HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Dublin Dublin Hostel

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 60%

Location 80%

Safety 69%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.25USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 60%

Location 80%

Safety 69%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

Showing 51-11 of 11 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the trip to Glendalough - offered by the hostel.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that each time I wanted to enter the building I needed to call a staff member to open the door for me.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free internet, decent breakfast, good location, nice common area.Large, comfortable beds and spacious room even in the 16 bed dorm.Free Paddywagon day tour was great!

Disliked: Nothing. More computers could be nice.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the free tour

Disliked: the rooms were in a seperate building from the office

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff

Disliked: not

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Directly across the road from the bus station, very convenient. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast of cereal & toast was good. The free tour to Kilkenny was awesome!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great kitchen, helpful staff, not too far from the centre of town, free airport shuttle.

Disliked: The rooms don't have lockers. You can leave your small valuables in safes at reception but it's a bit of a pain. Also the showers have buttons that you need to push to get water. They shut off fairly often and with no way to regulate the water temperature, if you shower too early you get scalded but too late it's freezing.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is right beside the bus station.

Disliked: - the 4 bed dorm was tiny, not enough room for 4 ppl.- very poor ventilation in bedroom, bathroom and shower- no facilities to safely store belongings!!! This was the worst. It should be made clear that there are no lockers in the rooms. If I had known this I would not have booked here. It's not fair to guests to have signs everywhere stating "do not leave belongings here...we take no responsibility for lost or stolen items" but at the same time not provide a safe and convenient place to store belongings. Do they expect me to carry around all my euros and my laptop everywhere I go?- very unclear instructions about re-activation of key card (the first night- the girl said she didn't k ow why it didn't work; the second night the guy said it has to be deactivated everyday after 12)- the reception opens the door remotely for guests who ring a door bell. This method is so unsafe bcthey don't even checkwho comes in. 2 nights in a row a stranger came into the dorms and knocked on our door, the second night he came into our room and said he was staying there but his card wasn't working. I thought it was suspicious as he had no belongings So we informed the reception where it turned out he wasn't even booked for the night!! How did he get i ??! Scary!- the bathroom on the second floor smelled like urine. Not even able to use it most times.- the shower is a shower that u have to keep holding the button down, and the taps are separate hot and cold where you keep holding it down. Outdated and not clean at all. Impossible to clean hands properly and prevent spreading germs.- no ventilation in the rooms, shower or washroom- carpets are old, heaters all leaking into pots lining the staircase. Looks like it's falling apart- no electricity converters to borrow- only one computer that is always being used- I signed up for the free tour, but found out later the girl didn't even write down our names. Had if clarified later

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: good location, free breakfast

Disliked: Neither wifi nor internet computer did work. Sometimes had to wait long to get the door opened.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: the shower (the water was too hot) and sink (there's no way to control the water velocity)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Free internet.

Disliked: everytime you want in the house you must ring the bell.The card for the door gets deactivated every day.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability