HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

93.3% Overall Rating

1278 out of 1336 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

"This is a decent hostel, I have been to Dublin twice and spent time at Abigails both times. I had fond memories of it the first time so I stayed there again and it was just as I remembered it. The private bathrooms are…"

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.3% 833 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
19.33 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.5% 97 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
41.41 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield House City Centre
12.42 USD

Hostel 83.2% 608 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
20.02 USD

Hostel 86.4% 239 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
37.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

1278 out of 1336 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 949 of 1248 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing, one of the best I've stayed in. It was very clean, great facilities, the rooms were lovely and the location was perfect. would recommend it to anyone! especially the price

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, location in the center of the city, clean place, breakfast included and good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ian hamblin

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

06 June 2012 ian would recommend this property

Liked: great location, cheap, clean and plenty of room in rooms

Disliked: shower was cold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a two bed private and ended up with a four bed private all to ourselves for the same price. The showers were warm, staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Wifi only available in common area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michele c stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 michele c would recommend this property

Liked: Front desk employees very helpful and knowledgeable of things to do , places to saty ; just all 'round friendly and welcoming :)

Disliked: not a thing LOVED IT

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great breakfast, nice staff

Disliked: Needs extra bathrooms, if someone's using the one in your room you have no choice but to wait. Pillows were way too thin, hurt my neck as a back sleeper.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Closeness to all main attractions of Dublin - Offered free city walks and pub crawls - Very good isolation, so with closed windows no problems with Temple Bar noise

Disliked: - It was quite large and impersonal, but that's just my own preference, some people might think this is fine - The breakfast was very simple, only bread, jam, cereal and milk - The cookers and microwaves were not the easiest to handle, and there was no description of how to do it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, I changed from another one that wasn't so good and was glad for the move. Nice rooms, clean, helpful staff, good location and great breakfast.

Disliked: not much really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, free breakfast, free locker room

Disliked: Air condirioning fan was just outside window in my room so window had to be kept closed all night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, cool people, convenient location, appreciated the adaptors for rent, liked that they provided breakfast

Disliked: seemed like luggage was not very secure during stay, though no issues. just woudl have preferred a storage locker or something safer. showers low water pressure.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms werent too cramped, our room had an ensuite, big common area with wifi, kitchen, lounges etc... it's really close to temple bar area so its convenient - if this hostel isn't good enough for u, u should be staying in a fancy hotel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pamela Raynor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and the 24/7 access and staff. The breakfast was great and there were a lot of interesting people to meet in the common room downstairs.

Disliked: I did not like that I could not have wifi in my room. As we were on the top floor the service did not go up that high. If some people can have wifi in their rooms than everyone should be able to. I hated have to go down 4 flights to look something up for the next days acitivities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melinda Ellis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included, most of the staff were helpful although there was one woman who was quite short with us when we went to get our key one day. It was secure as you left the keys with front desk when entering and leaving which was good to make sure no keys were lost and they had to buzz you through the door to get to the dorms. There were bathrooms in the rooms and the common area was nice.

Disliked: There were only 2 powerpoints for a 6 person dorm which was not enough most of the time. Also there were no lockers in the room but they were available to hire in the main lobby, the wifi did not work very well in the rooms either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and that it was in the middle of the city center, but even with being so close to tempel bar and it being paddys weekedn we did not hear muc noise from the party people out on the street after we went to bed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Perfect location for whatever you want in Dublin. Great breakfast including yogurt, eggs and some fruits. Definitely come stay here again.

Disliked: Locker used to be free a couple of years ago when I first stayed here but they charge it now(2euros for 24 hrs). Got a new linen and duvet when checking in but found someone's hairs on it (more than several) although it smelled fresh.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, very central

Disliked: the self-catering kitchen closed at 21h30 and the staff responded to neither of my complaints while I was there (the WiFi does not work on 3rd floor and our room light kept flickering) and they were out of city maps

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and big, huge common area which was clean. Lots of staff working and very friendly. Affordable. Good location too!

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: It was a good location.

Disliked: The rooms were not that clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the money with a great location in the city center.

Disliked: The internet only worked in the common room and never in the actual bedrooms. The microwaves are confusing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location and nice people

Disliked: shower was little bit dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielly Vieira

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 May 2012 Danielly would recommend this property

Liked: The location is p e r f e c t and the breakfast is very god!

Disliked: Danielly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zofia Topilko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Zofia would recommend this property

Liked: THERE WERE FREE ROOMS SO WE GOT A SIX PERSON ROOM FOR 3 PEOPLE, WE REALLY APPRECIATED IT. THE BREAKFAST WAS FOR FREE AND IT WAS DELICIOUS.

Disliked: NOTHING PARTICULAR

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrea Barone

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest ever. City center just around the corner. Room cleaning every day

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the 24h reception, really helpful and friendly staff. All the facilities are all in access to each other, nice big open plan lounge room / kitchen, and the rooms are clean and nice big bathroom en-suite.

Disliked: Maybe free lockers would be nice


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels