HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel Dublin

Hostel

19-20 DOlier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 85%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.19USD

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more.

Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation.

During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded.

Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms.

You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay).

Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 85%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 71-55 of 55 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Top location. Just 5 minutes from Temple bar area, 5 minutes from O'Connel street, 5 minutes from Trinity college, a little bit more to City Hall and Dublin Castle. Just great. I guess you can't find better. It is noot noisy at night despite it is close to the area of most amasing pubs I ever been to. Great friendly stuff. There is breackfast which is included into the price. It consists of crisps, milk, tea, coffee, toast, jam, hazelnut spread. It is self catering. In fact you can cool till 9.30. And have tea at any time. There is a luggage room if you want to leave you stuff while you are walking. You can use it even after checkout. It has a cctv camera inside and the common area has one as well so I felt it was quite safeto leave my bag there. You also have a safe locker with the keys for which you should pay. I didn't use it. There are a few things for hire such as towel and hair drier (20 euro deposit)

Disliked: Some sockets did not work.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, super friendly staff, rooms are pretty great given the price.

Disliked: There wasn't any locker/secured storage in-room... but that's a minor complaint.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Although Ashfield House looks poorly lit and slightly creepy from the outside, once walking in my initial reaction was completely changed. The hardwood floor and well-lit check-in / common room made me feel safe and secure. Also, the free breakfast in the morning was great, especially in a city where everything is so expensive. Lastly, the staff was very knowledgable and always pointed us in the right direction. There was even a computer and printer there to print out my boarding pass for my plane ride!

Disliked: I booked the trip with three others, but unfortunately the hostel was so booked that we were separated. This ended up being a blessing in disguise, though, because the other students in my room were so friendly! We even ended up exploring some Dublin pubs together one night. The only negatives were: hostel advertised wifi, and so I assumed I'd have it in my room. However, it was only accessible in the lobby part of the hotel. Also, there was one night where the power went out for about fifteen minutes, which was kind of freaky.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel rooms were bigger than I thought, clean, and better than I had expected! GREAT location, friendly staff, the best hostel I've stayed at so far. The price of the hostel is great, definitely worth what you're paying for! Even has an elevator so you don't have to carry all of your luggage upstairs. Had made some new friends in the hostel, great place to be.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was well located, clean and the bed was quite comfortable!! I really recomend this hostel for those who are looking for a good place to sleep after a hard tourism day!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location. room looks decently clean. free breakfast!

Disliked: the common area had a stench.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very strategic location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets could be improved.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located in the middle of the city centre but still a quiet hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good communal area, and decent breakfast for the price. Good wifi access.

Disliked: Room was not very clean and window didn't shut properly. Access to room via showing a ticket to reception often meant waiting while they served other people bit slow.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, nice breakfast!

Disliked: Wierd elevator

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability