We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Kinlay House

Hostel | 2 -12 Lord Edward Street, Dublin, Ireland D2

84.9% Overall Rating

940 out of 1035 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2015)

"Clean, cheap and the location is great. Never made breakfast either morning but there was a wee coffee shop right across the road, can't remember what it was called but it was fantastic."

Read all Kinlay House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels provided free of charge in private rooms (singles, twins, doubles, triples) or for rent for 2 Euro in dorms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Bridge House
27.13 USD

Guesthouse 74.7% 50 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
11.07 USD

Hostel 90.4% 430 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.29 USD

Hostel 74.5% 166 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
441.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 93.3% 302 reviews
Avalon House
17.71 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1089 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
38.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.3% 42 reviews
Brooks Hotel
166.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

940 out of 1035 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kinlay House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 638 of 778 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Matresses a bit hard

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Selvakumar Dhandapani

Alone

Business / conference

21 June 2015 Selvakumar would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: i would say there are not enough toilets for the huge dorm. There are only three. I saw a guy peeing on the wash basin. I didnt brush my teeth there after seeing that. I stayed there just one night, thats okay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap and the location is great. Never made breakfast either morning but there was a wee coffee shop right across the road, can't remember what it was called but it was fantastic.

Disliked: Shower was fine for cleanliness but a bit more power would've been good. A minor complaint.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. Breakfast good, staff is pretty friendly. Cleaner than I expected! Washrooms had hot water.

Disliked: Washrooms are located a bit far away. I stayed in a 24 bed dorm and it was annoying at times. If you arrive late at night the lights will be off and you cant see anything when you go into the room. If you are sleeping and others arrive late at night, then it disturbs you and you wake up. But I guess that is expected from staying in a 24 bed dorm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erika OHalloran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, right next to Temple Bar but in an area where it was quiet. We walked everywhere around the city, and only needed to take a bus to get to the airport. Friendly staff and they book lots of tours at the front desk. 24 hour reception and a great common room area. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit smelly in the en-suite rooms, and the hostel itself books a lot of bachelor and bachelorette parties. The beds were very thin and the rooms were a bit "damp" feeling. No lockers in the rooms, but they were available to rent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Fischer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

25 May 2015 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Location, number of showers and toilets, wooden staircase inside adds character! The pub behind the hostel had a great Irish band on when I arrived, I sat there all night listening to them.

Disliked: there isn't a lift, so if you're on the 3rd/4th floor it's a bit of a trek but 1st/2nd is do-able!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Compared to some hostels it was good and I would stay again. Staff very good.

Disliked: The pillows are dreadfully. Need to be changed very hard to sleep with them to flat. But linen very clean. Showers need modernisation big time soap dispenser broke etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michele Abballe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2015 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: The position and the historical building

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a bit nicer, but they are working on it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! It is located on the city center (just 5 min. from the castle), near to Temple Bar (pub's area) and the bus to the airport has an stop in front of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Water is hot Good temperature in the rooms and comon room Coffe machine free Internet in the rooms as well and quick enough

Disliked: Need to rent a locker to store your bag 2€/day when every other hostels store it for free when checking in. No power plug in the bathrooms Laundry available

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maurizio Foiadelli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Maurizio would recommend this property

Liked: position... just very few steps away from Temple Bar :)

Disliked: very very very POOR breakfast and terrible lack of hygiene in common areas (kitchen and appliances included).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: - people, who stay there. They give a feeling of total unsecurity. Drunk guys knocking in the door at night. Loudly swearing guys at the breakfast. Hardly locking both rooms and bathrooms. - staff of the hostel. A few times we asked for lockers, hair dryer and adaptor. Everytime we got different answers and different conditions.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pei Khoek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Pei would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Breakfast kitchen is too small, not enough tables and seats.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near town centre

Disliked: There isn't a quiet place where to work (only a big living room where the TV is always on and noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location only five minute walk away from temple bar Relatively quiet in the hostel - it is on a main road so expect traffic noise! Basic clean rooms

Disliked: Our pipes leaked so our carpet was wet The rooms were very hot and couldn't work out how to turn heating off! All stuff that could be sorted out though!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greg Gaede

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of the city.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN O'HARA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2014 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Unable to understand person at reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jason Groom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff extremely rude. Fire alarm going off multiple times (one morning for 45 minutes). No form of security. Common room seats maybe 30, hostel had closer to 200 people in it. In my 24 bed room there were only 2 power outlets. Bed hard as a brick. No air movement what-so-ever. Lockers were €2 a night and you had to go outside and into another building to get to them. Shower was filthy and again only three showers for everyone. Avoid this place!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: wifi was terrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Adams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to awesome pubs, attractions, food and bus stops that will bring you wherever you need to go!

Disliked: There was a few of their "perks" that they advertised on their page that they didn't offer. For instance, they say every Sunday and Monday night they host a movie night with free popcorn. After a long few days of sightseeing we we're looking forward to it. 8pm came and went and still no movie. After about a half hour we went up to the desk and asked if they still did that and the guy at the front desk seemed confused and said "we don't really do that. But if you'd like I'll give you the remote and make you a bag of popcorn. We obviously didn't want to throw on a movie of our choice in a room full of people doing this and that. They should have a signup sheet with the movie they'll be playing and if no on signs up, they don't show a flick.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Wall

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The best is location and staff, specially the Czeck girl!

Disliked: Private bathrooms are a bit boat-type without bath or shower sink. The windows in the room cannot be fully opened so there was a light humidity smell

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable

Disliked: No lockers in the room and no luggage storage space, so when the lockers they do have were taken was left with my suitcase for my last day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room

Disliked: bathrooms


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels