HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.34USD
  • Towel 2.34USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 92%

Showing 41-37 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Efficiency, great 'vibe', clean, organized, friendly

Disliked: No complaints

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review - so glad you liked Jacobs Inn.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large hostel with good services. Kitchen area was nice but could get crowded at times. Had a little rooftop area that seemed to close too early. A little far from the main sites of Dublin but you could still walk to them all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review Jacobs Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hard-boiled eggs at breakfast. Cheap (for Dublin).

Disliked: Way too many people for the size of the common rooms. Wifi is only in the lobby and it is SUPER SUPER slow. No lockers in the dorms. Not the most central location.


The property's response is

Sorry you found the wifi slow - with so many of our guests downloading films etc it can sometimes slow things down. We are working on improving it but its hard to find a provider to give us exactly what we need. I have to disagree about the location though - with the bus, train and luas just outside the door, no other hostel in Dublin has such a good location and O'Connell Street is only a 5 minute walk and it is the exact centre of the city. I suppose it depends on where you want to get to.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We love reviews like yours - please come again.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well-located, clean.

Disliked: Not a great common area to meet people. There were many school groups, families, etc. so it was difficult to meet other backpackers due to a lack of space.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you liked the hostel. I think our other hostel Isaacs Hostel is possibly better for meeting other backpackers - so next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very good

Disliked: very good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your short but concise review - do come again.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I stayed here because I wanted a hostel in walking distance of the O2 because I was attending a show there, and this hostel definitely delivered on that. The staff was really friendly and I liked that there was some sort of breakfast included and that there were breakfast attendants.

Disliked: Other than being close to the O2 (and even then it was at least a 15 minute walk) I wouldn't recommend this hostel based on location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We are actually the closest hostel to the O2 - the Luas tram goes outside the door and takes about 5 minutes. But we are the most centrally located hostel in Dublin (along with Isaacs Hostel) - we are beside the bus stop (from the airport) and the Luas (Tram) and the dart and train station (Connolly) and O'Connell street is only a 5 minute walk away. You can't get better than that really.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: The rooms were far less nice than they appear in the picture. I stayed in the 12 bed dorm for 5 nights and I found the cleanliness wasn't the best. Overall though the hostel was decent.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are freshening up some of the bedrooms that might need it - I think you must have been one of these. Although they are cleaned daily I think a lick of paint will improve everything.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and safe.

Disliked: Poor breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you liked the hostel. Do remember that the breakfast is a free light breakfast we offer. Bigger breakfasts would mean higher prices and we don't want to do this. But we do have a self-catering kitchen if you need to prepare meals.

Check Availability