HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

85.9% Overall Rating

869 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"For the price that I paid, the quality of the hostel far exceeded my expectations. There was hot water. Breakfast was simple but good. The eating area was clean. It was safe; nothing was stolen even though I stayed with…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
40.93 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 48 reviews
Maple Hotel
28.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
31.05 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 35 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
82.80 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
16.56 USD

Hostel 85.4% 256 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Hostel 72.0% 85 reviews
The Holyhead
20.70 USD

Hostel 77.8% 61 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
46.92 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

872 out of 980 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 695 of 934 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the female room, the hot showers (not push button), quiet sleeping area and location. AWESOME breakfast.

Disliked: Having to pay extra for lockers and for internet. Wifi was good but the common room with pay computers was noisy so I went to an Internet cafe.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Spencer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013

Liked: The room was nice and clean

Disliked: The staff provided the worst service I have had in a long time. Unfriendly, disinterested and just quite rude. I wouldn't stay here again and I don't have high standards I just hate bad customer service.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and on a quieter street within easy walking distance of the main sights.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms; you had to pay to use lockers in a separate room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Terri Shaw

Alone

Business / conference

13 December 2013 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Dublin bus station and O'Connell Street. Lovely warm showers, and the hostel and room were secure. Good value for money. Nice kitchen area with plenty of choice for breakfast.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIA RAKKA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 December 2013 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, clean rooms, breakfast for free and very close to the city center!

Disliked: Nothing in particular!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and bathroom in every room!

Disliked: You have to give the key back everytime yo leave the hostel and get it back if you show a security receipt what you got during check in. This might be a good a idea but sometimes the stuff just give you the wrong key or doesnt look exactly on your receipt. The point is I really didn't feel safe if nearly everyone could get a key to my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff was nice and helpful, the location was perfect and the facilities were all in good shape and clean.

Disliked: The breakfast offered with the stay was abysmal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, safety help yourself breakfast, good value.

Disliked: Extra charge for a towel seemed petty, just put rate up one euro? No mention when booking of that & taking dirty linen down. That was all fine for the cheap rate but needs specifying unless I missed it ?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sinead White

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 November 2013 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and conveniant. Its location is great as it's just in the city and close to everything. he breakfast was also great too.

Disliked: it could be cleaner and there is no form of entertainment in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciara Mc Entee

Alone

Business / conference

22 November 2013 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place for what i needed. I had to catch an early flight at dublin airport. The airlink stops just outside. Rooms are spacious even with 12beds.

Disliked: Not many plugs in the room to charge phones etc

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Curtis-Botting

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: location and quality of the buffet breakfast

Disliked: Noise from other guests during the night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WAS PRETTY CLEAN

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bang for your buck. Can't complain. Right near Busaras central bus station.

Disliked: having to leave the key at the desk every time you left. but I paid 12 euro, so I'm not going to fuss over that.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: Reasonably convenient to central Dublin.

Disliked: Spotty wifi in actual rooms; no electrical outlets in rooms - one has to charge up in the common areas; leaking faucet in bathroom never assessed; very squeaky doors and beds; worst shower I have ever used anywhere. This shower was tiny, and the water went from normal to scalding hot to frigid and back with no warning and no real means of control. The staff seemed indifferent at best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoriya Nedelcheva

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 October 2013 Viktoriya would recommend this property

Liked: I love it!!!

Disliked: none

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Dunlop

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location clean and tidy and great help yourself breakfast

Disliked: Gail left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elisa Biagini

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I not could pay whit credit card

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Wehrmeyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, hot showers, amazing breakfast, good location by bus station, very cheap, good company, free tea/coffee

Disliked: nothing to dislike - good hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicky Jootun

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 October 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean and staff is very nice at the reception,they always give you more information.I will come back again

Disliked: There were nothing that you can dislike..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, staff really nice, Open 24/7, bathroom in the room

Disliked: the window in the room didn't close well so the noise from outside was really loud, only one place in the room ti turn on/off the light might not be enough

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Monica Meisling

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013

Liked: friendly helpful staff

Disliked: extremely dirty, sheets smelled, couches were disgusting, bathrooms run down, dirty, toilets always clogged, boogers on the walls!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: position

Disliked: cold room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonah Fox

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2013 Jonah would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, friendly staff and excellent price. Clean room and shower. Good breakfast (available from 7:30-10:30) and good communal area.

Disliked: Felt somewhat authoritarian with signs up saying you couldn't store food or drink alcohol in the room and you had to give the key back each time you left the property. Shower was a little temperamental (cold for my girlfriende, realy really hot for me). Thats all I could fault really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was decent, the location was excellent and it was good value for money

Disliked: The rooms got a bit too stuffy but nothing an open window can't fix!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels