We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Jacobs Inn

Hostel | 21-28 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

87.7% Overall Rating

831 out of 924 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

Paul Cox thinks…

"Staff was great and location was center of town right next to tram or could walk anywhere."

Read all Jacobs Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.17
  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Isaacs Hostel
15.22 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1396 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
17.94 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
16.31 USD

Hostel 54.1% 101 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 50.4% 217 reviews
Durban Residence
16.31 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
The Glen Guest House
32.08 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 50 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
10.87 USD

Hostel 81.8% 1106 reviews
Maple Hotel
25.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

831 out of 924 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jacobs Inn'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 551 of 593 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Cox

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great and location was center of town right next to tram or could walk anywhere.

Disliked: There is a lot of youngsters at this hostel, as in high school age.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful kitchen and great entertainment areas, lively and friendly atmosphere, clean

Disliked: You had to pay/rent lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

georgia mackenzie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2015 georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic, staff are really helpful, price is unbeatable especially given the cleanliness of the place too, space in the room I stayed in was more than brilliant. Honesty of the staff and customers there too actually as I left some earrings and they contacted me to let me know they had them safe...can't grumble at all :-)

Disliked: Having to leave...?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two of us had a fantastic weekend stay here, the breakfast on offer is of high quality, the beds, bathrooms and rooms all really clean - you can even smell bleach walking down the corridors in the morning. Also they offer tea and coffee for free anytime of the day which is excellent for a late morning breakfast.

Disliked: One night we were coming back to our room when the receptionist (asain looking male) accused my friend of not staying in the hostel, even though he had a key card and identification. The receptionist even searched up our booking and said it was under 2 females which it wasn't ors they wouldn't of checked us both in the first place. So here he tried to accuse my friend of lieing, and when we both spoke to him, he was very abrupt and dominating. Not pleased at all I would recommend changing this member of staff because he really put a bad atmosphere on our stay here... Other than that everything was perfect!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 January 2015

Liked: It's central location.

Disliked: The rooms were unbearably cold and residents were making many complaints regarding that situation. The girl on the reception desk provided me with a small fan heater after I complained bitterly about the cold. The funiture in the common area/s was torn, tattered and grimey. Sofa and chair soft coverings shredded with the foam visible, table-tops worn and dirty and so-on. The food provided for the free breakfast was good, but the lay out of the kitchen help-yourself area was very poor and no trays were provided to carry food to your table. The self-catering kitchen was one of the best that I have seen and it was clean with new tables and chairs. At the time of leaving NO ATTEMPT HAD BEEN MADE TO IMPROVE THE HEATING SITUATION.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jing Yi Chua

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015 Jing Yi would recommend this property

Liked: I like the daily movie night at 9pm. Very near to the airport. -- by taking the bus from the airport, it is only a few stops. approximately 20-30min to the airport.

Disliked: There is no personal locker in the room. Also, the wifi is only available at the reception area/ ground area. The kitchen is really small. It is quite a distance from the main shopping area/ Temple Bar. (similar walking distance as to Four Courts Hostel to the main shopping area, i stayed at Four Courts hostel on my previous visit to Dublin)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It entered into the Christmas spirit,better breakfasts than usual

Disliked: Internet only on ground floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ana maria lopez

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2014 ana maria would recommend this property

Liked: Was a very good stay

Disliked: ana maria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cool staff.

Disliked: Lack of cleanness in bathrooms and showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff

Disliked: Spotty wi-fi, shower that doesn't drain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large building with lift, friendly staff

Disliked: Shower, drainage issue

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Gambrell

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, free breakfast, close to shopping centers, no curfew

Disliked: Thin pillows, building across the street had a bell continuously ringing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mateusz Banasiak

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: little choice during breakfast WIFI bad signal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessalyn Teoh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Jessalyn would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is at a convenient location, right across the bus stop. Also, there are many facilities like sauna, movie night, free breakfast and tv included in the room.

Disliked: There is wifi in the common area but not inside the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large hostel with good services. Kitchen area was nice but could get crowded at times. Had a little rooftop area that seemed to close too early. A little far from the main sites of Dublin but you could still walk to them all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It offers loads of freebies as breakfast and the walking tour that was excellent, the room was spacious and clean and the location was good as well.

Disliked: My only concern is about the staffs that were not really friendly and open to questions.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: A relatively cheap bed near the train and bus stations.

Disliked: The staff was rude, our reservations got completely screwed up and no one helped us, and the wifi is bad.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013

Liked: If you take train or busaras, location is pretty good

Disliked: Hostel is quite big, so too many people stay there. Very noisy and some staffs are sometimes not that kind to deal with many people. We can't use hairdryer in the bathroom. Some people use that in the hallway. Comepared to guests, dinning room and kichen are too small

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013

Liked: Common room was comfortable enough for a nap while waiting for check in. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Where do I start? I can't believe this hostel is so well reviewed - it's one of my least favourite in 7 months of travelling. The dorms were so squashed together, there was no room to place luggage (except for in the lockers, of course, but they're two stories below my dorm, past several obnoxious keycard doors - not exactly convenient). Guests also have to pay for the lockers, which might be understandable if they weren't so inconveniently located. There was only one powerpoint in the 10-person dorm and it was located right behind the bunk bed frame, meaning I had to bother the bunkmate and move the entire bunk to use it. Not enough powerpoints in the common room for all the guests, so that's not an option either. Wifi is only available in the common area, but the router simply could not keep up with the amount of people using it at peak times leaving the internet unusable. I had to continually ask the reception staff to reset the router. They know it's an issue - why not get more routers to service all the guests!? Similarly, breakfast (though a decent spread) can't handle the numbers of guests. There aren't enough chairs or room to maneuvre around them. Breakfast isn't on very long in the morning either, so simply waiting for the crowd to die down isn't an option. What else...? Ah, bathrooms! The shower had a great "water-saving" feature which turned it off every 20 - 40 seconds. Unfortunately, every time you restart the shower the water is icy-cold. I've had better showers in remote parts of Bolivia. If the hostel would like to save water, perhaps instead they could replace the faucets which shot water out with more pressure than your average fireman's hose. Toothpaste was blasted off the brush and left me with embarrassingly sprayed crotch to boot. Only one of the four taps in the bathroom was usable for anything other than pressure-cleaning. Like I said, I can't understand the overwhelmingly positive reviews this hostel has. My experience was almost laughably bad.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ensuite services which provided easy access to the toilets and showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel to stay at! It's big but it has a great atmosphere. Awesome staff that's very helpful. Big common room and reception area to meet people in. It's in a good location near the center of the city. Also right next to the bus station. I would recommend this property to anybody, I will be staying again here in the future.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet House

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Efficiency, great 'vibe', clean, organized, friendly

Disliked: No complaints

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven meynen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly staff, good value for money

Disliked: breakfastroom too small and the breakfast is poor

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katarzyna Martowlos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, free walk tour.

Disliked: Lockers did not look safe enough.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Jones

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is wonderful, and the hostel staff are always a pleasure to work with.

Disliked: As a regular user of Jacobs inn, I would really appreciate discounts in exchange for consistent custom. However I appreciate that this is not always possible, and would criticise the hostel for it, as it is very reasonably priced!

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels