HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Dublin Dublin Hostel

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 57%

Location 81%

Safety 67%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dishwasher
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.36USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 57%

Location 81%

Safety 67%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

Showing 21-11 of 11 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff were lovely! It was very handy because it was near busaras.

Disliked: Didn't seem to have big lockers to store luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Day staff were really helpful and the location is so handy for all the tourist attractions

Disliked: Night staff were very unhelpful and rude, arrived early so could not check in and the night porter checked us in, he did not tell us where our room was and we had to wait 20 mins to be let in. No key to open the front doors of the hostel makes it very inconvenient.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I had booked 2 beds in a 6 bed dorm for myself & a friend but when i arrived they didn't have space so upgraded us to a 4 bed dorm. To access the dorm you needed to go in through another outside door, which they didn't give you a key for which was slightly annoying, but when questioned about it they said it was for security reasons. There was a security guard there when we came back from the pub who checked us off on a list & let us in. It was conveniently situated and a cheap taxi ride from Temple Bar at the end of the night. Some of the reviews had said the place wasn't very clean but our room was fine so i guess it depends what room you get.

Disliked: When i checked in the staff didn't show me where any of the facilities were (i.e.kitchen etc) or advise of breakfast times & location and it took me a while and 3 flights of stairs to find the nearest toilet to my room - I never found the showers. There are no lockers in the room to put valuables in. There are two staff manning the Paddywagon desk, who would not help with hostel queries even if they were free, & only one on reception for the hostel which means you spend a lot of time queuing if you need anything. Would be useful to have Paddywagon staff cross trained to be able to answer FAQ's for the hostel & have 2 staff on Hostel reception during the day.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is close to the city center, the staff was helpful, the room and bathroom were clean and with enough space.

Disliked: You need to press a buttom every minute to turn on the shower.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean bathroom, clean kitchen

Disliked: only one functioning bathroom. very low ceiling in the room. even though they have room cards the front door is a simple lock which has to be opened by the staff. not so clean sink in the room.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The only positive here was the free airport transport

Disliked: Our room smelled awful, the bathroom and halls were filthy and poorly lit.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location is perfect and the staff are very helpful!

Disliked: Find out ;) There isn't much!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: the noise from the train overhead

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: location / paddy wagon servive / friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free shuttle from the airport was great. Also, free tour was wonderful! I would recommend Paddywagon tours, but if you can stay somewhere else, do it.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. I lived in a separate building that had to be unlocked by staff, which was very annoying. One of the staff was very unpleasant. He seemed very annoyed to have to let me into my room and actually yelled at some other guests.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability