HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 87%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.27USD
  • Towel 2.27USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 87%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 92%

Showing 51-36 of 36 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and safe.

Disliked: Poor breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you liked the hostel. Do remember that the breakfast is a free light breakfast we offer. Bigger breakfasts would mean higher prices and we don't want to do this. But we do have a self-catering kitchen if you need to prepare meals.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice bathroom (private), great organisation and decoration. Hair dryers available :) and very helpful staff

Disliked: Quite normal breakfast, the bed made too much noise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed our hostel. The breakfast is a free light breakfast - nothing more. We will have to look into the noisy bed- perhaps there is something loose.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good facilities, great layout, very friendly and helpful staff and good atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing, all was brilliant.....Except for leaving my coat in the hostel.


The property's response is

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super friendly and gave me all important stuff about the hostel as soon as i checked in and the rooms were clean and big and great value for what you pay. Close to the O2 which is why i was in Dublin and so easy to get to public transport and within walking distance to the city centre - totally happy and the offer a pub crawl every night and checking in and out was a total breeze

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the hostel. PLease come again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Staff, facilities, location

Disliked: A faulty/ wasteful hot-water faucet (room 217 - it can get hung up) and semi-clogged shower drain.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback - delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks too for reporting a fault- we will get our maintenance staff onto it right away.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very close to the bus station to get to the airport.

Disliked: There were always a bunch of taxi drivers parked right outside and a lot of people hanging around outside. It seemed kind of intimidating. I wouldn't have felt safe walking around by myself as a girl.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for our feedback. Taxi drivers in Dublin are an institution - they know everything about the city and tend to be very friendly - its also good for the early morning taxi rides to the airport before the busses start.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff were really helpful with directions, advice etc. the location is great right by the Busarus station and a very short walk to the main streets and temple bar area

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed the hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very close to center. the free walking tour was awesome...definitely do that if you choose to stay at Jacobs, Isaacs, or Abbey's Court - they work together.

Disliked: they offered many free events to do together to meet people at the hostel. there wasn't much of a common room so it was hard to socialize with people. comforters were not washed...was expecting to have a sheet to use along with the comforter but there was not one.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your nice comments. We are getting new duvets (comforters) which will improve this. We are always happy to give out extra sheets so all you need to do is ask us.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was very safe and was able to be independent and not have to follow certain times.

Disliked: Nothing, was good for the money i spent

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments - do come back - we like guest like you!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location (right next to main bus station), friendly staff (typical Irish hospitality), large en suite bathroom

Disliked: no locker within room for personal stuff, eur2 charge for locker after check-out

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we have to charge for the locker storage but you can leave it there all day after check out. Don't forget we offer free WIFI and Free Breakfast so we have to charge for something.

Check Availability