We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Kinlay House

Hostel | 2 -12 Lord Edward Street, Dublin, Ireland D2

81.6% Overall Rating

914 out of 1006 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Great location close to awesome pubs, attractions, food and bus stops that will bring you wherever you need to go!"

Read all Kinlay House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels provided free of charge in private rooms (singles, twins, doubles, triples) or for rent for 2 Euro in dorms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Bridge House
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 90.1% 269 reviews
Avalon House
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1062 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
37.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
Brooks Hotel
81.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

914 out of 1006 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kinlay House'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 623 of 749 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greg Gaede

partner

Turismo culturale

05 October 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of the city.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN O'HARA

Solo

Sport, avventura o attivitá all'aperto

05 October 2014 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Unable to understand person at reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Lavoro / volontariato

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jason Groom

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

20 September 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff extremely rude. Fire alarm going off multiple times (one morning for 45 minutes). No form of security. Common room seats maybe 30, hostel had closer to 200 people in it. In my 24 bed room there were only 2 power outlets. Bed hard as a brick. No air movement what-so-ever. Lockers were €2 a night and you had to go outside and into another building to get to them. Shower was filthy and again only three showers for everyone. Avoid this place!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Turismo culturale

18 September 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: wifi was terrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Adams

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Festa / vita notturna

15 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

partner

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to awesome pubs, attractions, food and bus stops that will bring you wherever you need to go!

Disliked: There was a few of their "perks" that they advertised on their page that they didn't offer. For instance, they say every Sunday and Monday night they host a movie night with free popcorn. After a long few days of sightseeing we we're looking forward to it. 8pm came and went and still no movie. After about a half hour we went up to the desk and asked if they still did that and the guy at the front desk seemed confused and said "we don't really do that. But if you'd like I'll give you the remote and make you a bag of popcorn. We obviously didn't want to throw on a movie of our choice in a room full of people doing this and that. They should have a signup sheet with the movie they'll be playing and if no on signs up, they don't show a flick.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Wall

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Visitando amici o famiglia

15 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The best is location and staff, specially the Czeck girl!

Disliked: Private bathrooms are a bit boat-type without bath or shower sink. The windows in the room cannot be fully opened so there was a light humidity smell

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Visitare una cittá

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable

Disliked: No lockers in the room and no luggage storage space, so when the lockers they do have were taken was left with my suitcase for my last day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Shopping

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room

Disliked: bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Avila

Solo

Sport, avventura o attivitá all'aperto

05 September 2014 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big installations, very quite, well organiced

Disliked: Raul left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

partner

Vacanze in famiglia
Turismo culturale
Sport, avventura o attivitá all'aperto

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Breakfast could be improved.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

partner

Relax/Trattamenti di benessere
Gita romantica
Sport, avventura o attivitá all'aperto

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nace Ledinek

partner

Visitare una cittá
Turismo culturale

26 August 2014 Nace would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms and breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

partner

Visitando amici o famiglia

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night so we did not have use of the full range of the facilities. Kinlay House was clean and comfortable and I would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Visitare una cittá
Turismo culturale

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We slept in a room with 24 people. We slept perfect! We recommend these option.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marije Dollen

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Visitare una cittá

05 August 2014 Marije would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and the price. The beds; unlike many hostls I've been too the bed (matrasses) were good

Disliked: There was a continental breakfst, but the options were limited. Yu could chose between cereal or toast. Considering the price you should not expect more than that I guess

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stay at this hostel every time I'm in Dublin and it's always good. Friendly people, helpful staff, clean, you can easily walk to nearly everything and it's pretty cheap....can't go wrong with that.

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Festa / vita notturna
Turismo culturale

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the common area where people in general felt comfortable hanging out and meeting people in

Disliked: The distance between my room and the bathroom was too damn high!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

orla coutin

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Eventi / festival

22 July 2014 orla would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Kinlay House is fantastic, it's a two minute walk to Temple bar. I Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend, and we both thought it was excellent value for money. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory and the cleanliness was good.

Disliked: The only things I disliked about this hostel was the fact that the cleaner came in quite early in the morning when we were still sleeping. Also the tap in our bathroom was broken, and way too much water came out at once, soaking the entire floor everytime we tried to use it. Other that that, everything was good!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

partner

Visitare una cittá

22 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness of bathroom and staff attitude.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Solo

Visitando amici o famiglia

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: too many stairs and the bathrooms were far from some bedrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Turismo culturale

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheaper than most and central

Disliked: 'free breakfast' was horrible tesco value white bread, spreads, flakes and milk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anja Zavrsnik

Solo

Visitare una cittá
Festa / vita notturna
Turismo culturale

16 July 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal. Einrichtung relativ neu (im Vergleich zu anderen Hostels).

Disliked: kein Aufzug


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels