HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

Showing 71-80 of 118 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very close to center. the free walking tour was awesome...definitely do that if you choose to stay at Jacobs, Isaacs, or Abbey's Court - they work together.

Disliked: they offered many free events to do together to meet people at the hostel. there wasn't much of a common room so it was hard to socialize with people. comforters were not washed...was expecting to have a sheet to use along with the comforter but there was not one.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your nice comments. We are getting new duvets (comforters) which will improve this. We are always happy to give out extra sheets so all you need to do is ask us.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was very safe and was able to be independent and not have to follow certain times.

Disliked: Nothing, was good for the money i spent

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments - do come back - we like guest like you!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location (right next to main bus station), friendly staff (typical Irish hospitality), large en suite bathroom

Disliked: no locker within room for personal stuff, eur2 charge for locker after check-out

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we have to charge for the locker storage but you can leave it there all day after check out. Don't forget we offer free WIFI and Free Breakfast so we have to charge for something.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and perfect location, near bus and train station and town centre

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your comments.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Always helpful staff. No curfew. Good breakfast, considering price. Free Wifi in the lobby. Clean, spacious and working kitchen. Reasonable bathroom and large bedroom (we had an 8-bed dorm)- we were by no means cramped!

Disliked: No shower mat in the bathroom. Wifi didn't quite reach the room (a minor grumble!).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you great comments. I don't think we could have a shower mat in the bathroom in the dorms as with 8 people showering every day it wouldn't be nice if you were number 8!! We can't have wifi in the rooms - the tapping of the keyboard would drive the other guests crazy! - There is method to our madness.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping

Liked: The Staff is extremely helpful

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your nice comment about the staff.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the train station. Decent wifi. Decent breakfast, gets VERY busy!

Disliked: Pillows are really flat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't like the pillows. You should have told us and we would have got you a different one. Do come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, great location, free wifi downstairs, great pub crawl, and well-described online

Disliked: They don't wash the comforters, just your sheets, so mine had a slight smell. Also, have to pay extra for towels

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great Feedback thanks - The comforters I presume you mean blankets? These are cleaned reguarly when required but we will certainly check to see if any need attention !

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Everythinh

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Good and Good !

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: The hostel had no atmosphere, the room was quite smelly and stuffy, and there were weird details like no plug sockets in the bedrooms or bathrooms.


The property's response is

So sorry that you did n't find us to your liking . We do work quite hard on social events and customer service to create a good atmosphere . There are plugs in all rooms not sure why you could n't find unless they were all in use.The rooms are cleaned daily and aired I wonder was it a rare & hot Dublin day which contributed to stuffiness? Please do make contact if you back in Dublin with renata @isaacs.ie and we will ensure you are looked after .

Check Availability