HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Kinlay House

Hostel | 2 -12 Lord Edward Street, Dublin, Ireland D2

80.9% Overall Rating

903 out of 993 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"Only stayed one night so we did not have use of the full range of the facilities. Kinlay House was clean and comfortable and I would stay again."

Read all Kinlay House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

George Fredric Handel
90.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bridge House
27.90 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
13.13 USD

Hostel 88.7% 407 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.13 USD

Hostel 67.5% 148 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
38.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
18.38 USD

Hostel 88.6% 265 reviews
Avalon House
21.01 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1053 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
78.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

903 out of 993 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kinlay House'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 612 of 736 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Breakfast could be improved.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nace Ledinek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Nace would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms and breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night so we did not have use of the full range of the facilities. Kinlay House was clean and comfortable and I would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We slept in a room with 24 people. We slept perfect! We recommend these option.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marije Dollen

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2014 Marije would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and the price. The beds; unlike many hostls I've been too the bed (matrasses) were good

Disliked: There was a continental breakfst, but the options were limited. Yu could chose between cereal or toast. Considering the price you should not expect more than that I guess

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stay at this hostel every time I'm in Dublin and it's always good. Friendly people, helpful staff, clean, you can easily walk to nearly everything and it's pretty cheap....can't go wrong with that.

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the common area where people in general felt comfortable hanging out and meeting people in

Disliked: The distance between my room and the bathroom was too damn high!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

orla coutin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2014 orla would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Kinlay House is fantastic, it's a two minute walk to Temple bar. I Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend, and we both thought it was excellent value for money. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory and the cleanliness was good.

Disliked: The only things I disliked about this hostel was the fact that the cleaner came in quite early in the morning when we were still sleeping. Also the tap in our bathroom was broken, and way too much water came out at once, soaking the entire floor everytime we tried to use it. Other that that, everything was good!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness of bathroom and staff attitude.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: too many stairs and the bathrooms were far from some bedrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheaper than most and central

Disliked: 'free breakfast' was horrible tesco value white bread, spreads, flakes and milk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anja Zavrsnik

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal. Einrichtung relativ neu (im Vergleich zu anderen Hostels).

Disliked: kein Aufzug

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shawna Weston

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing for the price. It's right across from Dublin Castle and Christchurch Cathedral and a five minute walk from Temple Bar. The common room is also really great, there are tons of outlets for charging phones, etc. The free breakfast and kitchen are nice since eating out in Dublin is expensive.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. There were limited ones to rent and when me and my friend tried, they said that all of the lockers were already taken. The bathrooms are also pretty far from our actual room. Each floor has a men's and women's shower, one on each side. Then there are unisex toilets, but the only time that I used those I thought they smelled pretty bad. Also, we could never figure out how to turn on the lights in the bathrooms, which made going at night interesting.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really good location

Disliked: The lights in the bathroom didn't always work

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Popescu Maria Gabriela

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2014 Popescu would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent location

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gautreau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great location and a great common area in the front.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome! Super safe and the staff was really friendly!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Hynes

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 June 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Reasonable price. Free breakfast!

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what it was described as on the website, the staff were friendly when we arrived and set us up for a great weekend in Dublin.

Disliked: no sauna/jacuzzi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kayla Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Kayla would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close to everything on the main strip, loved the bus stop right outside the door, beds actually weren't too bad, free breakfast was nice (even though it's not much), staff was great, pretty much everything!

Disliked: Really nothing, it was a great value. If any complaints maybe the open shower in the private bath because water would get everywhere but we brought flip flops anyways so it was fine!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ralph Mansur

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location, quick check-in/check out, everything was allright.

Disliked: Too much stairs for the room. Shared bathroom (unissex).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing location walking distance to ALL tourist attractions Definitely go for the 24 bed room - very good quality Met such aamazing people They had coco pops so was very happy!

Disliked: The staff could be a little abrupt but didn't matter

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mareike Eggert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Mareike would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen is top 👍, common room is nice and rooms are really ok. Enough space for everybody

Disliked: Showers are impractical, the whole room get wet during washing yourself and don't get really dry during the day :/ It's really loud, if u have a room to the streat-side the whole night...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels