HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Abraham House

Hostel | 82-83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

85.9% Overall Rating

872 out of 980 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"For the price that I paid, the quality of the hostel far exceeded my expectations. There was hot water. Breakfast was simple but good. The eating area was clean. It was safe; nothing was stolen even though I stayed with…"

Read all Abraham House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

groups must pay in full 4 weeks prior to arrival and that we take a security deposit for any groups over 10 people Abraham House is a tourist hostel, for short-term stays only. Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behaviour towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Glen Guest House
40.99 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 48 reviews
Maple Hotel
29.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
31.09 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 35 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
82.92 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 86.9% 257 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
25.33 USD

Hostel 72.0% 85 reviews
The Holyhead
20.73 USD

Hostel 77.8% 61 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
46.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

872 out of 980 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abraham House'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 696 of 935 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Emily Zhong

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Its cheap and great location. Staff is super sarcastic and friendly. There is an old man (dont tell him I said he's old lol) who sounds like a techie! ha who says grandpas dunno computers. Everyone who live there seem to know each other. ie. My roommate (whom I never talked to) just like come up to me and ask to borrow my key or left his keys to a bunch of ppl in the kitchen table and said brb. lol the place really brings quite the character from everyone!

Disliked: unfortunately I could not go online to study and contact my friends over the weekend but that just means more time to explore dublin =]

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yi-Tai Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Yi-Tai would recommend this property

Liked: Great location~Save money!

Disliked: No locker in dorm room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebekah Bajada

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: very central ;) and awesome value for money! Have been in other hostels which where more expensive, but not as good as this hostel!

Disliked: nothing really..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfest, the opportunity to leave our luggages in the luggageroom without extra fee. good location end very helpful staff!

Disliked: the rooms are a little bit crowded (we stayed in a dorm for 8 people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was a great price for a room and breakfast. It was also extremely close to the city center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the bus station - 5 minute walk literally! 10min walk to centre of town and Temple Bar which was really good. AMAZING breakfast - eggs, toast, cereal and yoghurt, fruit, tea and coffee. Lockers downstairs as well which was good.

Disliked: One bathroom between 8 was a bit annoying otherwise it was pretty decent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Dolores Blanco

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 November 2011 Maria Dolores would recommend this property

Liked: All is ok!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARY-LEE CLARKE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 MARY-LEE would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: wifi only in lobby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Boylan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Typical hostel, lots of rooms with varying bed numbers but many are en suite which is not common but quite nice!

Disliked: A little off the beaten path in Dublin but on a quiet street which makes for quiet sleep!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandre Gatland

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: a little worn

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ashlley oliver

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2011 ashlley would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good and the breakfast was better than some other hostel breakfast, the staff where nice but not very helpfull. just a few mins walk into main part of town but plebty of shops and bars near by.

Disliked: it is an old building which i wasnt expecting and we where put on the top floor which was up about 6 flights of stairs and through 6 or 7 doors which is hard when you have a big bag or forget something and have to go back. the room was ok, prett good size, the shower was good apart from it had mold growing in there which they hadnt bothered to clean which is gross. if your looking for somewhere kind of cheap for a few nights its ok just dont expect too much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe CleAn Friendly staff

Disliked: Not as central as expected Long walk to the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. AirLink No.747 from/to Airport stops almost in front of this hostel. 3 min walk to TESCO supermarket. Reception staff is very friendly.

Disliked: This is not a big issue but I could not connect to wifi from my room. It always happen hostels like this. I could connect at lobby off course. I feel it is OK.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location nearby the city center, good breakfast, polite staff...

Disliked: Moisture in the room, carpet was flooded with water all the time, location of the room, on ground floor but felt like we were at the basement....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rikard Östling

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Rikard would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Citycenter with walkingdistance almoust everywhere. Good Staff, comfortable beds, normal breakfast, but best of all was the price! 10 Euro per bed and night in a doorm! Strongly recommended!

Disliked: Better ventilation. The air gets quite stuffy with 8 persons in the same room even with open windows.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, felt safe and secure (24hr reception), comfortable clean beds. Nice place!!

Disliked: Room key was very awkward and hard to use, reception weren't that interested in helping fix the problem. Bathrooms in rooms were very small and shower door was broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, comfortable beds, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place very clean, good value for money, good breakfast.

Disliked: Wifi only works in the lobby.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2011

Liked: Good location, great breakfast

Disliked: Strange atmosphere- nobody talks! It is quite unfriendly, not a good place for people travelling on their own. Also on my 3 rd night I came back to my room to go to bed to find somebody in my bed. It turns out the cleaners had stripped my bed, even though no one had checked out of the room that day. I understand that this can happen but i was shocked at the reaction i received from staff. I did not even recieve an apology, I was just told to help myself to more sheets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful and down to earth, i felt very welcome there, the staff do their very best to help you with any problems you might have. lockers provided, ensuite facilities and a nice breakfast every morning, great value for money too. loved that i could book a female only dorm . so 10 out of 10

Disliked: would have loved to have been able to wash my clothes as i ended up staying a week. even to have had a washing line outside ,would have been great,so i could have handwashed a few things. but all in all i was very happy with my stay

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, location, staff

Disliked: the fact that the toilet and bathroom were inside the room. the bathroom's light was too noisy! it was too bad that I had to wake up at 5.30 am because someone wanted to take a shower ...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bernardus van Ommen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Bernardus would recommend this property

Liked: Especially the location is perfect, near the bus- and railwaystation.

Disliked: Nothing really.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, big room

Disliked: small reading lamps would be nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast, close to bus and train stations

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Micha Seitz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Micha would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very good location.

Disliked: The way to the rooms is really confusing.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels