HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jacobs Inn Dublin Hostel

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 85%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.13USD
  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 85%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 87%

Showing 91-38 of 38 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very helpful personnel. Lucian is the best receptionist ever. Always smiling and efficiently solving problems.

Disliked: Room ventilation.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast is good considering that the dorm was so cheap, coffee/tea, juice, toasts, cereals as much as you want to drink/eat. Coffee is free all day. HUGE kitchen. The hostel is very near the bus- and train stations.

Disliked: The locker for backpack costs 2 e/day + 10 e deposit. I didn't realise that before I came, so that added 2 e for the daily price. The staff were very helpful when I wanted to know something, but the atmosphere is kinda cold and the hostel staff didn't even say hello when entering (although the hostel is so big that I understand that in some way). In my opinion, the beds were quite uncomfortable. We shared a bathroom with 12 people, so it got really dirty sometimes and people left (and forgot behind) their hygiene stuff and the bathroom was full of them. Sometimes it was difficult in the morning when you had to wait others to take shower. There are toilets on the hallway as well, but I didn't find showers. I'm not sure about the safety, they have surveillance cameras but whoever can enter without much controlling.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, right near the bus station and in a quieter area. Comfy bed and bathrooms pretty good too.

Disliked: Really big, kinda bland. Not a great atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel is very well located close to that big metal spike, and there's also a supermarket a few hundred meters away. It has a nice terrace at the 4th floor and a games/TV room at the first floor. It was really nice and clean.

Disliked: The toasters took ages to actually toast the bread. There are no lockers in the rooms so if you book a bed in dorm it's not very safe to leave your stuff there.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was very safe and easy to find. I was impressed that it's really big hostel so it's almost like hotel. staffs were very kind. It has various programs - most of them are provided by Dublin city itself, still it was very useful.

Disliked: Kitchen appliances are too huge to cook for one person. Hobs are very week so it took ages to cook.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The kitchen facilities are good, there's free tea and coffee, and it's an okay location.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in rooms - NONE in the bathrooms. We had to check out before breakfast so we wanted to eat something in the kitchen before we left but it was closed (this is at 6.45am!). Drunk people came into our dorm throughout the night, turning on lights etc, and there's no way to really get assistance from the reception because the hostel is so big. We were also told the airport bus starts from 7am and purchased tickets for this, we then had to get a refund because the staff member was wrong and this service started at 7.30am (too late for us to make check-in). We had to pay for a cab instead.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First of all the staff was really nice and helpful. Then there is a daily free city tour (well at the end you will be asked for a small tip, but that is ok). Don't expect a normal, boring tour. It is the absolute opposite and it was a lot of fun.Furthermore they offer free Sauna once a week. What especially my finish colleges really enjoyed.The room was clean so as the bathroom and the beds were quite comfortable (none of these beds was sagging in the middle).It is a manageable walking distance away from the Temple Bar, Trinity College and all the other attractions on the south side.And since we had to leave very early, we got the breakfast on the arrival day and they even organised us a shuttle bus to the airport for 6€.

Disliked: They were running out of free city maps. Beside that it was really worth the price.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a private twin room which had everything just the way we needed. A terrace for smokers was 5 steps away so that was a plus for my friend and it was fairly quiet during the night. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was just enough to get you going.

Disliked: The only two things that bothered me was the fact that WiFi is only in the lobby and we were on the fourth floor and the room doors close pretty noisy so it can bother people with light sleep when everyone starts coming back from their night out. But those two things are small minuses. All in all very satisfied. :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location, very easy to get into the main part of the city!! The pub crawl they offer is a 'good crack' as the irish say!!

Disliked: Atmosphere isn't that great to be able to meet and mingle with other travellers, but again get on the pub crawl and that's all sorted!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location, big dorm, very comfortable bed, sweet red linen, clean bathroom, enormous kitchen, everything was nice and pleasant. I wish I stayed there longer! :)

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability