HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

93.7% Overall Rating

1279 out of 1338 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

"This is a decent hostel, I have been to Dublin twice and spent time at Abigails both times. I had fond memories of it the first time so I stayed there again and it was just as I remembered it. The private bathrooms are…"

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
16.58 USD

Hostel 84.7% 834 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
22.11 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.58 USD

Hostel 84.5% 97 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
41.46 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield House City Centre
12.44 USD

Hostel 83.2% 608 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 86.4% 240 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
38.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

1279 out of 1338 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 950 of 1249 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Novaes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location...well organized

Disliked: Nothing at all, just the kitchen could be open until a little more late

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, good location, good Wi-Fi

Disliked: Seems pretty much impossible to close room door without it banging loudly, therefore we were kept awake by people coming and going in the early hours of the morning on our first night. Also the fire alarm went off intermittently on our first night making it hard to sleep/relax.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a decent hostel, I have been to Dublin twice and spent time at Abigails both times. I had fond memories of it the first time so I stayed there again and it was just as I remembered it. The private bathrooms are very clean (with great showers!) and the common room is quite nice and social. The kitchen is fairly small but has everything you need. It is definitely an above average hostel but it is not amazing. It's a very plain hostel with no real character or charm but if that is not what you're after then its a good clean option in a great location that seems to attract a good crowd. All the beds have power points which is extremely helpful.

Disliked: The main thing I didn't like this time was the staff. A couple of the staff members were helpful, but the rest were terrible. It was as if they had their own little social clique behind the desk and asking a question or even getting your key was an inconvenience. It's a very plain hostel with no real character or charm but if that is not what you're after then its a good clean option in a great location that seems to attract a pretty good crowd.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Zanovelo Fogaca

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice atmosphere. The staff is really friendly and the free breakfast makes everything perfect! It was a nice staying.

Disliked: The room was a mess, but I'm not sure if it was the other guest's fault or if it was because there is no space for placing your stuff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and staff was friendly. Location is great!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sean Allister O'Brien

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2014 Sean Allister would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to temple bar and the other popular locations in Dublin.

Disliked: Not many problems at all, quite clean for a hostel. Bathroom light burned out and was fixed immediately. Free breakfast was very handy as well

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIEL GRANATO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is always helpful and polite. The room is big and mattress is very comfy

Disliked: DANIEL left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and breakfast

Disliked: large rooms and smelly bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kendall

Alone

City break

13 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the free hearty breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Keirra Alty

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Keirra would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in an amazing location! It was a block away from Temple Bar which meant that going out at night wasn't a hassle and it wasn't noisy on the street at night. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The breakfast was typical hostel food (cereal, toast, coffee and juice) and they would run out of clean dishes very quickly. Most guests were eating breakfast at 8 am so if you were there between 8 and 9 you usually had to wait for clean dishes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Cosby

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place especially for all of the price! The location is easy to find & only 5 min walk from O'Connell Street, with a starbucks around the corner & a few bars handy too. The hostel staff were really friendly & helpful. The dorm was really clean & prettily decorated, the bathroom was also really clean & came with a hair dryer!! We didn't try the included breakfast but thought it was amazing that it ran until 10.30AM so will definately try it next time! All in all it was a great place to stay and will definately stay here again :)

Disliked: The only one thing, would be that there wasn't alot of room to store your own food if you had it - the fridge was massive so that was good, but there wasn't much cupboard space.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in Temple Bar, so expect some noise -- however, the people sharing my room were quiet, generally in pretty early. Ensuite was clean, breakfast (yoghurt, toast, eggs, cereal, tea&coffee) was great every morning. Inexpensive room with a fantastic location, easy to find, and a very nice common area. The rooms are secure, you have to show the front desk a receipt to be let into the rooms. Lockers are available but I did not feel that I needed them.

Disliked: When I arrived, the person in my room before me did not clear their linens, so I couldn't tell which bed was mine until everyone else had returned to the room. Wish the staff had numbered and assigned beds. Keys were also sparse until we asked for a new set to be made, ended up having to knock and wake people up to be let in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had free breakfast, a great location and a friendly staff.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything I disliked about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character and charm

Disliked: Table tennis

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Johnson

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good rooms and helpful friendly staff

Disliked: Matt left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the location of the hostel really good. The staff were very friendly and helpful with every question me and my friends had. And I found the rooms good and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Phillip Fritze

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was absolutely amazing, always helpful and professional

Disliked: toilets have been quite dirty, due to missing toilet brushes

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jesse Oakes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was good. Staff were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: There are no lockers in the room, and you must pay to use the lockers in the reception area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was all great, thanks

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location a lot!

Disliked: Its a big hostel and there was a group making a lot of noise. The size of the hostel makes it easy for big groups to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

King Yi Tse

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 King Yi would recommend this property

Liked: good location!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fernanda vega

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: spacious, central to transportation. VERY clean.

Disliked: lockers were expensive, no safe storage in rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the common room and the excellent location of the hostel

Disliked: the staff was not always friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were more than happy to explain where everything was!!

Disliked: Should have some venders or something for quick snacks :)


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels