HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.25USD
  • Towel 2.25USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

Showing 51-37 of 37 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well-located, clean.

Disliked: Not a great common area to meet people. There were many school groups, families, etc. so it was difficult to meet other backpackers due to a lack of space.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you liked the hostel. I think our other hostel Isaacs Hostel is possibly better for meeting other backpackers - so next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very good

Disliked: very good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your short but concise review - do come again.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I stayed here because I wanted a hostel in walking distance of the O2 because I was attending a show there, and this hostel definitely delivered on that. The staff was really friendly and I liked that there was some sort of breakfast included and that there were breakfast attendants.

Disliked: Other than being close to the O2 (and even then it was at least a 15 minute walk) I wouldn't recommend this hostel based on location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We are actually the closest hostel to the O2 - the Luas tram goes outside the door and takes about 5 minutes. But we are the most centrally located hostel in Dublin (along with Isaacs Hostel) - we are beside the bus stop (from the airport) and the Luas (Tram) and the dart and train station (Connolly) and O'Connell street is only a 5 minute walk away. You can't get better than that really.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: The rooms were far less nice than they appear in the picture. I stayed in the 12 bed dorm for 5 nights and I found the cleanliness wasn't the best. Overall though the hostel was decent.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are freshening up some of the bedrooms that might need it - I think you must have been one of these. Although they are cleaned daily I think a lick of paint will improve everything.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and safe.

Disliked: Poor breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you liked the hostel. Do remember that the breakfast is a free light breakfast we offer. Bigger breakfasts would mean higher prices and we don't want to do this. But we do have a self-catering kitchen if you need to prepare meals.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice bathroom (private), great organisation and decoration. Hair dryers available :) and very helpful staff

Disliked: Quite normal breakfast, the bed made too much noise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed our hostel. The breakfast is a free light breakfast - nothing more. We will have to look into the noisy bed- perhaps there is something loose.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good facilities, great layout, very friendly and helpful staff and good atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing, all was brilliant.....Except for leaving my coat in the hostel.


The property's response is

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super friendly and gave me all important stuff about the hostel as soon as i checked in and the rooms were clean and big and great value for what you pay. Close to the O2 which is why i was in Dublin and so easy to get to public transport and within walking distance to the city centre - totally happy and the offer a pub crawl every night and checking in and out was a total breeze

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the hostel. PLease come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Staff, facilities, location

Disliked: A faulty/ wasteful hot-water faucet (room 217 - it can get hung up) and semi-clogged shower drain.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback - delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks too for reporting a fault- we will get our maintenance staff onto it right away.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very close to the bus station to get to the airport.

Disliked: There were always a bunch of taxi drivers parked right outside and a lot of people hanging around outside. It seemed kind of intimidating. I wouldn't have felt safe walking around by myself as a girl.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for our feedback. Taxi drivers in Dublin are an institution - they know everything about the city and tend to be very friendly - its also good for the early morning taxi rides to the airport before the busses start.

Check Availability