HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

82.9% Overall Rating

598 out of 636 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
32.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
37.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
16.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 884 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
16.45 USD

Hostel 84.7% 433 reviews
Abigails Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 83.3% 1394 reviews
Sky Apartments
69.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 76.2% 100 reviews
Sky Backpackers
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.3% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

598 out of 636 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 433 of 605 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Terence Chow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to the hostel via bus 16 from the airport, walkable distance to almost everywhere.

Disliked: Rowdiness of other guests as they were drunk, woke up the entire room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, great staff. Had a wonderful time in an amazing city!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arleta Kowalewska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Arleta would recommend this property

Liked: good location, comfortably arranged space

Disliked: a bit dirty bathrooms, no ventilation in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal atmosphere - everyone seemed to know everyone else. Free tea and coffee. Good common area with lots of space to sit/relax/use your laptop. Good free breakfast. Free to use under-bed lockers. I paid 9 Euros a night (weekdays only) which is amazing value for Dublin centre.

Disliked: There was a 'floater' in the only downstairs gents toilet for my entire stay, so 2 days - I was amazed this wasn't dealt with in that time. The place could use some refurbishment - it feels dated. The cheap room 'Ashfield' has 18 beds, and is a little too full, especially as there is only 2 toilets/showers in the bathroom. Overall, a decent hostel... but Abigail's (sister hostel) has a better common room, better bedrooms (less beds, more space) and is better located for Temple Bar.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emmanuel Alabi

Alone

Events / festivals

22 November 2012 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: City centre location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: too old

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 November 2012

Liked: Great atmosphere in the lounge area, the luggage storage (although I was too early to check-in, they allowed me to leave my bags in the luggage store room; and I also left my bags there for the whole day after checking-out and collected them later that evening), friendly staff.

Disliked: They put me in a mixed dorm when I booked for a female dorm. I was given a female dorm room when I complained but a girl arrived at 12am claiming that I took her bed. It was all sorted in the end, but that was 2 mistakes in one day. Besides that, the stay was very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Agne Laurinaviciute

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Agne would recommend this property

Liked: Big lounge area. PC, copy mashine available.

Disliked: I dislike in the room, I stayed in 4 bed room, so the bathroom inside was not well accomodate. Especially those two separate taps for cold and hot water (yes yes I know, it is specific for this area), but for ravellers I assume it would be good to have one tap.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Lawlor

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: For my 1st time staying in a hostel i thought it was excellent from check in to check out.

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Jegorova

Alone

City break

10 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Top location. Just 5 minutes from Temple bar area, 5 minutes from O'Connel street, 5 minutes from Trinity college, a little bit more to City Hall and Dublin Castle. Just great. I guess you can't find better. It is noot noisy at night despite it is close to the area of most amasing pubs I ever been to. Great friendly stuff. There is breackfast which is included into the price. It consists of crisps, milk, tea, coffee, toast, jam, hazelnut spread. It is self catering. In fact you can cool till 9.30. And have tea at any time. There is a luggage room if you want to leave you stuff while you are walking. You can use it even after checkout. It has a cctv camera inside and the common area has one as well so I felt it was quite safeto leave my bag there. You also have a safe locker with the keys for which you should pay. I didn't use it. There are a few things for hire such as towel and hair drier (20 euro deposit)

Disliked: Some sockets did not work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, super friendly staff, rooms are pretty great given the price.

Disliked: There wasn't any locker/secured storage in-room... but that's a minor complaint.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although Ashfield House looks poorly lit and slightly creepy from the outside, once walking in my initial reaction was completely changed. The hardwood floor and well-lit check-in / common room made me feel safe and secure. Also, the free breakfast in the morning was great, especially in a city where everything is so expensive. Lastly, the staff was very knowledgable and always pointed us in the right direction. There was even a computer and printer there to print out my boarding pass for my plane ride!

Disliked: I booked the trip with three others, but unfortunately the hostel was so booked that we were separated. This ended up being a blessing in disguise, though, because the other students in my room were so friendly! We even ended up exploring some Dublin pubs together one night. The only negatives were: hostel advertised wifi, and so I assumed I'd have it in my room. However, it was only accessible in the lobby part of the hotel. Also, there was one night where the power went out for about fifteen minutes, which was kind of freaky.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel rooms were bigger than I thought, clean, and better than I had expected! GREAT location, friendly staff, the best hostel I've stayed at so far. The price of the hostel is great, definitely worth what you're paying for! Even has an elevator so you don't have to carry all of your luggage upstairs. Had made some new friends in the hostel, great place to be.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Rebollo

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2012 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located, clean and the bed was quite comfortable!! I really recomend this hostel for those who are looking for a good place to sleep after a hard tourism day!

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. room looks decently clean. free breakfast!

Disliked: the common area had a stench.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very strategic location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets could be improved.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TOBIASZ KOPROWSKI

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 September 2012 TOBIASZ would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location - just in heart of dublin

Disliked: TOBIASZ left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Florence Bullough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: Good communal area, and decent breakfast for the price. Good wifi access.

Disliked: Room was not very clean and window didn't shut properly. Access to room via showing a ticket to reception often meant waiting while they served other people bit slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. It's an excellent location, very close to everything. The people were very friendly. The breakfast was amazing. For most of the time we stayed there we didn't have any roommates which helped a small room feel less cramped. It was a fun place to stay and I would definitely do so again.

Disliked: At times the toliet didn't work very well. We stayed on the top floor and there wasn't an elevator. Dragging our bags up wasn't fun but for the most part I didn't mind the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the middle of the city centre but still a quiet hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jesper Bertilsson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Jesper would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice breakfast!

Disliked: Wierd elevator

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 July 2012

Liked: Location is ok. Their directions are misleading though. Not that they'll bother to change it after I informed the girls on the desk and they just shrugged.

Disliked: Irish and French girl working when we arrived in the morning clearly couldn't be bothered to help when we asked about our email query from the night before about whether any beds were available for early check in. As it turns out there were and they just didn't want to move us there. They just sat at their computers all morning and looked removed from all hospitality. Definitely not suitable for their roles. No power sockets in room 107.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free Breakfast was great, and perfect for keeping a budjet in check. The location was perfect, and the free ear plugs really helped to make a peaceful stay. Hostels are almost always noisey - well the ones worth going to

Disliked: Nothing, I got what I paid for, and had an awesome time

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nasima Mohamed Hoosen Carrim

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 July 2012

Liked: It was located in the city centre

Disliked: The lady cleaning the kitchen was rude and she would brush her dirty cloth against me when I was pouring juice into my glass. She would not even wait until I had finished pouring my drink before wiping the counter. The one morning I had to go on an early morning tour and had requested that breakfast be arranged by 6h45. The staff member who was at the desk rudely told me that there is no breakfast. I also found the dormitory they placed me in was not clean, especially the bathroom was dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Professionally run with a secure and friendly atmosphere - staff were helpful and even allowed us to store our packs past checkout time before we moved on ... VERY impressive and an invaluable extra service - very happy :D

Disliked: Room nott ready til an hour after check in - must have been extra busy!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels