HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Dublin Dublin Hostel

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 62%

Location 82%

Safety 68%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.33USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 62%

Location 82%

Safety 68%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

Showing 41-12 of 12 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the free day tour to Kilkenny, it was a nice break and chance to see the calm Irish country side, but without all the organising was great.Breakfast, basic but it was fine.

Disliked: No WiFi in the room, only common room.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved the location and the free day tour. The tour was amazing! It was all day, out in the country-side, took you to numerous sites. FOR FREE! Also, the free airport transfer is so nice! The hostel is located right next to everything. Within walking distance. The staff (especially the girl with brown hair) are super friendly!

Disliked: I didn't like the free breakfast. I mean, I liked that it was free, but it was just toast and jam really. Also, the showers and bathrooms suck. The water either turns off after a minute or you have to continuously hold down the button (depending on the shower). It doesn't have a very clean feel. Also, you have to ring a doorbell and have someone let you in at night. Lastly, the internet is only in the reception area (which is separate from the rooms and closes at 11:30 pm). So don't expect to use the internet after 11:30 pm.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Disliked: common room lockout at 11:30 pm

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had lots of day tours to choose from.

Disliked: Having to ask someone to unlock our door each time we wanted to go inside.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing special.. A good hostel overall.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner...

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Kitchen was very well equiped. Lots of different stations so you weren't onto of each other. Lots of seating and tables.

Disliked: The cleaners left some rubbish in a bag in my room and one of them left their lipbalm on one of the bunks. Also the showers did not gave a temperature control and after a while the water got so hot I thought I had burnt myself. This is more of a safety issue which I don't think they will take much action on. There was also only two plugs in my roomnthat slept 8 so it was kinda inadequate.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location was great, really close to the bus and train station. The free bus to the airport was the thing that really sold the place for us.

Disliked: No major 'dislikes'. A peculiar buzzing sound coming from a cleaning closet in the room, which kept us company while trying to fall asleep.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was excellent! Close to everything! The dorms were also spacious and clean

Disliked: The dorms are separate from the reception so you can't get in without asking them, also your keycard deactivates every morning so you have to renew it. I got up to go to the toilet and got locked out so had to walk all the way outside and ask someone to let me in. There are alot of older folk there so it's not exactly fun and happening but it was clean!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Amazing place. Excellent value for money.. Free transfers to the airport, free breakfast, and free day tour because we stayed for 2 night. Staff were brilliant and very accommodating. To start with we missed the shuttle by a few minutes, but instead of making us wait 2 hours the driver came back for us. We booked a twin room, which wasn't available but they honoured our booking a gave us an 8 bed room by ourselves despite being fully booked. They gave lots of advice on places to go, good pubs etc. The driver when taking us back to the airport dropped us off at our airport hotel instead of the sirport which saved us buying another ticket. Couldn't have asked for more. We have stayed ehre before a couple of years ago and would certainly stay here again. The Celt Pub a 2 minute walk away is a must visit on a weekend evening.

Disliked: Slightly noisy being next to tram line and train line but it didn't disturb my night. The staff more than made up for it.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I only spent a night here because I'm doing a Paddywagon tour so it was just convenient. Haven't explored much of Dublin to give an opinion on the location. But, the room I was in was extremely stuffy and hot and a little dirty and none of the windows could be opened so it was just uncomfortable for the one night I was there. Other than that, just your average hostel with a kitchen and a breakfast of toast, jam/butter, and cereal

Disliked: Stuffy and a little dirty room, no lockers

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability