HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abigails Hostel Dublin Hostel

7 - 9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 98%

Safety 83%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 or more.

Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 98%

Safety 83%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

Showing 81-90 of 121 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a decent hostel, I have been to Dublin twice and spent time at Abigails both times. I had fond memories of it the first time so I stayed there again and it was just as I remembered it. The private bathrooms are very clean (with great showers!) and the common room is quite nice and social. The kitchen is fairly small but has everything you need. It is definitely an above average hostel but it is not amazing. It's a very plain hostel with no real character or charm but if that is not what you're after then its a good clean option in a great location that seems to attract a good crowd. All the beds have power points which is extremely helpful.

Disliked: The main thing I didn't like this time was the staff. A couple of the staff members were helpful, but the rest were terrible. It was as if they had their own little social clique behind the desk and asking a question or even getting your key was an inconvenience. It's a very plain hostel with no real character or charm but if that is not what you're after then its a good clean option in a great location that seems to attract a pretty good crowd.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel was very clean and staff was friendly. Location is great!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff is always helpful and polite. The room is big and mattress is very comfy

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: How close it was to temple bar and the other popular locations in Dublin.

Disliked: Not many problems at all, quite clean for a hostel. Bathroom light burned out and was fixed immediately. Free breakfast was very handy as well

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, nice atmosphere. The staff is really friendly and the free breakfast makes everything perfect! It was a nice staying.

Disliked: The room was a mess, but I'm not sure if it was the other guest's fault or if it was because there is no space for placing your stuff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location and the free hearty breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location and breakfast

Disliked: large rooms and smelly bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was in an amazing location! It was a block away from Temple Bar which meant that going out at night wasn't a hassle and it wasn't noisy on the street at night. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The breakfast was typical hostel food (cereal, toast, coffee and juice) and they would run out of clean dishes very quickly. Most guests were eating breakfast at 8 am so if you were there between 8 and 9 you usually had to wait for clean dishes.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a really nice place especially for all of the price! The location is easy to find & only 5 min walk from O'Connell Street, with a starbucks around the corner & a few bars handy too. The hostel staff were really friendly & helpful. The dorm was really clean & prettily decorated, the bathroom was also really clean & came with a hair dryer!! We didn't try the included breakfast but thought it was amazing that it ran until 10.30AM so will definately try it next time! All in all it was a great place to stay and will definately stay here again :)

Disliked: The only one thing, would be that there wasn't alot of room to store your own food if you had it - the fridge was massive so that was good, but there wasn't much cupboard space.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in Temple Bar, so expect some noise -- however, the people sharing my room were quiet, generally in pretty early. Ensuite was clean, breakfast (yoghurt, toast, eggs, cereal, tea&coffee) was great every morning. Inexpensive room with a fantastic location, easy to find, and a very nice common area. The rooms are secure, you have to show the front desk a receipt to be let into the rooms. Lockers are available but I did not feel that I needed them.

Disliked: When I arrived, the person in my room before me did not clear their linens, so I couldn't tell which bed was mine until everyone else had returned to the room. Wish the staff had numbered and assigned beds. Keys were also sparse until we asked for a new set to be made, ended up having to knock and wake people up to be let in.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability