We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

89.8% Overall Rating

1347 out of 1410 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2015)

"I loved the main common area. It was clean and spacious and allowed me to actually have somewhere to hang out with new and random friends that wasn't my room. It had a very open and clean feel."

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups of 10 or more. Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Temple Bar Inn
85.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Abbey Court
14.86 USD

Hostel 85.5% 934 reviews
Sky Apartments
60.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
16.51 USD

Hostel 89.6% 139 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
13.21 USD

Hostel 83.0% 105 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
27.52 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield Hostel
15.41 USD

Hostel 84.8% 646 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
17.61 USD

Hostel 91.4% 294 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

1347 out of 1410 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 1003 of 1321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 40 | 41   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

megan bartee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 megan would recommend this property

Liked: I Really liked how close it was to everything and how helpful everyone was. The free breakfast is also nice.

Disliked: nothing rally

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Free Breakfast in town!

Disliked: kitchen is small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lidia Szymczak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and well located hostel. Definitely, would go back there while in Dublin.

Disliked: Lidia left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the location. That's essentially what you're paying for. You are 10 steps away from the temple bar area and all the main sights in Dublin. Also, the airport aircoach drops you off a 5 minute walk from the hostel. Location is their main selling point. Breakfast was the same as in every hostel I've ever stayed- cereal, toast, coffee, etc. The staff was really really helpful with questions and suggestions as well.

Disliked: This is one of the least clean hostels i've stayed at. I saw another review that said there was hair all over the pillows and thought that was strange-- but it's true. My pillowcase had stains on it as well. The rooms are small and there are no lockers to keep your things. You have to pay 3 euros every 24 hrs to keep anything in a locker behind the front desk. I didn't do this, so I can't review that aspect. It's a very old building. But if you realize that all you do is sleep there and are ok with paying for the awesome location it has, then this hostel is a fine choice. However, if I personally go back to Dublin, I will look into other options.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MISS JOHNSON

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 February 2013 MISS would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location and friendly staff!

Disliked: MISS left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Steindl

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 February 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It's really all about the location. Don't go there expecting a state-of-the-art bed, but expect clean sheets. Don't expect modern facilities (if any) in your rooms, but expect hot water. If you're like myself and my partner, who really just needed a place to store our luggage and crash for the night, this place is great because it's set smack bang in the centre of everything with local transport, pubs, restaurants and clubs at your doorstep. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast are an added bonus, and as long as you don't mind having to put up with sometimes very loud people in the reception area you get what you pay for. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly at all times.

Disliked: There wasn't any storage solutions in the room, not even a table or chair. The shower head was awkwardly positioned so you literally had to lean against the wall to have water fall on you.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

oisin costello

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 oisin would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no lights over individual bunks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitch McGugan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 February 2013 Mitch would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, cheap and a better breakfast than we have had in more expensive hotels!

Disliked: Mitch left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Konroy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff went above and beyond to help guide me and the group I went with, and they did it all with a smile. Just an awesome experience.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of Dublin, no loud music in the lounge, luggageroom without costs, good breakfast, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Maybe better if there would have been lockers in the dormitory.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina de Miguel

Alone

City break

11 January 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, cheap, friendly staff.

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Kozakewich

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Most comfortable bed I've had my entire trip! The shower and bathroom facilities were amazing, and the breakfast provided was very convenient. Felt safe enough to leave our luggage in the rooms, or the lockers provided, while we were out on the town. Close to a good shopping district and bus stops.

Disliked: Be prepared for noisy nights if you keep the window open!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just fantastic. Ive never thought I could get such a quality service for a price like this. The staff was friendly giving us all the details and information about the city, room was nice and the atmosphere was great. I strongly recommend staying at abigail's!

Disliked: nothing, really.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

netin patel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 netin would recommend this property

Liked: Location , security

Disliked: They charge you to store your laptops and valuables €4 fof a tiny locker for 24 hours

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathaniel Boyd

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Nathaniel would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to all the bars and attractions in Dublin. Free breakfast too.

Disliked: Wish there was more to choose from the breakfast service but hey it was included so no real complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right next to the river, close to all the bars, restaurants, shops, etc, etc. Decent sized rooms and bathrooms kept clean. Communal area very spacious with loads of places to sit whilst eating or socialising. Free wi-fi always a bonus. Staff were pretty helpful too in telling us where things were located.

Disliked: The whole key system is a little weird, not ideal but then again not a massive annoyance. Could maybe have lockers in the rooms, other than that no complaints whatsoever! Good hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large open plan kitchen/common room area makes for better socializing. A bit quieter than some of the other hostels and everyone was respectful of others sleeping when they entered the rooms at night, so good if you want somewhere you know you can get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Kitchen was slightly under-equipped for self catering accomodation e.g. no baking trays, no large dishes for serving group meals (only a minor thing)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

riccardo davi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 riccardo would recommend this property

Liked: location price

Disliked: no lookers in the room bathroom facilities need to be fixed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abigail's like totally rocks, dude!

Disliked: roommate snored

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to temple bar, great location

Disliked: No sockets in the room, unable to charge phone/straighten hair

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and in a good central location. The private bathrooms were very nice to have as well.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have lockers a available in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and in a really central area.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dmitry Totskiy

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 November 2012 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: Отзывчивый персонал. Замечательное месторасположение

Disliked: Очень слабый wi-fi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glaucia Santos

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Glaucia would recommend this property

Liked: Very well structured to host many guests at a time.

Disliked: Glaucia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: definitely value for money! the location is perfect, the breakfast is good and there is a bathroom in every room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels