HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel Dublin Hostel

19-20 DOlier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more.

Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation.

During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded.

Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms.

You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay).

Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 87%

Showing 61-38 of 38 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: good location

Disliked: The Hostel is very gruby and needs to be renovated and get new carpet etc. It has an old unkept feel to it- Basically the rooms are really small and there are no lockers in the room. There are also dodgy plug points all over the hostel and most do not work it was an absolute nightmare to wash my hair as only one plug point worked in the room and it was under someone else's bottom bunk so i was on my hands and knees drying my hair-ridiculous. Also in the main area I could not charge up my laptop as the plug points do not work again.....

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The peoplewere super nice and really helpful. Furthermore it is situated really close to trinity college, grafton street n temple bar. Brilliant spot. Would immediately go there again!!!

Disliked: Theres actually nothing that I didnt like.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was stay in that hostel with my parents.It was very nice and tidy.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, bus stop outside. The breakfast was good. Good atmosphere. Nice staff.

Disliked: Our window didn't close properly, so the noise came in a lot. It also got very cold in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Social, really great atmosphere. Best hostel I've stayed at for meeting other travelers, really international atmosphere.

Disliked: No underbed lockers/in room storage.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy access to the hostel via bus 16 from the airport, walkable distance to almost everywhere.

Disliked: Rowdiness of other guests as they were drunk, woke up the entire room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, comfortably arranged space

Disliked: a bit dirty bathrooms, no ventilation in the room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fantastic location, great staff. Had a wonderful time in an amazing city!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great communal atmosphere - everyone seemed to know everyone else. Free tea and coffee. Good common area with lots of space to sit/relax/use your laptop. Good free breakfast. Free to use under-bed lockers. I paid 9 Euros a night (weekdays only) which is amazing value for Dublin centre.

Disliked: There was a 'floater' in the only downstairs gents toilet for my entire stay, so 2 days - I was amazed this wasn't dealt with in that time. The place could use some refurbishment - it feels dated. The cheap room 'Ashfield' has 18 beds, and is a little too full, especially as there is only 2 toilets/showers in the bathroom. Overall, a decent hostel... but Abigail's (sister hostel) has a better common room, better bedrooms (less beds, more space) and is better located for Temple Bar.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: City centre location

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability