We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Ashfield Hostel

Hostel | 19 - 20 D’Olier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

82.1% Overall Rating

599 out of 637 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Bernie Abbott thinks…

"I have stayed at Ashfield numerous times, as I love the hostel and the staff that run it..it is like a home from home, and as I travel as a single woman it s important for me too be comfortable and…"

Read all Ashfield Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Please note we have a 48hour cancellation policy, all cancellations must be received before 2pm two days before arrival otherwise they will be charged a cancellation charge of the first night's accommodation. During busy period you could be asked to change room however your room type will be honoured or upgraded. Children under 16 are not permitted to sleep in shared dorms. You must have passport or photo ID to check in. Ashfield Hostel is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only (14 night maximum stay). Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Clifton Court Hotel
32.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
45.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
17.08 USD

Hostel 85.1% 887 reviews
The Times Hostel - College Street
16.45 USD

Hostel 84.7% 433 reviews
Abigails Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 84.1% 1397 reviews
Sky Apartments
56.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Spire Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 75.0% 101 reviews
Sky Backpackers
20.24 USD

Hostel 88.3% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

599 out of 637 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashfield Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 434 of 606 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry seow wee phong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Terry seow would recommend this property

Liked: I stay in the 4 dorm and it's clean and good ensuite.Hot shower and have lift access. Breakfast is great.

Disliked: Leaving the Hostel....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very sympathic. Very well located. Good rooms.

Disliked: All was allright

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is superb

Disliked: nothing much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Really good value for money and there was a gentkeman with shaven head that was very welcoming, funny and always helpful. Definatey the place to stay in Dublin.

Disliked: There was one employee who worked the night shift. He seemed friendly at first, but the next day we saw him at reception rather intoxicated. As I waas wearing a olive green jacket with a German Flag stitched on it he felt the need to call me a Nazi. I have travelled all over the world and in my experience whenever people hear I am from Germany, sooner or later I will get similar comments. As these comments are purely ignorant they do not bother me. I would suggest to avoid calling paying customers from Germany Nazis though. I am sure there are Germans out there who will be offended.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, excellent location, good rooms. Really good breakfast. Cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt and eggs.

Disliked: Not much bad to say. The buzzer at the front was a bit of a pain and hard to find at first.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: Very centrally located, had good breakfast and toilet and shower in my room. Fairly quiet as well.

Disliked: It never felt super clean and anyone could have walked in because they never asked for your pass to get your key from front desk so I wondered about security.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vanessa Madey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly desk staff, location

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PRIMOŽ REŠKOVAC

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 PRIMOŽ would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed amosphere and location. and orange juice in the morning :)

Disliked: /

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The room was not ready when we checked in. The staff did not explain anything about the hostel such as breakfast times, check out times, use of facilities etc. Maybe they have explained it so many times to so many other people that they cant be bothered anymore? But every customer that checks in is different and we dont know about the hostel ins and outs, if not we will be working there. There is no hot water in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel at a brilliant price. Six of us shared a room and though it was a little small it was all that we needed, the facilities were great. Staff were brilliant, very helpful and a great laugh. Location-wise, you couldn't be closer to Dublin's nightlife. 5 minutes from Temple Bar means you won't have far to stumble home. Cooking facilities that can be used and a great atmosphere made our weekend away a brilliant one.

Disliked: Very little!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, rooms were very clean and staff were great!

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: They were out of locks for security boxes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and warm.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't the cleanest but had good showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff cleanliness of bed sheets, having a towel

Disliked: that there is no curfew and that people can just run around the corridors at 3AM in the morning and make one hec of a racket. think there should always be a curfew on, not liking the idea there is no phone in room so you can contact staff if need be, should there be trouble and you cant get out the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Violet Stéphanie

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

30 November 2010 Violet would recommend this property

Liked: It's near to every things, staff is really helpfull, private bathroom it's really nice!!!

Disliked: Some rooms are cold because of the old windows

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: so so

Disliked: so so

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and everything was where we needed it.

Disliked: The lift was rather dicey and broke down while we were there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: bad

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. The local bus from the airport dropped right infront of the hostel.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit dirty, but not to bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hanneke van Welie

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010 Hanneke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and location

Disliked: Hanneke left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 November 2010

Liked: The location of the hostel is perfect; most of the staff is pretty friendly

Disliked: Too cold in the rooms, bald guy at the reception wouldnt turn the heating on.. rooms a little miserable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to everything, only a 5 minute walk or less to the Temple Bar area and you could catch a bus right outside the hostel to go anywhere in the city. The people at the front desk are SUPER nice and helpful and gave us a list of great places to go. I felt very safe and met people there who I'm now good friends with! Breakfast was a decent breakfast, you can't go wrong with toast and cereal! Over all, a great place and if I'm ever back in Dublin I'll be going there!

Disliked: none, I honestly really enjoyed my stay there!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff and convivial atmosphere.

Disliked: Terrible stench in the (very large shared) room where I stayed. Not a great-smelling place, generally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristin Leib

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2010 kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff

Disliked: kristin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. There was no need for public transportation once in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels