We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abigails Hostel

Hostel | 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin, Ireland 2

83.1% Overall Rating

1330 out of 1393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Amazing location!! I've already booked my trip back for St. Pattys weekend. The staff is very friendly and helpful too."

Read all Abigails Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abigails budget accommodation is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Abbey Court
17.48 USD

Hostel 86.1% 882 reviews
Sky Apartments
71.21 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Temple Bar Inn
44.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sky Backpackers
20.71 USD

Hostel 88.0% 134 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.54 USD

Hostel 82.9% 101 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
51.79 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Ashfield House City Centre
11.65 USD

Hostel 82.5% 634 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
17.48 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

1330 out of 1393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abigails Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 989 of 1304 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Hostel is secure and safe.

Disliked: Have to leave your key when you go out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location perfect for my needs

Disliked: Nothing at all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Maitino

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the lounge area and the large rooms. The bathrooms were plain but clean. The hostel felt friendly and comfortable. It was in a fantastic spot right in the heart of the Dublin pub scene and close to the river.

Disliked: The only complaint I have was that there weren't towels available. They kept telling me that they would have some ready soon but it was very inconvenient and the employees seemed very stressed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Events / festivals

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: The staff were pretty rude

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kelsey Wemple

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the security precautions taken as far as the room keys goes--leaving them at the hostel as you went out and about. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was good and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful with whatever I needed help with.

Disliked: I didn't like the security precautions taken as far as the front door goes. There was a buzzer to get in but there was no check to see who was there--they let anybody who buzzed into the hostel. That's not to say that people who weren't staying in the hostel were in the lobby but it made me uneasy knowing that someone could've easily done that. Also, the bathroom wasn't as clean as it could've been.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANTONIO ALEGRIA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 ANTONIO would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: A bit noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sascha Thimme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Sascha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and nice atmosphere in the lounge.

Disliked: My girlfriend was the only girl in our room, what she didn't like and the bathroom was not really clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'd spent about two weeks in various hostels in Ireland. This one was the biggest and definitely the best organised one (and one of the cleanest ones as well). The staff was helpful and professional. Reproductions of Banksy's graffiti add a nice touch to the common room :).

Disliked: Didn't like that somebody from the cleaning service entered the room in my absence - but then I was fairly warned about that and thanks to the cleaning service the hostel is neat and tidy :).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara McCormick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included which was awesome! Each bed had it's own individual plug in station and light so you could charge portable electronics overnight. The location was excellent; right on the Liffey River and a very short walk into the Temple Bar area. Would definitely stay here again and strongly recommend it!

Disliked: There were no lockers in the rooms to store your bags.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOAO PAULO LIBORIO LIMA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 JOAO PAULO would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, helpfull staff, internet works properly, good rooms, breakfast isn't the best, but it's good as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013

Liked: It was nice to be so close to everything.

Disliked: It was not very clean. They also have a lock on the door; however, sometimes is works and sometimes it doesn't. They don't give you a code. All you have to do is buzz in, so basically anyone can enter the hostel. I honestly don't think the staff would know if you where a guest or some person from the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephanie Goldis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Our double room was actually a triple so we had a lot of extra room. Bathroom was enormous and they provide soap for the basin which is handy. Water pressure almost two strong but still better than most hostels. Breakfast pretty good. Big common area downstairs.

Disliked: The rooms were really hot but probably because Dublin was going through a heat wave at the time we stayed. No aircon or fan anywhere in the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Big common area

Disliked: Staff weren't that friendly. No laundry services.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas were spacious and comfortable. Lots of seating, a communal television, etc. Lockers and luggage rooms were available. The luggage room was free; I think the lockers cost extra. Breakfast was great. A good variety, more than at other hostels.

Disliked: Our room smelled a little musty and unpleasant. The bathroom was mostly clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Schmidt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, 24 hour reception, perfect location

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was perfect and it was easy to find. Comfortable and easy to meet people.

Disliked: The water didnt drain in the bath/shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jeremy DARR

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price good

Disliked: Not the hostel's fault but some drunken jokers returned to the dorm at 4am and when I got up I couldnt find my trainers anywhere. Luckily I had other footwear with me. Had I been checking out that morning I would have been throwing the contents of all bags in the dorm onto the floor to find my footwear. Got back to the dorm that evening and my trainers had returned. I assumed that in the sober light of day someone decided that nicking them was a bad idea seeing as nobody else in the dorm had checked out that day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHAN PEPERMANS

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 JOHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Great locations for all kinds of people, different ages, looking for different kinds of action in Dublin. Very central, lots of things to see and do, both during the day and at night.

Disliked: JOHAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micayla Hardisty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Micayla would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice staff.

Disliked: Could be noisy at night because its in a busy road.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. ~6 min walk from Dublin Tourism Center on Suffolk St where all the tours leave in the morning and right next to Supervalu so you can get breakfast or a late night snack conveniently. Storage lockers and safety deposit boxes available for a fee. There is housekeeping everyday to clean the bathrooms and take out the trash in the rooms. There is an elevator if you have heavy luggage.

Disliked: You have to pay for the storage lockers and safety deposit boxes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the walking distance to a lot of places in Dublin. We liked the bathroom in the room for the 8 bed dorm. LIked the security boxes you could rent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & Friendly - Value for money!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super nice! The location was close to everything. The beds were clean and soft.

Disliked: The bathroom was okay. Breakfast sucked but the its okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, neat, comfortable, private, secure, no curfew. Good breakfast selection.

Disliked: No comment except that the bath plug was missing.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels