HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield House City Centre

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

80.8% Overall Rating

592 out of 630 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield House City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Ashfield house is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
34.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
39.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
21.01 USD

Hostel 84.2% 876 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
17.07 USD

Hostel 86.5% 429 reviews
Abigails Hostel
14.44 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1387 reviews
Sky Apartments
72.22 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
17.06 USD

Hostel 79.1% 98 reviews
Sky Backpackers
21.01 USD

Hostel 88.0% 134 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

592 out of 630 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield House City Centre'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 430 of 599 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pompilia Tudor

Alone

Events / festivals

14 July 2010 Pompilia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome :)

Disliked: The rooms maybe a little smaller. Nothing more.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and busy, very close to Temple Bar area. Everything you need in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ilkka Joukio

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 July 2010 Ilkka would recommend this property

Liked: Nice feeling and good location

Disliked: Ilkka left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic frienldy irish lads on the front desk.

Disliked: Showers were a little grubby and the main dorm room smelt a little

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, everything we needed for a short break and also suitable for a longer stay. It was comfortable to hang around in the lounge for a while and leave luggage in the luggage room (you have to ask for a key to this but no-one is checking that you take the same bag you deposited so it's moderately secure but I wouldn't leave anything obviously valuable) for a while after check out.

Disliked: It was rather hot when we stayed and it's a bit noisy, but it was during a heat wave and if you want central Dublin it's not going to be quiet!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MIHAEL VAUKAN

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2010 MIHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: very nice

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

maria temoch

25 June 2010 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very good, it is right in the center and very close to temple bar :) I did enjoy my stay at the hostel and i was glad that the breakfast is served till 10:30, this way you can sleep in the morning.

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location is great, tea and coffee offered (however we arrived very late and were totally exhausted and overheard the receptionist the following day that there was tea and coffee). We would have been grateful for a nice cup of tea when we arrived. We were left waiting a long time to get checked in & when i appraoched desk, i explained myself & was then only told rudely that there were other people ahead of me. (why wasnt this mentioned the second we arrived, I had a health condition were i couldnt stand for long however i didnt think it would take as long as it did).Male on reception that night had no people skills, dreadful customer service skills, rudely spoken, insenstive to fellow travellers tired and anxious (about internet - to contact family abroad I noticed). Private room was excellent, however cleaning staff walked in after short knock (we were not informed what time to check out at). Bedding was spotless and bathroom very clean. I would stay again but wouldnt tolerate lack of welcoming skills by staff. Bad language was used loudly the next day by male reception staff, no smiles, (you actually felt awful approaching the desk for assistance, felt like you were bothering them).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like most hostels, the bunks are too short. Anyone over 190cm will hit their head / feet all night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, clean, and very cheap price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great staff and facilities. For 10 euros a night, it doesn't get much better than this.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, security and the helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kirsty macleod

14 June 2010 kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, the locals were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the mornings were lovely and shower facilities were good. However the staff gave keys out to guests who weren't staying in our room, which is very disturbing and there was large traffic noise coming from outside.

Disliked: kirsty left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Dublin.. great location too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gr8!! deffo!! average but very centric & very safe!! 100% satisfaction!! :)))

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was clean in general but the toilet was realy bad the have moisture on the wall and floor. The only have one fridge for all their guest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Lucendo Abad

30 May 2010 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel I've ever been to. The only problem was that the cleaner sometimes would take your bed linen coz it didnt seem very clear to them who was leaving or who wan't. Apart from that the hostel was really well located and staff very friendly!

Disliked: Gloria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kira Vincent

29 May 2010 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were clean, the shower was excellent, and the breakfast was superb. On top of all this the location was unbeatable and the price was one of the best I have found.

Disliked: Kira left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura jones

27 May 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect! I have stayed before a few years ago, and although this time I was travelling on business, I asked to stay in Ashfield! Best atmosphere, and great if travelling alone. The location couldnt be better, and the price is unbeatable!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A little bit to noise cause of the bus station behind it. Fine for the price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sophie Yates

22 May 2010 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels