HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

82.9% Overall Rating

598 out of 636 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
32.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
37.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
16.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 884 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
16.45 USD

Hostel 84.7% 433 reviews
Abigails Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 83.3% 1394 reviews
Sky Apartments
69.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 76.2% 100 reviews
Sky Backpackers
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.3% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

598 out of 636 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 433 of 605 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, good location with easy access to centre and buses

Disliked: people were arriving very late and had to make up there own beds which was disturbeing when you were asleep on the bottom bunk and they were on the top

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chelsea Finklea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! I was walking distance from just about everything! It is a great place to meet other travelers!

Disliked: I was in a 4 bed dorm that was occupied by only me. I closed the window before i left one morning to return that afternoon to it open and cigarette ashes all over the window seal. I should have been the only person besides staff to have access to that room. I am not pointing fingers as to who was in my room and why they were smoking but whether it was staff or another guest there was wrong doing somewhere on Ashfield House's side. I didn't feel as safe as I had other places and I am a very trusting person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location was easy to find from the airport. The breakfast was fine. Good walking distance from bars on Grafton St. after drinks.

Disliked: Slow lift with luggage. The room was noisy next to a busy street. I enjoyed my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Keys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff - especially the evening guy, breakfast included, clean sheets, reasonably clean bathrooms, awesome location, 11 bucks a night for the big room!!

Disliked: squeaky luggage cages under the beds and annoying locks on room doors made it noisy with lots of folks coming and going.. bring your earplugs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a down to earth place, in a good location. Staff quite friendly. Especially the singing guy at reception!! He has a marvellous voice:) Breakfast is free and quite nice. It has a pretty decent kitchen. It's not too big so quite easy to meet people.

Disliked: Room was pretty tight but it was alright.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mathieu Allory

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: The location is truely perfect. Bus stop for airport & wicklow way 200 meters away. Temple bar almost begins on the other side of the street. Feels safe (nobody can enter without ringing at the bell). Paid lockers AND free luggage room. Breakfast is very correct for the price.

Disliked: The staff is friendly but just can't deal with the requests from the customers: the guy needs to stay at his desk because he is alone and needs to manually unlock the entrance door everytime someone wants to enter (which is on the other hand a pretty good thing for safety). So you door was blocked because the lock was broken, and we had to wait during more than one hour for him open the door (by breaking the lock)... A bit noisy when facing the street because there is no double glazing on windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciaran Bohane

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 May 2013 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to have breakfast included.

Disliked: Ciaran left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elena Mitiakina

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a great staff! In our room was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best breakfasts I had in a hostel and its free. The location is good. It's a good value for money hostel.

Disliked: After check out they dont let people stay in the common area and use wi-fi, they ask for you to leave the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! Hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, and orange juice. The rooms are such a good price for such a great location! It couldn't be in a better spot! Staff was really friendly too!

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the rooms which was a bit annoying, only in the lobby

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Could be cleaner, especially the toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfact. Generally good.

Disliked: The room I stayed was so cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: There were lines on one of the beds, hot water was running out..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The included breakfast and the location. The staff was very friendly and helpful particularly to/for our three year old son.

Disliked: Cooking facilities are very limited. The toasters did not work very well. Beds were not very comfortable and you could not sit up with out banging your head. Hot water ran out twice during our stay so we had cold showers. The heating was on a timer and our room never got warm. The curtains were very thin and did not block out the street light outside our room. The shower was very small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness

Disliked: Towels for charge

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YAN ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 YAN would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, nice, warm. I like the cosy and comfortable atmosphere there. The location is amolst at the city center and it's convenient for a travaller. The hotel keepers are nice and helpful.

Disliked: YAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Sanders

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 March 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Friendly staff. Extremely clean.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Easy to get to from wherever you are.The showers were great! Awesome water pressure..and hot water, as long as you're not the last ones to have a shower!

Disliked: You have to pay to lock your valuables up. Staff at reception seemed more interested in their facebook than in helping people out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rhiannon Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2013 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Polite staff. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Showers were barely luke warm. In large dorm room hinges could do with a quick oil! Things squeaking all through the night. Wouldn't take long to fix.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of being located super practical, quite affordable and welcoming made it an idea place to stay in.

Disliked: Nothing really.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: The Hostel is very gruby and needs to be renovated and get new carpet etc. It has an old unkept feel to it- Basically the rooms are really small and there are no lockers in the room. There are also dodgy plug points all over the hostel and most do not work it was an absolute nightmare to wash my hair as only one plug point worked in the room and it was under someone else's bottom bunk so i was on my hands and knees drying my hair-ridiculous. Also in the main area I could not charge up my laptop as the plug points do not work again.....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Svetlana Meyer

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2013 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: The peoplewere super nice and really helpful. Furthermore it is situated really close to trinity college, grafton street n temple bar. Brilliant spot. Would immediately go there again!!!

Disliked: Theres actually nothing that I didnt like.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEONGEUN KIM

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 SEONGEUN would recommend this property

Liked: I was stay in that hostel with my parents.It was very nice and tidy.

Disliked: SEONGEUN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Imogen Pryer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, bus stop outside. The breakfast was good. Good atmosphere. Nice staff.

Disliked: Our window didn't close properly, so the noise came in a lot. It also got very cold in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Social, really great atmosphere. Best hostel I've stayed at for meeting other travelers, really international atmosphere.

Disliked: No underbed lockers/in room storage.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels