We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

79.1% Overall Rating

963 out of 1089 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Thomas Roberts thinks…

"It was a moderately warm day in Dublin as I stepped off the bus from the airport. Laden with awkward luggage I prepared myself for inevitable despair after wandering for minutes longer that my plump…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
41.69 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Maple Hotel
32.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
63.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
76.97 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
19.24 USD

Hostel 84.3% 281 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
29.51 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
The Holyhead
22.45 USD

Hostel 75.2% 69 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
63.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

963 out of 1089 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 755 of 1040 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was awesome. And fellow guests were quite nice.

Disliked: Bunk beds were okay, but if anyone moved, the other occupant moved also.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chihhsiang chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014 chihhsiang would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD

Disliked: GOOD

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Roberts

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It was a moderately warm day in Dublin as I stepped off the bus from the airport. Laden with awkward luggage I prepared myself for inevitable despair after wandering for minutes longer that my plump self could take. When lo! there was the hostel, around the corner from where I stumbled off the bus. I thought to myself, 'If I were religious, I would find something providential in the name "Abraham" hostel!". Jet-lagged after the long-flight from London, I was eager rest my weary head. Imagine my shock when I was told check-in was at two! Two! Four hours away! I collected myself and begrudgingly sat on the Ikea sofas in the foyer. Despite smelling like a junior school sports hall and stale biscuits, they were gloriously comfortable and I fell asleep immediately. My military trained body-clock woke me up at 1:55 and I collected the dorm key and the bedding (Although you have to put the bedding on yourself, I quite enjoyed the feeling of solidarity with my fellow traveler. It was like an old fashioned cooperative or socialist commune. Jamestown without the suicide pact) and headed up to the room. Each bunk has its own plug sockets and light, great for reading your joke books late at night when everyone else is sleeping after a heavy day of sightseeing. The kitchen was situated in what can only be described as an underground bunker. All cooking equipment and modcons were of a good standard if you like that sort of thing (personally, all I need is a plate and two knives, one to spread the butter on my crackers and another, sharper one to cut thin slices of brie without squishing the notoriously soft cheese. The hostel is 24 hours so if like me you're partial to a tobacco roll-up you're in the right place. Whilst I'm sure the staff are all very nice, I just can't disassociate their accents from that of Bernard Black (played by the extremely versatile Dylan Moran), the protagonist of the smash-hit television show "Black Books". Bernard's cantankerousness has left me with an unfortunate prejudice and I can't help but think that everything the staff members say is delivered with a dose of Bernard's sarcastic - but grin-inducingly typical - enthusiasm. Hahahaha, I can't help but laugh as I recall my favourite episode. The one about the piano. A nugget of comedy gold in the otherwise desolate mine of contemporary post-Gervais humorous broadcasting. But I digress. Stay here if you are a budget traveler. It is: clean, 24h, friendly, and central.

Disliked: Due to my inability to structure my thoughts, the bad has been listed alongside - and in some sense to the effect of complimenting each other - in the above "What did you like about this property" comment box.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Bailey Shultz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Bailey would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location close to the airport shuttles, O'Connell Street and the Paddywagon tours office (which was essential for us since we were taking two tours with them). The front desk staff was friendly overall.

Disliked: The rooms are fairly clean, you have to put your own sheets on the bed which isn't a huge issue (at least you know they're clean). The showers could use some serious work (cleaning, enlarging, draining, etc) and the toilets never seem to want to flush in the rooms. However, this does seem to be an issue in the entire country, not just the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDDIE MCCRELLIS

As a family with children

City break

22 August 2014 EDDIE would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect and prices are very reasonable.. Rooms are clean and breakfast downstairs was a bonus..

Disliked: EDDIE left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can come and go when ever you want an you have a kitchen which you can use.

Disliked: The breakfast ist not so good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katy Rogers-Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: It was great value for money. Nothing special where the rooms were concerned but the linen was clean and the location is good, easy to find and close to the main drag on the north side of the river.

Disliked: The bathroom was tiny and not the best but a cleaner came round every day so it was kept well, and also it was so cheap that you can't complain.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was probably the best thing about the hostel and the friendliness of the staff. It's a lovely hostel, it's clean and basic but it's still great.The free breakfast every morning was great too!

Disliked: The kitchen facilities could've been better, the extremely small ensuite bathroom could be redone and there could've been a couple more plug sockets in the room but other than that the hostel was fantastic!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charles Strange

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Reception desk people know their stuff.

Disliked: Brewed coffee at breakfast. Instant is a no-no.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location staff eager to assist . Awsome breakfast just what you need to fuel the body for day of exploring Dublin looking for tgat 4 leaf clovef and your own leprechaun

Disliked: Stairs but staff carried my suitcase up for me

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, clean and with an excellent location. Felt very safe and had some funny quirks - like Mary Poppins suddenly on a wall. Simple but satisfactory breakfast. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Uncomfortable pillow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location

Disliked: The checking out time as too early at 10.30am

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. In a relatively quiet area, situated within comfortable walking distance of the bus/ railway stations, local amenities and city centre.Mattresses on beds were very comfy. Kitchen/ dining area was spacious with ample heating, and was naturally quite cool, which was greatly appreciated on this humid evening. Also the staff were very friendly and welcoming and they had nice comfortable couches in the communal area. Surprisingly not too noisy either.

Disliked: I got a half price deal so I would NEVER have paid the supposed usual price of 120 euro for our room. We had to make our own beds up. Not too much of a big deal, it was just cos it was so humid and we had a long day and just wanted to chill. Ensuite toilet was too small and even the kids had trouble manoeuvering in it. Toilet and sink were loose and wobbly. There was no air con, so room was very stuffy and humid, and we had trouble sleeping because the plastic coating on the mattresses made us feel even hotter and sticky. No tea/ coffee making facilities in room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Friendly and supportive staff. Lots of young people! Lockers. Skylights in my room.

Disliked: Minimal and monotonous breakfasts.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandra Ripanelli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and cheap price

Disliked: Alessandra left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, friendly atmosphere. Great breakfast, friendly staff. Had a great time. The hostel building is a bit shabby but it has heart and is functional.

Disliked: Wifi wasn't great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kimberly Grant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms, free breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: Difficult to share one bathroom in our room with 9 other girls and the showers themselves were really small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Fang Lin

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2014 Chun Fang would recommend this property

Liked: It is very convenient to move your big suitcases. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Disliked: The Wifi cannot be use at the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and wifi was a nice bonus. Easy 10-minute walk to most of Dublin's major attractions. Room was perfectly fine.

Disliked: Nothing specific - a perfectly good hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Lara

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 July 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent. The hostel was exceptionally clean, rooms were massive and the basic breakfast was very generous! Will definitely stay with them whenever I visit Dublin now. :-)

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a very friendly atmosphere about the guests. The beds are really good and the hostel is extremely secure. The breakfast is plentiful and the opening hours of the kitchen are very reasonable.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room

Disliked: Shower kept dripping all night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Emma Frost

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Where to start... Travelling with my boyfriend and had booked 2 beds in a 6 bed dorm about 4 months prior to staying. arrived well before check in to drop our bags and were told that we couldn't be in the same room, even though none of the other people in our rooms had checked in yet. We asked to change rooms 3 times and were told there was absolutely no room to move people around. Funny enough one of the beds in my room stayed empty all night! Extremely noisy with the staircase next to the room. Other guests were talking on their phones loudly in the room at 1.30am. Some of the staff were nice but others were extremely rude. Would not go back!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive room

Disliked: Nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels