HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.26USD
  • Towel 2.26USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 92%

Showing 61-36 of 36 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location (right next to main bus station), friendly staff (typical Irish hospitality), large en suite bathroom

Disliked: no locker within room for personal stuff, eur2 charge for locker after check-out

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we have to charge for the locker storage but you can leave it there all day after check out. Don't forget we offer free WIFI and Free Breakfast so we have to charge for something.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and perfect location, near bus and train station and town centre

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your comments.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Always helpful staff. No curfew. Good breakfast, considering price. Free Wifi in the lobby. Clean, spacious and working kitchen. Reasonable bathroom and large bedroom (we had an 8-bed dorm)- we were by no means cramped!

Disliked: No shower mat in the bathroom. Wifi didn't quite reach the room (a minor grumble!).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you great comments. I don't think we could have a shower mat in the bathroom in the dorms as with 8 people showering every day it wouldn't be nice if you were number 8!! We can't have wifi in the rooms - the tapping of the keyboard would drive the other guests crazy! - There is method to our madness.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping

Liked: The Staff is extremely helpful

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your nice comment about the staff.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the train station. Decent wifi. Decent breakfast, gets VERY busy!

Disliked: Pillows are really flat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't like the pillows. You should have told us and we would have got you a different one. Do come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, great location, free wifi downstairs, great pub crawl, and well-described online

Disliked: They don't wash the comforters, just your sheets, so mine had a slight smell. Also, have to pay extra for towels

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great Feedback thanks - The comforters I presume you mean blankets? These are cleaned reguarly when required but we will certainly check to see if any need attention !

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Everythinh

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Good and Good !

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: The hostel had no atmosphere, the room was quite smelly and stuffy, and there were weird details like no plug sockets in the bedrooms or bathrooms.


The property's response is

So sorry that you did n't find us to your liking . We do work quite hard on social events and customer service to create a good atmosphere . There are plugs in all rooms not sure why you could n't find unless they were all in use.The rooms are cleaned daily and aired I wonder was it a rare & hot Dublin day which contributed to stuffiness? Please do make contact if you back in Dublin with renata @isaacs.ie and we will ensure you are looked after .

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were a little apprehensive walking into the hostel but as soon as we walked through the doors the staff were welcoming. We had a mix up with the price that was easily solved and the staff encouraged us to participate in their pub crawl. We were made to feel very welcome. We got into our room and it was obvious everyone was comfortable and trusting of their fellow roommates due to things lying around. We went down to look around and were spoke to by two groups (everyone was friendly!!). When entering our room later on, everyone was talking and welcomed us into their conversations. The self catering kitchen was fully equipped and a friendly atmosphere. The wifi was very fast and efficient. I wish we could of stayed longer, and would definitely reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: It's location was a little out of the way from the student nightlife, but that's something that can be researched better before booking! It's very near O'Connell Street though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great comments - Our locaton is very handy to Bus Rail and Luas with taxi rank outside the hostel AND our local staff will be happy to give shortcuts to student night life( which they seem to know a lot about !! ) ll

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property was well located and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability