We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

86.2% Overall Rating

615 out of 653 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

Kim Glick thinks…

"Great location right near bus tours and Trinity College. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Good value for money. Great breakfast."

Read all Ashfield Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 people or more. Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation. During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded. Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms. You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay). Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
29.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
97.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
15.21 USD

Hostel 83.9% 965 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.52 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1422 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
13.52 USD

Hostel 82.6% 438 reviews
Sky Apartments
61.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
16.88 USD

Hostel 82.9% 116 reviews
Sky Backpackers
16.90 USD

Hostel 87.9% 143 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

615 out of 653 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 444 of 622 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Room, to dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, friendly staff, amazing location, nice atmosphere

Disliked: it was a bit cold in the room even when the heating was on, because of the windows... and could be a little more kinds of fruits for breakfast :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good, near the main street and is easy to find.

Disliked: the common kitchen is a little bit dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ann luthi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 ann would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and central location.

Disliked: Not properly signposted.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marina Kaplan

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 October 2013 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Dublin!!

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable and great location. They offer free breakfast as well.

Disliked: Good place. Very standard.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The girl who checked us in didn't tell us we needed to show our passes every time we came in. She also didn't tell us we had to leave our key at the desk whenever we went out, which sort of got us in trouble with the guy working later. They really need to emphasize to the guests in the big dorm that they need to take the bed assigned to them. People were takig any beds they hose and it created a mess with people having to switch beds later.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Teresa Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Ashfield hostel is very good located. The staff is really friendly, helpfull and funny. The breakfast is very good as well. I don't have nothing but positive things to say about my stay in this hostel.

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliet Charman

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2013 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and willing to help. Every thing was well organised.

Disliked: The cleanliness was a bit poor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, good location with easy access to centre and buses

Disliked: people were arriving very late and had to make up there own beds which was disturbeing when you were asleep on the bottom bunk and they were on the top

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chelsea Finklea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! I was walking distance from just about everything! It is a great place to meet other travelers!

Disliked: I was in a 4 bed dorm that was occupied by only me. I closed the window before i left one morning to return that afternoon to it open and cigarette ashes all over the window seal. I should have been the only person besides staff to have access to that room. I am not pointing fingers as to who was in my room and why they were smoking but whether it was staff or another guest there was wrong doing somewhere on Ashfield House's side. I didn't feel as safe as I had other places and I am a very trusting person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location was easy to find from the airport. The breakfast was fine. Good walking distance from bars on Grafton St. after drinks.

Disliked: Slow lift with luggage. The room was noisy next to a busy street. I enjoyed my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Keys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff - especially the evening guy, breakfast included, clean sheets, reasonably clean bathrooms, awesome location, 11 bucks a night for the big room!!

Disliked: squeaky luggage cages under the beds and annoying locks on room doors made it noisy with lots of folks coming and going.. bring your earplugs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a down to earth place, in a good location. Staff quite friendly. Especially the singing guy at reception!! He has a marvellous voice:) Breakfast is free and quite nice. It has a pretty decent kitchen. It's not too big so quite easy to meet people.

Disliked: Room was pretty tight but it was alright.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mathieu Allory

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: The location is truely perfect. Bus stop for airport & wicklow way 200 meters away. Temple bar almost begins on the other side of the street. Feels safe (nobody can enter without ringing at the bell). Paid lockers AND free luggage room. Breakfast is very correct for the price.

Disliked: The staff is friendly but just can't deal with the requests from the customers: the guy needs to stay at his desk because he is alone and needs to manually unlock the entrance door everytime someone wants to enter (which is on the other hand a pretty good thing for safety). So you door was blocked because the lock was broken, and we had to wait during more than one hour for him open the door (by breaking the lock)... A bit noisy when facing the street because there is no double glazing on windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciaran Bohane

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 May 2013 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to have breakfast included.

Disliked: Ciaran left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elena Mitiakina

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a great staff! In our room was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best breakfasts I had in a hostel and its free. The location is good. It's a good value for money hostel.

Disliked: After check out they dont let people stay in the common area and use wi-fi, they ask for you to leave the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! Hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, and orange juice. The rooms are such a good price for such a great location! It couldn't be in a better spot! Staff was really friendly too!

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the rooms which was a bit annoying, only in the lobby

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Could be cleaner, especially the toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfact. Generally good.

Disliked: The room I stayed was so cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: There were lines on one of the beds, hot water was running out..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The included breakfast and the location. The staff was very friendly and helpful particularly to/for our three year old son.

Disliked: Cooking facilities are very limited. The toasters did not work very well. Beds were not very comfortable and you could not sit up with out banging your head. Hot water ran out twice during our stay so we had cold showers. The heating was on a timer and our room never got warm. The curtains were very thin and did not block out the street light outside our room. The shower was very small.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels