rudely told me that there is no breakfast. I also found the dormitory they placed me in was not clean, especially the bathroom was dirty.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The first night was fine. The second night we had 3-4 guys in the room next to our double private. They were drunk and loud and we could hear every word. They left at 11:00p.m. returning at 5:00a.m.louder than earlier. I didn't get much sleep. Thought they were going to check out according to the front desk when I mentioned it. They did not . At 11:30 the 2nd night , I knocked on their door and politely asked them to be quiet. That lasted about 10 minutes. Finally at 1:00 my partner went to the front desk and asked for assistance. To make a long story short it was not resolved and I left this place with very little sleep in 2 nights. Ironically, the hostel has a sign on the wall stating " it is NOT a party hostel". Really???Also, there was no Internet in the rooms and breakfast wasn't that great.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is perfect, right on the doorstep of Temple Bar, The Liffy River and Trinity College. The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were comfortable, with a lovely powerful shower!

Disliked: Nothing, it was lovely and I would stay there again without any hesitation.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and very clean

Disliked: The beds are not super

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability