HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel Dublin Hostel

19-20 DOlier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 85%

Location 97%

Safety 88%

Staff 96%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.17USD

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more.

Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation.

During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded.

Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms.

You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay).

Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 85%

Location 97%

Safety 88%

Staff 96%

Value 87%

Showing 41-37 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: friendly staff - especially the evening guy, breakfast included, clean sheets, reasonably clean bathrooms, awesome location, 11 bucks a night for the big room!!

Disliked: squeaky luggage cages under the beds and annoying locks on room doors made it noisy with lots of folks coming and going.. bring your earplugs

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great! I was walking distance from just about everything! It is a great place to meet other travelers!

Disliked: I was in a 4 bed dorm that was occupied by only me. I closed the window before i left one morning to return that afternoon to it open and cigarette ashes all over the window seal. I should have been the only person besides staff to have access to that room. I am not pointing fingers as to who was in my room and why they were smoking but whether it was staff or another guest there was wrong doing somewhere on Ashfield House's side. I didn't feel as safe as I had other places and I am a very trusting person.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It's a down to earth place, in a good location. Staff quite friendly. Especially the singing guy at reception!! He has a marvellous voice:) Breakfast is free and quite nice.It has a pretty decent kitchen.It's not too big so quite easy to meet people.

Disliked: Room was pretty tight but it was alright.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nice to have breakfast included.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is truely perfect. Bus stop for airport & wicklow way 200 meters away. Temple bar almost begins on the other side of the street. Feels safe (nobody can enter without ringing at the bell). Paid lockers AND free luggage room.Breakfast is very correct for the price.

Disliked: The staff is friendly but just can't deal with the requests from the customers: the guy needs to stay at his desk because he is alone and needs to manually unlock the entrance door everytime someone wants to enter (which is on the other hand a pretty good thing for safety).So you door was blocked because the lock was broken, and we had to wait during more than one hour for him open the door (by breaking the lock)...A bit noisy when facing the street because there is no double glazing on windows.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel has a great staff! In our room was clean and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: One of the best breakfasts I had in a hostel and its free. The location is good. It's a good value for money hostel.

Disliked: After check out they dont let people stay in the common area and use wi-fi, they ask for you to leave the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast was great! Hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, and orange juice. The rooms are such a good price for such a great location! It couldn't be in a better spot! Staff was really friendly too!

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the rooms which was a bit annoying, only in the lobby

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Could be cleaner, especially the toilets.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: There were lines on one of the beds, hot water was running out..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability