HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

83.2% Overall Rating

574 out of 608 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2013)

Karen Ryan thinks…

"Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Dublin!!"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
35.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Abbey Court
16.58 USD

Hostel 84.7% 834 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
17.97 USD

Hostel 86.6% 417 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 93.7% 1338 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 83.1% 77 reviews
Sky Backpackers
22.11 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
The Pillar Guesthouse
30.40 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

574 out of 608 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 421 of 577 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciara Palmer

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 July 2011 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrey G

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the Colosseum, many great restaurants, and metro/train station.

Disliked: Shower flooded regularly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alissa Clarke

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Alissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic. So close to everything in town including Temple Bar. 24 hr reception is great. I was able to ask questions at all times of day and night. Met heaps of fun people staying in the hostel that I could go drinking with.

Disliked: There was a trainee working who gave me the wrong key to my room. I then had to change rooms. The manager handled it well and I wasn't too fussed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nadine oros

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, was easy to find for us. Nice kitchen with all the necessities w/ oven, microwave, toasted and even a Foreman Grill. Breakfast was decent - even had some boiled eggs for protein, yogurt and fruit - not just cereal and toast that most hostels put out. Good security - they asked to see our slip every time. Can lock luggage in drawer under bed. Good showers. Nice common area for meeting people.

Disliked: Had to make up bed and return sheets after - not nice for dorm mates if you arriving or leaving during odd hours. Lockers for luggage under beds nice but some were squeaky. Loud noise from street at night - but I brought my earplugs so I was OK ... and I think they might have even offered some for free ... Fee to use their computer was rather high - so we did not use there and just waited until we were in our next location.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, v central

Disliked: one reception lad

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sara Holmes

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to sights and shopping, breakfast and linens included, cheap price!

Disliked: The 18 bed dorm only had 2 toiets and 3 shower stalls but 2 didn't have curtains and the other didn't have a door lock. The bathroom ceiling was constantly dripping from the floor above and there weren't 18 keys to the room so you had to hope people were in there if you didn't get a key.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the showers were excellent. good security and brilliant location

Disliked: no towel replacements. slightly worn decor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Woods

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: It was the centre of town, really clean, good breakfast and helpful staff.

Disliked: The outside made it appear awful and misrepresented it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, but still very peacefull, great atmosphere, staff was really nice, smiling and helpful, common areas were really great. In rooms the beds were really, really good.

Disliked: Rooms shold be renovated and cleande better. Carpet & curtains were dirty as hell, shitty stains etc... Bloody, dead squished flys on the roof, yuck!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rohaya Abdul Rasid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Rohaya would recommend this property

Liked: When we made our booking online, there were only shared dorms available but when we arrived and enquired if they happened to have a private room for one of the nights, the staff helped us look through the system and even found us a private room for both nights! That meant A LOT to us. Cool place with nice decor, computers, lounge and breakfast. Highly recommended!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definetly the position! It's located in the best position to visit Dublin! Free breakfast (even if a bit poor, but in the surrounding there are bars to eat cheap and big breakfast), free towels and a secure luggage room are great benefits,

Disliked: Rooms are a bit noisy, and dirty,but acceptable for me

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: mixed dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was amazing!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Damjan Dimnjakovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2011

Liked: Excelent location, close to city centre, bus/train station, easily reached from the airport. Great breakfast, fantastic, until 10:30!! even if you come at 10:00 you will find everything to eat.

Disliked: We stayed in 6-bed ensuite. Toilet was ok. The room had beds and a single chair and that's it! They could at least put sth like drawers under the beds so you can put your clothes somewhere, or better put a closet in the room :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and easy to find

Disliked: could hear night club

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lobby whit much space to meet new people!

Disliked: There was not safes, or reading ligth by the bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very central to everything and the staff were helpful. Nice free breakfast... widest selection I've seen so far. Good place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Can't think of anything that bad

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Jimenez Torres

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the central location, the breakfast was incredibly good, and unlimited tea and coffee was great!

Disliked: Nothing really, it was pretty noisy in my room in the early hours of the morning but I guess that was to be expected in a large dorm room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, perfect location.

Disliked: The room was not ready to use when I arrived at 12 pm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of the hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: None.everything was perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CHEOK NGA LEI

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 CHEOK NGA would recommend this property

Liked: this is an international point of Dublin. meet a lot of people come from all over the world.

Disliked: the wall is destroyed and some of the facilities were broken. a little bit old; it is good if they can renew it gradually


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels