HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

81.1% Overall Rating

938 out of 1058 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"Good location. In a relatively quiet area, situated within comfortable walking distance of the bus/ railway stations, local amenities and city centre.Mattresses on beds were very comfy. Kitchen/ dining area was spacious…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
46.22 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Maple Hotel
42.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
46.22 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 35 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
80.39 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
21.44 USD

Hostel 82.6% 271 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
35.28 USD

Hostel 70.5% 88 reviews
The Holyhead
25.12 USD

Hostel 74.9% 66 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
73.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

938 out of 1058 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 744 of 1011 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

oren peri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013

Liked: very close to the bus station. staff was very friendly.

Disliked: the lobby is very small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elise Bowen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a very central location, very close to the main bus station and also has nearby tram stops which connect it to the main train stations in Dublin. It is also right near the central shopping area.

Disliked: The bedroom I stayed in had an extremely creaky door, which was not good for roommates coming and going late at night or early in the morning. There was also only one power outlet in the room to share between 6 people, and it was squashed behind a bed so people couldn't really get to it without climbing over someone's bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: the staff was nice and pro. They help me to book another hostel where i had to arrive late the next day. As a lot of dubliners, they are very kind.

Disliked: linnens were old. the beds were just ok. the showers were incredebly dirty... as the toilets. off course, i didn't use the toilet and the showers. the luggage room was so stinky that i felt bad (for my suitcase) to leave it there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Barragán Chávez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast very complete.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff

Disliked: the hike to our room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie O'Hara

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isobel Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Isobel would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew and 24 hour free hot showers. It was also in an amazing location, right next to Connelly St Station and O'Connell Street.

Disliked: The Wi-fi signal would not reach our room, meaning we had to sit outside in a communal area to access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Eanes

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place. Friendly staff, across from the bus stop from the airport, and a good value. Full of interesting people from around the globe. I traveled with my 13 year old son, and the experience is one he will not soon forget. Thank you.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Sheri would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and breakfast is included. Breakfast is a real breakfast (compared to other hostels), offering hard-boiled eggs, cereal, toast, butter, jam, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, and milk. The shower in my bedroom was nice, not too small with good water temperature and flow. It's not in the downtown area, but still close enough that you could walk, maybe 20 minutes on foot. You have to show a slip to the front desk to prove you're staying there, or else they won't buzz you in to the rooms, so I always felt safe.

Disliked: As with most places in Europe, there is no lift/elevator, and we were on the very top floor all the way in the back. The wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms, so it was really annoying to walk all the way downstairs to use the wifi only to have to walk all the way back up. There is only one bathroom/shower per room (no communal shower), so you have to schedule things around your roommates. Also, the cleanliness of the shower in particular was rather iffy, so just remember to bring flip-flops.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajay Sundar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Ajay would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large rooms, kitchen and common room, decently close to the city center.

Disliked: No free lockers or storage, and the safes in the lobby are relatively expensive. Didn't have a problem with security and I ended up leaving everything in my room, but it would have offered some extra peace of mind. Wifi only works in the lobby/common rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vojt?ch Mrázek

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 July 2013 Vojt?ch would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting experience, as we arrived to hostel from smaller hostels in smaller cities, the massive character of Abraham hostel was quite shocking. The “multi-cultural and drinking atmosphere” was, however, after all quite pleasant. All in all: nice location, good price, 24 hours reception and useful uggage store.

Disliked: More people, more dirt in the kitchen. But nothing terrible and rooms were just fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location. Everything was ready for us when we arrived and we got a nice big room. Everything was clean, too and very handy having free wifi.

Disliked: Atmosphere wasn't brilliant, but we weren't in the hostel a lot of the time so it didn't really matter. If I was a lone traveller however, it probably would have mattered more.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NILUFER PINAR KILIC

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 July 2013 NILUFER PINAR would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, very close to the city centre. Breakfast and kitchen was OK, rooms were clean, house keeper came everyday. Free wi-fi access and nice staff :)

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Tatiana Kiselyova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect - one minute of walking from the Spire on the central street of the city. Nice kitchen with available cutlery with no need of special borrowing rules. Breakfast offers a bit more than in alike hostels (for example, fruits and eggs).

Disliked: In the showers there is no hook to hang up your clothes while you're showering, Where do we need to put it, on the dirty floor? By the way the toilets and showers are not very clean but mostly due to the messy guests as the stuff clean everything regularly. However some public areas aren't clean because the are just never cleaned - such as corners in the kitchen, some walls, fabric of sofas.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, pretty basic but with a free breakfast and great value for the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious rooms near the busaras bus station we have our own shower and toilet free breakfast and it's a lot!! cheap place, nice wi-fi

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely Helpful staff and Very secure management of property

Disliked: Breakfast is a little chaotic!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Crissey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to find, 24 hour reception, free breakfast, free luggage storage.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hayden Crebbin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great, right near the shopping street and the river, the staff was very helpful also.

Disliked: The wifi connection cut in and out and you had to pay to use the computers, no elevator so if you have big bags think twice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Buffet breakfast included with toasts, milk, cereals, coffee, yogourt... Friendly staff at any time: 24 hours.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dana Engel

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic for exploring Dublin AND a good night's sleep as well!

Disliked: Dana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The rooms are good. The interiors at the passages and seating there is very good. - Most of the staff is very friendly, courteous to all nationatility, except 2 or 3. - The breakfast is amzing.. best in Dublin as I have been to many hostels.. eggs, kellogs, juice, bread, yogurt, fresh fruits and more... - The internet speed and connctvity is above average. - The passage and the hostels are very well maintained... quite cleaed everyday. Rating - 90% - The Kitchen dinning is very bigg and good.

Disliked: My rating to this hostel is 90%. There are places where it need little improvements.. otherwise I would have given 100% rating to this hostels as compared to many other hostel in DUBLIN. - The kitchen is vey small.. no ventilation.. looks very old.. but the dinning is very goo. - Some of the room's shower is very small .. - The rooms and toilet cleaniness is not maintained everyday. they don't clean it properly and everyday.. which is v important. - But oveall it is a perfect stay. Cheers!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything it's ok.

Disliked: Everything it's ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -It´s not far from the city centre -you got a lot of shops around, to get some food - the staff is really nice

Disliked: -the kitchen can be a bit narrow


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels