HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 85%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.15USD
  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 85%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 87%

Showing 71-38 of 38 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the train station. Decent wifi. Decent breakfast, gets VERY busy!

Disliked: Pillows are really flat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't like the pillows. You should have told us and we would have got you a different one. Do come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, great location, free wifi downstairs, great pub crawl, and well-described online

Disliked: They don't wash the comforters, just your sheets, so mine had a slight smell. Also, have to pay extra for towels

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great Feedback thanks - The comforters I presume you mean blankets? These are cleaned reguarly when required but we will certainly check to see if any need attention !

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Everythinh

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Good and Good !

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: The hostel had no atmosphere, the room was quite smelly and stuffy, and there were weird details like no plug sockets in the bedrooms or bathrooms.


The property's response is

So sorry that you did n't find us to your liking . We do work quite hard on social events and customer service to create a good atmosphere . There are plugs in all rooms not sure why you could n't find unless they were all in use.The rooms are cleaned daily and aired I wonder was it a rare & hot Dublin day which contributed to stuffiness? Please do make contact if you back in Dublin with renata @isaacs.ie and we will ensure you are looked after .

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were a little apprehensive walking into the hostel but as soon as we walked through the doors the staff were welcoming. We had a mix up with the price that was easily solved and the staff encouraged us to participate in their pub crawl. We were made to feel very welcome. We got into our room and it was obvious everyone was comfortable and trusting of their fellow roommates due to things lying around. We went down to look around and were spoke to by two groups (everyone was friendly!!). When entering our room later on, everyone was talking and welcomed us into their conversations. The self catering kitchen was fully equipped and a friendly atmosphere. The wifi was very fast and efficient. I wish we could of stayed longer, and would definitely reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: It's location was a little out of the way from the student nightlife, but that's something that can be researched better before booking! It's very near O'Connell Street though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great comments - Our locaton is very handy to Bus Rail and Luas with taxi rank outside the hostel AND our local staff will be happy to give shortcuts to student night life( which they seem to know a lot about !! ) ll

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property was well located and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: No

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a million !

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Surprisingly nice place for a tenner. I was only there for a night so cannot really say much about the service. The staffs are really nice though. Cleanness is really good

Disliked: the location is a bit far from the central zone. it is about 30 mins walk from Waveley Train station. It would be fine normally but when walking with your full luggage on your back in crowded Edinburgh is a bit tricky.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

You mentioned Waverly -were you in Edinburgh??This is Jacobs Inn Dublin ! and we are only 3 minutes from the station - But thanks for your nice comments !!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: perfect hostel, with great stuff, very clean and great value for money

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability