HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

85.9% Overall Rating

869 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"For the price that I paid, the quality of the hostel far exceeded my expectations. There was hot water. Breakfast was simple but good. The eating area was clean. It was safe; nothing was stolen even though I stayed with…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
41.03 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 48 reviews
Maple Hotel
31.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
33.89 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 35 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
83.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
16.60 USD

Hostel 85.4% 256 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
25.36 USD

Hostel 72.0% 85 reviews
The Holyhead
20.75 USD

Hostel 77.8% 61 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
54.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

869 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 693 of 931 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Prizes

Disliked: It was very hard to sleep well ....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

janet chia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 janet would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! right at the airlink bus stop! clean linens provided. room is clean. toilet n wash facilities are clean. very near to all attractions. security is good. there are lockers provided at the ground floor for a small fee. vending machines for your late night hunger pangs. a very comfortable communal area for you to use free wifi n watch tv with comfy sofas. computer stations provided for a fee as well. kitchen for use. friendly staffs. breakfast is simple but satisfying. nth more to ask for.

Disliked: hmmm. the room key was abit hard to open the lock initially as it wasnt very well cut. but once u get the hang of it, u'll know how to open it quickly. cups at breakfast can be cleaner, but not a prob as u can just bring it to e sink for a rinse.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

YESSICA ARANDA GARCIA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 YESSICA would recommend this property

Liked: Cuentan con baño cada habitación, el desayuno es generoso, puedes hacer uso de la cocina, muy buena ubicación.

Disliked: Los baños no me parecierom tan limpios

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, price, clean, breakfast

Disliked: i hate to have to make up the bed when i arrive especially if it's late

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, laid back, people mixing and socialising in the common room, very welcoming place. Location very good, close to everything. Very very good price, you wouldn't find a cheeper/better place. Plus there was a hot blond working at reception ;)

Disliked: I was walking the corridors (which has a lot of fire doors, depending on where your room is) i glanced out one of the windows to which i saw a fully naked man in his room doing his morning stretches right by his window... i was not impressed, but however this is not their fault

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the breakfast and that it was available from 7.30 to 10.30. Also bed linen fresh and clean and nice atmosphere, loads of space in tv room/kitchen and free food area.

Disliked: Couches in hallways are a bit mangy and could do with a good clean or chucking out even!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tout

Disliked: rien a redire

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacalin Edgoose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Jacalin would recommend this property

Liked: Well seeing as i got it for $1.60 aus. it was pretty good value (thank you hostel bookers promo). the owner is really nice and friendly, the breakfast is substantial and coffee/tea and milk is avaliable in the kitchen all day.

Disliked: Was not the cleanist place, beds were pretty uncomfortable and they don't use electronic keys which is sort of a annoying because you have to drop your key in at reception everytime you leave and pick it up everytime you come back in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levi Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the free wifi :) i even got wifi in my room which was a bonus. The staff were pretty friendly ! and the night time dude, was super cool. The location is central only a short walk to the major attractions, overall for the price you pay and what you get makes this a good Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing that I didn't really like, however they do need more than one microwave !

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kathleen Burgess

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent breakfast, staff were able to answer questions well...

Disliked: For some reason the carpet was wet in part of the room... And didn't dry at all...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: Not a bit. Wonder how the place could pass fire regulations.

Disliked: Already said above.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012

Liked: Flughafenbus direkt vor der Haustür

Disliked: sehr unfreundliche Mitarbeiter, vor 14:00 Uhr durfte aus Prinzip keiner in sein Zimmer, obwohl diese schon fertig waren. Zu der Zeit Renovierungsarbeiten im Eingangsbereich und somit nicht nutzbar. Zimmer alt und unser Teppichboden war nass (was auch immer das war). Lage auch nicht optimal, Temple Bar zu weit entfernt

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room with ensuite, it was clean, the hostel was quiet and we would recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BOSTAN ELENA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 BOSTAN would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, the fact that there were many facilities in the kitchen and that they could offer you many information regarding the city. You could also take from them cards with many discounts to the museums.

Disliked: They did not have tables and closet in every private room with bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic but satisfactory

Disliked: One theft, rooms were too hot

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 May 2012

Liked: close to the bus stop on O'Connell

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great. Location couldn't have been better!

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, also you had to leave the key at reception every time you went out, which was a little inconvenient.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you get what you pay for.

Disliked: could have been cleaner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda-lee McColl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Amanda-lee would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a very good value for the money. Its clean and centrally located to most of Dublins tourist sttractions. The facilities and the breakfast on offer was really good.

Disliked: The last night we were staying there a group of boys decided to run up and downt the hallways for several hours knocking on every single door. Wen I went and complained about it to the frint desk he just shrugged his shoulder and went back to the computer which I found very rude.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: needs to be updated and more access to wifi

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012

Liked: Kind staff and good price, nice suprise on the breakfest time (not only toasts ;-))

Disliked: Huge building with lots of weirdos,not really safety place,it would be better to have more showers in use than one between 10 ppl.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap stay for a couple of nights. Free breakfast definitely a bonus! On the whole staff friendly and willing to help out. Lots of leaflets available on info about the city.

Disliked: Unfortunately the group staying in 2 of the rooms up my corridor were very inconsiderate late into the night...the main problem was the loud slamming of doors: if there's a way to stop the doors slamming it would improve things a lot!! Also being able to lock rooms from the inside would be reassuring as a single female staying in a private room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Feldkamp

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was reliably decent. A nice feel to the place from the staff and kitchen area outside of breakfast hours.

Disliked: Not too central to the city, a bit of a walk to places, but far from horrible.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012

Liked: Good breakfest and good location

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't clean. No seats or table in our room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meredith Reeve

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double private room for the duration of our stay and were really happy with the room - very light and bright, large and a clean private bathroom for our use. the location of the hostel is fantastic and the 24 hour reception is great. The breakfast was a really great addition to our stay, too. The wifi was a bit patchy,but over all, can not complain about this place. really impressed.

Disliked: The hot water was very temperamental!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels