HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Cots available
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.44USD
  • Towel 2.44USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 37 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Hostel staff on arrival especially Barbara, were very helpful and polite, the rooms are clean and tidy and the location is ideal for central Dublin.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was great and location was center of town right next to tram or could walk anywhere.

Disliked: There is a lot of youngsters at this hostel, as in high school age.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: wonderful kitchen and great entertainment areas, lively and friendly atmosphere, clean

Disliked: You had to pay/rent lockers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is fantastic, staff are really helpful, price is unbeatable especially given the cleanliness of the place too, space in the room I stayed in was more than brilliant. Honesty of the staff and customers there too actually as I left some earrings and they contacted me to let me know they had them safe...can't grumble at all :-)

Disliked: Having to leave...?

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The two of us had a fantastic weekend stay here, the breakfast on offer is of high quality, the beds, bathrooms and rooms all really clean - you can even smell bleach walking down the corridors in the morning. Also they offer tea and coffee for free anytime of the day which is excellent for a late morning breakfast.

Disliked: One night we were coming back to our room when the receptionist (asain looking male) accused my friend of not staying in the hostel, even though he had a key card and identification. The receptionist even searched up our booking and said it was under 2 females which it wasn't ors they wouldn't of checked us both in the first place. So here he tried to accuse my friend of lieing, and when we both spoke to him, he was very abrupt and dominating. Not pleased at all I would recommend changing this member of staff because he really put a bad atmosphere on our stay here... Other than that everything was perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's central location.

Disliked: The rooms were unbearably cold and residents were making many complaints regarding that situation. The girl on the reception desk provided me with a small fan heater after I complained bitterly about the cold. The funiture in the common area/s was torn, tattered and grimey. Sofa and chair soft coverings shredded with the foam visible, table-tops worn and dirty and so-on.The food provided for the free breakfast was good, but the lay out of the kitchen help-yourself area was very poor and no trays were provided to carry food to your table.The self-catering kitchen was one of the best that I have seen and it was clean with new tables and chairs.At the time of leaving NO ATTEMPT HAD BEEN MADE TO IMPROVE THE HEATING SITUATION.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It entered into the Christmas spirit,better breakfasts than usual

Disliked: Internet only on ground floor

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the daily movie night at 9pm.Very near to the airport. -- by taking the bus from the airport, it is only a few stops. approximately 20-30min to the airport.

Disliked: There is no personal locker in the room. Also, the wifi is only available at the reception area/ ground area.The kitchen is really small.It is quite a distance from the main shopping area/ Temple Bar. (similar walking distance as to Four Courts Hostel to the main shopping area, i stayed at Four Courts hostel on my previous visit to Dublin)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and cool staff.

Disliked: Lack of cleanness in bathrooms and showers.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, staff

Disliked: Spotty wi-fi, shower that doesn't drain

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability