HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Dublin

Hostel | 5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St., Dublin, Ireland D1

75.5% Overall Rating

240 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

lisa walker thinks…

"Great place. Fun and friendly atmosphere. Wifi only works about 10% if the time but great otherwise."

Read all Paddy's Palace Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
16.20 USD

Hostel 56.9% 72 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
16.20 USD

Hostel 49.9% 207 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
18.90 USD

Hostel 85.9% 1385 reviews
Durban Residence
25.98 USD

Hostel 76.1% 39 reviews
Jacobs Inn
18.90 USD

Hostel 83.7% 906 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
39.82 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
The Glen Guest House
39.82 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abraham House
13.50 USD

Hostel 82.2% 1049 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

240 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paddy's Palace Dublin'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 234 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011

Liked: the location is right beside the bus station.

Disliked: - the 4 bed dorm was tiny, not enough room for 4 ppl. - very poor ventilation in bedroom, bathroom and shower - no facilities to safely store belongings!!! This was the worst. It should be made clear that there are no lockers in the rooms. If I had known this I would not have booked here. It's not fair to guests to have signs everywhere stating "do not leave belongings here...we take no responsibility for lost or stolen items" but at the same time not provide a safe and convenient place to store belongings. Do they expect me to carry around all my euros and my laptop everywhere I go? - very unclear instructions about re-activation of key card (the first night- the girl said she didn't k ow why it didn't work; the second night the guy said it has to be deactivated everyday after 12) - the reception opens the door remotely for guests who ring a door bell. This method is so unsafe bcthey don't even checkwho comes in. 2 nights in a row a stranger came into the dorms and knocked on our door, the second night he came into our room and said he was staying there but his card wasn't working. I thought it was suspicious as he had no belongings So we informed the reception where it turned out he wasn't even booked for the night!! How did he get i ??! Scary! - the bathroom on the second floor smelled like urine. Not even able to use it most times. - the shower is a shower that u have to keep holding the button down, and the taps are separate hot and cold where you keep holding it down. Outdated and not clean at all. Impossible to clean hands properly and prevent spreading germs. - no ventilation in the rooms, shower or washroom - carpets are old, heaters all leaking into pots lining the staircase. Looks like it's falling apart - no electricity converters to borrow - only one computer that is always being used - I signed up for the free tour, but found out later the girl didn't even write down our names. Had if clarified later

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, helpful staff, not too far from the centre of town, free airport shuttle.

Disliked: The rooms don't have lockers. You can leave your small valuables in safes at reception but it's a bit of a pain. Also the showers have buttons that you need to push to get water. They shut off fairly often and with no way to regulate the water temperature, if you shower too early you get scalded but too late it's freezing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011

Liked: They have their own tour company and the office is in the lobby--very convenient. Nicely located RIGHT beside the central bus station. They run their own free airport shuttle.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, only small lockers available, most rooms are in a separate entrance, no elevator, wifi only available in the lobby (which closes at 11:30).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet.

Disliked: everytime you want in the house you must ring the bell. The card for the door gets deactivated every day.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, free breakfast

Disliked: Neither wifi nor internet computer did work. Sometimes had to wait long to get the door opened.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: the shower (the water was too hot) and sink (there's no way to control the water velocity)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall value. Free wifi in reception/lobby. You can also volunteer for 2-3 hrs a day for free lodging!

Disliked: Reception hall closes at 11:30pm, so I lost my precious wifi connection.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: People staying at the hostel didn't have a key for the front door so they had to get someone from the reception everytime they wanted to go to their room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudia Musalem

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very kind! and helpful

Disliked: bedrooms with too many people

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, walking distance to main busstops, shops and pubs. Bit far from temple bar but the staff were great at giving directions to everything. Rooms were clean and bathrooms always clean, stocked and available. The fact there are key cards means that its secure to get into your rooms. Would go back again

Disliked: The key cards had to be reactivated a lot, so sometimes after a night out we could not get into our rooms which was annoying. Also we went in July, and the heating was on which meant it was boiling everywhere.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kristina Procyk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2011 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Breafast started at 6:30 which was nice for people needing to check out early and catch flights etc... Breakfast was good but standard with cereal and toast.

Disliked: We were in a building next door to the main property and had to ask a staff member to come open the building for us every time we wanted to get in. It was a little tedious.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was within walking distance to so many great places in Dublin, like the whole Temple Bar area, yet it wasn't directly in a super crowded place so it wasn't too loud at night. It was full of awesomeeee people and was really comfortable and basically perfect.

Disliked: The night patrol people can be a little moody, but I still appreciate that they're there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: verrrrry good location, helpful staff, free bus to and from airport, organised information and tours!! and plenty of room in dorms to organise bags etc. FREE BREAKFAST

Disliked: just some people who reside there and think they own the place, which isnt the hostels fault, but made my stay a little uncomfortable until i changed rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place with free airport pickup and free breakfast!

Disliked: Sometimes there were too many people on the wifi which wasn't a big problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and friendly staff

Disliked: Rooms were a bit noisy as it's close to the main road.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Morgan Davenport

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: An absolutely great place to stay , especially for being such a cheap hostel near the center of Dublin. I highly recommend the walking tour that's offered, and and am also on the 10 day Ireland tour offered by Paddywagon - so far I think these guys are great!

Disliked: Breakfast is nothing special, just your basic cereal and toast that you can expect from many hostels. Also, there us no lift in the building, so some people with bags instead of backpacks might have a difficult time getting up to the top floor.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011

Liked: Shuttle bus from airport. Great to stay at for the Paddywagon tours.

Disliked: Our room had no window pane. It had a window but no glass. Also had a big hole in the wall going straight to the outside.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, free shuttle to airport, breakfast included (cereal and toast)

Disliked: a lot of stairs if your room is on the top floor

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Susana maria Selle

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Susana maria would recommend this property

Liked: Its vintage look is really nice

Disliked: stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, Central Location

Disliked: Showers, no chairs or cupboards in Room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Beechey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, lots of help available. Great tours provided as well. I was also able to upgrade easily from the room that I'd booked to one with fewer beds

Disliked: having to get the key set up everyday, although this isn't a big problem and makes sense for security.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good facilities. The airport pick up and free breakfast is really good.

Disliked: No lockers near bedroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the shuttle bus to airport

Disliked: wifi cannot be received in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: Location was central (walking distance to city centre), free bus tour to Killkenney, free airport shuttle bus, free WiFi

Disliked: VERY VERY NOISY (stayed at many places around the globe, this was the loudest!), dirty toilets,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grace Junge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: location was great, free airport pickup, cheap

Disliked: Only had one general locked storage room and very small lockers


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels