HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

86.9% Overall Rating

1320 out of 1380 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"The location is fantastic and so close to all the sites. The breakfast was also good- toast, cereal, tea, fruit and boiled eggs"

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
21.35 USD

Hostel 83.5% 870 reviews
Sky Apartments
73.38 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Temple Bar Inn
39.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
24.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 134 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.01 USD

Hostel 84.3% 99 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
46.70 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield House City Centre
13.34 USD

Hostel 81.6% 629 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
21.35 USD

Hostel 88.8% 262 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1320 out of 1380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 981 of 1291 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mohammad halim khan

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 mohammad halim would recommend this property

Liked: It's in city centre and close to all amenities.

Disliked: When these guys come back from their drinks in the middle of night and start playing or talking loud in the room, that will disturb your sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,location,location

Disliked: lack of sockets in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Howcroft

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: For my first time using a hosel it was excellant. The location was a 20 minutes to walk to either Train Stations. No need to wait for a bus when we could walk to all the sights in Dublin. There is a grocery store two doors away to pick up anything you wanted to eat or forgot to bring with you. I went with my son, on the nights he went out on a Pub crawl. I was on my own. I felt very safe to go out in the evening for dinner and later to a coffee shop. I also would sit in the Lounge to watch T.V. there was alway people around talking and laughing. But it was quietin the hall ways and I never heard any neighbours. Our window were open every evening and there was hardly any street noice. We got up early each morning and it was good to start the day with Breakfast and not having to worry about look for a place to eat. The front staff was very friendly and helpful - Yes I will be staying there when I come back to Dublin

Disliked: Bring your an alarm clock - they do not have wake up call service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, amenities & location.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renato Siqueira Conde Nogueira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: Good living area, useful kitchen for the ones who intend to stay longer periods, practical elevator, safe place.

Disliked: Don't remember any bad thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and not being someone who stays in hostels very often and not knowing procedure they were very helpful. It is so central which makes it very convenient, and so cheap for one nights stay on my own. It was also nicely clean and the bed was comfortable. I also liked that there was an en-suite for our dorm. I liked the option of female only too/

Disliked: that there were not smaller dorms (4 bed), as I would definitely like to bring my kids, but would not like to share the room with others with them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really friendly and would definitely stay here again. Also, such a good location to reach almost everything in Dublin!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful - Whan the light blew in the toilat in my dorm, a few said they mentioned to the staff but nothing had happened. I mentioned it it was dealt with withing the hour. Maybe thoses other people didn't mention it.

Disliked: Can't give a comment on that - At the end of the day "It does what it says on the tin"

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at this hostel for the All-Ireland final weekend September 2012. Cannot find a bad thing to say about Abigail's hostel. As I have never stayed in a hostel before and normally stay in hotels, I wasn't sure what to expect, but glad to say I was pleasantly surprised - clean, brilliant location, safe and secure, and brilliant value for money, would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Stanton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this Hostel. Best one so far.

Disliked: If you want quiet, bring ear plugs. Which I did bring mine, so I was all set. Nothing really negative about this stay. It was a pretty great place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a very central part of Dublin. Nice clean rooms, big kitchen and the free breakfast is fantastic! Very secure place which is handy, and you're only a stumble from Temple Bar and all its fantastic nightlife options.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best location for sight-seeing in the area. Friendly and helpful staff; great breakfast; fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ola Gangare

As a family with children

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Ola would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect place to stay at visiting Dublin.

Disliked: Nothing1

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went on the trip of a lifetime with my Mum who is in remnission from cancer. There is no way that she could walk sets of stairs and Abigail's has a lift! What a life saver. It made all the difference and the staff were great to boot - can't fault them. Brekkie was great too and the facilities were the best I've seen in a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Front door was not secure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Tam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay! Convenient and a great value. The people staying there ranged from singles to large families with children as young as newborn babies and adults as old as their 70s!

Disliked: That they did not have rooms for only 2 people available so if you wanted more privacy then this isn't the place but otherwise an excellent place!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very low price - friendly stuff - free linen - lockers - free wi-fi - breakfast is included - big rooms - bathrooms on the room - close to Temple Bar/City Center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic! Really good value for money, staff are friendly and there's no curfew. Nice atmosphere

Disliked: there was no air conditioning, although it was a warm night we stayed, the heat was unbearable in both the rooms and common room, but other than that it was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Coles

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent experience and right in the heart of Dublins nightlife. Value for money is second to none. Have been to Italy, Germany, Ireland, and Spain backpacking and hostelling and that was one of the cheapest, cleanest, and most central out of them all. The included breakfast was fantastic quality and plentiful. Thanks to all there for helping make my Dublin experience fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing bad ... all excellent!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely well located! You feel you are in a friendly and safe environment! Very cool for young travelers!

Disliked: Would have appreciated a locker within the room for small valuables.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Stanley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. A 10 minute walk (at the most) to basically everything. Anything out of the city is also easy to access with bus stops at the door, a taxi rank across the road and shuttle facilities to the airport. It has great kitchen facilities and feels really safe and welcoming. Wifi everywhere (including the rooms) was also great!

Disliked: It has just one big open plan area where people check in, cook, watch tv, hang out. It is nice because it means you meet a lot of people however on the weekends there are often people around drinking and it gets quite noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ng Choon Gim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Ng would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, basic breadfast, friendly staff

Disliked: Pillow is flat

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oksana Nekoz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Oksana would recommend this property

Liked: it was in an excellent location, the hostel was clean, and the room was just right for us

Disliked: hard to catch wireless in room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012

Liked: Close to O'connell St (biggest street in Dublin).

Disliked: The room was not very clean and also pretty small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victor Golegã

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast

Disliked: plumbing problems in my room


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels