HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

83.2% Overall Rating

574 out of 608 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2013)

Karen Ryan thinks…

"Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Dublin!!"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
35.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Abbey Court
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.3% 833 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
17.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 416 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1335 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.95 USD

Hostel 82.1% 76 reviews
Sky Backpackers
19.33 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
The Pillar Guesthouse
30.37 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

574 out of 608 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 420 of 576 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location and friendly staff

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janaina Lima Fogaca

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Janaina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good, nice staff, good breakfast, free wifi, good rooms, and all for a good price.

Disliked: Just the baskets under the bed. They are not so safe and not all bed have them.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eduardo Camardelli

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The beds don't have comfortable mattresses and it's a bit noisy. Heating system also works a few hours, then it's turned off for a few hours and it gets pretty cold. It is really a budget accommodation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tiffany Fisher-Love

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 December 2011 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, and the staff was lovely.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not always stocked, but it was not really a big deal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Welch

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the friendly staff.

Disliked: I needed to use the printer but unfortunatly it did not work.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place. Awesome location. Comfy beds. Decent breakfast. Decent kitchen facilities.

Disliked: No complaints about the accommodation. However if you need the internet, don't use theirs. Bad connection and expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice value for money

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING atmosphere. Polite and friendly. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The stairs smellt of new paint. Creaky beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere. Great staff. Really good breakfast in the morning. Good Kitchen and large fridge for cooking in Dublin where eating out is filthy expensive.

Disliked: Some corners of the "lounge-area" were not perfectly clean. I had a guy in my room who was snoring.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast provided (breads, eggs, cereals, milk, tea, coffee)

Disliked: Even though it's ensuite, there are 8 people to a room so waiting time to bathe can be long.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to everything as it was situated in the city center.

Disliked: In fact the lat night that I returned to sleep in the hostel, I found some woman that had taken out my sheets and was sleeping in my bed! That was really mean of her, but the hostel did not take any action other than giving me new sheets and another bed to sleep...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NESTOR CARLOS PORRECA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 NESTOR CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: EVERY THING

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly, Safe, and Convenient.

Disliked: Bathrooms could be a bit tidier.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wendy Allan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Budget hostel, can't complain really. Boiled eggs in inclusive breakfast :) Ensuit had multiple cubicles - less awkward for dorm sharing.

Disliked: creaky old stair case that smelt funny.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and breakfast facilities were very good.

Disliked: Lack of plugs in the room, and the shaver plug didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystal Rhodes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Krystal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and friendly (Stephen and Eddie are the best! Thanks for all the red lollipops!) There was a multitude of information available in leaflets and books at Ashfield House, and anything you can't find, the staff is more than willing to help! A very enjoyable stay!

Disliked: I have no complaints; I was very satisfied with my stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good breakfast, helpful staff and very good location

Disliked: For the money I paid (9 euros per night) I cant really complain about anything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011

Liked: Great location

Disliked: fairly dirty, no key card access on doors, no lockers, extremely tiny rooms, EXTREMELY noisy even in the middle of the night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, stayed in 4 bed dorm with en suite - was as described and neat and tidy. Good breakfast included.

Disliked: For a large hostel the kitchen area is small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

GALATAS IOANNIS

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2011 GALATAS would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, inside the heart of Ireland. Very good atmosphere and you can meet lots of people, lobby is the best place. The staff is very helpfull. we will be back. PAOK FANS ON TOUR... PAOK SALONIKA

Disliked: We stayed in a mixed room where you can't relax. Prefer this room only if you just want to sleep

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Chng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff.

Disliked: A little far from the city centre.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Grace Shelton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price were awesome!

Disliked: It was a little dingy (for lack of a better word) and I didn't feel too comfortable leaving my belongings there. Though in retrospect I should have locked it up, I placed my sleep mask under my pillow for the day and when I returned it was gone...someone touched my pillow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to nearly all the biggest sites in Dublin. Free breakfast and wifi are always great.

Disliked: No matter what room you're in, I would NOT recommend this property is you are going between Thursday-Saturday night because it's located right next to a club, so if you can't sleep through club music (it goes until around 3 or 4 am), this might not be the best club for you.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels