We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Dublin

Hostel | 5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St., Dublin, Ireland D1

75.5% Overall Rating

240 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

lisa walker thinks…

"Great place. Fun and friendly atmosphere. Wifi only works about 10% if the time but great otherwise."

Read all Paddy's Palace Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
10.12 USD

Hostel 53.3% 92 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 50.7% 213 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1392 reviews
Durban Residence
18.98 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
Jacobs Inn
13.92 USD

Hostel 83.7% 912 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
37.32 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
The Glen Guest House
27.40 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
21.51 USD

Hostel 80.0% 1096 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

240 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paddy's Palace Dublin'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 234 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location / paddy wagon servive / friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free shuttle from the airport was great. Also, free tour was wonderful! I would recommend Paddywagon tours, but if you can stay somewhere else, do it.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. I lived in a separate building that had to be unlocked by staff, which was very annoying. One of the staff was very unpleasant. He seemed very annoyed to have to let me into my room and actually yelled at some other guests.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Amy Shipway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012

Liked: The only two things i liked was the free day tour i did cause i stayed 5 nights and it was right next to the centre bus station (Busaras). i would have also liked the free air bus transfer from the airport but my flight was late coming in so never got to see if it was good or not.

Disliked: EVERYTHING!! the showers there are boiling hot i could not stayed the heat of the shower for one second it was boiling it hurts. The bathrooms are extremely dirty the whole 5 nights there i saw the same cotton bubs on the floor of the shower they are probly still there. The lockers are in the reception area and they are small luckly i just put my hand bag in there. The key card shut off at 11am so you need to re-active then at reception by telling them your name and room number which is pointless in my mind and you need to be buzzed in by reception if you are next door stupid. Breakfast is very basic the moring i was going on my free day tour i went to get some milk for my cereal but it was empty at 7am how does that work??????. There is so much more i can say but i don't see the point in it those are the main things that angered me in my whole 3 months of travel and still travelling this is extremely of a hostel in my personel expience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CATALINA SEGURA GARCIA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 CATALINA would recommend this property

Liked: limpieza en las habitaciones, buen barrio, con pubs muy buenos

Disliked: el hall es desagradable, no hay lockers para dejar maletas, solo unos muy pequeños para dejar camara de fotos o algo similar. El desayuno solo tenía tostadas, leche y zumo.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Valerio Molinaro

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 February 2012

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: THis is What i still writing since 1 month and no answer...better if you see the room before you pay..... Hello, MY NAme is Valerio Molinaro. Thisis the second time i write you. I came at your place and seen that :: 1 you lost my reservation and changed my accommodation with no notification 2 the room was freezing and there was no "little heater" 3 All the showers at least on the last floor had no hot water I'm not a very picky customer, but seen that i was going to have a conference i thought would have been useful to have the chance of having a shower, so i left. Maria told me that she was not authorized to give me back the money i paid with card, and to write at your e-mail address. So i did few days ago but no answer. Regards, Valerio Molinaro.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, simple and hassle free. Nice staff who made the journey easy.

Disliked: Showers had either no hot water or were boiling hot.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tilly Le Faou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Tilly would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the free day tour to Kilkenny, it was a nice break and chance to see the calm Irish country side, but without all the organising was great. Breakfast, basic but it was fine.

Disliked: No WiFi in the room, only common room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free tour was amazing! Staff was great

Disliked: There was no hot water one morning, and they kept the heat pretty low so it was cold at night

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011

Liked: Great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Showers were dirty, no lockers in the rooms, very dingy smelly rooms. The wifi was only in the common room which is in an entirely different building. Buildings are very cold, heating is not good. Have to wait to be let into the building everytime you want to go in.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ross Honour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: free bus shuttle

Disliked: very average cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: common room lockout at 11:30 pm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and the free day tour. The tour was amazing! It was all day, out in the country-side, took you to numerous sites. FOR FREE! Also, the free airport transfer is so nice! The hostel is located right next to everything. Within walking distance. The staff (especially the girl with brown hair) are super friendly!

Disliked: I didn't like the free breakfast. I mean, I liked that it was free, but it was just toast and jam really. Also, the showers and bathrooms suck. The water either turns off after a minute or you have to continuously hold down the button (depending on the shower). It doesn't have a very clean feel. Also, you have to ring a doorbell and have someone let you in at night. Lastly, the internet is only in the reception area (which is separate from the rooms and closes at 11:30 pm). So don't expect to use the internet after 11:30 pm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had lots of day tours to choose from.

Disliked: Having to ask someone to unlock our door each time we wanted to go inside.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Saffigna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011

Liked: The location was excellent! Close to everything! The dorms were also spacious and clean

Disliked: The dorms are separate from the reception so you can't get in without asking them, also your keycard deactivates every morning so you have to renew it. I got up to go to the toilet and got locked out so had to walk all the way outside and ask someone to let me in. There are alot of older folk there so it's not exactly fun and happening but it was clean!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, really close to the bus and train station. The free bus to the airport was the thing that really sold the place for us.

Disliked: No major 'dislikes'. A peculiar buzzing sound coming from a cleaning closet in the room, which kept us company while trying to fall asleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special.. A good hostel overall.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011

Liked: Kitchen was very well equiped. Lots of different stations so you weren't onto of each other. Lots of seating and tables.

Disliked: The cleaners left some rubbish in a bag in my room and one of them left their lipbalm on one of the bunks. Also the showers did not gave a temperature control and after a while the water got so hot I thought I had burnt myself. This is more of a safety issue which I don't think they will take much action on. There was also only two plugs in my roomnthat slept 8 so it was kinda inadequate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Czerwonka

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Directly across the road from the bus station, very convenient. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast of cereal & toast was good. The free tour to Kilkenny was awesome!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth French

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 October 2011 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place. Excellent value for money.. Free transfers to the airport, free breakfast, and free day tour because we stayed for 2 night. Staff were brilliant and very accommodating. To start with we missed the shuttle by a few minutes, but instead of making us wait 2 hours the driver came back for us. We booked a twin room, which wasn't available but they honoured our booking a gave us an 8 bed room by ourselves despite being fully booked. They gave lots of advice on places to go, good pubs etc. The driver when taking us back to the airport dropped us off at our airport hotel instead of the sirport which saved us buying another ticket. Couldn't have asked for more. We have stayed ehre before a couple of years ago and would certainly stay here again. The Celt Pub a 2 minute walk away is a must visit on a weekend evening.

Disliked: Slightly noisy being next to tram line and train line but it didn't disturb my night. The staff more than made up for it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cosmin-Alexandru Ruse

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Cosmin-Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the trip to Glendalough - offered by the hostel.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that each time I wanted to enter the building I needed to call a staff member to open the door for me.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only spent a night here because I'm doing a Paddywagon tour so it was just convenient. Haven't explored much of Dublin to give an opinion on the location. But, the room I was in was extremely stuffy and hot and a little dirty and none of the windows could be opened so it was just uncomfortable for the one night I was there. Other than that, just your average hostel with a kitchen and a breakfast of toast, jam/butter, and cereal

Disliked: Stuffy and a little dirty room, no lockers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, decent breakfast, good location, nice common area. Large, comfortable beds and spacious room even in the 16 bed dorm. Free Paddywagon day tour was great!

Disliked: Nothing. More computers could be nice.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the free tour

Disliked: the rooms were in a seperate building from the office

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: not

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the tour was perfect,generally nice atmosphere,love dublin

Disliked: everything all right


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels