HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

82.5% Overall Rating

582 out of 618 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Sierra Bradley thinks…

"It was right downtown. The beds were moderately comfortable. The free breakfast had yogurt and peaches (and juice!), as well as the usual toast/cereal, so that was nice. I also liked how there were…"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
35.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
40.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
21.76 USD

Hostel 80.9% 861 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
20.40 USD

Hostel 85.7% 427 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.60 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1364 reviews
Sky Apartments
61.21 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.68 USD

Hostel 82.6% 83 reviews
Sky Backpackers
21.76 USD

Hostel 85.9% 128 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 13/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 13/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

582 out of 618 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 424 of 587 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! Hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, and orange juice. The rooms are such a good price for such a great location! It couldn't be in a better spot! Staff was really friendly too!

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the rooms which was a bit annoying, only in the lobby

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Could be cleaner, especially the toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfact. Generally good.

Disliked: The room I stayed was so cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: There were lines on one of the beds, hot water was running out..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The included breakfast and the location. The staff was very friendly and helpful particularly to/for our three year old son.

Disliked: Cooking facilities are very limited. The toasters did not work very well. Beds were not very comfortable and you could not sit up with out banging your head. Hot water ran out twice during our stay so we had cold showers. The heating was on a timer and our room never got warm. The curtains were very thin and did not block out the street light outside our room. The shower was very small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness

Disliked: Towels for charge

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YAN ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 YAN would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, nice, warm. I like the cosy and comfortable atmosphere there. The location is amolst at the city center and it's convenient for a travaller. The hotel keepers are nice and helpful.

Disliked: YAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Sanders

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 March 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Friendly staff. Extremely clean.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Easy to get to from wherever you are.The showers were great! Awesome water pressure..and hot water, as long as you're not the last ones to have a shower!

Disliked: You have to pay to lock your valuables up. Staff at reception seemed more interested in their facebook than in helping people out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rhiannon Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2013 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Polite staff. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Showers were barely luke warm. In large dorm room hinges could do with a quick oil! Things squeaking all through the night. Wouldn't take long to fix.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of being located super practical, quite affordable and welcoming made it an idea place to stay in.

Disliked: Nothing really.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: The Hostel is very gruby and needs to be renovated and get new carpet etc. It has an old unkept feel to it- Basically the rooms are really small and there are no lockers in the room. There are also dodgy plug points all over the hostel and most do not work it was an absolute nightmare to wash my hair as only one plug point worked in the room and it was under someone else's bottom bunk so i was on my hands and knees drying my hair-ridiculous. Also in the main area I could not charge up my laptop as the plug points do not work again.....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Svetlana Meyer

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2013 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: The peoplewere super nice and really helpful. Furthermore it is situated really close to trinity college, grafton street n temple bar. Brilliant spot. Would immediately go there again!!!

Disliked: Theres actually nothing that I didnt like.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEONGEUN KIM

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 SEONGEUN would recommend this property

Liked: I was stay in that hostel with my parents.It was very nice and tidy.

Disliked: SEONGEUN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Imogen Pryer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, bus stop outside. The breakfast was good. Good atmosphere. Nice staff.

Disliked: Our window didn't close properly, so the noise came in a lot. It also got very cold in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Social, really great atmosphere. Best hostel I've stayed at for meeting other travelers, really international atmosphere.

Disliked: No underbed lockers/in room storage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Terence Chow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to the hostel via bus 16 from the airport, walkable distance to almost everywhere.

Disliked: Rowdiness of other guests as they were drunk, woke up the entire room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, great staff. Had a wonderful time in an amazing city!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arleta Kowalewska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Arleta would recommend this property

Liked: good location, comfortably arranged space

Disliked: a bit dirty bathrooms, no ventilation in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal atmosphere - everyone seemed to know everyone else. Free tea and coffee. Good common area with lots of space to sit/relax/use your laptop. Good free breakfast. Free to use under-bed lockers. I paid 9 Euros a night (weekdays only) which is amazing value for Dublin centre.

Disliked: There was a 'floater' in the only downstairs gents toilet for my entire stay, so 2 days - I was amazed this wasn't dealt with in that time. The place could use some refurbishment - it feels dated. The cheap room 'Ashfield' has 18 beds, and is a little too full, especially as there is only 2 toilets/showers in the bathroom. Overall, a decent hostel... but Abigail's (sister hostel) has a better common room, better bedrooms (less beds, more space) and is better located for Temple Bar.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emmanuel Alabi

Alone

Events / festivals

22 November 2012 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: City centre location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: too old

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 November 2012

Liked: Great atmosphere in the lounge area, the luggage storage (although I was too early to check-in, they allowed me to leave my bags in the luggage store room; and I also left my bags there for the whole day after checking-out and collected them later that evening), friendly staff.

Disliked: They put me in a mixed dorm when I booked for a female dorm. I was given a female dorm room when I complained but a girl arrived at 12am claiming that I took her bed. It was all sorted in the end, but that was 2 mistakes in one day. Besides that, the stay was very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Agne Laurinaviciute

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Agne would recommend this property

Liked: Big lounge area. PC, copy mashine available.

Disliked: I dislike in the room, I stayed in 4 bed room, so the bathroom inside was not well accomodate. Especially those two separate taps for cold and hot water (yes yes I know, it is specific for this area), but for ravellers I assume it would be good to have one tap.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Lawlor

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: For my 1st time staying in a hostel i thought it was excellent from check in to check out.

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels