HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel Dublin Hostel

19-20 DOlier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 85%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.22USD

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more.

Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation.

During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded.

Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms.

You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay).

Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 85%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 61-45 of 45 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Social, really great atmosphere. Best hostel I've stayed at for meeting other travelers, really international atmosphere.

Disliked: No underbed lockers/in room storage.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy access to the hostel via bus 16 from the airport, walkable distance to almost everywhere.

Disliked: Rowdiness of other guests as they were drunk, woke up the entire room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, comfortably arranged space

Disliked: a bit dirty bathrooms, no ventilation in the room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fantastic location, great staff. Had a wonderful time in an amazing city!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great communal atmosphere - everyone seemed to know everyone else. Free tea and coffee. Good common area with lots of space to sit/relax/use your laptop. Good free breakfast. Free to use under-bed lockers. I paid 9 Euros a night (weekdays only) which is amazing value for Dublin centre.

Disliked: There was a 'floater' in the only downstairs gents toilet for my entire stay, so 2 days - I was amazed this wasn't dealt with in that time. The place could use some refurbishment - it feels dated. The cheap room 'Ashfield' has 18 beds, and is a little too full, especially as there is only 2 toilets/showers in the bathroom. Overall, a decent hostel... but Abigail's (sister hostel) has a better common room, better bedrooms (less beds, more space) and is better located for Temple Bar.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: City centre location

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: location

Disliked: too old

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great atmosphere in the lounge area, the luggage storage (although I was too early to check-in, they allowed me to leave my bags in the luggage store room; and I also left my bags there for the whole day after checking-out and collected them later that evening), friendly staff.

Disliked: They put me in a mixed dorm when I booked for a female dorm. I was given a female dorm room when I complained but a girl arrived at 12am claiming that I took her bed. It was all sorted in the end, but that was 2 mistakes in one day. Besides that, the stay was very good.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big lounge area. PC, copy mashine available.

Disliked: I dislike in the room, I stayed in 4 bed room, so the bathroom inside was not well accomodate. Especially those two separate taps for cold and hot water (yes yes I know, it is specific for this area), but for ravellers I assume it would be good to have one tap.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: For my 1st time staying in a hostel i thought it was excellent from check in to check out.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability