HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 51-60 of 118 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, breakfast, free walk tour.

Disliked: Lockers did not look safe enough.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We don't really have any problems with the lockers and safety issues. We also operate CCTV and the key card system helps prevent any unwanted intruders. Security is high on our list of priorities.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The atmosphere is wonderful, and the hostel staff are always a pleasure to work with.

Disliked: As a regular user of Jacobs inn, I would really appreciate discounts in exchange for consistent custom. However I appreciate that this is not always possible, and would criticise the hostel for it, as it is very reasonably priced!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We take your comments on board about a regular user discount and we will definitely bring this up at our next marketing meeting. We do offer a long term guest rate and a weekly rate but that not might suit you and by and large most of our guest are passing through on trips to Europe, backpacker tours etc so we don't have a huge amount of repeat visitors so it has never cropped up. but we will look at it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Great price and very central!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much - we love reviews like yours!!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were excellent and very friendly. In fact I ended up chatting to two of them a number of times.

Disliked: The location, although being close to most things, is not in a nice area. having said that, most of the Dublin hostels aren't far from here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review - glad you liked the hostel. I wouldn't worry about the location - we are close to train, bus and luas lines and only a few minutes from O'Connell Street. As you say a lot of hostels and hostels are in this area.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Efficiency, great 'vibe', clean, organized, friendly

Disliked: No complaints

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review - so glad you liked Jacobs Inn.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large hostel with good services. Kitchen area was nice but could get crowded at times. Had a little rooftop area that seemed to close too early. A little far from the main sites of Dublin but you could still walk to them all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review Jacobs Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hard-boiled eggs at breakfast. Cheap (for Dublin).

Disliked: Way too many people for the size of the common rooms. Wifi is only in the lobby and it is SUPER SUPER slow. No lockers in the dorms. Not the most central location.


The property's response is

Sorry you found the wifi slow - with so many of our guests downloading films etc it can sometimes slow things down. We are working on improving it but its hard to find a provider to give us exactly what we need. I have to disagree about the location though - with the bus, train and luas just outside the door, no other hostel in Dublin has such a good location and O'Connell Street is only a 5 minute walk and it is the exact centre of the city. I suppose it depends on where you want to get to.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We love reviews like yours - please come again.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well-located, clean.

Disliked: Not a great common area to meet people. There were many school groups, families, etc. so it was difficult to meet other backpackers due to a lack of space.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you liked the hostel. I think our other hostel Isaacs Hostel is possibly better for meeting other backpackers - so next time.

Check Availability