We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

84.3% Overall Rating

1332 out of 1395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2014)

"I love how welcoming it was from the minute you got there. It felt very safe also because there were secure front doors. I was on my own but had absolutely no hassle with 5 other strangers, everyone was quiet and lovely!"

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
16.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 884 reviews
Sky Apartments
69.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Temple Bar Inn
37.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.3% 135 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 101 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
37.95 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 82.9% 636 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

1332 out of 1395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 990 of 1306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly enviroment and great location. I will definetely go back.

Disliked: The only negative point is that showers and toilets are inside the rooms and you are bothered by the rest of the guests

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big open common area with TV, staff were very friendly and helpful, good security in the building, good location right in the Temple Bar area. Rooms were clean and comfortable

Disliked: Kitchen could have been a little bigger, but other than that no major complaints

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very open atmosphere; I felt as though I could talk to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing much...maybe more breakfast options? (bagels, more fruit and juices)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick redden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Location , friendliness, fantastic breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

O Vohnik

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 April 2013 O would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price was great

Disliked: loudness..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Breakfast, the coffee

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Coffey

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 April 2013 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Cannot recommen Abigails enough. Staff beyond helpful,friendly and welcoming. Had a 6bed room with own bathroom. Will be back for sure,without a doubt. Great value for money.

Disliked: Evelyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny Jones

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 April 2013 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, the city centre was only five minutes walk away and one stree from Temple Bar. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom which was located away from the dorms so it was nice and quiet too. The breakfast on offer was plentiful and the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill McGrail

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, good buffet breakfast, facilities were top notch, and generally really good.

Disliked: Nothing was disliked about this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, very central. The breakfast was quite rich and good. The kitchen is also great if you want to prepare your own meals.

Disliked: The room wasn't cleaned, esepicailly the bathroom. Also the room was cold during the day and evening and too hot during the night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rick Knufman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2013 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: location, people

Disliked: dirty beds and sheets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grace Chan

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are decorated nicely, giving off a friendly vibe. The type of people staying at the place all seemed like friendly back packers too. Nice staff. Decent breakfast. Great location.

Disliked: I stayed in a room facing the quays, which was a little noisy when sleeping but, it wasn't noisy enough to keep me awake.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

megan bartee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 megan would recommend this property

Liked: I Really liked how close it was to everything and how helpful everyone was. The free breakfast is also nice.

Disliked: nothing rally

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Free Breakfast in town!

Disliked: kitchen is small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lidia Szymczak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and well located hostel. Definitely, would go back there while in Dublin.

Disliked: Lidia left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the location. That's essentially what you're paying for. You are 10 steps away from the temple bar area and all the main sights in Dublin. Also, the airport aircoach drops you off a 5 minute walk from the hostel. Location is their main selling point. Breakfast was the same as in every hostel I've ever stayed- cereal, toast, coffee, etc. The staff was really really helpful with questions and suggestions as well.

Disliked: This is one of the least clean hostels i've stayed at. I saw another review that said there was hair all over the pillows and thought that was strange-- but it's true. My pillowcase had stains on it as well. The rooms are small and there are no lockers to keep your things. You have to pay 3 euros every 24 hrs to keep anything in a locker behind the front desk. I didn't do this, so I can't review that aspect. It's a very old building. But if you realize that all you do is sleep there and are ok with paying for the awesome location it has, then this hostel is a fine choice. However, if I personally go back to Dublin, I will look into other options.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MISS JOHNSON

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 February 2013 MISS would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location and friendly staff!

Disliked: MISS left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Steindl

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 February 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It's really all about the location. Don't go there expecting a state-of-the-art bed, but expect clean sheets. Don't expect modern facilities (if any) in your rooms, but expect hot water. If you're like myself and my partner, who really just needed a place to store our luggage and crash for the night, this place is great because it's set smack bang in the centre of everything with local transport, pubs, restaurants and clubs at your doorstep. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast are an added bonus, and as long as you don't mind having to put up with sometimes very loud people in the reception area you get what you pay for. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly at all times.

Disliked: There wasn't any storage solutions in the room, not even a table or chair. The shower head was awkwardly positioned so you literally had to lean against the wall to have water fall on you.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

oisin costello

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 oisin would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no lights over individual bunks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitch McGugan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 February 2013 Mitch would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, cheap and a better breakfast than we have had in more expensive hotels!

Disliked: Mitch left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Konroy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff went above and beyond to help guide me and the group I went with, and they did it all with a smile. Just an awesome experience.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of Dublin, no loud music in the lounge, luggageroom without costs, good breakfast, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Maybe better if there would have been lockers in the dormitory.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina de Miguel

Alone

City break

11 January 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, cheap, friendly staff.

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Kozakewich

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Most comfortable bed I've had my entire trip! The shower and bathroom facilities were amazing, and the breakfast provided was very convenient. Felt safe enough to leave our luggage in the rooms, or the lockers provided, while we were out on the town. Close to a good shopping district and bus stops.

Disliked: Be prepared for noisy nights if you keep the window open!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just fantastic. Ive never thought I could get such a quality service for a price like this. The staff was friendly giving us all the details and information about the city, room was nice and the atmosphere was great. I strongly recommend staying at abigail's!

Disliked: nothing, really.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels