HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

83.5% Overall Rating

573 out of 607 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2013)

Karen Ryan thinks…

"Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Dublin!!"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
35.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Abbey Court
16.59 USD

Hostel 84.3% 833 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
17.97 USD

Hostel 87.0% 416 reviews
Abigails Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1335 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 82.1% 76 reviews
Sky Backpackers
19.35 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
The Pillar Guesthouse
30.41 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

573 out of 607 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 420 of 576 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Rebollo

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2012 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located, clean and the bed was quite comfortable!! I really recomend this hostel for those who are looking for a good place to sleep after a hard tourism day!

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. room looks decently clean. free breakfast!

Disliked: the common area had a stench.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very strategic location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets could be improved.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TOBIASZ KOPROWSKI

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 September 2012 TOBIASZ would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location - just in heart of dublin

Disliked: TOBIASZ left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Florence Bullough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: Good communal area, and decent breakfast for the price. Good wifi access.

Disliked: Room was not very clean and window didn't shut properly. Access to room via showing a ticket to reception often meant waiting while they served other people bit slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. It's an excellent location, very close to everything. The people were very friendly. The breakfast was amazing. For most of the time we stayed there we didn't have any roommates which helped a small room feel less cramped. It was a fun place to stay and I would definitely do so again.

Disliked: At times the toliet didn't work very well. We stayed on the top floor and there wasn't an elevator. Dragging our bags up wasn't fun but for the most part I didn't mind the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the middle of the city centre but still a quiet hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jesper Bertilsson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Jesper would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice breakfast!

Disliked: Wierd elevator

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 July 2012

Liked: Location is ok. Their directions are misleading though. Not that they'll bother to change it after I informed the girls on the desk and they just shrugged.

Disliked: Irish and French girl working when we arrived in the morning clearly couldn't be bothered to help when we asked about our email query from the night before about whether any beds were available for early check in. As it turns out there were and they just didn't want to move us there. They just sat at their computers all morning and looked removed from all hospitality. Definitely not suitable for their roles. No power sockets in room 107.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free Breakfast was great, and perfect for keeping a budjet in check. The location was perfect, and the free ear plugs really helped to make a peaceful stay. Hostels are almost always noisey - well the ones worth going to

Disliked: Nothing, I got what I paid for, and had an awesome time

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nasima Mohamed Hoosen Carrim

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 July 2012

Liked: It was located in the city centre

Disliked: The lady cleaning the kitchen was rude and she would brush her dirty cloth against me when I was pouring juice into my glass. She would not even wait until I had finished pouring my drink before wiping the counter. The one morning I had to go on an early morning tour and had requested that breakfast be arranged by 6h45. The staff member who was at the desk rudely told me that there is no breakfast. I also found the dormitory they placed me in was not clean, especially the bathroom was dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Professionally run with a secure and friendly atmosphere - staff were helpful and even allowed us to store our packs past checkout time before we moved on ... VERY impressive and an invaluable extra service - very happy :D

Disliked: Room nott ready til an hour after check in - must have been extra busy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'établissement met à disposition de nombreux guides afin de visiter la ville, le personnel aussi n'hésite pas à vous aider lorsque vous cherchez quelque chose à faire. La cuisine est pratique, les espaces communs parfaitement adaptés. Nous sommes partis à 13 (jeunes de 18 à 20 ans) et nous avons pu rencontrer de nombreuses personnes plus intéressantes les unes que les autres dans ces espaces communs. A 3 minutes à pieds du temple bar, à 10 seconde du premier supermarché. Ambiance géniale. Nous recommandons cette auberge à tous

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personalet var hjelpsomme og hyggelige. Beliggenheten er super.

Disliked: Nytt håndkle fikk vi første dag, men ikke senere i oppholdet. Var forferdelig varmt inne på rommet.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Virginia Scott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The first night was fine. The second night we had 3-4 guys in the room next to our double private. They were drunk and loud and we could hear every word. They left at 11:00p.m. returning at 5:00a.m.louder than earlier. I didn't get much sleep. Thought they were going to check out according to the front desk when I mentioned it. They did not . At 11:30 the 2nd night , I knocked on their door and politely asked them to be quiet. That lasted about 10 minutes. Finally at 1:00 my partner went to the front desk and asked for assistance. To make a long story short it was not resolved and I left this place with very little sleep in 2 nights. Ironically, the hostel has a sign on the wall stating " it is NOT a party hostel". Really??? Also, there was no Internet in the rooms and breakfast wasn't that great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right on the doorstep of Temple Bar, The Liffy River and Trinity College. The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were comfortable, with a lovely powerful shower!

Disliked: Nothing, it was lovely and I would stay there again without any hesitation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Verdaasdonk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and very clean

Disliked: The beds are not super

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and the price is reasonable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing and quite.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Marquez Rojas

Alone

Partying / nightlife

17 May 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good centrical place, you can do anything if you are staying here, so I think is The better hostel here in Dublin, I saw the others and to be honest I did not like them!, ashfield house was a good experience.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic! Right beside Temple Bar and just off O'Connelly Street!

Disliked: The staff were ever-changing and only the 1st lad was helpful. We booked a private double ensuite but was intruded on by the cleaner both days demanding she needed to clean the room because other people were coming in. It was slightly annoying and that communication was obviously not passed on amongst staff...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Work / volunteering

08 May 2012

Liked: good staff, music, locaion, food

Disliked: smell and noise

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joanne Moon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly, and the location is great. It really is in the city centre and the bus stops are close by.

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price great!Rooms very nice, a breakfast as well..Very pleased with this stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the abundant breakfast and the all day available orange juice. :)

Disliked: In my dormitory room at the afternoon arrival it was a bit cold, later on the heating was turned on and those who had the bed next to the heating system could have "hot dreams". :)


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels