HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

93.5% Overall Rating

1277 out of 1335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

Jessica Zanovelo Fogaca thinks…

"Good location, nice atmosphere. The staff is really friendly and the free breakfast makes everything perfect! It was a nice staying."

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
16.59 USD

Hostel 84.3% 833 reviews
Sky Apartments
62.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
19.35 USD

Hostel 85.6% 121 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.59 USD

Hostel 84.6% 96 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
41.47 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield House City Centre
12.44 USD

Hostel 83.5% 607 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
17.28 USD

Hostel 85.1% 234 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
44.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

1277 out of 1335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 947 of 1246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleni McIlroy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and good location, and teh breakfast was ok too.

Disliked: Eleni left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, good breakfast, reliable Internet

Disliked: Very basic rooms, lacking amenities of many other hostels such as luggage storage in rooms, individual bed lights, shelves, etc

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff - made us very welcome. Good breakfast; internet access; lockers helpful.

Disliked: Graffiti out front and sketchy looking folks at night gave us pause, but Abigails itself was terrific value.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and warm bedroom (even they are in central location). Good and free wifi IN BEDROOM (if knew it before, I had bring my laptop w/ me). Hair dryer in bathroom (very convenient). Hot water 24/24. Good view from my room (river at night was so nice). Good lobby with big sofa and flat screen. Printer was equipped with computer. Helpful staffs. Actually there was a mistake in my receipt due to computer, and they patiently fixed it for me. Good buffet breakfast (toast, egg, fruit, chocolate cereal are my favourite) and always be served very early (from 7:05 or 7:10, instead of 7:30).

Disliked: Small room (it was fine for me). Bathroom was not cleaned in the morning. Only 2 sockets in room, then you might need to bring extension plug if your bed is far away from them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristie-Lee Taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Kristie-Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Location!!!

Disliked: Kristie-Lee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cherie McCune

Alone

Family Holiday

01 May 2013 Cherie would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic - one of the best hostels I've stayed in around the world and I've stayed in about 20. Staff are so friendly and helpful and the location is wonderful. All in all a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gleison Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Gleison would recommend this property

Liked: positive: location, showers, hot water negative: too crowded (too much very young people!)

Disliked: Gleison left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly enviroment and great location. I will definetely go back.

Disliked: The only negative point is that showers and toilets are inside the rooms and you are bothered by the rest of the guests

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big open common area with TV, staff were very friendly and helpful, good security in the building, good location right in the Temple Bar area. Rooms were clean and comfortable

Disliked: Kitchen could have been a little bigger, but other than that no major complaints

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very open atmosphere; I felt as though I could talk to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing much...maybe more breakfast options? (bagels, more fruit and juices)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick redden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Location , friendliness, fantastic breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

O Vohnik

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 April 2013 O would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price was great

Disliked: loudness..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Breakfast, the coffee

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Coffey

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 April 2013 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Cannot recommen Abigails enough. Staff beyond helpful,friendly and welcoming. Had a 6bed room with own bathroom. Will be back for sure,without a doubt. Great value for money.

Disliked: Evelyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny Jones

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 April 2013 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, the city centre was only five minutes walk away and one stree from Temple Bar. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom which was located away from the dorms so it was nice and quiet too. The breakfast on offer was plentiful and the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill McGrail

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, good buffet breakfast, facilities were top notch, and generally really good.

Disliked: Nothing was disliked about this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, very central. The breakfast was quite rich and good. The kitchen is also great if you want to prepare your own meals.

Disliked: The room wasn't cleaned, esepicailly the bathroom. Also the room was cold during the day and evening and too hot during the night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rick Knufman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2013 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: location, people

Disliked: dirty beds and sheets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grace Chan

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are decorated nicely, giving off a friendly vibe. The type of people staying at the place all seemed like friendly back packers too. Nice staff. Decent breakfast. Great location.

Disliked: I stayed in a room facing the quays, which was a little noisy when sleeping but, it wasn't noisy enough to keep me awake.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

megan bartee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 megan would recommend this property

Liked: I Really liked how close it was to everything and how helpful everyone was. The free breakfast is also nice.

Disliked: nothing rally

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Free Breakfast in town!

Disliked: kitchen is small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lidia Szymczak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and well located hostel. Definitely, would go back there while in Dublin.

Disliked: Lidia left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the location. That's essentially what you're paying for. You are 10 steps away from the temple bar area and all the main sights in Dublin. Also, the airport aircoach drops you off a 5 minute walk from the hostel. Location is their main selling point. Breakfast was the same as in every hostel I've ever stayed- cereal, toast, coffee, etc. The staff was really really helpful with questions and suggestions as well.

Disliked: This is one of the least clean hostels i've stayed at. I saw another review that said there was hair all over the pillows and thought that was strange-- but it's true. My pillowcase had stains on it as well. The rooms are small and there are no lockers to keep your things. You have to pay 3 euros every 24 hrs to keep anything in a locker behind the front desk. I didn't do this, so I can't review that aspect. It's a very old building. But if you realize that all you do is sleep there and are ok with paying for the awesome location it has, then this hostel is a fine choice. However, if I personally go back to Dublin, I will look into other options.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MISS JOHNSON

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 February 2013 MISS would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location and friendly staff!

Disliked: MISS left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Steindl

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 February 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It's really all about the location. Don't go there expecting a state-of-the-art bed, but expect clean sheets. Don't expect modern facilities (if any) in your rooms, but expect hot water. If you're like myself and my partner, who really just needed a place to store our luggage and crash for the night, this place is great because it's set smack bang in the centre of everything with local transport, pubs, restaurants and clubs at your doorstep. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast are an added bonus, and as long as you don't mind having to put up with sometimes very loud people in the reception area you get what you pay for. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly at all times.

Disliked: There wasn't any storage solutions in the room, not even a table or chair. The shower head was awkwardly positioned so you literally had to lean against the wall to have water fall on you.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels