We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

84.3% Overall Rating

1332 out of 1395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2014)

"I love how welcoming it was from the minute you got there. It felt very safe also because there were secure front doors. I was on my own but had absolutely no hassle with 5 other strangers, everyone was quiet and lovely!"

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
16.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 884 reviews
Sky Apartments
69.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Temple Bar Inn
43.96 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.3% 135 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 101 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
44.28 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 82.9% 636 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

1332 out of 1395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 990 of 1306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, located in Temple Bar, each room has it's own bathroom.

Disliked: The coffee at breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Alcantara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 October 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the heart of Dublin and its bars. It was a great walking distance from everything touristy like Jameson factory and the Medieval area. Great breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: It seemed a lil dirty but it was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: I disliked that there was no room where you could put your luggange for free. You had to rent a locker for your suitcase.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Lesnikowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was absolutely perfect. The hostel was within a 20 minute walking distance from everything. And the front desk men were aesthetically pleasing.

Disliked: I did not like that it costs to use their wifi or use their safety boxes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dulce Silva

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Dulce would recommend this property

Liked: The space is very nice and great location right in the heart of the city. The staff is very helpful. It has a good variety of choice at breakfast. The environment is good among travelers.

Disliked: Dulce left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: Location is great, very close to the bars and sights of downtown Dublin. If all you need is a cheap place to crash, this is probably your best bet.

Disliked: Staff seemed very unorganized and had messed up our booking. The whole place was pretty dirty when we arrived. Our room was quite run-down and smelled bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - I've now stayed in 6 hostels in Dublin - this was by far the best. - The lounge is large and open with plenty of couches and tables (unlike most hostels). You will always find somewhere to sit. - The atmosphere is great - it's very easy to meet new people because of the layout. - The breakfast (included) was above average for a hostel. - The location couldn't be better - at the heart of everything. - The shower/bathroom facilities were clean and private.

Disliked: - No lockers in the rooms, although there is a luggage room which you can leave your bags in during the day. - The mattress/duvet could have been better. - It's quite hard to get a bed because it's so popular - I met some people who had to move beds/rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just overall a good vibe! Staff is friendly and helpful. Hostel is safe and secure and is close to all amenities! Thank you guys!

Disliked: nuthin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mohammad halim khan

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 mohammad halim would recommend this property

Liked: It's in city centre and close to all amenities.

Disliked: When these guys come back from their drinks in the middle of night and start playing or talking loud in the room, that will disturb your sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,location,location

Disliked: lack of sockets in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Howcroft

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: For my first time using a hosel it was excellant. The location was a 20 minutes to walk to either Train Stations. No need to wait for a bus when we could walk to all the sights in Dublin. There is a grocery store two doors away to pick up anything you wanted to eat or forgot to bring with you. I went with my son, on the nights he went out on a Pub crawl. I was on my own. I felt very safe to go out in the evening for dinner and later to a coffee shop. I also would sit in the Lounge to watch T.V. there was alway people around talking and laughing. But it was quietin the hall ways and I never heard any neighbours. Our window were open every evening and there was hardly any street noice. We got up early each morning and it was good to start the day with Breakfast and not having to worry about look for a place to eat. The front staff was very friendly and helpful - Yes I will be staying there when I come back to Dublin

Disliked: Bring your an alarm clock - they do not have wake up call service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, amenities & location.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renato Siqueira Conde Nogueira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: Good living area, useful kitchen for the ones who intend to stay longer periods, practical elevator, safe place.

Disliked: Don't remember any bad thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and not being someone who stays in hostels very often and not knowing procedure they were very helpful. It is so central which makes it very convenient, and so cheap for one nights stay on my own. It was also nicely clean and the bed was comfortable. I also liked that there was an en-suite for our dorm. I liked the option of female only too/

Disliked: that there were not smaller dorms (4 bed), as I would definitely like to bring my kids, but would not like to share the room with others with them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really friendly and would definitely stay here again. Also, such a good location to reach almost everything in Dublin!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful - Whan the light blew in the toilat in my dorm, a few said they mentioned to the staff but nothing had happened. I mentioned it it was dealt with withing the hour. Maybe thoses other people didn't mention it.

Disliked: Can't give a comment on that - At the end of the day "It does what it says on the tin"

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at this hostel for the All-Ireland final weekend September 2012. Cannot find a bad thing to say about Abigail's hostel. As I have never stayed in a hostel before and normally stay in hotels, I wasn't sure what to expect, but glad to say I was pleasantly surprised - clean, brilliant location, safe and secure, and brilliant value for money, would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Stanton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this Hostel. Best one so far.

Disliked: If you want quiet, bring ear plugs. Which I did bring mine, so I was all set. Nothing really negative about this stay. It was a pretty great place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a very central part of Dublin. Nice clean rooms, big kitchen and the free breakfast is fantastic! Very secure place which is handy, and you're only a stumble from Temple Bar and all its fantastic nightlife options.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best location for sight-seeing in the area. Friendly and helpful staff; great breakfast; fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ola Gangare

As a family with children

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Ola would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect place to stay at visiting Dublin.

Disliked: Nothing1

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went on the trip of a lifetime with my Mum who is in remnission from cancer. There is no way that she could walk sets of stairs and Abigail's has a lift! What a life saver. It made all the difference and the staff were great to boot - can't fault them. Brekkie was great too and the facilities were the best I've seen in a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Front door was not secure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Tam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay! Convenient and a great value. The people staying there ranged from singles to large families with children as young as newborn babies and adults as old as their 70s!

Disliked: That they did not have rooms for only 2 people available so if you wanted more privacy then this isn't the place but otherwise an excellent place!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels