We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

79.1% Overall Rating

963 out of 1089 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Thomas Roberts thinks…

"It was a moderately warm day in Dublin as I stepped off the bus from the airport. Laden with awkward luggage I prepared myself for inevitable despair after wandering for minutes longer that my plump…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
37.89 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Maple Hotel
32.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
50.74 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
77.07 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
19.27 USD

Hostel 84.3% 281 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
29.54 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
The Holyhead
20.87 USD

Hostel 75.2% 69 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
63.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

963 out of 1089 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 755 of 1040 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph O'Dea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome free breakfast!

Disliked: Shower door broken so floor got flooded

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: booked the bed on the day of arrival for good value, breakfast was included, room was quiet (not facing the street)

Disliked: room was very hidden, beds were not very comfortable and a bit noisy but ok

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, free breakfast.

Disliked: Cleanliness, room was dirty. Bathroom was dirty. Hallways were dirty, also under construction and has tools lying about the floor which seemed unsafe. Had to make and strip the bed, which isn't a big deal but slightly annoying putting the duvet in the cover etc. Also the fact they don't have to pay anyone to gather the sheets from the rooms might be why they don't clean the rooms very often. The volume of doors closing at night was pretty bad, and noise outside in the morning too. The doors don't feel very secure. Difficult to get changed in the bathroom as it is so tiny, also the door didn't really lock properly - you could just pull the door open from the outside, (which could be a problem if sharing a room with others) All of this is negligible as I paid so little for the room, and I would have no problem with any of it. Apart from the disrespect I experienced from one member of staff. We returned from a local concert at night time and were stood outside for 4-5 minutes. Another hostel stayer had arrived before us and was stood holding the buzzer to try and gain entry (which any normal person at 2am would do), he continued to hold it for about 5 minutes before we finally gained entry. The receptionist was angry at the other hostel stayer for holding the buzzer and informed him that he was in the toilet (as if he was supposed to know this) In my opinion, if a staff member leaves the desk unmanned, and returns to find a lot of people waiting outside, then they should apologise, not the exact opposite. The same staff member also went mental at me when I apathetically threw my receipt on the desk instead of setting it down. He must have taken this as some sort of disrespectful gesture, bare in mind I didn't throw it at him, and again went crazy. He said he 'was not joking' when I laughed because I had thought he must be kidding, he was roaring at me asking if I had a problem and saying 'what's the story', then he calmed down when someone else told him to wise up. The man didn't apologise when he calmed down. He was a Turkish looking man, so be aware not to accidentally cross him. TL;DR A member of staff let the hostel down by going crazy at me for no reason. But it's £11.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Diane Berry

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 June 2014 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: The room was perfect for my daughter and I.

Disliked: The building is very run down and the shower has mold growing in it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There wasn't a lot going on within the hostel activities but it was so close to a ton of pubs and bare and a two block walk to the city center. GREAT value for money and easy to meet people

Disliked: No wifi in my room, but I was on the very top floor so other rooms could be different

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christey Curran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Christey would recommend this property

Liked: No cerfew. Free breakfast til 1030am. Good showers.

Disliked: No lockers included in price of room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Access to Internet 24/7

Disliked: My friend and I had a twin bedroom with private bathroom. We would have enjoyed more the stay if there would have been tv facility in our bedroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice.

Disliked: Finding my room was like going through a maze.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nancy Rosendale

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location were excellent!

Disliked: A. It noisy when people come and go late at night as halls echo sound.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: f

Disliked: f

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Laura Murillo

Alone

City break

06 June 2014

Liked: It is cheap and its near the city centre, breakfast is included and is very good. It has free wifi, but just in the commun areas.

Disliked: I did like that people cant go aqay from the hostal with the room key, you have to leave it in the reception and when you go back present the ticket of your payment (hard to find when you have tickets of souvenirs, buses, food, etc...). You cant leave things in your bed if you are not in the room, I left my towel in my bed to dry and my charger, and the cleaner took my stuff because it is prohibited to left thing in the bed (i didnt know) so now she/he lost it, and I dont have towel and I had to buy a new charger. The cleaner also used chlorine to clean and a sweter that was over my luggage was damaged so now it has yellow chlorine drops. I went to the office to conplain about this but this guys dont care about anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deirdre Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 June 2014 Deirdre would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are comfortable and beautiful, Staff helpful and friendly

Disliked: Deirdre left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tyler Visagie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the clean beds, bathroom (in my room that I stayed in), the free all you can eat breakfast, and overall it is a nice hostel.

Disliked: Only dislike is the toilet on the bottom floor across from the kitchen looked like deathx4. It was awful. Like a diaheria bomb went off on it. Other than that the hostel is awesome!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is good value for money. The breakfast is good, there are lots of lounge areas, the beds are comfortable, and the en suite bathrooms are clean. There were also outlets above each bed which is a great convenience. It's located way from the partying in Temple Bar, which I preferred. It's within walking distance of most of the major attractions as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sinead Naughton

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 June 2014 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Two of the lads working there were good looking :D Also close to town and all rooms are ensuite

Disliked: Sinead left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martina Pericic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room, polite and kind stuff, free and good Wi-Fi, free breakfast (cereal, toast with butter and jam, coffee and juice - enough for start of the day!)

Disliked: I don't have big dislikes but few things could be better: low pressure of water in toilet, only two plug sockets in 4bed dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, having fun :)

Disliked: Honestly , i think it was not kept so prperly clean, especially the bathroom :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Becke Walsh

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2014 Becke would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the staff were friendly and very helpful

Disliked: Could of been alittle bit cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhian Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Rhian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good value, the private room and bathroom we had was clean

Disliked: loud slamming doors

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014

Liked: Good location, Large Kitchen.

Disliked: The staff wasn't helpful or informative. The other hostel stayers didn't really talk to me or say hello.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ciara Mclaughlin

As a family with children

Events / festivals

25 May 2014

Liked: Central location. Comfy beds

Disliked: Smell of urine in hall ways. Very noisy at night, both inside and outside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Canipe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to a bus stop to the airport

Disliked: It doesn't have a lot of charm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

robyn van zile

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014

Liked: They have to buzz you in for you to get into the building and your room, which made me feel safe but with the street it's on I see why it's necessary!

Disliked: Was not very clean at all. Shower leaked water all over our floor and ruined some of my things being stored underneath. Absolutely no wifi in the room. Awful

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen has recently been upgraded which is very good and allows lots of space for cooking

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels