We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

82.5% Overall Rating

596 out of 634 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
33.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
44.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
17.48 USD

Hostel 86.1% 882 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
19.42 USD

Hostel 84.7% 433 reviews
Abigails Hostel
15.53 USD

Hostel 83.1% 1393 reviews
Sky Apartments
71.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
16.83 USD

Hostel 76.2% 100 reviews
Sky Backpackers
20.71 USD

Hostel 88.0% 134 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

596 out of 634 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 432 of 602 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and kept changing. Hardly saw any of them more than twice behind the counter.. It was very well located and easy to find. The room was neat and safe. The breakfast was sufficient as you could eat as much of it as you liked.

Disliked: The room was a bit small.. but it didn't really matter that much. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped though there wasn't that much room for cooking. It lacked an oven too. The heating system was a bit weird.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Newnham

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The comunal kitchen area was very nice and set up for meeting new people.

Disliked: the stairs to the room were not is the best condition.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: The staff were very rude.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alexandria Hewat

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011

Liked: Free wifi downstairs and breakfast was included. The location was great with only a two minute walk to the main shopping street.

Disliked: We stayed here two nights (not consecutively) and the staff were very rude and unfriendly both times, complaining about other guests to us. They were unhelpful when we asked questions and just made the stay unpleasant.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

adi motil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011

Liked: the location and the fact that there was a coffee station for free

Disliked: everything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Mildew...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ashfield house is in the most pefect location in dublin! we stayed in the largest room they have and it was an amazing experience, everyone was so friendly and we made lots of new friends! The beds were very comfy and the bathrooms were clean. We ended up leaving our luggage under the beds just like everyone else, it felt very secure. The staff were friendly and helpful, they knew everything from bus timetables to museum opening times.

Disliked: the showers were either a bit too hot or a bit too cold and the cooker wasnt that great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RUY ALBARRAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 RUY would recommend this property

Liked: Great environment and nice bedrooms.

Disliked: Some guys of the staff weren't that nice. In fact I felt like they wer doing me a favour.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool staff and atmosphere

Disliked: need lockers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly my expectations of a good hostel. Great common area, lockers available, internet (wifi and pay-to-use PCs) available, decent free breakfast. Well connected with the airport (the 16A stops RIGHT outside the door) Everything was excellent.

Disliked: A little loud at night, but they offer free ear-plugs, and the location can't be beat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Hoffmann

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 July 2011 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: They have a great big kitchen and its very near to the Temple District

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciara Palmer

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 July 2011 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrey G

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the Colosseum, many great restaurants, and metro/train station.

Disliked: Shower flooded regularly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alissa Clarke

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Alissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic. So close to everything in town including Temple Bar. 24 hr reception is great. I was able to ask questions at all times of day and night. Met heaps of fun people staying in the hostel that I could go drinking with.

Disliked: There was a trainee working who gave me the wrong key to my room. I then had to change rooms. The manager handled it well and I wasn't too fussed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nadine oros

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, was easy to find for us. Nice kitchen with all the necessities w/ oven, microwave, toasted and even a Foreman Grill. Breakfast was decent - even had some boiled eggs for protein, yogurt and fruit - not just cereal and toast that most hostels put out. Good security - they asked to see our slip every time. Can lock luggage in drawer under bed. Good showers. Nice common area for meeting people.

Disliked: Had to make up bed and return sheets after - not nice for dorm mates if you arriving or leaving during odd hours. Lockers for luggage under beds nice but some were squeaky. Loud noise from street at night - but I brought my earplugs so I was OK ... and I think they might have even offered some for free ... Fee to use their computer was rather high - so we did not use there and just waited until we were in our next location.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, v central

Disliked: one reception lad

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sara Holmes

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to sights and shopping, breakfast and linens included, cheap price!

Disliked: The 18 bed dorm only had 2 toiets and 3 shower stalls but 2 didn't have curtains and the other didn't have a door lock. The bathroom ceiling was constantly dripping from the floor above and there weren't 18 keys to the room so you had to hope people were in there if you didn't get a key.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the showers were excellent. good security and brilliant location

Disliked: no towel replacements. slightly worn decor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Woods

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: It was the centre of town, really clean, good breakfast and helpful staff.

Disliked: The outside made it appear awful and misrepresented it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, but still very peacefull, great atmosphere, staff was really nice, smiling and helpful, common areas were really great. In rooms the beds were really, really good.

Disliked: Rooms shold be renovated and cleande better. Carpet & curtains were dirty as hell, shitty stains etc... Bloody, dead squished flys on the roof, yuck!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rohaya Abdul Rasid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Rohaya would recommend this property

Liked: When we made our booking online, there were only shared dorms available but when we arrived and enquired if they happened to have a private room for one of the nights, the staff helped us look through the system and even found us a private room for both nights! That meant A LOT to us. Cool place with nice decor, computers, lounge and breakfast. Highly recommended!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definetly the position! It's located in the best position to visit Dublin! Free breakfast (even if a bit poor, but in the surrounding there are bars to eat cheap and big breakfast), free towels and a secure luggage room are great benefits,

Disliked: Rooms are a bit noisy, and dirty,but acceptable for me

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: mixed dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was amazing!

Disliked: nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels