We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Kinlay House

Hostel | 2 -12 Lord Edward Street, Dublin, Ireland D2

80.5% Overall Rating

927 out of 1021 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

"The location is perfect! It is located on the city center (just 5 min. from the castle), near to Temple Bar (pub's area) and the bus to the airport has an stop in front of the hostel."

Read all Kinlay House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels provided free of charge in private rooms (singles, twins, doubles, triples) or for rent for 2 Euro in dorms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Bridge House
19.57 USD

Guesthouse 74.5% 49 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
10.87 USD

Hostel 91.9% 423 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.05 USD

Hostel 74.6% 161 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
39.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 91.3% 292 reviews
Avalon House
17.40 USD

Hostel 85.9% 1078 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
42.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.3% 42 reviews
Brooks Hotel
163.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

927 out of 1021 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kinlay House'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 631 of 764 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michele Abballe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2015 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: The position and the historical building

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a bit nicer, but they are working on it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! It is located on the city center (just 5 min. from the castle), near to Temple Bar (pub's area) and the bus to the airport has an stop in front of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Water is hot Good temperature in the rooms and comon room Coffe machine free Internet in the rooms as well and quick enough

Disliked: Need to rent a locker to store your bag 2€/day when every other hostels store it for free when checking in. No power plug in the bathrooms Laundry available

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maurizio Foiadelli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Maurizio would recommend this property

Liked: position... just very few steps away from Temple Bar :)

Disliked: very very very POOR breakfast and terrible lack of hygiene in common areas (kitchen and appliances included).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: - people, who stay there. They give a feeling of total unsecurity. Drunk guys knocking in the door at night. Loudly swearing guys at the breakfast. Hardly locking both rooms and bathrooms. - staff of the hostel. A few times we asked for lockers, hair dryer and adaptor. Everytime we got different answers and different conditions.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pei Khoek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Pei would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Breakfast kitchen is too small, not enough tables and seats.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near town centre

Disliked: There isn't a quiet place where to work (only a big living room where the TV is always on and noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location only five minute walk away from temple bar Relatively quiet in the hostel - it is on a main road so expect traffic noise! Basic clean rooms

Disliked: Our pipes leaked so our carpet was wet The rooms were very hot and couldn't work out how to turn heating off! All stuff that could be sorted out though!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greg Gaede

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of the city.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN O'HARA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2014 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Unable to understand person at reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jason Groom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff extremely rude. Fire alarm going off multiple times (one morning for 45 minutes). No form of security. Common room seats maybe 30, hostel had closer to 200 people in it. In my 24 bed room there were only 2 power outlets. Bed hard as a brick. No air movement what-so-ever. Lockers were €2 a night and you had to go outside and into another building to get to them. Shower was filthy and again only three showers for everyone. Avoid this place!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: wifi was terrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Adams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to awesome pubs, attractions, food and bus stops that will bring you wherever you need to go!

Disliked: There was a few of their "perks" that they advertised on their page that they didn't offer. For instance, they say every Sunday and Monday night they host a movie night with free popcorn. After a long few days of sightseeing we we're looking forward to it. 8pm came and went and still no movie. After about a half hour we went up to the desk and asked if they still did that and the guy at the front desk seemed confused and said "we don't really do that. But if you'd like I'll give you the remote and make you a bag of popcorn. We obviously didn't want to throw on a movie of our choice in a room full of people doing this and that. They should have a signup sheet with the movie they'll be playing and if no on signs up, they don't show a flick.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Wall

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The best is location and staff, specially the Czeck girl!

Disliked: Private bathrooms are a bit boat-type without bath or shower sink. The windows in the room cannot be fully opened so there was a light humidity smell

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable

Disliked: No lockers in the room and no luggage storage space, so when the lockers they do have were taken was left with my suitcase for my last day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room

Disliked: bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Avila

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2014 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big installations, very quite, well organiced

Disliked: Raul left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Breakfast could be improved.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nace Ledinek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Nace would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms and breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night so we did not have use of the full range of the facilities. Kinlay House was clean and comfortable and I would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We slept in a room with 24 people. We slept perfect! We recommend these option.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marije Dollen

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2014 Marije would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and the price. The beds; unlike many hostls I've been too the bed (matrasses) were good

Disliked: There was a continental breakfst, but the options were limited. Yu could chose between cereal or toast. Considering the price you should not expect more than that I guess


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels