We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Kinlay House

Hostel | 2 -12 Lord Edward Street, Dublin, Ireland D2

83.1% Overall Rating

910 out of 1000 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Great location close to awesome pubs, attractions, food and bus stops that will bring you wherever you need to go!"

Read all Kinlay House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.59

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

George Fredric Handel
96.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bridge House
27.51 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 37 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
12.95 USD

Hostel 70.7% 150 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
51.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
17.48 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews
Avalon House
20.71 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1060 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
64.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

910 out of 1000 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kinlay House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 618 of 743 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Adams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to awesome pubs, attractions, food and bus stops that will bring you wherever you need to go!

Disliked: There was a few of their "perks" that they advertised on their page that they didn't offer. For instance, they say every Sunday and Monday night they host a movie night with free popcorn. After a long few days of sightseeing we we're looking forward to it. 8pm came and went and still no movie. After about a half hour we went up to the desk and asked if they still did that and the guy at the front desk seemed confused and said "we don't really do that. But if you'd like I'll give you the remote and make you a bag of popcorn. We obviously didn't want to throw on a movie of our choice in a room full of people doing this and that. They should have a signup sheet with the movie they'll be playing and if no on signs up, they don't show a flick.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Wall

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The best is location and staff, specially the Czeck girl!

Disliked: Private bathrooms are a bit boat-type without bath or shower sink. The windows in the room cannot be fully opened so there was a light humidity smell

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable

Disliked: No lockers in the room and no luggage storage space, so when the lockers they do have were taken was left with my suitcase for my last day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room

Disliked: bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Avila

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2014 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big installations, very quite, well organiced

Disliked: Raul left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Breakfast could be improved.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nace Ledinek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Nace would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms and breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night so we did not have use of the full range of the facilities. Kinlay House was clean and comfortable and I would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We slept in a room with 24 people. We slept perfect! We recommend these option.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marije Dollen

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2014 Marije would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and the price. The beds; unlike many hostls I've been too the bed (matrasses) were good

Disliked: There was a continental breakfst, but the options were limited. Yu could chose between cereal or toast. Considering the price you should not expect more than that I guess

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stay at this hostel every time I'm in Dublin and it's always good. Friendly people, helpful staff, clean, you can easily walk to nearly everything and it's pretty cheap....can't go wrong with that.

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the common area where people in general felt comfortable hanging out and meeting people in

Disliked: The distance between my room and the bathroom was too damn high!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

orla coutin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2014 orla would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Kinlay House is fantastic, it's a two minute walk to Temple bar. I Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend, and we both thought it was excellent value for money. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory and the cleanliness was good.

Disliked: The only things I disliked about this hostel was the fact that the cleaner came in quite early in the morning when we were still sleeping. Also the tap in our bathroom was broken, and way too much water came out at once, soaking the entire floor everytime we tried to use it. Other that that, everything was good!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness of bathroom and staff attitude.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: too many stairs and the bathrooms were far from some bedrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheaper than most and central

Disliked: 'free breakfast' was horrible tesco value white bread, spreads, flakes and milk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anja Zavrsnik

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal. Einrichtung relativ neu (im Vergleich zu anderen Hostels).

Disliked: kein Aufzug

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shawna Weston

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing for the price. It's right across from Dublin Castle and Christchurch Cathedral and a five minute walk from Temple Bar. The common room is also really great, there are tons of outlets for charging phones, etc. The free breakfast and kitchen are nice since eating out in Dublin is expensive.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. There were limited ones to rent and when me and my friend tried, they said that all of the lockers were already taken. The bathrooms are also pretty far from our actual room. Each floor has a men's and women's shower, one on each side. Then there are unisex toilets, but the only time that I used those I thought they smelled pretty bad. Also, we could never figure out how to turn on the lights in the bathrooms, which made going at night interesting.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really good location

Disliked: The lights in the bathroom didn't always work

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Popescu Maria Gabriela

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2014 Popescu would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent location

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gautreau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great location and a great common area in the front.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome! Super safe and the staff was really friendly!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels