HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Dublin Dublin

Hostel

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 67%

Location 88%

Safety 75%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.39USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 67%

Location 88%

Safety 75%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

Showing 51-16 of 16 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is right beside the bus station.

Disliked: - the 4 bed dorm was tiny, not enough room for 4 ppl.- very poor ventilation in bedroom, bathroom and shower- no facilities to safely store belongings!!! This was the worst. It should be made clear that there are no lockers in the rooms. If I had known this I would not have booked here. It's not fair to guests to have signs everywhere stating "do not leave belongings here...we take no responsibility for lost or stolen items" but at the same time not provide a safe and convenient place to store belongings. Do they expect me to carry around all my euros and my laptop everywhere I go?- very unclear instructions about re-activation of key card (the first night- the girl said she didn't k ow why it didn't work; the second night the guy said it has to be deactivated everyday after 12)- the reception opens the door remotely for guests who ring a door bell. This method is so unsafe bcthey don't even checkwho comes in. 2 nights in a row a stranger came into the dorms and knocked on our door, the second night he came into our room and said he was staying there but his card wasn't working. I thought it was suspicious as he had no belongings So we informed the reception where it turned out he wasn't even booked for the night!! How did he get i ??! Scary!- the bathroom on the second floor smelled like urine. Not even able to use it most times.- the shower is a shower that u have to keep holding the button down, and the taps are separate hot and cold where you keep holding it down. Outdated and not clean at all. Impossible to clean hands properly and prevent spreading germs.- no ventilation in the rooms, shower or washroom- carpets are old, heaters all leaking into pots lining the staircase. Looks like it's falling apart- no electricity converters to borrow- only one computer that is always being used- I signed up for the free tour, but found out later the girl didn't even write down our names. Had if clarified later

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: good location, free breakfast

Disliked: Neither wifi nor internet computer did work. Sometimes had to wait long to get the door opened.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: the shower (the water was too hot) and sink (there's no way to control the water velocity)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Free internet.

Disliked: everytime you want in the house you must ring the bell.The card for the door gets deactivated every day.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Overall value. Free wifi in reception/lobby. You can also volunteer for 2-3 hrs a day for free lodging!

Disliked: Reception hall closes at 11:30pm, so I lost my precious wifi connection.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They have their own tour company and the office is in the lobby--very convenient. Nicely located RIGHT beside the central bus station. They run their own free airport shuttle.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, only small lockers available, most rooms are in a separate entrance, no elevator, wifi only available in the lobby (which closes at 11:30).

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: People staying at the hostel didn't have a key for the front door so they had to get someone from the reception everytime they wanted to go to their room

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Breafast started at 6:30 which was nice for people needing to check out early and catch flights etc... Breakfast was good but standard with cereal and toast.

Disliked: We were in a building next door to the main property and had to ask a staff member to come open the building for us every time we wanted to get in. It was a little tedious.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was within walking distance to so many great places in Dublin, like the whole Temple Bar area, yet it wasn't directly in a super crowded place so it wasn't too loud at night. It was full of awesomeeee people and was really comfortable and basically perfect.

Disliked: The night patrol people can be a little moody, but I still appreciate that they're there.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hostel, walking distance to main busstops, shops and pubs. Bit far from temple bar but the staff were great at giving directions to everything. Rooms were clean and bathrooms always clean, stocked and available. The fact there are key cards means that its secure to get into your rooms. Would go back again

Disliked: The key cards had to be reactivated a lot, so sometimes after a night out we could not get into our rooms which was annoying. Also we went in July, and the heating was on which meant it was boiling everywhere.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability