We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

79.1% Overall Rating

963 out of 1089 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Thomas Roberts thinks…

"It was a moderately warm day in Dublin as I stepped off the bus from the airport. Laden with awkward luggage I prepared myself for inevitable despair after wandering for minutes longer that my plump…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
37.89 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Maple Hotel
32.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
50.74 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
77.07 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
19.27 USD

Hostel 84.3% 281 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
29.54 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
The Holyhead
20.87 USD

Hostel 75.2% 69 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
63.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

963 out of 1089 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 755 of 1040 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Dunlop

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location clean and tidy and great help yourself breakfast

Disliked: Gail left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elisa Biagini

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I not could pay whit credit card

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Wehrmeyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, hot showers, amazing breakfast, good location by bus station, very cheap, good company, free tea/coffee

Disliked: nothing to dislike - good hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicky Jootun

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 October 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean and staff is very nice at the reception,they always give you more information.I will come back again

Disliked: There were nothing that you can dislike..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, staff really nice, Open 24/7, bathroom in the room

Disliked: the window in the room didn't close well so the noise from outside was really loud, only one place in the room ti turn on/off the light might not be enough

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Monica Meisling

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013

Liked: friendly helpful staff

Disliked: extremely dirty, sheets smelled, couches were disgusting, bathrooms run down, dirty, toilets always clogged, boogers on the walls!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: position

Disliked: cold room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonah Fox

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2013 Jonah would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, friendly staff and excellent price. Clean room and shower. Good breakfast (available from 7:30-10:30) and good communal area.

Disliked: Felt somewhat authoritarian with signs up saying you couldn't store food or drink alcohol in the room and you had to give the key back each time you left the property. Shower was a little temperamental (cold for my girlfriende, realy really hot for me). Thats all I could fault really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was decent, the location was excellent and it was good value for money

Disliked: The rooms got a bit too stuffy but nothing an open window can't fix!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Annie Havlat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013

Liked: Breakfast available for all travellers.

Disliked: Wi fi did not work most of the time. Common areas extremely crowded. Area was noisy - woken by helicopters and people yelling most mornings.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

oren peri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013

Liked: very close to the bus station. staff was very friendly.

Disliked: the lobby is very small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elise Bowen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a very central location, very close to the main bus station and also has nearby tram stops which connect it to the main train stations in Dublin. It is also right near the central shopping area.

Disliked: The bedroom I stayed in had an extremely creaky door, which was not good for roommates coming and going late at night or early in the morning. There was also only one power outlet in the room to share between 6 people, and it was squashed behind a bed so people couldn't really get to it without climbing over someone's bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: the staff was nice and pro. They help me to book another hostel where i had to arrive late the next day. As a lot of dubliners, they are very kind.

Disliked: linnens were old. the beds were just ok. the showers were incredebly dirty... as the toilets. off course, i didn't use the toilet and the showers. the luggage room was so stinky that i felt bad (for my suitcase) to leave it there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Barragán Chávez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast very complete.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff

Disliked: the hike to our room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie O'Hara

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isobel Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Isobel would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew and 24 hour free hot showers. It was also in an amazing location, right next to Connelly St Station and O'Connell Street.

Disliked: The Wi-fi signal would not reach our room, meaning we had to sit outside in a communal area to access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Eanes

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place. Friendly staff, across from the bus stop from the airport, and a good value. Full of interesting people from around the globe. I traveled with my 13 year old son, and the experience is one he will not soon forget. Thank you.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Sheri would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and breakfast is included. Breakfast is a real breakfast (compared to other hostels), offering hard-boiled eggs, cereal, toast, butter, jam, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, and milk. The shower in my bedroom was nice, not too small with good water temperature and flow. It's not in the downtown area, but still close enough that you could walk, maybe 20 minutes on foot. You have to show a slip to the front desk to prove you're staying there, or else they won't buzz you in to the rooms, so I always felt safe.

Disliked: As with most places in Europe, there is no lift/elevator, and we were on the very top floor all the way in the back. The wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms, so it was really annoying to walk all the way downstairs to use the wifi only to have to walk all the way back up. There is only one bathroom/shower per room (no communal shower), so you have to schedule things around your roommates. Also, the cleanliness of the shower in particular was rather iffy, so just remember to bring flip-flops.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajay Sundar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Ajay would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large rooms, kitchen and common room, decently close to the city center.

Disliked: No free lockers or storage, and the safes in the lobby are relatively expensive. Didn't have a problem with security and I ended up leaving everything in my room, but it would have offered some extra peace of mind. Wifi only works in the lobby/common rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vojt?ch Mrázek

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 July 2013 Vojt?ch would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting experience, as we arrived to hostel from smaller hostels in smaller cities, the massive character of Abraham hostel was quite shocking. The “multi-cultural and drinking atmosphere” was, however, after all quite pleasant. All in all: nice location, good price, 24 hours reception and useful uggage store.

Disliked: More people, more dirt in the kitchen. But nothing terrible and rooms were just fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location. Everything was ready for us when we arrived and we got a nice big room. Everything was clean, too and very handy having free wifi.

Disliked: Atmosphere wasn't brilliant, but we weren't in the hostel a lot of the time so it didn't really matter. If I was a lone traveller however, it probably would have mattered more.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NILUFER PINAR KILIC

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 July 2013 NILUFER PINAR would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, very close to the city centre. Breakfast and kitchen was OK, rooms were clean, house keeper came everyday. Free wi-fi access and nice staff :)

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Tatiana Kiselyova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect - one minute of walking from the Spire on the central street of the city. Nice kitchen with available cutlery with no need of special borrowing rules. Breakfast offers a bit more than in alike hostels (for example, fruits and eggs).

Disliked: In the showers there is no hook to hang up your clothes while you're showering, Where do we need to put it, on the dirty floor? By the way the toilets and showers are not very clean but mostly due to the messy guests as the stuff clean everything regularly. However some public areas aren't clean because the are just never cleaned - such as corners in the kitchen, some walls, fabric of sofas.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels