HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 85%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.15USD
  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 85%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 87%

Showing 41-38 of 38 reviews

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Common room was comfortable enough for a nap while waiting for check in. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Where do I start? I can't believe this hostel is so well reviewed - it's one of my least favourite in 7 months of travelling.The dorms were so squashed together, there was no room to place luggage (except for in the lockers, of course, but they're two stories below my dorm, past several obnoxious keycard doors - not exactly convenient). Guests also have to pay for the lockers, which might be understandable if they weren't so inconveniently located.There was only one powerpoint in the 10-person dorm and it was located right behind the bunk bed frame, meaning I had to bother the bunkmate and move the entire bunk to use it. Not enough powerpoints in the common room for all the guests, so that's not an option either.Wifi is only available in the common area, but the router simply could not keep up with the amount of people using it at peak times leaving the internet unusable. I had to continually ask the reception staff to reset the router. They know it's an issue - why not get more routers to service all the guests!?Similarly, breakfast (though a decent spread) can't handle the numbers of guests. There aren't enough chairs or room to maneuvre around them. Breakfast isn't on very long in the morning either, so simply waiting for the crowd to die down isn't an option.What else...? Ah, bathrooms! The shower had a great "water-saving" feature which turned it off every 20 - 40 seconds. Unfortunately, every time you restart the shower the water is icy-cold. I've had better showers in remote parts of Bolivia.If the hostel would like to save water, perhaps instead they could replace the faucets which shot water out with more pressure than your average fireman's hose. Toothpaste was blasted off the brush and left me with embarrassingly sprayed crotch to boot. Only one of the four taps in the bathroom was usable for anything other than pressure-cleaning.Like I said, I can't understand the overwhelmingly positive reviews this hostel has. My experience was almost laughably bad.


The property's response is

Wow - this is possibly the worst review we have received in months - I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are looking into the showers to see how we can improve the length of time the water stays on for - it's not actually as simple as it looks. The problem with the free internet is that guests are downloading movies all the time and using up the bandwidth and no new routers can handle this kind of traffic - other hostels limit the amount of time you have but we would prefer not.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I liked the ensuite services which provided easy access to the toilets and showers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So glad you liked the hostel. - Do come again. We love guests like you.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A great hostel to stay at! It's big but it has a great atmosphere. Awesome staff that's very helpful. Big common room and reception area to meet people in. It's in a good location near the center of the city. Also right next to the bus station. I would recommend this property to anybody, I will be staying again here in the future.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Fantastic review - thank you so much - do come and stay with us again.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very clean, friendly staff, good value for money

Disliked: breakfastroom too small and the breakfast is poor

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We do have a second room for breakfast but for some reason people prefer to crowd into the first one. Breakfast is free of charge so it is just a light breakfast we offer of cereal, toast, tea coffee and juice. Speaking to our guests we find that the majority would prefer to have a light free breakfast rather than pay for a more substantial one. Sorry.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, breakfast, free walk tour.

Disliked: Lockers did not look safe enough.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We don't really have any problems with the lockers and safety issues. We also operate CCTV and the key card system helps prevent any unwanted intruders. Security is high on our list of priorities.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The atmosphere is wonderful, and the hostel staff are always a pleasure to work with.

Disliked: As a regular user of Jacobs inn, I would really appreciate discounts in exchange for consistent custom. However I appreciate that this is not always possible, and would criticise the hostel for it, as it is very reasonably priced!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We take your comments on board about a regular user discount and we will definitely bring this up at our next marketing meeting. We do offer a long term guest rate and a weekly rate but that not might suit you and by and large most of our guest are passing through on trips to Europe, backpacker tours etc so we don't have a huge amount of repeat visitors so it has never cropped up. but we will look at it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Great price and very central!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much - we love reviews like yours!!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were excellent and very friendly. In fact I ended up chatting to two of them a number of times.

Disliked: The location, although being close to most things, is not in a nice area. having said that, most of the Dublin hostels aren't far from here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review - glad you liked the hostel. I wouldn't worry about the location - we are close to train, bus and luas lines and only a few minutes from O'Connell Street. As you say a lot of hostels and hostels are in this area.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Efficiency, great 'vibe', clean, organized, friendly

Disliked: No complaints

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review - so glad you liked Jacobs Inn.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large hostel with good services. Kitchen area was nice but could get crowded at times. Had a little rooftop area that seemed to close too early. A little far from the main sites of Dublin but you could still walk to them all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review Jacobs Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Check Availability